HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Barra Beach Club Oceanfront Hostel Florianopolis Hostel

Servidao da Prainha, 122, Barra da Lagoa, Florianopolis, Brazil

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 94%

Location 94%

Safety 97%

Staff 98%

Value 96%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 23.16USD

Important Information

Important: * New Years and Carnival Packages - for a 6 night minimum booking required. 50% non refundable deposit, will be ask direct by hostel. * If your stay with us includes any of the 6 nights during New Years or Carnival, you will be required to pay for the full 6 night package. Please reserve accordingly. * New Years - night of 27, 28, 29. 30, 31 and 1st * Carnival - 1 night before and 1 night after. Cancellation are authorize in special periods or packages by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 94%

Location 94%

Safety 97%

Staff 98%

Value 96%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice place with perfekt brakefast friendly stuff and clean rooms

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Great staff, located only a few steps from the beach (although quite distant from other ones), great view from the private double (and you wake up to the sound of the waves). Good bed. Dinner on offer was also quite nice, as is the free caipirinha hour, which makes it really easy to get to know people.

Disliked: Private double is quite pricey (even more so if you're travelling alone). Drinks at the bar aren't very cheap either (but good!).Rooms show some wear and could be cleaner in some spots.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel, friendly and helpful staff. Good location. Good areas to chill. Nice breakfast. Good facility's

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Everything. Location, dinners- pay extra but soioo yummy, staff were helpful, clean, free caipirinha each night, advice on things to to/see. Private dbl with private bath has amazing views and its own balcony.

Disliked: Our bathroom, at least bin and handtiowel, should have been changed daily!! Bit yukky.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The friendliest, nicest staff we have met yet. They helped us organise flights and transport and always had useful local's tips for the place. Being right next to the beach, and the free use of surfboards and wetsuits was exceptional.

Disliked: The buses and taxis don't come as frequently as you would like, which is a shame. But if you hire a car then you can zip around and get in and out of Barra de Lagoa easily!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: One of the best hostels we've stayed in during our travels through South America. Great location with beautiful ocean views. Amazing juice and good food variety for breakfast. I would definitely recommend eating the dinners every night- great value, lots of it and amazing quality! It was all delicious! Wished we could stay longer!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very nice hostel. Location is great right near the beach on Barra de Lagoa where you can choke at the beach or use the hostel's surfboards and boogie boards etcFor free. About a 30min taxi into centro if you want to go to the bigger clubs and shopping etc, but there are some other nice places also closer to the hostel. Nice view overlooking the ocean and each night the chef cooks an amazing meal for only 20reais. Some of the best food I have had and all you can eat!

Disliked: Probably just the fact it is on the beach but that means you have to travel quite a way to get to anything at night time in terms of restaurants and clubs (there are a few restaurants in barra de Lagoa itself but not many)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Beautiful view, beach directly in front of hostel. Great place to be! One of the best hostels that I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Have to walk a bit of a distance to get to the hostel, not accessible by car, but it's not too bad.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It's hard to compare it to all the other hostels I stayed in, cause I spent almost 3 weeks here while I attended a portuguese language class in Barra. I felt totally at home. But I think I would have loved it as much on a short stay.The staff is just perfect, cool, relaxed, friendly, always helpful and very knowledable about things to do, but not overly/fake friendly or pushy. It's SO easy to meet people, in the small dorms, on the terrace at caipirinha time, in the common area... I still miss the view after 2 months. The breakfast was the best as they have a sandwich toaster and offer fresh bread, cheese, tomatos with basil, fruit shake, mangos and other fresh fruits... You can skip one meal per day and save money. Also good kitchen to cook in. And the hostel has a good vibe, though it was out of season, there were many people there.It's so close to the beach, perfect to go running in the evening, you almost have the beach on your own (at that time of the year). And there are good hiking trails just behind the hostel.

Disliked: The cleaning ladies and the breakfast lady can be a little grumpy, but they are nice too if you stay there longer. The hostel could offer more tours, it was only one per week. But I don't know many hostels that offer more. And the staff is always willing to help you on tours if you ask.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazing dinners, great setting, high cleanliness standards, stunning beach. We extended twice nuff said!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability