HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mata Virgem Hostel Ilha Grande Hostel

Rua da Assemblia 155 - Vila do Abrao - Ilha, Ilha Grande, Brazil

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 66%

Location 70%

Safety 82%

Staff 83%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Important Information

After the booking is made, this property may require the CVV code in order to confirm your booking.

Payment policy for Carnival (10/02 - 19/02) and New Years: (27/12 -03/01) (EX: Full payment in advance is required. You will be contacted to proceed and arrange the payment method. Failure to complete the payment in 5 working days will result in cancellation of your booking. )
Cancellation Policy for Carnival: Non Refundable

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ilha Grande?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 66%

Location 70%

Safety 82%

Staff 83%

Value 74%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: -

Disliked: Water not working (not possible to shower), breakfast full of insects, staff sleeping in breakfast area and snorring, many mosquitoes and no windows in room so many bites, located very far away from main road

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The friendliness of the staff. Upon our arrival one of the rooms we had reserved was damaged by the rain. The staff quickly found alternate accommodations for half of our group.

Disliked: I wish they had toiletries available on location if not complementary, at least for sale

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The breakfast was good.

Disliked: I saw at least one cockroach a day whilst staying here. The dorm rooms are far too hot without AC and it is slightly out of the way.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Other guests of the hostel

Disliked: We did nit expect such a bad room,

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The receptionist was really nice and helpful - WHEN SHE WAS AROUNDThe rooms was alright, but not compared to what we had expected.

Disliked: -The location-The breakfast wasn't nice, ants were running al over the table-The staff was not around

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I like the amazing breakfast , the views from the terrace (surronded by forest), nice staff.

Disliked: The room is not very big and the bathroom is tiny , you can hardly reach the shower.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This hostel was disgusting, the bathrooms were disgusting and generally gross around the whole hostel, the pool was stagnant water fit for a breeding ground for Mosquitos! We couldn't lock our window or balcony doors in our room and the rooms are tiny. Def wouldn't recommend staying here, was the only thing available for us as we left the booking so late!!

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Price, easy

Disliked: Small

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: I realy don't like it

Disliked: I have just wrote above

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Not a damn thing.

Disliked: The property and the hosts reminded us on the Addams family. A couple we met there paid around 390$ for 4 nights and they wanted to leave after the first night , because the room was full of bugs and cockroaches, but the owner didn't want to return them the money. We couldn't came on the day we reserved so I called and e-mailed the hostel but I get no response. When we came the receptionis/owner said that it was a no show and he doesn't have a room for us, so we lost the 10% of the 5 booked nights and stayed without accommodation. I really don't recommend this hostel, they absolutly don't care about guests.

Check Availability