We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Banana Beach Hostel

Hostel | Servidão da Prainha 20, Barra da Lagoa, Florianopolis, Brazil 88061240

77.7% Overall Rating

78 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2013)

Rowan Clark thinks…

"Great location in Barra De Lagoa. Right on the beach and easy access to beaches, restaurants and shops. Breakfast is pretty good and all you can eat (toast, ham, cheese, yoghurt, juice, tea coffee)…"

Read all Banana Beach Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.55
  • Towel USD 1.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Important Information: During the Carnaval (from the night of February 8th until the night of February 13th): * Minimum 5-night stay required. * Even if your reservation overlaps only part of the Carnaval nights, you will be charged for 5 nights of the higher, Carnaval price, depending on the type of bed. * All reservations within these dates will only be confirmed upon a 50% deposit of the total amount. You will receive an email instructing how to complete the payment. *** According to latest TV news broadcasts, during the dates of the Carnaval, consistent water distribution in Florianopolis might be damaged **

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Barra Beach Club - Oceanfront Hostel
20.39 USD

Hostel 98.2% 103 reviews
The Backpackers Share House Floripa
14.27 USD

Hostel 86.1% 114 reviews
Pousada dos Corais
24.47 USD

Guesthouse 98.9% 5 reviews
Pousada e Hostel Ancora
28.55 USD

Hostel 79.6% 7 reviews
Backpackers Sunset
12.23 USD

Hostel 90.7% 108 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Florianópolis
13.36 USD

Hostel 77.0% 20 reviews
Hostel Energia da Lagoa
14.27 USD

Hostel 89.0% 12 reviews
Submarino Hostel
10.20 USD

Hostel 95.1% 91 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.7%

Overall Rating

78 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Banana Beach Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 88 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff the roof and the location

Disliked: too many beautiful girls

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ciaran cunningham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012

Liked: on a good beach.

Disliked: no one was there. it wasn't clean, there were loads of wasps in the kitchen - too many to have flown in. i guess there was a nest. the bar was dirty and very smelly. maybe they shut down when it is out of season and have a deep clean and update.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ayhan Bayram

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Ayhan would recommend this property

Liked: everything perfect

Disliked: Ayhan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ehud kozniak

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

31 July 2012 ehud would recommend this property

Liked: the best location in Flori, very good facility,vanderfull swiming pool.

Disliked: i liked all.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 March 2012

Liked: The one girl who worked there was nice and that they had to close for a day so we were put in another hostel.....

Disliked: It was the worst place we have stayed in during eight months. It was crammed, drirty ( I felt dirty just going in there), the rooms (we were shown two) were so small, smelled like mold, tons of mosquitos, four spiders in my room, dirty, my clothes were smelled of mold after a day, the bathrooms were so dirty, no paper, towels or soap. This is the only kicthen we didnt cook because it was nasty. Oh, and our room had one window that was next to the stairs so that every one popped their head in. God, it was SO bad! the second night the hostel had to close due to some trobble so we spent half of our day waiting to be relocated, which really was a good thing. Could not have stayed there one more day! The people was friendly though,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jim ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

27 January 2012 jim would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, beautiful location, good atmosphere. really friendly and helpfull staff. I booked for 5 days and ended staying 2 weeks! Highly recommended

Disliked: jim left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Abbie Pask

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

16 January 2012 Abbie would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are cleaned everyday and keep the bathrooms stocked with toilet paper. The cleaners are polite and quiet when cleaning. It is a big property and while i was there they had built a roof deck (which is yet to be finished, but making good progress) The staff are mostly helpful. The rooms are a good size and there is a social bar which is a good size with a pool table and big TV to watch films on rainy days. The entertainment manager was the most helpful and enthusiatic, he definitely brings character to the hostel. It is a good location to the beach and the bus stop if you want to explore the island more.

Disliked: When it rained water seemed to leak into the rooms. nothing really bad but a suprise when you jump out of bed.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Unfriendly staff, VERY dirty, noisy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly & helpful staff, clean but basic, great location - near the beach, shops & bars / restaurants.

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012

Liked: Good location and communal area

Disliked: The staff were not friendly and did not smile at all. Most did not know where things were in and out of the hostel. Clearly a total lack of communication and organization. On arrival our 2 dorm beds were not available: someone was already sleeping in one.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the beach, with free use of surf boards. Chilled out with a free drink ever night!

Disliked: Kitchen could be better equipped

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel!! The staff is very friendly. They are helpfull and if you have a question they will find the answert for you. The location is good if you like to go the beaches. If you want to party there is a bus station in front of the hostel. It will take you everywhere on the island. From the hostel you can do a nice walk up to the mountain where you have a beautiful view over the beach. If you like to learn surfing, you have to go to this beach! You can rent free surfboard and wetsuits!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, seconds from the beach. Good breakfast and free surfing boards and internet! The staff was very helpful and I felt really safe. They also arrange party and concert tickets and they gave me great tips for my travel.

Disliked: All was fine for me!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in low season and got upgraded to our own apartment with a balcony overlooking the sea and river,it was amazing. If you come in low season ask for room 20!not sure how the hostel is at busy times but the seem to be working on a pool on the roof so it should be good!

Disliked: Nothing. The village us small but it's very easy to get a bus to lagoa where there are bars and buses seem to run late

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the indulging suite and the excursions offered on the island.

Disliked: I would appreciate more people, though it is the off-season and I didn't see many other backpackers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you gotta love the bar, and they did this kind of party lounge next to it. also they got an awesome fruit and acai place going there. loved it. also, i got upgraded for a private room just because i hit it off with the staff and the room was available. good people.

Disliked: well there werent a lot of people there, but then again, the whole island was kinda empty (off season)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sharon shalhav

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 May 2011 sharon would recommend this property

Liked: it all comes down to great staff. they make you feel at home, and really put the time and effort to make sure you get the most out of floripa.

Disliked: had a blast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lauren eve

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

15 May 2011 lauren would recommend this property

Liked: caring staff, great location, good breakfast.

Disliked: nothing at all, really good experience.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my stay!! Staff were very helpul!!

Disliked: Rooms could be a little cleaner

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zara kordas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

30 March 2011 zara would recommend this property

Liked: this place is wicked, really good location and views of the beach, people are really really nice freindly helpfull , fun ever... :) would def stay here again no question

Disliked: nothing bad i can say

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabay Nimrod

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

30 March 2011 Gabay would recommend this property

Liked: everything was perfect the best vacation ever

Disliked: all was good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: mate dan the bartender is a loose mofo .!!!!! great times best place here !!!

Disliked: nothing had a ball

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

liron topaz

Alone

Relaxation/spa

14 March 2011 liron would recommend this property

Liked: I LIKED THE LOCATION AND THE STUFF.

Disliked: N/*A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and friendly staff! amazing breakfast and location too! had a great stay :)

Disliked: -

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Colm O Connor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2011 Colm would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good breakfast, good atmosphere in general.

Disliked: The girls at reception were not friendly, the guys were ok.Toilets and kitchen weren't cleaned often enough.