HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Banana Beach Hostel Florianopolis

Hostel

Servidao da Prainha 20, Barra da Lagoa, Florianopolis, Brazil

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 81%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 19.01USD
  • Towel 1.09USD

Important Information

Important Information:
During the Carnaval (from the night of February 8th until the night of February 13th):
* Minimum 5-night stay required.
* Even if your reservation overlaps only part of the Carnaval nights, you will be charged for 5 nights of the higher, Carnaval price, depending on the type of bed.
* All reservations within these dates will only be confirmed upon a 50% deposit of the total amount. You will receive an email instructing how to complete the payment.
*** According to latest TV news broadcasts, during the dates of the Carnaval, consistent water distribution in Florianopolis might be damaged **

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 81%

Value 75%

Showing 21-3 of 3 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: great view, kind stuff, clean place and much morethe bar is wonderful, pool on the roof.the stuff was very helpful

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Amazing view from the bar/restaurant of both the river & the beach!!The breakfast was out of this world,I had so much fun in the bar with the free drink given each night,the staff was super helpful and spoke several languages fluently, they even helped booking my flights! ideally located.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Probably has the best rooftop bar in all of Floripa. Overlook the beach and talk to your fellow mates while sipping on a free drink at 8:30. Not to mention the hostel is the closest to the beach just a quick walk across a foot-bridge.Great internet, had no problem talking to family on skype.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: I didn't have much expectations at first, I thought it'll be just another hostel, but I found myself sitting in the Jacuzzi on the roof looking at the beach on one side and the river on the other... feeling on top of the world!I planned to stay there for 1-2 nights, but it turned out to be almost 2 weeks of pure fun

Disliked: Couldn't think of anything

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Best things about this hostel i guess are probably its location (the view from the pool is just out of this world), good internet, and the staff - we didn't stay there in high season, so there weren't too many staff, but the 2 guys that were there just did everything possible to help us out. They spoke fluent English and kept us busy all the time, sending us to the best beaches and parties on the island. We had a blast!Even when we wanted to look for an apartment to stay here for 2 months, they took us to look for 2 hours (!) outside the hostel and we found the most amazing little apartment.We'll sure come visit every now and then on the high season as we're now neighbors :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: the staff the roof and the location

Disliked: too many beautiful girls

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: everything perfect

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: on a good beach.

Disliked: no one was there. it wasn't clean, there were loads of wasps in the kitchen - too many to have flown in. i guess there was a nest. the bar was dirty and very smelly. maybe they shut down when it is out of season and have a deep clean and update.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: the best location in Flori, very good facility,vanderfull swiming pool.

Disliked: i liked all.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: The one girl who worked there was nice and that they had to close for a day so we were put in another hostel.....

Disliked: It was the worst place we have stayed in during eight months. It was crammed, drirty ( I felt dirty just going in there), the rooms (we were shown two) were so small, smelled like mold, tons of mosquitos, four spiders in my room, dirty, my clothes were smelled of mold after a day, the bathrooms were so dirty, no paper, towels or soap. This is the only kicthen we didnt cook because it was nasty. Oh, and our room had one window that was next to the stairs so that every one popped their head in. God, it was SO bad! the second night the hostel had to close due to some trobble so we spent half of our day waiting to be relocated, which really was a good thing. Could not have stayed there one more day! The people was friendly though,

Check Availability