HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Submarino Hostel Florianopolis

Hostel

Travessa Angela Chaves, 121, Lagoa da Conceio, Florianopolis, Brazil

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 92%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 13.75USD

Important Information

- The information regarding our cancellation policy: the limit is 24hours before
- Our check in must be made until 11:00pm (later only with previous note) and the beds will ready at 12:30 (half past midday)
- Our check out mus be done until midday, we can keep the lugage if necessary until later, if the check out happens after 12:00 it will be charged half day extra and after 6:00 pm will be charged a hole day.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 92%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:

Liked: We found two beds one night befor New Years Eve, for 60 Reais each. A/C, beds and showers, kitchen etc. are allright, no complaints.

Disliked: We checked for availability on hostelbookers.com and found two free bads - after arrival(7am) they denied us the beds, claiming the hostel i fully booked. After we quickly booked the beds, through our phones, on hostelbookers the beds were suddenly available and we were allowed to stay. Unfortunately the staff gave us the impression, that we were not welcome - we assumed that is because we did not pay the 5 day package for New Years Eve (The hostel was booked for 31/12 - we did not try to outsmart the staff by booking two days before and two after). On Checkout we had to endure a solid 5 minute rampage of blames and insults in front of the taxi driver who picked us up, claiming we didn't want to pay, were rude etc..While the place itself is as described, the behavior was far off. Wouldn't recommend anyone to stay there.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I loved everything about this place, including the dog and cat they have there. The owners are also super friendly and helpfull. One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The breakfast is very good, one of the best there is to find at a hostel!The staff are really nice and helpful and tell you everything you need to know.The bike rent is great, it's far away from the closest beach so you'll need to take a bike or bus. Or walk a long walk (minimum 1 hour)Awesome free surfboards to use!!

Disliked: It's a bit overcrowded, there isn't much place to sit at night because there is too many people.The small kitchen is really used and the equipment is bad and grose.And even if you cook it's not sure there is room for you to sit and eat.Very noisy late at night. People is loud until 24:00 hours at least..

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

you was here during a busy time and sometimes the people make to much mess, it make you feel the space is less then realy is. We have 2 kitchens one have 20m2! we allways buy new equipment. I count 38 spots that you can sit to eat, more then the number of beds we have. We ask everybody to make silence after 10pm but was during the weekend and 95% of the people was having fun a lit bit more when you was trying to sleep at 10 on saturday night. A hotel could be more appropriate for a quiet couple.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Submarino has an awesome sink for hand washing laundry. Hammocks outside are nice. Decent breakfast and showers. I checked in really early and they kindly offered me some leftover breakfast while I waited. The one last that works there is super helpful and accommodating, the others are warm bodies.

Disliked: They have bunk beds three high, so-so clean, far from everything, giant roach crawling on the wall.


The property's response is

We have bunk beds three high, very good and solid ones, some people love it and even with more options they choose those beds, anyway I dont know why you complaning about that when you stay in a donw one. We allways making hard cleaning and every 2 months we put some poison to kill the bugs but we are next to the jungle and sometimes one can come in. Many people like our location a lot how you can see in the other coments. Anyway we gonna try to cleam more and roachs cant check-in anymore. :)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Super nice family run hostel! Clean facilities, helpful stuff and easy to meet other people! One of the best hostel i ever stayed in.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything about this hostel is amazing, the best I've stayed in. Booked for 3 nights, am leaving after 3 weeks and it still isn't long enough. I will be back. The owners and staff, hostel, area, cleanliness, atmosphere are all excellent

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good atmosphere. Friendly staff. Nice rooms

Disliked: WiFi reaching up stairs would be nice. Not a big deal though

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really good breakfast, nice bathrooms and comfy beds.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is possibly the best hostel i have ever stayed in, the staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpfull. There was a great atmosphere here, the dorms were spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was the best of all the hostels i stayed in in Brazil.This is a great place to meet fellow travellers and a good base for seeing Florionopolis.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: best hostel I've been so far! great place to meet people, very clean, nice rooms, cute dog, ... just perfect

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability