HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Submarino Hostel

Hostel | Tv. Angela Chaves, 121, Lagoa da Conceção, Florianopolis, Brazil 88062305

95.1% Overall Rating

90 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Ryan Daley thinks…

"Everything about this hostel is amazing, the best I've stayed in. Booked for 3 nights, am leaving after 3 weeks and it still isn't long enough. I will be back. The owners and staff, hostel, area,…"

Read all Submarino Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

- The information regarding our cancellation policy: the limit is 24hours before - Our check in must be made until 11:00pm (later only with previous note) and the beds will ready at 12:30 (half past midday) - Our check out mus be done until midday, we can keep the lugage if necessary until later, if the check out happens after 12:00 it will be charged half day extra and after 6:00 pm will be charged a hole day.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Tucano House Backpackers
15.62 USD

Hostel 91.2% 290 reviews
Panorama Hostel Eco Backpacker
16.51 USD

Hostel 93.1% 20 reviews
Vintage Hostel Florianópolis
12.94 USD

Hostel 100.0% 3 reviews
Hostel Way2Go
15.62 USD

Hostel 96.3% 112 reviews
Hibisco Hostel
20.08 USD

Hostel 93.0% 18 reviews
Sunhouse Backpackers
13.39 USD

Hostel 93.1% 19 reviews
Lagoa Hostel
15.62 USD

Hostel 82.5% 68 reviews
Gold Coast Lagoa
22.31 USD

Hostel 90.3% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

90 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Submarino Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 90 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was the best hostel until now on my trip trough south america and I have seen 5 countries so far.....amazing....everything!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is amazing, bathrooms are new and clean, nice atmosphere, good kitchen equipment, really simpatique staff.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 January 2012 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are amazing, makes you feel like one of the family. Wifi is the fastest in Brazil I have ever come across. Breakfast was amazing. Full of information and genuinely wanted to get to know you. If I go back to Floripa I will be staying here.

Disliked: Great location for shops/clubs/restaurants, but beaches are a 30mintue walk or a 10 min bus, otherwise it is perfect. Because hostel is so great it doesn't matter,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Definitely the most relaxed one. Júlio and Paola make your stay really enjoyable. Rooms are nice, beds are comfortable and the collection of sporting equipment impressive. I'd stay here again anytime!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

janine kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2011 janine would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! So clean, owners so lovely, location perfect, great events n wicked buffett breaky

Disliked: Not a single thing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Horton

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

11 November 2011 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING! I can only echo all the previous comments but I will do so just for emphasis. Paula and Giulio are amazing. They are extremely helpful, give you advice and make excellent cocktails! The bed and the pillow were definitely the most comfortable of my life. The place is cute and in a good location. Very clean and safe.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonardo Coura

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2011 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: It was an awesome couple of days in Florianópolis and in this great hostel. Everyone was really friendly and helpful, and the facilities are just amazing. The location is nearby all the places you have to go and it's really easy to move around. Definitely one of the best hostels I every stayed on.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything! Great Hostel! Thank you so much!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew ladommatos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel! Probably the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Great facilities, free kayak / canoe!!!! Right on the huge lake so u can go whenever you want. Staff are fantastic and the breakfast is better than any hostel I ever stayed at! It has fruit and vegetables and bread, ham, cheese, juice, toastie machines, juice, jam etc! Awesome! You must stay here if you come to Florianapolis!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They are very lovely, helpful and even let me borrow their phone to make heaps of phone calls!

Disliked: Just that the locals didn't know where the street was so it was hard to find at first.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, relax and watch a movie - feels like home. Even when it is raining, this hostel makes it not so bad.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Submarino is the best hostel I have stayed in anywhere in the world. The owners Julio and Paula go out of their way to make you feel at home. It felt more like I was visiting old friends. Their warmth and hospitality is unbelievable. The hostel itself is outstanding: you can tell it has been lovingly put together and the attention to detail is amazing. The dorms are extremely spacious and the beds are ridiculously comfortable. The interior fittings and decor is more the standard that you would expect in a fancy hotel. Needless to say, everything is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The breakfast is delicious (especially Paula`s banana cake!) and kitchen facilities are excellent as well. The location next to Lagoa is fantastic as well. Travelling there from the bus terminal in Florianopolis is very easy (I also recommend stopping by the tourist office in the terminal when you arrive). The bus takes around 30 mins to Lagoa. I walked from there to the hostel (10-15 mins) or you can take another bus. Buses from the hostel to the beaches are very convenient. I think it is a great location to base yourself. There is also a great walk around the lagoon which starts just round the corner from the hostel. Julio and Paula are extremely passionate about what they do and they deserve all the success and awards which no doubt will come their way. They put in the extra 10-15% which makes the difference between a very good hostel and a brilliant one. Thank you so much, I had a wonderful time staying with you in Floripa!

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Z

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Really kind and helpful owners, very clean and safe, great relaxed atmosphere, delicious breakfast with fresh fruit. Affordable bike rental as well.

Disliked: Not much, except that it was a little far from the beaches walking. On bike is better although there are some killer hills. You can take a bus to get to the bigger beach at Barra da Lagoa. It's also a solid distance from the Rodoviaria of Lagoa da Conceicao, especially if you have luggage. It is right next to the lagoa though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amy mccabe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

24 July 2011 amy would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, free breakfast, free use of bikes, kayaks and surf boards, AMAZING BEDS!! - so comfy. Real duvet covers not just a sheet. Rooms are huge and each bed has a locker underneath. Great tv room with a huge selection of DVDs to watch. Reasonably priced bar. Kitchen with lots of spices and staple foods you can use for free . Immaculately clean.. Hot showers. Really , really friendly staff.

Disliked: Location is a little hard to find unless you get the bus. From main bus terminal in florianopolis you have to walk for 5 mins to other terminal, get one bus , change and get another or just walk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Owen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with the best breakfast in any hostel ever. Also the staff are so nice. Great atmosphere. everything you would want in a hostel.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it s a great place to stay with the best atmosphere!!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glaucia Santos

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Glaucia would recommend this property

Liked: The house, the atmosphere and the owners!!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan Proudfoot

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2011 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming, immediately felt like i was staying with friends, very chilled atmosphere - well needed after horrific bus journey

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great effort has been put in to the decor and style of the hostel to give that nautical theme!! Bed linen and beds and towels were new and great quality, comfiest bunk bed in south America so far!! Breakfast was amazing, cereals, fruit (not just the usual ones either, kiwi, papya, melon, banana, apple, orange, star fruit) toasted sandwiches, yogurts, home made cakes....the list goes on!! Owners are fab, they are always there and ready to help with anything. Great communal area, loads of dvds games computer games.... Bar is good value to :-) I have never given 100% but this place is amazing!!!! STAY HERE!!!!!

Disliked: ummmm..... Nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All previous reviews have said it all, but I will reiterate that this is the best hostel I have stayed in (Australia, NZ, S America). The brother and sister hosts cannot do enough to make your stay easy and fun. When it rained they cooked 'rain cake' for all the guests (like banana fritters) and the barbecue was fantastic. Value for money is amazing. Quiet location but close enough to shops, bars, restaurants, buses to town and beaches etc. You really feel you are staying in a friend's house. I cannot recommend this hostel highly enough. Thank you Paola and Julio!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, accomodating and helpful. The hostel has been renovated beautifuly and is clean and well maintained. The free breakfasts are the best we have had in a hostel!

Disliked: The location was a bit far from any beaches and a short walk to shops, however if you don't want to leave the hostel there are food and drinks available at the hostel and the garden setting with hammocks and large-screen TV are perfect for relaxing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly: EVERYTHING! It is the best hostel that we have stayed in so far (10 months of travelling)! The hosts are brilliant and really make sure that you enjoy your stay. The hostel is kept in an impeccable state with lots of love to detail and character (submarine theme). The facilities are great (table tennis, bikes, free kayaks, beach toys, great movie collection and a big TV, bbqs, ...). The breakfast (especially the home baked banana cake) is just awesome (fresh juice and fruits every day, yoghurt, muesli, ham, cheese and so much more)! and the beds are really big and dangerously comfy. Really, highly recommended!!! I bet that this will become THE hostel in Florianopolis in the future...

Disliked: Nothing at all (I have never given full marks on everything before)! Even the initial fear of not being in immediate walking distance to the beach was not justified as the busses to the beaches leave right around the corner. It is also nice exercise to cycle to the beach (but it does go over a small hill - so be warned)...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have traveled to over 30 countries and have stayed in many hostels; submarino shines above the rest. I will admit that what sold me on the place initially was the ping pong table and hammocks. The friendly staff allowed me to feel safe and relaxed in a comfy and supa clean environment. I was immediately welcomed to an extraordinary supper cooked up by Julian, managing brother. And if that isn't enough to give ya the green light, the location of submarino is superb being right next to the lagoa and just outside the, sometimes, loud center.

Disliked: seriously not much to dislike... above and beyond expectations...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roy Stuifbergen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

28 March 2011 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: Julio and Paula, the hostel-owners, are the best! They are very helpfull with everything, they´ll even call for your cheeseburger every day! It is very clean, the breakfast is the best, and it is nicely located, near to the lake, some very beautiful beaches and not at least, the nightlife is a 15 minute walk away! You can also use surfboards, canoes etc for free. If you ever go to Floripa, this is the hostel you definitely should stay in!!

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place its so good! Why? because I can't fault a single thing. Location: Perfect. Staff: Like Family Breakfast: Definitely worth getting out of bed Fun: Its all included...Jenga,Vodka,hammocks, the cat sgr peppers and oh yeah the staff are family owners so they make the rules which make you want to stay longer....always....`thank you Submarino staff

Disliked: Nada