HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Favela Chic Hostel

Hostel | Rua Major Raul de Mattos 78, Foz do Iguazu, Brazil 85853-180

86.9% Overall Rating

100 out of 103 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/03/2014)

Sarawin Harnchoowong thinks…

"Location was okay but far from downtown. But easily catching bus to fall or Argentina"

Read all Favela Chic Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.45

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We will not have a 24 hour reception. We will close our gates and 11.30pm and open again at 7.00am. However, we are still very welcome to arrive here in the middle of the night (and of course to leave early in the morning to catch flights etc). But if you are to arrive outside these hours they MUST contact us in advance so that we are ready to wait for you.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Foz do Iguazu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Foz do Iguazu

Pousada Caroline
13.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 14 reviews
Hostel Bossa Rock
13.40 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Charm Iguassu Suites
16.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 82.3% 61 reviews
Your Place Suites Hostel
44.68 USD

Hostel 88.1% 45 reviews
Green House Hostel
16.98 USD

Hostel 92.8% 57 reviews
Hostel Bambu
22.34 USD

Hostel 83.0% 264 reviews
Paudimar Falls Hostel
17.87 USD

Hostel 83.7% 59 reviews
Hostel 76
11.17 USD

Hostel 81.7% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

100 out of 103 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Favela Chic Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 90 of 101 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarawin Harnchoowong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Sarawin would recommend this property

Liked: Location was okay but far from downtown. But easily catching bus to fall or Argentina

Disliked: Sarawin left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mario Acosta

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of nice hammocks. Great social area. Nice kitchen. Great wifi. Really helpful staff. Very good English spoken. Got taught how to make Caipirinhas.

Disliked: AC wasn't great (unit was in other room). Bathroom bins not emptied as often as they should have been, and toilet roll not replaced frequently enough..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

helena macgregor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014 helena would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the chill out area and atmosphere, lovely owners and good breakfast, dont hesitate to book!

Disliked: Wifi could've been better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, Nick the owner is very helpful and charismatic. The place has a lot of character and is really nice to relax in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Nick was everything you want when you arrive at a new hostel. He went above and beyond explaining everything the town and beyond had on offer and patiently and completely answered all our questions, even booking our onward travel arrangements and having tickets delivered. A really nice guy and incredible host. A very relaxed atmosphere around the hostel with a good bar, hammocks, swimming pool, and kitchen. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Disliked: Although the room was advertised as a 6 bed dorm it was accessed through a much larger dorm and we had to keep the door open to benefit from the a/c making it more like a 16 bed dorm. A very small negative though as everything else more than made up for it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is really good!!! One bus (in front of the door) directly to the brazilian side of the falls, the airport and the birdpark

Disliked: smell of mode in the bathroom

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was really great... not often that I met so many nice people and as well the staff was very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Cleanlyness could be better and I think when the hostel is really booked out it becomes quite crowdy but for us the hostel was not to full and so it was perfect

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled out hostel with helpful staff. Located just off the road with buses to Argentina/the waterfalls/ bird park. Gate is locked at night so completely secure. Ended up staying for 2 nights instead of just the 1 booked

Disliked: 17 bed dorm is a bit warm with only 1 fan

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a small and cool hostel. The beds and rooms are clean and do the job. There is ample room to lounge about and some greenery in the garden. The bar is cheap and has good vibe at night. Its very sociable. The owner is good and is always helping everyone out.

Disliked: Two. Only two. There is one bathroom for the 17 bed dorm which means it can get a bit of a queue in the mornings/evenings. An extra bathroom or toilet would be handy. The second, power points - there doesn't seem to be emough about for all guests - a few power boards or something would help.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice hammocks and good breakfast

Disliked: to warm for a good nights sleep

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Parth Shukla

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 Parth would recommend this property

Liked: Bus to Igazu, 1 minute walk from the hostel! Staff very helpful. Good Internet.

Disliked: Parth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool hostel, super friendly staff. Great base to see the falls, the bus stop is like a 30 second walk away.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

JON UNZUETA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 JON would recommend this property

Liked: The place is nice with swimming pool and free breakfast. The location is ok as well to go to the waterfalls and the airport by bus.

Disliked: No toilet outside the rooms. Very hot in the room as the air conditioning doen't work untill 8 or 9 pm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elora Saha

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 December 2013 Elora would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere and how friendly the staff were. They always made sure we were well taken care of. This is exactly what I would have expected in a hostel!

Disliked: We paid $R130 for transport and entry into the Argentinian side of the falls. If we paid $140, we would have gotten a guide. I thought this was a tad over priced.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christina Wieand

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atmosphere, they put on BBQs and stuff and it feels like a family, staff were extremely helpful in booking all of our activities at the falls, very close to the bus stop. Would definitely stay here again!!

Disliked: Not the cleanest, but for the cheap price it's a great deal!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thiago Silva

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Thiago would recommend this property

Liked: The bar is a one stop shop for meeting people from all around the world. The decoration and design is something that i haven't seen in any other hostel, it really gets you in a favela but with charm.

Disliked: Since they had just changed the manager, the staff wasn't very acessible . The room I had booked did exist anymore although the other one was fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the "favela" look of things. There's usually a good social atmosphere, but it takes at least 3 or 4 people to be staying there. I also like the staff's relaxed attitude towards certain things like late checkouts and using internet for free.

Disliked: The breakfast was horrific, only because of what is advertised on all their sites as an "English Breakfast" included. The first morning the breakfast was sliced white toast and pork-fat cubes, then the second and third morning they mixed some eggs into the diced pork-fat. How bout just some plain eggs? or even a banana maybe? And if there are a lot of guest at the time, the rooms definitely get cramped up. No outside alcohol rule kinda sucks too, but that's with most hostels in that city. The last night, just for kicks I moved across the street to Bossa Rock Hostel, and I must say, the rooms and breakfast were definitely an upgrade, and for the same price! just sayin'...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Sandall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Great service from the staff, 5-10 minute walk into centre of Foz, the atmosphere is chilled out & easy going (I'm writing this on a hammock with the stars above me). The bar is operated on an honesty system, that says it all. Great little place & incredible value for money.

Disliked: As of yet, nothing much. It's a bit quiet, but it's off season & that's not necessarily a bad thing anyway.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's unusual and chaarming. Very friendly owner and barman Eddi is awesome. Outside kitchen is a nice touch too.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and welcoming staff, very relaxed atmosphere, great cooked breakfast, and one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Clarke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

25 June 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with really easy access to the falls and the airport. The lady on the desk was really friendly and helpful when I arrived. At first I was a bit daunted by the idea of a 13 bed dorm but it was actually really comfortable and pretty spacious (and no 3 tier bunks). They also cook dinner for you, although this is at an extra cost and can be quite expensive.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpful staff, great tour to the falls, English breakfast and creative atmoshpere

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: International athmosphere, nice bar, organising tours to the falls in cooperation with local travel agencies

Disliked: Bathrooms were not clean

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lauren Crawford

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atmosphere! We slept in the van and loved it!

Disliked: The showers were just luke warm

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, Location near by to take Buses to all touristic locations, Breakfast, Bar, Hostel Atmosphere

Disliked: No Individual lockers to safe important items, All bathrooms are not equipped with Hot water facility, Mosquitoes are more( no one can help in this matter except by ourselves, take precautions)

The property's response is...