We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Katharina House

Hostel | Rua Taroba, Number 952, Foz do Iguazu, Brazil 85851- 220

83.8% Overall Rating

201 out of 214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

Katherine Lu thinks…

"I liked the people that worked there, and that it was easy to get to. They are very hospitable and offer decent taxi services to get to the falls."

Read all Katharina House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.51
  • Breakfast USD 4.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Foz do Iguazu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Foz do Iguazu

Hotel del Rey
29.09 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.2% 65 reviews
BEST WESTERN Tarobá Hotel e Eventos
24.61 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 87.5% 43 reviews
Iguassu Hostel
20.51 USD

Hostel 93.8% 41 reviews
Hostel Pousada El Shaddai
13.05 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 107 reviews
Águas do Iguaçu Hotel
32.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Villa Canoas
17.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 93 reviews
Hostel Pousada Natureza Foz
14.36 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 38 reviews
Bambu Guest House
12.30 USD

Guesthouse 98.1% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

201 out of 214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Katharina House'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 212 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Victor Organero

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Cold shower, booked double got twin, reception staff ignored us for almost half an hour before taking us to our room (which was only a few metres away), one bathroom to serve a an entire floor of people and ours was locked for the first day and he couldn't tell us why. We had to sneak downstairs and he told us not to tell anyone. Place is reviewed great however my experience was lacking severely from all the plaques displayed in the reception.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katherine Lu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the people that worked there, and that it was easy to get to. They are very hospitable and offer decent taxi services to get to the falls.

Disliked: I didn't like that I needed to ask for toilet paper since the bathroom ran out and didn't refill for the whole day, or that we needed to ask for towels, or that the bed didn't come with a blanket.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Collin Cunningham

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Collin would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly and helpful and hostel is conveniently located near bus station.

Disliked: Initially didn't have blankets or sheets. The common area could be a little more lively.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Grainger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The manager was very helpful. Really nice atmosphere at this hostel.

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Larusdottir

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 March 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in Katharina house in March 2014 just to see Cataratas de Iguazu. The hostel staff were very helpful! They definitely made the most of our stay in Foz de Iguazu during our 2 days. I had to go to the hospital and one of the staff helped us through it all and even escorted us to the hospital and translated for the doctors to us because we didnt know portuguese. One girl had her birthday during her stay and the owner, Luis, brought her a cake and invited everyone to join! Very warm and welcoming hostel, we recommend it for everybody!!!

Disliked: No negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014

Liked: the location

Disliked: can,t even make a cup of tea...no kitchen facilities

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014

Liked: Close to bus station.

Disliked: Breakfast not included, no kitchen!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samira Alvarado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2014 Samira would recommend this property

Liked: The most beautyful, lovley hostel ive ever been

Disliked: Samira left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super close to bus station and bus stop to get to the falls and airport. Supermarket closeby too.

Disliked: No lockers. It was very quiet the night we were there, not much atmosphere at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Barber

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely a great place to stay. Was really easy to get to and a few minutes walk into the centre. The staff were helpful and friendly too and made a great breakfast! I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Foz as it was really good value for money but still had plenty of character.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

oliver colic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place, great owner, close to everything.

Disliked: oliver left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the very few pubs of Foz do Iguacu, and besides it is awesome, the owner is simply great. He was giving us great trips and tricks not only in Foz, but all around Brasil.

Disliked: ---

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff. Towel. Lockers.

Disliked: To many unnecessary rules... like having to pay 5 real for a shower after checkout..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexandre Monich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: The private room is very big and good

Disliked: The staff could be more helpfull. They offered me a pack to travel to Paraguay but they canceled one night before it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carla Bancu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: They rganize great trips to the Argentinian side of the waterfalls. The lcoation is perfect! They have good atmoshere thanks to a cosy bar and dinners organized every night for hostel guests. Luis, I think he's the owner, is very dedicated, nice, helpful and funny! So is all the staff!

Disliked: No complains, really...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arthur Wijckmans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Arthur would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay and enjoy Iguazu. Friendly staff. You have To pay for breakfast but it is worth the money.

Disliked: Wasn't possible to lock the bathroom door. Room was a bit hot because no fan or airco.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this hostel! Great location- easy to find, opposite the bus stop to the falls & almost next door to the best churrascaria where we got a discount for staying here. Rooms are spotless (we even got an upgrade to a double) bar area is lovely & it is definitely worth having breakfast- loads of choice & we were even asked what type of eggs we wanted! The very best thing about this hostel is the staff- their local knowledge meant we had the best possible time & they saved us lots of money on our next long bus journey. We will recommend this hostel to all our friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Maria is the nicest person. she was always willing to assist! the dorms were spacious and clean

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katie Holdsworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was the most helpful person I have ever met in a hostel - she gave maps, advice, eating out tips, booked tours and arranged transport to and from the falls. Due to her I was able to see as much as possible in my short time in Iguazu. Thank you so much for making my visit to Iguazu so special!!! Excellent service to the Argentinian side of the falls. Spacious dorm rooms, clean bathrooms, nice bar area, lovely breakfast (free) and warm blankets provided.

Disliked: Lockers were not provided but the hostel is very safe so I didn;t feel worried about leaving my things there.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

niamh murphy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013 niamh would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Nice bar and really reasonably priced. The staff were fantastic, they helped in every way possible. One of the staff even arranged for someone to post some postcards for me in Argentina as I had bought stamps there and forgotten to send the postcards

Disliked: niamh left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What I liked most about Katharine House was the friendly atmosphere. Not only is a clean, well-located hostel but you can sit outside (despite being in the middle of the city) and have a nice relaxed drink while reading a book or chatting with Luis, the hostel's owner. Foz de Iguazu has a lot to offer in as far food choices and being in the city it's an easy walk to Japanese, Middle Eastern, Rodizio, seafood or Italian restaurants which is great. They have the quintessential hostel necessity, wifi and are close to a grocery store if you need anything. The staff can organize tours for you and all in all they offer pretty much everything that you need.

Disliked: Nothing, it was what I was looking for.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Katharina Raudzus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location just one block from the urban bus terminal and two blocks from the center. The hostel is very very clean and the bathrooms attachted to the dorms are awesome. Also the dorms have a really nice atmosphere with nice colors and don´t feel cramped at all. Staff was very helpful and the "onda" of the hostel was very nice!

Disliked: Breakfast is not included, for the price it should be.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Ball

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel to stay in for visiting the Falls. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel offers an excellent price for a day trip to the Argentinian side of the falls (105 Real I believe). Highlight was sitting outside in the nice outdoor seating area at the front and the owner gave me free cuts of beef he was grilling outside. Would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: One complaint was the beds were quite uncomfortable but they were in a reasonably spacious dorm.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chloe Wooden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: Hardly anyone there!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After staying at many hostels I think that there are three main things that I need to enjoy my stay: friendly staff, cleanliness and great atmosphere where you can hang out and chat with other travellers and Katarina House has it all. An added bonus is that it's super well-located, close to restaurants, a good bakery and shops. They are also super helpful with tourist advice.

Disliked: The only thing is that they don't have a green space but really, Iguassu Falls is a pretty amazing green space that's nearby!!