HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barra Beach Club - Oceanfront Hostel

Hostel | Servidao da Prainha 122, Barra Da Lagoa, Florianopolis - Santa Catarina Florianopolis, Brazil 88061240

98.2% Overall Rating

101 out of 103 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/12/2013)

Uli L thinks…

"It's hard to compare it to all the other hostels I stayed in, cause I spent almost 3 weeks here while I attended a portuguese language class in Barra. I felt totally at home. But I think I would have…"

Read all Barra Beach Club - Oceanfront Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Important: * New Years and Carnival Packages - R$600.oo for a 6 night minimum booking required. * If your stay with us includes any of the 6 nights during New Years or Carnival, you will be required to pay for the full 6 night package. Please reserve accordingly. * New Years - night of 27, 28, 29. 30, 31 and 1st * Carnival - 1 night before and 1 night after

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Banana Beach Hostel
14.27 USD

Hostel 77.7% 93 reviews
Pousada dos Corais
20.39 USD

Guesthouse 98.9% 5 reviews
The Backpackers Share House Floripa
11.42 USD

Hostel 86.1% 114 reviews
Pousada e Hostel Ancora
28.55 USD

Hostel 79.6% 7 reviews
Floripa Home Hostel Beach
10.20 USD

Hostel 91.4% 25 reviews
Backpackers Sunset
10.20 USD

Hostel 90.7% 108 reviews
The View Hostel
18.35 USD

Hostel 87.8% 7 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Florianópolis
13.36 USD

Hostel 77.0% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.2%

Overall Rating

101 out of 103 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barra Beach Club - Oceanfront Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 97 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place with perfekt brakefast friendly stuff and clean rooms

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Uli L

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2013 Uli would recommend this property

Liked: It's hard to compare it to all the other hostels I stayed in, cause I spent almost 3 weeks here while I attended a portuguese language class in Barra. I felt totally at home. But I think I would have loved it as much on a short stay. The staff is just perfect, cool, relaxed, friendly, always helpful and very knowledable about things to do, but not overly/fake friendly or pushy. It's SO easy to meet people, in the small dorms, on the terrace at caipirinha time, in the common area... I still miss the view after 2 months. The breakfast was the best as they have a sandwich toaster and offer fresh bread, cheese, tomatos with basil, fruit shake, mangos and other fresh fruits... You can skip one meal per day and save money. Also good kitchen to cook in. And the hostel has a good vibe, though it was out of season, there were many people there. It's so close to the beach, perfect to go running in the evening, you almost have the beach on your own (at that time of the year). And there are good hiking trails just behind the hostel.

Disliked: The cleaning ladies and the breakfast lady can be a little grumpy, but they are nice too if you stay there longer. The hostel could offer more tours, it was only one per week. But I don't know many hostels that offer more. And the staff is always willing to help you on tours if you ask.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, located only a few steps from the beach (although quite distant from other ones), great view from the private double (and you wake up to the sound of the waves). Good bed. Dinner on offer was also quite nice, as is the free caipirinha hour, which makes it really easy to get to know people.

Disliked: Private double is quite pricey (even more so if you're travelling alone). Drinks at the bar aren't very cheap either (but good!). Rooms show some wear and could be cleaner in some spots.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ella Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Ella would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, friendly and helpful staff. Good location. Good areas to chill. Nice breakfast. Good facility's

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

07 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Location, dinners- pay extra but soioo yummy, staff were helpful, clean, free caipirinha each night, advice on things to to/see. Private dbl with private bath has amazing views and its own balcony.

Disliked: Our bathroom, at least bin and handtiowel, should have been changed daily!! Bit yukky.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliest, nicest staff we have met yet. They helped us organise flights and transport and always had useful local's tips for the place. Being right next to the beach, and the free use of surfboards and wetsuits was exceptional.

Disliked: The buses and taxis don't come as frequently as you would like, which is a shame. But if you hire a car then you can zip around and get in and out of Barra de Lagoa easily!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels we've stayed in during our travels through South America. Great location with beautiful ocean views. Amazing juice and good food variety for breakfast. I would definitely recommend eating the dinners every night- great value, lots of it and amazing quality! It was all delicious! Wished we could stay longer!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view, beach directly in front of hostel. Great place to be! One of the best hostels that I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Have to walk a bit of a distance to get to the hostel, not accessible by car, but it's not too bad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun Langdon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2013 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. Location is great right near the beach on Barra de Lagoa where you can choke at the beach or use the hostel's surfboards and boogie boards etc For free. About a 30min taxi into centro if you want to go to the bigger clubs and shopping etc, but there are some other nice places also closer to the hostel. Nice view overlooking the ocean and each night the chef cooks an amazing meal for only 20reais. Some of the best food I have had and all you can eat!

Disliked: Probably just the fact it is on the beach but that means you have to travel quite a way to get to anything at night time in terms of restaurants and clubs (there are a few restaurants in barra de Lagoa itself but not many)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

justin boreland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013 justin would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing dinners, great setting, high cleanliness standards, stunning beach. We extended twice nuff said!

Disliked: justin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jenny Marwick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, great location and beautiful views. Good facilities and relaxing atmosphere. Delicious dinners and free drink every night.

Disliked: Private room with shared bathroom is a bit of a pain having to unlock and lock the bathroom which is on a different floor every time you want to use.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location, free surf equipment and interesting program for touristic tours to discover the island; every day cleaning of facilities; people working there are dedicated to what they do and always helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Tierney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Its like the Club Med of the Hostel world, located 20 metres from the beach with free surfboards to use. The staff are briallaint, helpful, friendly and a good laugh. The rooms are clean and beds comfortable, Breakfast the best Ive had and they offer a lovely dinner for a reasonable price every evening.I couldnt believe what I got for the price I paid. I will be back,

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lauren Crawford

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

26 April 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The view, hot showers, cleanliness all amazing!

Disliked: It was bordering on expensive..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Ditzend

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent view, friendly staff, always clean, free caipirinhas, great meals, not far from the beach.... wow... I cannot think of better vacations...

Disliked: Checking out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

veronika boeck

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 veronika would recommend this property

Liked: superfriendly staff, very helpful. great location, bus is five minutes to walk, supermarkets too. i just can recommend this place. beautiful view, loved it. surfboards and suits to rent for free.

Disliked: the dogs. they are friendly and just hanging around but i don't like dogs, so that's my only dislike. but i would come back anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming staff, really clean, free surf/bodyboard hire. Great evening meals for 20 reals.

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, minutes away from beach. Really easy to meet fellow travellers. Excellent meals cooked every night at reasonable price. Nice vibe and atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Martin

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

05 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Barra Beach Club is the best Hostel you can go to. Friendliest staff I've ever seen, awesome View, close to the Beach and good Surfspots. I tried to find at least one bad thing about the Beach Club, but I couldn't find even one! Believe me, I've stayed there for about 30 days (and wish it was longer), I know what I am talking about. If you get the chance, go for it, go for Barra Beach Club. German: Das Barra Beach Hostel ist das beste Hostel in der Gegend zu dem ihr gehen könnt (sogar das beste in Brasilien). Hier habt ihr die wohl freundlichsten Mitarbeiter, Meerblick, 1 Minute zu nem kleinen Strand (fast wie ein Privatstrand) und nichtmal 5 Minuten zu einem großen Strand zum Surfen. Ich kann euch nicht eine schlechte Sache über den Barra Beach Club erzählen und ich war 30 Tage da, ich müsstes wissen. Wenn ihr könnt, dann bucht so lange es geht beim Beach Club, ihr werdet es nicht bereuen!

Disliked: Believe me, there is nothing! Glaubt mir, da gibt es nichts!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed!! :-) If you like nature and surfing, it's perfect, to enjoy nightlife it's better to stay in a city but it's possible to go by taxi at night. Room and bathroom very clean and modern!! Nice staff. Amazing view over a beautiful beach and the ocean. We had a lot of fun when we tried surfing (they offer free boards and wetsuits).

Disliked: The onliest thing they could make better is to clean the dishes by themselves after breakfast (sometimes the travelers don't do this so accurate and the next don't want to get a dirty cup..). But I think this is practiced in most of the hostels...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sam Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the four man dorm, and this was great. Each bed has individual lights and plug sockets. Breakfast was good and the free drinks was a great way to meet people. Amazing views from most of the hostel.

Disliked: No mirrors or bins in the rooms. We also didn't like the fact that the bar closed during the day, and closed at 11:00pm every night. This with the fact that you're not allowed to bring your own alcohol in meant having to leave the hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have been in so far.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beenal Tailor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Beenal would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, fantastic location and atmosphere. I didn't want to leave!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrianus van Holland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2012 Adrianus would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and very nice! The atmosphere was very mellow and relaxed, just how it has to be! The location is just amazing and so was the view from the hostel! The free drink every night was great, because everyone was brought together to drink and have fun! After the drink the Italian chef served a very very delicious diner every night! There are some surfboards and lots of other stuff to rent for free! So if you are planning to go to Florianopolis, don't hesitate and book a bed at this hostel, because it's just amazing!

Disliked: The fact that someday you have to leave...;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Dell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 September 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, and the dinners they put on are great value for money and delicious! Amazing views over the bay and they provide free surf board hire and wetsuits, as well as booking good priced surf lessons as well... $35 real per person for 5 of us. Good communal areas with bar and one free drink a night which brought everyone together in the evenings.

Disliked: The room for four were a little cosy but since we were travelling as a four anyway it didnt matter, and the communal areas made up for it.