We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mata Virgem Hostel

Hostel | Rua da Assembléia 155, Vila do Abraão, Ilha Grande, Brazil 23960000

65.6% Overall Rating

74 out of 113 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

Louise Skovgaard Jensen thinks…

"The receptionist was really nice and helpful - WHEN SHE WAS AROUND The rooms was alright, but not compared to what we had expected."

Read all Mata Virgem Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ilha Grande?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ilha Grande

Pousada da Cachoeira
20.39 USD

Hotel 86.4% 71 reviews
Mango Tree Ilha Grande
18.35 USD

Hostel 89.1% 5 reviews
studio beach hostel
18.35 USD

Hostel 82.2% 26 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Ilha Grande
30.42 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
El Misti Hostel Ilha Grande
10.20 USD

Hostel 74.3% 37 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
19.80 USD

Hostel 73.6% 127 reviews
Aquario Hostel
15.50 USD

Hostel 72.7% 146 reviews
Pousada Paloma
14.27 USD

Guesthouse 75.8% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.6%

Overall Rating

74 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mata Virgem Hostel'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
69.6%
Value
68.0%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 91 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Louise Skovgaard Jensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014

Liked: The receptionist was really nice and helpful - WHEN SHE WAS AROUND The rooms was alright, but not compared to what we had expected.

Disliked: -The location -The breakfast wasn't nice, ants were running al over the table -The staff was not around

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ELENA RODRIGUEZ DESPLOBAINS

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 ELENA would recommend this property

Liked: I like the amazing breakfast , the views from the terrace (surronded by forest), nice staff.

Disliked: The room is not very big and the bathroom is tiny , you can hardly reach the shower.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 February 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This hostel was disgusting, the bathrooms were disgusting and generally gross around the whole hostel, the pool was stagnant water fit for a breeding ground for Mosquitos! We couldn't lock our window or balcony doors in our room and the rooms are tiny. Def wouldn't recommend staying here, was the only thing available for us as we left the booking so late!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price, easy

Disliked: Small

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 December 2012

Liked: I realy don't like it

Disliked: I have just wrote above

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012

Liked: Not a damn thing.

Disliked: The property and the hosts reminded us on the Addams family. A couple we met there paid around 390$ for 4 nights and they wanted to leave after the first night , because the room was full of bugs and cockroaches, but the owner didn't want to return them the money. We couldn't came on the day we reserved so I called and e-mailed the hostel but I get no response. When we came the receptionis/owner said that it was a no show and he doesn't have a room for us, so we lost the 10% of the 5 booked nights and stayed without accommodation. I really don't recommend this hostel, they absolutly don't care about guests.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the guys running the hostel.

Disliked: If you are looking for something special this is not the right place. Beds could be renewed.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sarah Blythe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Ended up staying here for 5 nights, booked the dorm but we were upgraded to the 3 bed ensuite room. Mario who runs the hostel and his family/friends who are there a lot create quite a friendly atmosphere to the place, and he helped us out with any problems we had. We had a BBQ there one night, and Mario even came out on the town with us another night! Relaxed place where we could do what we liked.

Disliked: It's not top notch cleanliness/facilities but for the price I wouldn't expect it anyway.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was lovely,really clean had a lovely little balcony. There was great cooking facilities, a large fridge to use and the area at the front is really nice for chilling out in. They also have a bbq that you can use and there was always great music playing there.

Disliked: The owners went away while we were there,and there was no security for one night which wasn't too happy about.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Daniel Paech

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012

Liked: It had amazing breakfast.

Disliked: No atmosphere, slightly out of the way, unhelpful staff, zero atmosphere, dirty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was amazing and the owner was friendly. It had a great family atmosphere. They didn't have three beds for us together in one dorm, so they upgraded us to a suite for no additional cost.

Disliked: Be sure to print out your reservation confirmation when you book your room. They have undependable satellite internet and might not be able to bring it up on their system.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

michelle vosloo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2012 michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and good location - this is a really awesome island :-)

Disliked: Internet not always working and the hostel is very dirty but It is cheap and worth it for the discomfort because you won't find cheaper on this island.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lina Jacobsson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2012 Lina would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and cheap rooms

Disliked: No wifi, no security-loockers

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Phil Robinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 March 2012

Liked: The sausages in a pot they made for breakfast one day.

Disliked: As several people have written, our reservation hadn't gone through, I sent an email and had to get my hostel in Rio to call them to confirm it. I was told to bring a printout of the booking confirmation. The private double room was just barely a single room with a double bed. the toilet was incredibly small and the shower plug hole was damaged, people staying in room 6 are at risk of slicing their feet open. The mattress was a patchwork of yellow and brown stains, while the pillows were wrapped in plastic and made the warm Ilha Grande nights unbearable. The fan in the room was tied together so it couldn't rotate and as a result you can only point it in 1 direction. The pool was a shade of blue I didn't think existed (not in a good way). The breakfast was a selection of fruit flies and flies, with some fruit and bread with the usual cheese and ham (also with flies).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alana mchenry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

05 March 2012 alana would recommend this property

Liked: clean, great breakfast, good location

Disliked: alana left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Nadine Bollinger

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2012

Liked: jj

Disliked: Nadine left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matthew Burfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms a quite basic, but clean and the beds are made everyday. The breakfast was really nice, with a nice variety. Nice area to chill out at the hostel before going out later.

Disliked: Although hostelbookers says there is wifi, there is none. However there is a laptop at the hostel with internet access that you can use. I can confirm that your booking with hostelbookers probably wont have gone through to the hostel owner because she had no idea and every person that checked in had to log into their email to show her the confirmation email, I even sent a seperate email to confirm my booking but that didn't go through either...some people were turned away during my stay but the owner was quite helpful and offered to help them find another hostel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff great

Disliked: WIFI wasn't working. Far from center. Room was too small.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

25 January 2012

Liked: Rooms were ok but were very dark, good shower and ensuite bathroom.

Disliked: The lady who ran it, she seemed to always be really annoyed and caused an atmosphere around the hostel all the time. She managed to mix up bookings all the time, resulting in some people being turned away after booking with hostel bookers. We had heavy rain during our stay and the people in the room next to us ended up having all their stuff ruined as there was a leak in the room. They reported it to the lady and she wouldn't believe them until she saw it for herself and then after some time she offered them another room. The breakfast was ok but was always covered in flies. Not a great stay.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

23 January 2012

Liked: It is ok if you have no where else to go

Disliked: Locstion. Staff lost my booking.....

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast on a beautiful terrace. Good location; much cheaper than beach side hostels but still really close to the beach.

Disliked: Due to an electronic failure, our reservation didn't get through and apparently that happens more often. Be sure to confirm your reservation prior to your arrival.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 January 2012

Liked: The location was ok and the price was relatively low. The variety of the breakfast was good.

Disliked: The owner of the place is unfriendly. The breakfast was supposed to be from 8 till 10 but started normally at 9, even we after we asked for an early breakfast. The room was very damp and the matresses of the beds were really bad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had lots of character and the location was very close to the town, but also nice and quiet. The owner was super chiled out :)

Disliked: The rooms were very small

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful. It didnt matter that we were not on the beach, it is still very close for half the price!

Disliked: Not the easiest place to mingle with other people during low season. But it just needs more people to recognise it's good value for money!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: the pool was tiny and not really inviting to swim/relax in, it doesn't look clean.