We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Floripa Surf Hostel

Hostel | Srv. Ieda Maria Luz da Costa, 190, Campeche Beach Florianopolis, Brazil 88063-182

92.1% Overall Rating

20 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2013)

John Albert thinks…

"Great place, perfect location just a few meters from surf. It`s a small hostel they had a really nice kitchen and tv room, wi-fi was reliable and everything was there. Thank`s Juan for the awesome…"

Read all Floripa Surf Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.31
  • Luggage Room USD 2.04
  • Towel USD 2.04

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Hotel São Sebastião da Praia
36.40 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Sagui Hostel
12.23 USD

Hostel 97.1% 7 reviews
Sarau Hostel
9.38 USD

Hostel 85.7% 9 reviews
Campeche Hostel
15.50 USD

Hostel 89.6% 11 reviews
Moa Backpackers - Campeche
16.31 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Florianopolis Flat
14.27 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Floripa Surf Camp e Hostel
32.63 USD

Hostel 86.7% 3 reviews
Garapuvu Hostel
244.70 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

20 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Floripa Surf Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.5%
Location
91.4%
Facilities
87.6%
Cleanliness
93.3%
Staff
94.3%
Value
94.3%
Safety
93.3%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Albert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, perfect location just a few meters from surf. It`s a small hostel they had a really nice kitchen and tv room, wi-fi was reliable and everything was there. Thank`s Juan for the awesome time! Best hostel in Brazil so far. Obrigado!

Disliked: It was hard to leave, everything was great!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Saavedra Buhler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location next to the beach, we had a rental car and we could park inside of the hostel.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anne laukka

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 March 2013 anne would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and very welcoming and relaxed athosphere! Would stay again :)

Disliked: Nothing bad to say

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013

Liked: The dog and the people staying there at the time were the only nice things about the place.

Disliked: This is my first time writing a review after 15 plus years of travelling around the world and staying in hostels and this was one of the worst hostels I have ever stayed in. The owner (Juan) was very unfriendly and unhelpful. I had the unfortunate incident of having to stay 10 days there (not by choice - but due to an accident while trekking which meant I couldn't leave) but I have never been treated so badly whilst staying in a hostel. I was given very poor advice re medical assistance nor was offered any help getting to or from the hospital. Juan appears to only like male surfers who stay in the hostel - females he does not know how to interact with and is VERY disrespectful. There was bed bugs in the room - several people got bitten very badly but they just blamed mozzies! There is zero security in the place - no lockers in the room or even at reception. No locks to the door and no locked gate or fence around the property. People had money stolen from the rooms. The location is bad (apart from it's proximity to the beach). There is no supermarket nearby (apart from a local store which is VERY expensive) - no restaurants and no ATM within walking distance - although there are 2 bikes to use but they are so old they weren't working most of the time. There is no breakfast included but the owner offers a BBQ once a week which is very overpriced - the caiprinhas were served in a dirty plastic communal bottle not glasses. The kitchen facilities in the room is VERY basic and tiny - not enough space to cook and very limited utensils. Meals were sometimes offered but only to select travellers - only males who were surfing. The bunk beds were tiny (you cannot stretch your feet out while sleeping) and very badly made - the wooden slats were missing and very uncomfortable. There is no room between the bunk beds so bags just litter the entire floor making moving around the room very difficult. The Wifi is very poor and there is no access to a computer. The owner lives and runs the place like it is home rather than a hostel and is very selective to who he likes making some guests feeling very uncomfortable and unwelcome.. People were paying different rates for the same rooms. The owner offers day trips although he has no regard to safety and charges 20 plus reals per trip which is very expensive - treks were conducted in torrential rain which was very dangerous and he takes others to very dangerous surf spots where inexperienced surfers got injured. Despite being stuck there for 10 nights and knowing I couldn't walk due to an injury which occurred whilst on his trip (and therefore waiting for my bus in the afternoon) he got very angry that I was sat on the premises after check out and asked for extra money since I used the bathroom. The owner appears to be very greedy and only interested in helping you if you want to buy a surf board off him at an unreasonable price, charging you overpriced trips or if you can provide him with free weed to smoke. This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. There are much nicer hostels for the money in more convenient parts of the island - I would definitely NOT recommend staying there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, 100m from the beach! nice rooms with kitchen and fridge! very clean despite of some ants! Helpful owner! Nice people staying there!

Disliked: perhaps the island trekks and the boards a little overpriced!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly,homely feel...a great place to chill:-D

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff (including the dog), they went very very out of our way to help us. Great facilities in the rooms (normal double we booked) with huge bathroom, little stove to cook etc. it is in fact more like a hotel than a hostel. The area is not really a party place and more like an escape for relaxation/ walks/ surfing. there isn't an ATM nearby so make sure you take out your cash before.

Disliked: Nothing bad aout the hostel. We weren't too impressed with florianopolis itself but if we were to go back we would stay there again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Flanagan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fantastic hostel. It is only about 50 m to a great stretch of beach that provides multiple options for surfing, swimming or just relaxing. Each room has it's own kitchenette with everything you need to cook up some great meals, there is a large fridge and you can lend bikes for the short trip to the supermarket. Also the location is the southern end of the island means you are close to most of the good nature walks and treks, all very easy to get to by bus. The owners Juan and his Dad are super friendly and extremely helpful and go out of their way to give good information, and along with there dog make staying here a pleasure. They also have good surfboards for rent, at good prices. This is not a party hostel, but a beautiful, clean and good value option for Florianopolis.

Disliked: Nothing - suggest to bring some mosquito repellent though as there can be some at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sinead O'Halloran

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: A big thanks to Carlos for a great stay, the room was lovely and big and had a great bathroom and kitchen area, the hostel is literally right on Campeche beach and has a cool common area with a big pool table. There's no bar in the hostel but you can buy your own drink and bring it anywhere you want so it works great. Do some surf lessons while there - we booked in an hour with Arnie and loved it. Also, Carlos let us use the bikes for free which were great for shop runs and gave us a lift to the bus station when we left. Really recommend staying here.

Disliked: Sinead left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Bradshaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 May 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stay if you want to be self-sufficient for a few days. The private rooms have the cooking equipment you need and lots of space, you are 5 minutes from the beach, and there are bikes you can use if you want to explore further afield.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Fordyce

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 April 2012 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at floripa surf hostel was amazing so we extended our visit for two more nights. Juan the owner and his dad Carlos are two of the most friendly and helpful people we have ever met. The hostel is beautiful with hammocks outside each apartment and colourful flowers around the central garden. The apartment was very clean, had a large main room with double bed and table and also had a private kitchen with hob, microwave, refrigerator, sink etc and all the necessary cutlery and plates to be self sufficient. There is a minimarket 200m away towards the bus stop so you can ensure you have the essentials to live happily. It is the second from last abode on the road and the road quickly turns into dunes over which the large surf area of Campeche beach is accessed, literally 100m to the waves. It also turned out that Juan was a surf instructor and so I bought an hour long lesson. After checking the surf, instead of merely walking my girlfriend and I to Campeche Juan drove us halfway down the island to 'a better place to learn' which turned out to be a wild and deserted beach called Solidao. Stopping along the way to show us different unique beaches, points of interest, spectacular views and bars and taking us to delicious restaurant on the way back we had easily taken up 4 hours of his time in what was actually a florianopolis surf island tour. It's a shame the scale only goes up to "good" for ratings on this site as "excellent" would be closer to the truth. I cannot emphasise strongly enough, if you're going to florianopolis stay at this place, we loved every minute. Thanks Juan and Carlos!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annegret Worrmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012 Annegret would recommend this property

Liked: They have lots of nice hammocks where you can chill and the beach is just around the corner.

Disliked: Annegret left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Spradling

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is an awesome guy! Always love free bikes. The private room was super clean and nice!

Disliked: Location is great for going to the beach (half a block away Campache beach!). Surf beach, good for surfing obviously and for going to a not crowded beach. If you're looking for a place closer to the night life and popular beaches I recommend Submarino Hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vicky Osman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2012 Vicky would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice spacious rooms with ensuite. There is a huge fridge and two small gas hobs to cook on in the room (a little kitchenette). There were also 2 bikes you could use for free to cycle to the huge local supermarket. The hostel is in a really quiet area and 3 mins walk from the beach.

Disliked: The computer wasn´t working when we were there so we had to go into town to get on the internet but they have wifi so fine if you have your own laptop etc. It´s in a residential area so nothing going on in the evenings, fine if you want a quiet stay somewhere but not the right place if you are looking to socialise and hit some bars.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah Kaslar

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2012 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels we have stayed at. The hostel was located right next to the beach. There is a small walking track to the beach at the end of the street and the beach has great surf. The room (we had a private double room) was spacious, had a large bathroom and kitchenette with all you needed to prepare meals. There was also another kitchen, outdoor bbq and pool table for guest use. The owners were so friendly and were really informative about the area and very knowledgable about the surf and beaches.

Disliked: Could not fault this hostel