HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Bambu

Hostel | Edmundo de Barros 621, Foz do Iguazu, Brazil .

83.7% Overall Rating

253 out of 265 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/01/2013)

bronja everaardt thinks…

"Awesome breakfast - eggs, beans, sausage & fruit!! Really helpful staff & good for 1-2 nights when doing the falls!"

Read all Hostel Bambu reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Gym
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 22.50
  • Towel USD 1.35

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Foz do Iguazu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Foz do Iguazu

Supernova Hostel
15.75 USD

Hostel 87.4% 105 reviews
Pousada Patts
18.00 USD

Hostel 79.8% 14 reviews
Green House Hostel
20.25 USD

Hostel 90.4% 61 reviews
Hostel 76
13.50 USD

Hostel 81.8% 22 reviews
Charm Iguassu Suites
23.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 82.3% 61 reviews
Hotel Solar Tropical
22.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Paudimar Falls Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 83.0% 60 reviews
Hostel Dolce Toscana
18.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

253 out of 265 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Bambu'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 186 of 205 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bronja everaardt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2013 bronja would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome breakfast - eggs, beans, sausage & fruit!! Really helpful staff & good for 1-2 nights when doing the falls!

Disliked: A lot of kids

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah price

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel for a 2 night trip to see the falls, friendly and helpful staff. Good cooking area and clean rooms.

Disliked: sarah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels we have come across so far in all our travels across the globe. Value for money, dedicated and helpful English speaking staff, clean pool with a lively bar and good breakfast. Feels more like a home away from home.

Disliked: Could do better with a new coat of paint and oil the squeaky doors please.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Newman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: What a fantastic hostel! The staff were amazing. So friendly and went way above and beyond to help us make upcoming travel arrangements, including booking accommodations on our behalf at a hostel (a very cool hostel) in Curitiba. Room was clean, bathroom was clean with a good, hot shower, wifi worked well, nice well-equipped kitchen, relaxing pool area, good location for catching the bus to the falls or to visit Itaipu Dam. AWESOME BREAKFAST. The guy that worked the bar was awesome! Very laid back, made us a free caipirinha every evening, played good music, and invited us out to see a Bob Marley cover band (we didn't go as we were too tired after our day at the falls). We stayed in a private room so didn't socialize too much but it seemed there was a good vibe. Highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Tap for the sink in our shared bathroom had barely any flow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of our favourite hostels we stayed at on our whole trip. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and cool thanks to the aircon. The swimming pool was great to cool down in after a hot day exploring the falls.

Disliked: Nothing. It was great.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

24 June 2012

Liked: Cordialidade do staff.

Disliked: As instalações foram melhor descritas do que são, as condições de limpeza e manutenção da estrutura deixam muito a desejar. O lugar pode ser simples sem ter aspecto de sujo. Vi até um rato no lugar aonde servem o café da manhã, As paredes são muito sujas, há tomadas abertas sem espelho, o colchçao estava molhado nas pontas de tanta humidade...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Their staffs are the best. They are very friendly and helpful. The place is clean and safe. Their location is very convenient-close to restaurants and supermarket.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Alexander Fülbier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a Caipirinha-Happy hour where you get one Caipo for free.

Disliked: The bathroom was quite dark and dirty every day. The kitchen was dirty with abandonded dishes within the day. As most of the travellers stay only one night, the mood was a little bit strange. there is nor rule how long the internet can be used. Therefore it is sometimes blocked for hours.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ali Shirazi

Alone

Partying / nightlife

07 March 2012 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean hostel

Disliked: Not very central but quiet location

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing atmosphere and aside from all the bedrooms there are great areas to relax and meet people, with a comfy hammock

Disliked: BED BUGS! and plenty of them. but i think they sorted this once we left, and they discounted our bill for the inconvinience. also only lockers for small bags.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although this hostel seems to be geared for a younger crowd, we enjoyed our stay and it certainly has charm and character!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Davina Boland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Davina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really helpful and try their best to help u find wat u need..all The travellers are all really friendly and the atmosphere is really good

Disliked: People had to change rooms because of bed bugs but we were ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly hostel which offers compehensive advice about tours to the Falls. Good value for money as well and fascilities are very good.

Disliked: The atmosphere wasn´t brilliant and if your on your own you may find it a bit isolated in the evening.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this hostel are the staff! Each one was fantastic at helping you make the most of your stay. They also aren't pushing tours and will gladly tell you when it's worth doing a tour and when you won't lose anything by doing it yourself. The common area outside is also good with a pool, sun area and shaded area.

Disliked: The bathroom I had needed updating. Also there are only lockers to fit a day pack (and not in your room), not a large pack.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Carlos Soares

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool, very good atmosphere - the hostel has a bar. Very clean and nice looking hostel. There are many showers and bathrooms there. Staff were very helpful (They even went to the bus station themselves to change my bus ticket for me).

Disliked: The brazilian staff could have interacted with the guests more. They did not accept credit/debit card.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ivan Thomsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, the pool, good atmosphere. It was easy to get new friends.

Disliked: you have to shower in cold water

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Antonietta Vicario

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2012

Liked: Our check- in was very smooth and the person whe checked us in gave us great tips and was really helpful. The bed we slept in was VERY comfortable but our room was near the bar where there were many travellers up all hours of the night and way too loud

Disliked: The property was really dirty!!! And way too much of a party scene for our taste. When I woke up to brush my teeth, someone had thrown up in the sink overnight and it was hours before the sink was cleaned!!! If you want to party, this might be your place. If you want to sleep, I'd say stay somewhere else.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s in a good location to jump on a local bus (opposite McDonalds!) to go to the brazilian side of the falls. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful - Raphael and the big fella with the tatoos...nice dude´s. It´s clean and has a good atmosphere.

Disliked: The fruit juice in the morning...looks like juice, tastes like water. ,-( maybe thats just me?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Scowby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about this hostel - best one I satyed in on my 4 week trip in Brazil. Staff were super friendly and accomodating. There was always someone at the front desk. They were very knowledgable and spoke good English. The bar was great and barman was nice. The pool was clean. There was a nice communal area with a TV and sofas. Some nice restaurants in walking distance. The dorms were clean and felt secure.

Disliked: nothing!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anton Steiner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: free internet!!!

Disliked: After changing to the smaller bambu hostel of argentinian side, we discovered the inexhaustible friendliness of the hostel personal changed totally. Apart from this was it a pretty good stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: goodlocation and very helpfull satf :)

Disliked: nothing .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Simkiss

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 November 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Good sociable areas to meet other travellers, nice vibe, comfortable place

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Supermakets very near, good Internet connection, very nice staff...

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen facilities and patio area are good. Breakfast is good and constantly refilled. Location is safe and central. Supermarket close by.

Disliked: Dorm had 9 beds instead of 8 so was a little cramped. No electric outlets near our bunk bed. The atmosphere did not feel much like a hostel (A family with a kid hangs out there many evenings.. not sure who they were). No wi-fi in dorm but worked in the lobby.