We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Green House Hostel

Hostel | Rua Edmundo de Barros 1130, Foz do Iguazu, Brazil 1130

90.7% Overall Rating

61 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

Benjamin Prosser thinks…

"I stayed in the Green House Hostel in a private room with my girlfriend and honestly I couldn’t recommend this place enough. We stayed in a private room with an ensuite bathroom for only (FIND THIS)…"

Read all Green House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.35
  • Towel USD 1.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Foz do Iguazu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Foz do Iguazu

Charm Iguassu Suites
16.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 61 reviews
Hostel Bambu
19.71 USD

Hostel 84.9% 267 reviews
Pousada Caroline
14.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.4% 15 reviews
Favela Chic Hostel
6.53 USD

Hostel 81.9% 113 reviews
Pousada Patts
20.39 USD

Hostel 79.8% 14 reviews
Hostel 76
10.20 USD

Hostel 79.5% 26 reviews
Paudimar Falls Hostel
12.23 USD

Hostel 83.0% 61 reviews
Hotel Solar Tropical
20.39 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

61 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green House Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 62 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Benjamin Prosser

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the Green House Hostel in a private room with my girlfriend and honestly I couldn’t recommend this place enough. We stayed in a private room with an ensuite bathroom for only (FIND THIS) a night. The only issue we had was that our shower tap came off the first night… bit of a bugger… but it was fixed instantly which was great. They organised trips to the falls, which was a big help – we booked our trip to the Argentinian side through them, which made it really easy and hassle free. The free breakfast in the morning was excellent and was served at a good time (between 8 and 10). Then in the evenings they had a bar and put on food – the drinks were reasonably priced (a lot cheaper then most bars) and they did some massive burgers and steaks, which I was too cowardly to attempt!! The owner Eddy was a great guy – was always around in the evening hanging out and having a few beers with the guests which made the atmosphere that much better. It was clearly that good a place that the staff would come back after their shifts just to hang out and even took us out with them on nights out – I even had a shot of jaeger bought for me by one of them which was massively generous. You can find an extended review on my recent blog at http://itsaprosserthing.com/2014/07/28/iguazu-falls/

Disliked: No complaints.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception and nice big shared bathrooms.

Disliked: The bunk beds are very small. You can't sit up straight on the bottom bunk.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yugo Hasuo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014 Yugo would recommend this property

Liked: Pool

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe, dpeaking english staff and very close to the bus station to the falls

Disliked: Cleaner bathrooms - kinda clean but there are a few ants

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Rodgers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and friendly. I stayed there for a week, so the staff gave me some great tips to fill my time. There was a pretty chilled atmosphere. The steak and burger cooked by Eddie were both absolutely superb and well worth the R$40 in my opinion. They are both absolutely huge!

Disliked: No complaints at all!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff! Friendly and helpful! Spacious, room for doing whatever activity you want. Great food offered at hostel.

Disliked: A little bit "worn" facilities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vasil Popov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 Vasil would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, very clean

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, great atmosphere, great food and very well located for visiting all the main sights!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Most of staff helpfu/friendly. Good breakfast. Good common areas/pool. Near supermarket/bus routes to falls.

Disliked: Kitchen a little small. Water kept being switched off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorissa Achjian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2014 Lorissa would recommend this property

Liked: Grasiela was a very helpful hostel host and she made my stay very comfortable. Saul was very helpful as well - both speak great English. Even though it was not overly busy, the atmosphere was great and very relaxed, was nice to unwind after busy days at the Falls. Clean and spacious dorms with A/C, and large lockers. Location is very central, supermarket down the road and public transport is nearby (only 1-2 blocks). Having a pool made the stay even better given the extreme heat, and lying in the hammocks watching the sun set was beautiful.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabian Frei

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: The chef does awesome US-style Blue Cheese Burgers and Argentinean Steaks! You must try them, they are extremely delicious and experty prepared!

Disliked: really nothing to complain about!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big dorm and bathroom. Nice building with great garden and pool area for relaxing. Very friendly & helpful staff. 5min walk to bus stop going to the falls. Cheap drinks at bar. Free use of pool table (maybe jut free because it was Christmas Day)

Disliked: Breakfast not great, but sufficient. Food prices in hostel were excessive (charged 80 reals for 2 burgers, yes burgers were very big but despite asking for them to be "well done" they were not edible as still pink on inside & we Waited hours for them).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Fletcher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: With fantastic staff, this hostel was by far my favourite during my 3 week trip. We arrived on a day when the chef/bartender was off however the lady who checked us in was more than happy to knock us up a Caipirinha and gave us endless tips for our stay. She went to great extents to help me create a surprise present in the form of a helicopter ride for my boyfriend and truely made our stay. When the chef/bartender returned to work the next day we were cooked a fantastic and HUGE steak and burger and provided with a truely memorable evening of food and drink! I'd highly recommend this hostel and would definitely return in the future.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool!

Disliked: so-so location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff absolutely made this hostel - they were so friendly and helpful and helped me plan the rest of my trip round Brazil. we laughed and talked and they serve burgers the size of your head (no exaggeration), so who cares if it is not the most stylish hostel i have ever stayed in...

Disliked: n/a

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rita Gabriel Garrido

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: O ambiente bastante acolhedor, e o café da manhã bom

Disliked: Reservei para o quarto de 6 camas apenas de meninas, no site dizia que tinha banheiro privativo, quando lá cheguei o banheiro era partilhado com outros quartos, incluindo rapazes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely friendly and hospitable, they make you feel at home. The room we stayed in was clean, and spacious, with a nice hot shower. The breakfast was anazing! They made homemade breads and pastries! Also, only a ten minute walk to sone very cool outdoor restaurants and sports bars.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, easy to get the bus to Iguazy falls, nice garden, good breakfast and safe.

Disliked: We couldnt pay by credit/debit card, only by cash!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anja Schrons

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff, Very big house with everything you need. Perfect Location to discover Iguacu Falls, Bird Park and many more...

Disliked: Anja left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Stroyd

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. Hostel is handy for the bus to the falls and close to a large supermarket. Breakfast is basic but nice.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013

Liked: Easy to find, very helpful guy on the desk when we arrived, pointed us to the bus stops we needed.

Disliked: It was empty when we stayed - a little out of season but not by much, so we were a little surprised. Kitchen was a bit dingy, as was our room, which had a very hard mattress. Fine for a night to see the Iguaçu Falls, but wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this hostel and will recommend to anyone visiting the area! It is great value for money. The staff were lovely. It's a great place to relax and is close to the town and bus stops! We didn't want to leave!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly helpful staff, we made an error with our booking and they allowed us to cancel our second night free of charge, which was very kind. Great atmosphere and cooking facilities. Lovely garden, pool, bbq area etc, close to big supermarket, main bus stops to visit falls etc. Communal laptop and good wifi. Reccomend.

Disliked: Basic breakfast but really not a big deal. 6 dorm room had some street noise, bring earlplugs. Rest of rooms face the wonderful garden, I think. Blankets on bed smelt a little funny.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have ever seen. Very spacious, beautiful garden and swimming pool. Staff very helpful and really friendly.

Disliked: Everything was just perfect.