HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande Ilha Grande Hostel

Praia de Abro n/n (left side of the beach), Ilha Grande, Brazil

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 65%

Location 83%

Safety 80%

Staff 67%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:
Any bookings with dates within New Years 2010 (mandatory 4 nights package - 28/12-01/01) & Carnaval 2010 (mandatory 6 nights package 11/02/-17/02).
Full prepayment is needed in order to warranty the booking, after booking the Hostel will contact you for the prepayment details. Failure to prepay the booking will result
In the booking being cancelled.Not allowed under 18

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ilha Grande?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 65%

Location 83%

Safety 80%

Staff 67%

Value 69%

Showing 11-7 of 7 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The terrace which overlooked the sea. The breakfast was pretty basic, served on the terrace which made it nicer.

Disliked: Room was damp, cramped and dirty. The lockers didn't all work, nails were sticking out, some wouldn't close. Others had to be forced to be opened and closed. We had a deal online and was disappointed with the place even at the discounted price so would be very disappointed if we had paid in full. Our booking hadn't gone through on their computer so we didn't get the room we had booked. The place just generally smelt bad and felt dirty. Definitely not worth paying the full amount


The property's response is

Thank’s for your feedback. It’s very important for us to improve the services we offer. Regarding your complain about the rooms, they are under repair, as the whole hostel. The lockers have already been fixed and we are solving the problems about booking with the reservation central, so the next time you visit our will fit your expectations.

Regards,
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazing Location, Lovely Staff.

Disliked: There were flies on the food in the morning which could easily be avoided

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: no good

Disliked: No water, no electricity, light. Dirty


The property's response is

Thank’s for your feedback. It’s very important for us to improve the services we offer. About our infra-structure, we inform that measures were already been taken to solve the problem regarding the lack of water and electricity. About the cleaning, our old staff have been changed and performing a great service now.

Regards,
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Is right in front of the beach and the views are great, thre staff nice and helpfull, and good atmosphere in the comon reception-bar.

Disliked: You have to pay more that says your booking because they have a different ( and much highier) rate exange with dollars, even if you book and pay in reals.why??Also make you pay 5 reals extra for internet even if you don't want it ( not choice).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I appreciate your opinion regarding the hostel. It is very important to listen to our guests because that would help improve our service. Regarding your complaint about the dollar rate, we report that in dollar rate is based on the actual rate. Choose giving payment in dollars or reals. Mode in all Che Lagarto chain.
Regards,
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: location.. my room had the same amazing view that the deck had.. soo nice

Disliked: unhelpful staff.. dirty bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank’s for your feedback. About our staff, we inform that by that time tey were new at the job, but now they are much more prepared to help our guests. About the bathrooms, they are under repair, as the whole hostel, and the cleaning staff is performing a great service now.

Regards,
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Best location of any hostel I've stayed at - on the beach!Good parties, and brilliant breakfasts. Possibly the best in South America.Staff are brilliant, especially when my other half broke her foot (not at the hostel) - they couldn't have done more

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazing location right on the sea - literally! Big hostel with lots of nice people and parties. It´s a little walk from the actual city, but the location and atmosphere makes it totally worth it. Definitely recommend it!

Disliked: They charge an obligatory ekstra 5 reals for internet that you can´t avoid paying no matter if u use the inet or not. I felt a bit tricked.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great Location with view on the bay, Breakfast (best we had during our trip trough South America), Room for 4 people was very nice, girl at the desk

Disliked: Prices of the special transfer to Rio and Paraty were a bit high and necessary if you don't want to take your luguage on the beach to reach the Hostel. Paying in USD is not very convenient if you are not American. Also the extra charge for internet was not announced and with only 1 computer working, it was not possible to get on the internet during our stay. But let's say that the Positive points compensate the negative one's.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability