HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hibisco Hostel

Hostel | Rua João Antonio da Silveira, 34 Lagoa da Conceição, Florianopolis, Brazil SC, 88062-150

93.0% Overall Rating

17 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

"The hostel staff was really helpful and friendly at any time. I just arrived in Brasil and the quiet atmosphere in the hostel was just perfect for the first few days to get into the brasilian way of life. The hostel…"

Read all Hibisco Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Vintage Hostel Florianópolis
11.83 USD

Hostel 100.0% 4 reviews
Tucano House Backpackers
14.27 USD

Hostel 91.2% 290 reviews
Panorama Hostel Eco Backpacker
15.09 USD

Hostel 93.1% 20 reviews
Sunhouse Backpackers
12.23 USD

Hostel 93.1% 19 reviews
Hostel Way2Go
8.97 USD

Hostel 96.3% 112 reviews
Lagoa Hostel
14.27 USD

Hostel 82.5% 68 reviews
Submarino Hostel
10.20 USD

Hostel 95.1% 91 reviews
Gold Coast Lagoa
20.39 USD

Hostel 90.3% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

17 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hibisco Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.7%
Location
84.4%
Facilities
90.0%
Cleanliness
92.2%
Staff
97.8%
Value
95.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 18 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel staff was really helpful and friendly at any time. I just arrived in Brasil and the quiet atmosphere in the hostel was just perfect for the first few days to get into the brasilian way of life. The hostel itself is really nice, beautiful view over Lagoa and really quiet during the low season. Thanks Ilan for some really nice days in your hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Genial! el lugar es hermoso, cómodo y muy tranquilo, con muchos árboles y verde alrededor...con una familia de monitos hermosos que se acercan cada día por los árboles, muy lindos de ver y no molestan!, la limpieza es muy correcta, las camas cómodas con todo lo necesario para un buen descanso!....la gente del Hostel es muy eficiente, amigable y simpática! siempre tienen recomendaciones y ayudan con cualquier contrariedad...hacen del lugar un espacio de armonía y diversión!. LO RECOMIENDO!!!

Disliked: NADA

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great facilities, good breakfast, very clean, staff is really friendly and helpful, very good internet connection

Disliked: it's a bit of a walk to bars and restaurants - but at the same time it's very calm if you wanna relax and sleep well

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rico Markus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

23 January 2013 Rico would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful stuff. Not far to the city center but far enough that its not noisy. Good place to relax.

Disliked: Rico left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've been traveling around south america for 3 months, and in Florianopolis found a great place to enjoy and relax at the same time. The Staff are friendly and help when needed, the little monkeys are amazing. This hostel seems that only has only two years, it is still fairly new and well maintained and very important are well organized and clean I highly recommend the Hibisco when you are traveling to Floripa

Disliked: Everything was great, nothing to complain

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012

Liked: friendly staff lago do conceicao was recommended to me, but I definately would have prefered to go to Barra (there are many other international tourists and it´s straight at the beach). for me the hostel was too quiet, more a place for couples or groups of friends to go. There is a nice common room and also an open eating area.

Disliked: What really repelled me at first and did not get better with the time despite of various incense sticks I used and the cleaning lady spraying the place was the strong smell of urine. It went into all my belongings so I had to wash everything after the stay. There are cats around and some little marmoset monkeys (which get fed close to the kitchen area, something I think is not such a good idea thinking of deseases and the urine stains they leave on the outside table) - maybe they are the reason for smell

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claire Mondou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, well designed hostel recently opened. Located 20 minutes from downtown, easy access by citybus. Fully equiped kitchen (good breakfast) as well as T.V. room. Close to supermarkets, cafes and restaurants. Spacious and comfortable dorm. with balcony, Locks for luggages are included. New bathrooms. Friendly atmosphere, very helpful staff, speak English. A nice place to relax or party, depending on your needs.

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xavier roussel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2011 Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: Un hostel un peu excentre. 10 minutes a pied du "centre touristique". Compter 1heures a pied pour la plage mais des bus passent fréquemment. L'auberge se trouve dans un quartier redidenciel calme. La terasse couverte et tres sympa avec une vue sur la nature. la cuisine et vraiment très bien équipée, le tout très bien tenu (tres propre). l'endroit ideal pour ce reposer et passer du bon temps. un BBQ est aussi a dispo. enfin, il y a une salle tele avec console et une connection internet tres rapide. Pour ceux qui ne souhaite pas être les pieds dans l'eau et au calme: c'est l'endroit ideal. PS: facile d’accès depuis le terminal de bus.

Disliked: Un peu loin de la mer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma overton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 emma would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were fantastic so helpful with info and places to see friendly and chatty. speck excellant english, its not a party hostel but peaceful and calm ,the hostel is infact new so everything is clean and nice, nice location and has a view of the lagoon and 15 minute walk from bus therminal east to find. i really would recommed to stay at this hostel if i was ever to return this is the place i would stay. i meet some great people here from brasil.

Disliked: only that the fact when i got there they was not expecting me, it was something between hostelbookers and the hostel. everything was sorted out easy and i was very happy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are all friendly and helpful, the place is spotlessly clean and the kitchen is possibly the best we've had in 7 months around South America! We booked for 4 nights and ended up staying 2 weeks. It's close to shops/bars and atms but out of the way enough to be quiet at night. The best thing about the place is that most mornings a group of little monkeys come through the trees by the hostel balcony!!!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hibisco Hostel is a very cozy hostel, and the rooms are very clean and new. It is located in the middle of Lagoa da Conceição, but even though you are really close to town, it feels like you are in a little green oasis. There is a busstop across the street, so getting to the beaches or Florianópolis is very easy. Grocery store, shops, restaurants, and bars are only a five min. walk from the hostel. The facilities on the hostel is very good; there is a toilet/bathroom for each room, perfect internet connection, nice tv-room with english channels, kitchen with all you need to cook your own meals, and finally a good breakfast. It is driven by a very friendly family, which takes very good care of you - immediately when you arrive, you feel like you are a part of the Hibisco family. The staff is very helpfull, likewise the family surrounding the hostel. They will do everything to make your stay in Floripa the best - ask them where to go and what to see, and you will get an amazing experience.

Disliked: we have no complains.