We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Submarino Hostel

Hostel | Tv. Angela Chaves, 121, Lagoa da Conceção, Florianopolis, Brazil 88062305

95.1% Overall Rating

90 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Ryan Daley thinks…

"Everything about this hostel is amazing, the best I've stayed in. Booked for 3 nights, am leaving after 3 weeks and it still isn't long enough. I will be back. The owners and staff, hostel, area,…"

Read all Submarino Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

- The information regarding our cancellation policy: the limit is 24hours before - Our check in must be made until 11:00pm (later only with previous note) and the beds will ready at 12:30 (half past midday) - Our check out mus be done until midday, we can keep the lugage if necessary until later, if the check out happens after 12:00 it will be charged half day extra and after 6:00 pm will be charged a hole day.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Tucano House Backpackers
18.35 USD

Hostel 91.2% 290 reviews
Panorama Hostel Eco Backpacker
20.39 USD

Hostel 93.1% 20 reviews
Vintage Hostel Florianópolis
11.83 USD

Hostel 100.0% 4 reviews
Hostel Way2Go
14.27 USD

Hostel 96.3% 112 reviews
Hibisco Hostel
18.35 USD

Hostel 93.0% 18 reviews
Sunhouse Backpackers
16.31 USD

Hostel 93.1% 19 reviews
Lagoa Hostel
12.23 USD

Hostel 82.5% 68 reviews
Gold Coast Lagoa
20.39 USD

Hostel 90.3% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

90 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Submarino Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 90 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Daley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this hostel is amazing, the best I've stayed in. Booked for 3 nights, am leaving after 3 weeks and it still isn't long enough. I will be back. The owners and staff, hostel, area, cleanliness, atmosphere are all excellent

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is possibly the best hostel i have ever stayed in, the staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpfull. There was a great atmosphere here, the dorms were spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was the best of all the hostels i stayed in in Brazil. This is a great place to meet fellow travellers and a good base for seeing Florionopolis.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. Friendly staff. Nice rooms

Disliked: WiFi reaching up stairs would be nice. Not a big deal though

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good breakfast, nice bathrooms and comfy beds.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel I've been so far! great place to meet people, very clean, nice rooms, cute dog, ... just perfect

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are comfy. The owners are really nice and friendly. The hostel was cleaned every day and the breakfast was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Casey Cougan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in hostels all around the globe and this hostel takes the cake. The whole concept is really well planned. Great location, the owners are lovely and all staff are really helpful. They know the perfect balance between party hostel and chill out hostel. They really have everyone's best interest at heart. The breakfast is amazing. The beds and bathrooms are always clean and all other facilities in Good condition.. Highly recommend!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Belle Simpson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012 Belle would recommend this property

Liked: great staff little bit out of town, but plenty of good walks to do near and around. great atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Teesdale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel with a cool aquatic theme. Great, chilled out vibe. Really nice and friendly staff who will do all they can to help you. Easy to meet people and lots of young solo travellers there

Disliked: Not possible to walk to the beach from there

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2012

Liked: At first it occurred to me to say 'price', but the cons easily outweigh it. This place is just NOT worth it!!!!! Go search for a hotel/hostel better located, next to a beach (Jurere is top-notch) and you will have a (much) more pleasant stay.

Disliked: This property is located in the middle of nowhere (by a 'lake') so if you don't rent a car you will need to rely on an increadibly inefficient public transport system - reaching the nearest beach can take up to 40 minutes, which is a real hassle. As for cleanliness, the shower drain was always clogged with hair and sand and that was very disgusting. And since the staff was so rude and pushy, requesting me to 'ERASE' (!!!) my last review as I was assumingly not praising them enough, I decided to give a more accurate account of my stay this time. Don't stay here: this property is OVERrated.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing owners, probably the best hostel Ive stayed at in 9 months in south america

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ver clean hostel, safe neighbourhood, very close to a small beach and the nicest place on this island, very friendly staff, felt familiar though I was travelling alone.

Disliked: nothing, I think it's perfect as a hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING. This hostel is great. Paolla, Gulio, Felipe, and the lovely Ms. Linda make you feel like you are part of the family, and you are staying at their home. The location is great, right in the middle of the island. Making it easy to reach all of the 42 beaches by bus. Or, you could just hang out in the hammocks all day like I did. Maybe smoke one, have a BBQ. Whatever you do, don't sleep through breakfast. It is the CAT's MEOW!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel has everything you could want, and more. The staff go out of their way to make you comfortable, especially when you are attacked by the island's many snakes. The bathrooms are clean, the kitchen facilities are great, and the livingroom has a giant TV with movies. The beds are soft, the sheets are clean. They have bikes and kayaks to use, a BBQ, and a pingey pongey table. Everything sold at the bar is a great price, the same if not cheaper than stores in town. THE BEST BREAKFAST!!! cereals, milk, yogurt, ham n cheese toasties, fruits, juices, and the Devil banana cake...YUM.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandre Duarte

Alone

Partying / nightlife

22 June 2012 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: Adorei a cordialidade de todos que la trabalhavam.

Disliked: Gostei de tudo, e não tenha nada pra reclamar

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Viney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and comfortable beds

Disliked: None

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

GERSON ROSA

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 June 2012 GERSON would recommend this property

Liked: Atendimento

Disliked: Localização

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Iris Varga Hodgson

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Iris would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome, really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Iris left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is so professional and helpfull and the hostel is so clean and inviting. i felt there almost at home.

Disliked: it was 15 minutes walking to the center with all the shops and the restaurants but they have bicycle for rent for 1 real a day and it really helps.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay there very much. There is a very relaxed atmosphere and the staff, which are basically family or friends, is really nice and made us feel like at home.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, it was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Spradling

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Excellent place! The owner and staff are great.

Disliked: Nothing really, it was excellent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thoroughly enjoyed my time at the Submarino! A terrific atmosphere, consisting of a motley crue of european & south american backpackers. The hostel has a nice party vibe, without being too rowdy. Owners are VERY helpful with advice and recommendations for sightseeing. Location is about 10 minutes from bars & restaurants. Beds are comfy, property is spotless.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place, well maintained & clean. Very friendly and helpful staff that give recommendations on place to go & things to do.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doug Simpson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2012 Doug would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed quiet and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Pretty shoddy Internet, although they were closing tha day to renovate

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay, no negitive comments. We definitely recommended this hostel to everyone visiting Floripa.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.