HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Banana Beach Hostel

Hostel | Servidão da Prainha 20, Barra da Lagoa, Florianopolis, Brazil 88061240

77.7% Overall Rating

78 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2013)

Rowan Clark thinks…

"Great location in Barra De Lagoa. Right on the beach and easy access to beaches, restaurants and shops. Breakfast is pretty good and all you can eat (toast, ham, cheese, yoghurt, juice, tea coffee)…"

Read all Banana Beach Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.55
  • Towel USD 1.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important Information: During the Carnaval (from the night of February 8th until the night of February 13th): * Minimum 5-night stay required. * Even if your reservation overlaps only part of the Carnaval nights, you will be charged for 5 nights of the higher, Carnaval price, depending on the type of bed. * All reservations within these dates will only be confirmed upon a 50% deposit of the total amount. You will receive an email instructing how to complete the payment. *** According to latest TV news broadcasts, during the dates of the Carnaval, consistent water distribution in Florianopolis might be damaged **

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Barra Beach Club - Oceanfront Hostel
12.23 USD

Hostel 98.2% 103 reviews
The Backpackers Share House Floripa
11.42 USD

Hostel 86.1% 114 reviews
Pousada dos Corais
20.39 USD

Guesthouse 98.9% 5 reviews
Pousada e Hostel Ancora
28.55 USD

Hostel 79.6% 7 reviews
Floripa Home Hostel Beach
10.20 USD

Hostel 91.4% 25 reviews
Backpackers Sunset
10.20 USD

Hostel 90.7% 108 reviews
The View Hostel
18.35 USD

Hostel 87.8% 7 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Florianópolis
13.36 USD

Hostel 77.0% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.7%

Overall Rating

78 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Banana Beach Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 88 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: General atmosphere

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

vanessa henley

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The staff were incredibly rude. The place is full of cockroaches in every room... We had to move 3 times and then eventually move out of the hostel. We were refused a refund and were sworn and shouted at... The hostel is empty no one else was staying here and now I know why.... Disgusting customer service.... Stay here if you like your room full of cockroaches... There are better hostels in the area that are not full of vermin....we asked to speak to the owner and the manager refused to let us, I am now trying to get these details from hostelbookers.....

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rowan Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Rowan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Barra De Lagoa. Right on the beach and easy access to beaches, restaurants and shops. Breakfast is pretty good and all you can eat (toast, ham, cheese, yoghurt, juice, tea coffee) and the staff are helpful and friendly. Free caprihiana every night is a nice perk

Disliked: They have a ridiculous rule that you can't hang your clothes in common areas so nothing ever dries when hanging in the rooms, which is quite a pain when trying to dry your towel after being at the beach. The kitchen facilities are pretty much non-existent it is a bit of a task to make a decent meal.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

14 February 2013

Liked: Very good location./Boa localização

Disliked: - Breakfast is not good. Some days they didn't have juice. - A guest had a discussion with a guy in the street, and he invaded the hostel, they were screaming and fight during the night. Lots of people were afraid. This hostel is not safe.(the guest wasn't expulsed and the violent man came back the other day) - They sold us tickets for a party, but at the time of it, they didn't have tickets. We had to solve it by ourselves. The transfer to the party was too expensive, and when we saw the bus, it was a normal one, very warm, and there wasn't seats avaiable for everybody.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

richie robinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 richie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has some good points such as the bar and the atmosphere there at nights, the rooftop pool with sweet views and chill out area. The staff try their hardest and were always helpful. the wifi was pretty good i guess for a big hostel.

Disliked: The hostel is as organized as a box full of lego, and really need to focus on their management - a big negative about this place, there seems to be too many chiefs and not enough indians. the kitchen is a pretty poor excuse, there is not even a pan, just a couple of pots. it was carnaval when we were there so somethings can be excused, but to be honest, the place was a huge mess by the time we left, and smelt really badly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

07 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a hostel nothing fancy you get what you pay for, sucked having very few power points.

Disliked: wasnt as social as expected.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the caiprinhis were excellent and meant bar had nice atmosphere in evening. good location

Disliked: it was not clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JAQUELINE MACHADO BEZERRA

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 JAQUELINE would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly atmosphere. You win a free caipirinha per day.

Disliked: The sheets the hostel provide you to cover ur bed could be in better quality.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna andersson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013 anna would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the place has great feeling to it and with the staff many free things included in the hostel like surf baords sand baords kayak the best breakfast i had and a free capirinia in the rockin bar ! and the pool!!!! great location ! all around great place !

Disliked: anna left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Tymara Wearne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Tymara would recommend this property

Liked: Near the beach

Disliked: There was no water over new years

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lars evans

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

28 December 2012 lars would recommend this property

Liked: free surfbaords you can rent for the day wich is great ! good prices for the rooms and they keep them clean ! nice bar with good vibes and free capirinia ! all around a good vibe

Disliked: lars left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tania lase

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

22 December 2012 tania would recommend this property

Liked: the banana is realy nice it has a good location very close to the beach the people working there are are realy nice its also quite clean. oh yaeh ! they have the best caperinia in all of brazil !!!!!

Disliked: tania left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew barnley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel has a bar that they have a lot of live music in.the have an amaizing view from the roof top wich is all deck with a nice swimming pool . they also rent free surfbaords wich was cool, it was clean and the staff are very friendly and give out a good vibe in the hostel its a shame i coudnt stay more i recomend this place to everybody !

Disliked: andrew left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

29 November 2012

Liked: free surfboards, breakfast ok

Disliked: narky staff bad vibes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Gendron

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 November 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Probably has the best rooftop bar in all of Floripa. Overlook the beach and talk to your fellow mates while sipping on a free drink at 8:30. Not to mention the hostel is the closest to the beach just a quick walk across a foot-bridge. Great internet, had no problem talking to family on skype.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was average t best

Disliked: Don't "borrow" surf boards" it's a scam they have to make money. I seen about 10 customers get caught to "repair" tiny dings nd scratches" they catch every1

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leandro Devitte

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 November 2012 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: O lugar é excelente, perto da praia e com uma vista ótima para a lagoa. Perto de vários estabelecimentos. O quarto superior tem uma sacada excelente, e o bar é ótimo para conversar com os hospedes.

Disliked: Leandro left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

gilmar manfredi

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 November 2012 gilmar would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal para quem não se preocupa com luxo e frescuras. Grande oportunidade de relacionamento internacional, com pessoas de nível universitário.

Disliked: Poderia melhorar na qualidade dos utensílios e roupagem de cama.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing view. very clean, fresh and testy breakfast. very good service

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sharon shine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 November 2012 sharon would recommend this property

Liked: Banana beach was perfect!!! The people are amazing. Never felt so home so away from home. Everything is clean all the time , you get all the services you can imagine served with a lot of love! Highly recommend . Enjoy.

Disliked: sharon left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere in the bar, amazing breakfast, very helpful staff, did everything we asked, made us feel very much at home. Best thing without a doubt - pool on the roof with the most incredible view to the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great view, kind stuff, clean place and much more the bar is wonderful, pool on the roof. the stuff was very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Ribeiro

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

30 October 2012 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing view from the bar/restaurant of both the river & the beach!! The breakfast was out of this world, I had so much fun in the bar with the free drink given each night, the staff was super helpful and spoke several languages fluently, they even helped booking my flights! ideally located.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Sher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 October 2012 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: I didn't have much expectations at first, I thought it'll be just another hostel, but I found myself sitting in the Jacuzzi on the roof looking at the beach on one side and the river on the other... feeling on top of the world! I planned to stay there for 1-2 nights, but it turned out to be almost 2 weeks of pure fun

Disliked: Couldn't think of anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Eve

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 October 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Best things about this hostel i guess are probably its location (the view from the pool is just out of this world), good internet, and the staff - we didn't stay there in high season, so there weren't too many staff, but the 2 guys that were there just did everything possible to help us out. They spoke fluent English and kept us busy all the time, sending us to the best beaches and parties on the island. We had a blast! Even when we wanted to look for an apartment to stay here for 2 months, they took us to look for 2 hours (!) outside the hostel and we found the most amazing little apartment. We'll sure come visit every now and then on the high season as we're now neighbors :)

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.