We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Submarino Hostel

Hostel | Tv. Angela Chaves, 121, Lagoa da Conceção, Florianopolis, Brazil 88062305

95.1% Overall Rating

90 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Ryan Daley thinks…

"Everything about this hostel is amazing, the best I've stayed in. Booked for 3 nights, am leaving after 3 weeks and it still isn't long enough. I will be back. The owners and staff, hostel, area,…"

Read all Submarino Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

- The information regarding our cancellation policy: the limit is 24hours before - Our check in must be made until 11:00pm (later only with previous note) and the beds will ready at 12:30 (half past midday) - Our check out mus be done until midday, we can keep the lugage if necessary until later, if the check out happens after 12:00 it will be charged half day extra and after 6:00 pm will be charged a hole day.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Tucano House Backpackers
14.27 USD

Hostel 91.2% 290 reviews
Panorama Hostel Eco Backpacker
15.09 USD

Hostel 93.1% 20 reviews
Vintage Hostel Florianópolis
11.83 USD

Hostel 100.0% 4 reviews
Hostel Way2Go
12.23 USD

Hostel 96.3% 112 reviews
Hibisco Hostel
18.35 USD

Hostel 93.0% 18 reviews
Sunhouse Backpackers
12.23 USD

Hostel 93.1% 19 reviews
Lagoa Hostel
14.27 USD

Hostel 82.5% 68 reviews
Gold Coast Lagoa
20.39 USD

Hostel 90.3% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

90 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Submarino Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 90 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafael Klenk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 March 2011 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: I mean there was kind of everything you need to live. You´ve a great and absolute huge breakfast buffet in the morning what can be enough for the rest of the day. Even if you miss breakfast time the staff is so kind to serve you self-made cake in the afternoon with "private service" to your hammock. The staff makes anything to make your time unforgetable and you won´t. Even if there isn´t beach weather you can just take one of the kayaks to cross the lagoon which is about 30 meters away to get some physical education. Not to forget the daily table tennis competions against our champion guilio. Just for this you´re supposed to check out this location to beat him. And a short summary probably you´ve already read about it: there are surfboards, waveboard, barbecue location, a few min. to the pub-nightclub mile and the buses to the beaches just leave around the corner. Honestly, i had the time of my life and already after 2 days it felt like home. During all time travelling it never felt that hard to leave.

Disliked: 1. That i had to go 2. That i haven´t seen that much of florianopolis because of hardcore relaxing 3. That i just saw a few of such a mess of the latest movies 4. And you shouldn´t start travelling here because you´re gonna spend here much more time the you wanted to=)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Danaher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing. It is a family run hostel and they couldn´t be more friendly or kind if they tried! Free bikes to ride around on. A wealth of knowlege about the island. Amazing breakfast. This hostel isnt about the money, its about ensuring you have an amazing time and they are happy to tell you the cheapest way to do it.

Disliked: Nothing!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Leifer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2011 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: It was really amazin, really nice set up and both front and back garden areas were beautiful, loved the hammocks :-) and everyone there was so so lovely, didnt want to leave!! x x p.s. best hostel i´ve ever been to!

Disliked: nothing!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Walker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

02 March 2011 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in all of South America. The guys who run the place grew up in the house, which they've converted to a hostel, so they really look after the place - it's so clean! They are also really relaxed and welcoming and seem like they can't do enough for you. They are excellent hosts. Communal areas are nice and it's a good place to meet people. The beds are fantastic and Breakfast is amazing too! Would happily recommend to anyone.

Disliked: Not a dislike but suggestion: it would be useful to print out a map with suggested cycle rides for when you hire out the bikes!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

23 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really relaxed cool vibe to the place, great breakfast, really helpful staff, comfy tv area and table tennis table.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Fox

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: This is definitely the best hostel I have ever stayed at. If you are travelling to Florianópolis you should absolutely stay here (no matter what the internet may tell you about other hostels, this is the place you want to stay, trust me - we've reached that level of trust by now yeah?). The staff is awesome, they know everything about the island including where to go during the day to relax or adventure and where to go out at night if you want to experience Florianópolis nightlife or see the island in another light (get it?). The hostel was impeccably clean, the breakfast was incredibly dank (and free), the hostel's facilities (ping-pong, bbq, kitchen, tv, movies, games and more) were all better than expected and I am sad writing this review because it means that I have left the Submarino. The staff provided everything we expected from a hostel and more. It was an awesome place to meet other travelers and to spend our time in Florianópolis. I will 100% be returning here on subsequent trips to the south of Brazil and would recommend this place to anyone thinking of traveling here.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing!!!!! Its the best hostel I have ever stayed in... very clean and beautiful just like a home.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody is just amazing, the staff the backpackers

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

isabella peçanha de figueiredo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

23 January 2011 isabella would recommend this property

Liked: is cozy, feels like being at home, and easy access to beach, markets, pharmacies, restaurants and entertainment venues. the owners of the hostel are friendly, helpful and understand the need for a traveler from another country need to feel safe and well accommodated. Excellent Service!

Disliked: no complaints about this hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere, this hostel really calmed us down after a hectic trip. Close to the lagoon, and the east beaches is easy to reach by bus. Owners are nice and helpful, kayaks are free to use, bikes are cheap, kitchen is very well prepared!

Disliked: Prices in general in Floripaaaaa

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Baptiston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2011 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Liked everything about it, starting with the best breakfast I ever seen in a Hostel, then the helpfull staff. Had movie sesion during the rain, ping pong, surfboard and kaiak to play, and at night great brazilian fruit shakes. Awsome!! Thank you, Paola, Giulia, Giulio and Bianca, for the great time I had.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hani Abildskov Abu-Khalil

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2011 Hani Abildskov would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very chilled little place, really close to the lagoon. The staff is laid back but always helpful. They have a ping pong table, which is awesome.

Disliked: Cant think of anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silas Telford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 Silas would recommend this property

Liked: Submarino is a beautiful, cosy hostel that has the comfort of a home. Our host were kind enough to give us tips and local advice on the island of Florianopolis. We recommend The Submarino for anyone looking for a relaxing time with the flexibilty for us partyanimals too! Silas, Australia.

Disliked: no dislikes! =)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leila nelson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 July 2010 leila would recommend this property

Liked: It is a brilliant hostel, in fact the best I have come across in the year I have travelled. The breakfast was fabulous, fresh cake, Brazilian fruit, cereal, fresh coffee and waffles which ham and cheese. The people are completely delightful, drove me around to see the sights. The location is perfect by the lagoon. I slept really well as they had brilliant mattresses and duvets. I would definately come back here again.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Giulio, Bianca and Paola helped us a lot!. Thank you guys for all! . I liked the location (near Mole and Joaquina Beach oh and centriño, a place where you can find bars and restaurants). We just stayed for 1 night, so we couldnt actually visit this nice city. In short ... They helped us with everything we needed , Bianca even took us to the rodoviaria for free! ty again! . oh and we had a hot drink that i liked but cant recall its name. They have comfty bed, the Internet connection was slow (the only thing that i didnt like). Fun place to meet people? Since June is a low-season-month we were the only people staying at this hostel, but I think it gets really full between Dec-Feb .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Falk

06 June 2010 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Far enough from downtown Lagoa to be quiet, but close enough to walk. Clean, very open and welcoming; I felt very comfortable there. The owners and employees are wonderful!

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel! Very clean and a fabulous breakfast. The hosts make you feel like part of the family. If you want a great Brazilian experience, stay at Submarino!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Emily Matthews

17 March 2010 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and peaceful, secure and homely, run by a family. Bianca was really nice and offered some great tips. Kayaks were free and provided a great activity, as the hostel is right near the lagoon. Short walk to town for bars, resturants and shops.

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoyable stay, ended up extending our stay there a few more nights mainly because of the hostel! A lovely place to relax and take in the island.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JOHN MORRISON

03 March 2010 JOHN would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time in this ´homely´atmosphere. The owners are fantastic, making your trip great. The place is small, but it´s ideal to meet travellers. I would definately recommend this to everyone travelling here!!

Disliked: JOHN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Avanzze

17 February 2010 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: This place is just AWESOME!!!! Thank you so much Paola, Julio and Bianca for making our stay so enjoyable. We had an amazing time with you guys. THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! :)

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great, the owners were very friendly and they had a lot of information about where to go or what to do, everything was always clean, ping pong table, kayaks, surf table and body boards were available to use freely

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Macarena Albornoz

17 February 2010 Macarena would recommend this property

Liked: Es una hostal muy agradable, los duenhos son muy amables, el desayuno es genial tiene jugo de naranja hecho en liquadora, queques, leche, yoghurt, pan, queso, jamón, y muchas frutas...pero tienes que levantarte temprano porque es desde las 0830 hasta las 1030.El servicio es buenísimo, siempre está todo limpio, tienen wi fi, eso sí el computador es un poco lento....pero está bien para tener internet gratis.Lavandería es a mano, pero de todos modos puedes pagar una lavandería cerca de acá.Puedes ver películas, poner música, tomar en la hostal y conocer mucha gente.Yo recomiendo totalmente esta hostal,

Disliked: Macarena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catalina Ulloa

16 February 2010 Catalina would recommend this property

Liked: Todo, creo que lo mejor es el rico desayuno que sirven en las mañanas, su ubicación esta muy cerca del centro, en donde se encuentra toda la diversión, también la gente que habita en el hostal es muy agradable. Creo que es un muy buen lugar para alojar.

Disliked: Catalina left no negative feedback.