HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barra Beach Club - Oceanfront Hostel

Hostel | Servidao da Prainha 122, Barra Da Lagoa, Florianopolis - Santa Catarina Florianopolis, Brazil 88061240

98.2% Overall Rating

101 out of 103 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/12/2013)

Uli L thinks…

"It's hard to compare it to all the other hostels I stayed in, cause I spent almost 3 weeks here while I attended a portuguese language class in Barra. I felt totally at home. But I think I would have…"

Read all Barra Beach Club - Oceanfront Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 26.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Important: * New Years and Carnival Packages - R$600.oo for a 6 night minimum booking required. * If your stay with us includes any of the 6 nights during New Years or Carnival, you will be required to pay for the full 6 night package. Please reserve accordingly. * New Years - night of 27, 28, 29. 30, 31 and 1st * Carnival - 1 night before and 1 night after

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Banana Beach Hostel
37.34 USD

Hostel 77.7% 93 reviews
Pousada dos Corais
19.77 USD

Guesthouse 98.9% 5 reviews
The Backpackers Share House Floripa
10.98 USD

Hostel 85.5% 113 reviews
Pousada e Hostel Ancora
30.75 USD

Hostel 79.6% 7 reviews
Floripa Home Hostel Beach
10.98 USD

Hostel 91.1% 24 reviews
Backpackers Sunset
2.64 USD

Hostel 93.8% 105 reviews
The View Hostel
19.77 USD

Hostel 87.8% 7 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Florianópolis
500.00 USD

Hostel 77.0% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.2%

Overall Rating

101 out of 103 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barra Beach Club - Oceanfront Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 97 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KATIE CUNNINGHAM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 January 2011 KATIE would recommend this property

Liked: I have done alot of travelling. Through Europe, Asia and South America. This is by far my most favourite hostel I have come across. I was travel weary when I arrived, and this has been the perfect place to unwind. The ocean view is idyllic, I can hear the waves from my hostel bed, super friendly staff and a hammock at my front door .... I couldnt be happier !!! Highly reccommend this as a hostel if you want to chill out and enjoy the beach, I wont be leaving anytime soon !!

Disliked: No dislikes here !!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorena Carrillo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2011 Lorena would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I have ever been! I love the space, the staff and what the place bring out of people there... everyone loves it... The tower bar is a super plus... and the free caipiriniha the excellent excuse to meet the other guests... As I said personally to the owner... it is great!!! I highly recomend it!

Disliked: I wouls suggest to get a couple of double rooms... for couples!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very interesting!

Disliked: Anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: all good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica akesson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 November 2010 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel owner ever! and awesome view and the breakfast was fantastic!

Disliked: not everything was done when we were there, but it will be soon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

laura hutchings

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010 laura would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, private beach about 10 seconds away. Staff very friendly and helpful, the owner in particular is very warm and welcoming. Great apartment style houses with fully equipped kitchen and big, clean bathrooms. Stunning views from the balcony!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice beds, amazing location and great staff.

Disliked: Maybe a little bit expensive but still very much value for the money.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Creighton

07 May 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Overlooking the beach, great breakfasts, surfboards and snorkels for use, really chilled and fun place..

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clint Mader

04 May 2010 Clint would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time here and had some good weather outside the peak season. The sun deck was amazing and during the week the hostel practically had a private beach. Highly recommend this hostel for a relaxing break.

Disliked: Clint left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clarence Thomas

02 May 2010 Clarence would recommend this property

Liked: The view was amazing. The place was clean, the common areas were large, and it was safe. The shower's were always hot and the WiFi worked consistently. The view from the front porch is breath-taking. Did I mention I love the view of the Atlantic from this hostel?!?! I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Clarence left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I just can confirm, that this a very very nice hostel in a perfect location. Very friendly staff. Very good breakfast. You will enjoy your stay!!!!Some rooms could be a bit tiny if it´s booked out during high season.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janna Bartelds

27 March 2010 Janna would recommend this property

Liked: Its near the beach as it says, it even has a kindah private beach! great! The staff was nice, the bathrooms where clean, beds where good! Only missed a computer to use the internet! *WIFI was available for those with a laptop though...

Disliked: Janna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location! Every morning I woke up to the sound of waves... loved it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derek Bond

17 March 2010 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: spacious - 4 beds with big lockers under per room, each house having its own kitchen with 2 fridges, but a bit limited means of cooking. Quite relaxing atmosphere unless you didn't go to the beach parties which start at midnight in the bay below on weekends

Disliked: Derek left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

09 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The views from the hostel are great - straight onto the beach! We stayed in the main house (no 2) and the rooms are quite cramped - the other rooms in house 1 seemed roomier.The terrace/deck area is a nice space to chat and hang out but the sofas inside are very uncomfortable - shame as there's a big tv with sky tv that you could watch if you wanted to chill!The kitchen doesn't have any hobs/oven or kettle so you only have the microwave to use if you want to cook anything. We found this a little inconvenient as we like to cook.The location is good for Barra Logoa - just a few minutes walk to the central area. It is a quite area so you have to get a bus/taxi into the busier areas if you want.The staff are really nice - esp the cleaning staff who put on a fantastic breakfast. I would recommend this hostel to someone who wants to get away from things a little, wants to be near a beach and doesn't mind not cooking!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 March 2010

Liked: visual muito bonito

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, excellent views, fabulous breakfasts, spotlessly clean!! They just need to sort out the wifi and this place would be heaven

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next the bus stop and to the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Krause

29 January 2010 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Jim and Brett were openly willing to share their local knowledge and more than happy to lend boards and other extras, a real homely place where you can chill, relax and enjoy floripa from! The location and view was unbeatable!!

Disliked: Timothy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent if you want to relax on all day on the beach; however, for nightlife, the location becomes more of a burden than a benefit. That being said, it was a fun place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Konrad Sauer

07 January 2010 Konrad would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, beautiful place, excellent facilities and an awesome place to meet people. Can't wait to return!

Disliked: Konrad left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Hager

28 December 2009 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i have ever stayed in!

Disliked: Tony left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikki Palmer

14 December 2009 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: really nice place to stay and the staff were really helpful. nice to have a 4 person dorm for the same price as a 9 or 10 dorm that you would get at other hostels. hostel is just setting up so a bit quite when we were staying but hopefully that should change!

Disliked: Nikki left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was supposed to spend 3 days at this hostel but I left after 8 days. The place is simply EXCELLENT. I can only recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a one in a million location... Undoubtedly one of the best on Ilha Santa Catharina... Very friendly, helpful staff... Still developing, but has already everything to ensure you an exquisite stay... Enjoy!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.