HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Banana Beach Hostel

Hostel | Servidão da Prainha 20, Barra da Lagoa, Florianopolis, Brazil 88061240

77.7% Overall Rating

78 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2013)

Rowan Clark thinks…

"Great location in Barra De Lagoa. Right on the beach and easy access to beaches, restaurants and shops. Breakfast is pretty good and all you can eat (toast, ham, cheese, yoghurt, juice, tea coffee)…"

Read all Banana Beach Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.46
  • Towel USD 1.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important Information: During the Carnaval (from the night of February 8th until the night of February 13th): * Minimum 5-night stay required. * Even if your reservation overlaps only part of the Carnaval nights, you will be charged for 5 nights of the higher, Carnaval price, depending on the type of bed. * All reservations within these dates will only be confirmed upon a 50% deposit of the total amount. You will receive an email instructing how to complete the payment. *** According to latest TV news broadcasts, during the dates of the Carnaval, consistent water distribution in Florianopolis might be damaged **

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Barra Beach Club - Oceanfront Hostel
20.22 USD

Hostel 98.2% 102 reviews
Hostel Portunhol
11.23 USD

Hostel 85.1% 14 reviews
The Backpackers Share House Floripa
15.73 USD

Hostel 85.8% 112 reviews
Pousada dos Corais
20.22 USD

Guesthouse 98.9% 5 reviews
Pousada e Hostel Ancora
31.46 USD

Hostel 79.6% 7 reviews
Floripa Home Hostel Beach
8.54 USD

Hostel 91.3% 22 reviews
Backpackers Sunset
17.97 USD

Hostel 92.5% 102 reviews
The View Hostel
20.22 USD

Hostel 87.8% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.7%

Overall Rating

78 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Banana Beach Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 88 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

moshe Danieli

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

28 February 2011 moshe would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the view and the staff of the hostel

Disliked: n/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy going friendly atmosphere, had a really good time at night up at the bar, bar staff were nice. We had a double room that was nice and spacious. Only had to share the bathroom with one other room, and there was no one in it for most of our stay.

Disliked: Office staff were really slow and didn't really seem very onto it to help us out with sorting buses etc. Constantly a queue as everything takes so long to sort out. They kept forgetting things, like that we had already paid for something etc. Internet was pretty crap, only one computer worked and it was really slow. But all in all, still a good stay.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2011

Liked: It is really close to the beach and all the shops you need to enjoy your stay.

Disliked: The smell! It is sad cos the Hostel itself is great, however there seems to be a sewer somewhere close by which just makes the entire place smell.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing view from the snooker and bar area. a great place to socialize with other travelers. free capirinias at 8 in the evening. the crew did a barbeque in one of the nights which was very fun. the crew were very friendly and kept our room very clean.

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, right by the beach, nice bar with good view. Staff very helpful

Disliked: They need to dust the double rooms, cobwebs everywhere!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Henrik Solmenius

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

15 February 2011 Henrik would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is top notch and made us feel right at home. Great people, very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent and we love the view from the verandah where we enjoyed our breakfast. We liked the fact that they had laundry service and that we could borrow surfboards. We stayed in a private double ensuite and the bathroom was newly decorated. All in all a great place to stay. Highly recommended!

Disliked: It was very humid during our stay and we missed a tumbler-drier or a cabinet drier to dry our clothes and towels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean and well kept. The view from the bar is amazing and you are able to see a panaromic view of the ocean. In addition, the staff was very helpful and friendly and gave us explanations of all the activities.They send us to some great cruises and parties. We used the kiaks every morning and then took the surf boards in the afternoon. Overall a really fun experience and very recommended!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room (Superior Double Ensuite) had an oven and a fridge. The dishes were washed daily by the staff.

Disliked: The street is really noisy and the breakfast was really poor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

29 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome bar, great staff, location and breakfast. Also - cleaned very often!

Disliked: nothing much, really good experience!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

23 January 2011

Liked: This hostel is a great place to meet people with a good rooftop bar and regular BBQ nights. There are good kitchen facilities and it is in an ideal location at Barra Da Lagoa. The bar staff are great fun and friendly.

Disliked: The managers and clerical staff are extremely disorganised and very unhelpful. We booked for a BBQ night on the understanding there would be a range of different vegetarian food to eat as well as meat - there was bread or salad! We decided to pay the extra cost for this hostel due to the free facilities listed on their site - however lots of these were wrongly advertised - only one of the kayaks was free ( a group of 3 of us wanted to use them) and there is no pool. Another traveller told us they paid extra for the hostel service to purchase their ongoing bus ticket , this was not done and he lost a day´s accommodation at the next destination, they also did not complete laundry on time. When I came to clear the one beer I owed upon check out they informed me I still owed for the entire stay and food. I explained we had paid in full on the first day and it consequesntly took over 30 minutes to find this on their system... of course they were talking to other meners of staff, guests etc about the weather, other duties, as well as staing out of the window whilst i was waiting!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun , friendly

Disliked: dirty

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, right on the water. really good to be able to borrow equipment for free - surfboards, kayaks, sandboards. caparinha o´clock is lovely.

Disliked: ...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katherine Pivetta

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT location! Staff went out of the way to help in anyway, very friendly and always have time for you. Good place to meet people, fun bar. Rooms are cleaned daily. Free drink everyday. AMAZING breakfast. Equipment to use for free. Thoroughly recommend to anyone traveling to Florianopolis. Fantastic hostel.

Disliked: Due to being a new hostel the staff werent always sure of procedures. No ATM at the village and no credit card faciliities at the hostel so need to be prepared and take enough cash.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

jacqui evans

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 January 2011 jacqui would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is excellent, it looks right over the river/inlet that leads to the beach as well as the beach itself (in the distance)

Disliked: We dont expect much in terms of the bathrooms in hostels, but this one was particularly bad with mould and grime. We paid about $100 USD per night for our room (due to the high season), which had a shared bathroom. It wouldnt take much for them to give the bathrooms a good old clean and scrub once a month to keep it a bit nicer.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People Breakfast Location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved waking up in the morning and being just a few steps from the beach ,shops,restaurants and markets.... the hostel itself is very impressive and it was fun just to hang out.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind and helpful staff, great atmosphere with lots to do, and the view is absolutely unbelievable...Thank you Banana Beach!

Disliked: Even if I try, there's nothing to dislike there