We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barra Beach Club - Oceanfront Hostel

Hostel | Servidao da Prainha 122, Barra Da Lagoa, Florianopolis - Santa Catarina Florianopolis, Brazil 88061240

98.2% Overall Rating

101 out of 103 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/12/2013)

Uli L thinks…

"It's hard to compare it to all the other hostels I stayed in, cause I spent almost 3 weeks here while I attended a portuguese language class in Barra. I felt totally at home. But I think I would have…"

Read all Barra Beach Club - Oceanfront Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Important: * New Years and Carnival Packages - R$600.oo for a 6 night minimum booking required. * If your stay with us includes any of the 6 nights during New Years or Carnival, you will be required to pay for the full 6 night package. Please reserve accordingly. * New Years - night of 27, 28, 29. 30, 31 and 1st * Carnival - 1 night before and 1 night after

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Banana Beach Hostel
14.27 USD

Hostel 77.7% 93 reviews
Pousada dos Corais
20.39 USD

Guesthouse 98.9% 5 reviews
The Backpackers Share House Floripa
12.23 USD

Hostel 86.1% 114 reviews
Pousada e Hostel Ancora
28.55 USD

Hostel 79.6% 7 reviews
Floripa Home Hostel Beach
16.31 USD

Hostel 91.4% 25 reviews
Backpackers Sunset
10.20 USD

Hostel 90.7% 108 reviews
The View Hostel
18.35 USD

Hostel 87.8% 7 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Florianópolis
13.36 USD

Hostel 77.0% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.2%

Overall Rating

101 out of 103 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barra Beach Club - Oceanfront Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 97 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Baalim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

04 July 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel. Very spacious and comfortable. Private room was great with a good view and private bathroom. Hostel is right on the beach and just across a cool little bridge from town. Has a cool bar attached where they serve a delicious dinner by a very talented chef. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Curtin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with a wonderful sea view. The breakfast was fantastic and the meals available in the evening were delicious and great value. The hostel was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Hollis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 May 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: This was easily one of the best hostels we have stayed in on our year trip round the.world. Amazing views and right on the beach. free surf board hire is great. The Italian chef cooks some amazing food each evening and its all you can eat for 30 reals. Jim the owner really goes the extra mile. gave us free beer when the weather wasn't cooperating. even paid for our taxi to the airport when our laundry was delayed. Cant recommend highly enough. stay here and you won't be disappointed.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever been to! Amazing location, great staff, open & friendly people! I had an awesome time there & didnt wanna leave that place!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eszter Salamon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Eszter would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about the place and had a great time there. Would definitely go back, very clean hostel, you can have privacy if you wish in the hammocks during the day or just sitting on the balcony. Staff really cool and helpful!! Place 100% recommended by me!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Trayers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 April 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lovely staff, great overall stay,

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed at. Great atmosphere, cool deck looking over water for dinner, met fabulous people, waking to the sound of the ocean, and good breakfast! Did not want to leave.

Disliked: Bathroom could have been cleaner but had one to share between to couples.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tariq benson

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 tariq would recommend this property

Liked: The most incredible and beautiful place on earth. Pure paradise. Imagine listening to the pacific ocean from your bed, waking up to the cool breeze, walking down to the amazing breakfast, laying on a hammock watching the ocean. This is Floripa and so much more. The dinner and breakfast are both amazing and highly recommended. Stay at this hostel and you will not be disappointed.

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the workers, the people, the free surf boards and beach toys, the free caipirinhas, the food, the place, the location, the village..... I could say I liked everything. I still have to repeat that the staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Thanks to you all! The best hostel I've stayed at.

Disliked: There could be a minimart inside the hostel which at least could sell water, the wifi connection could be better in some of the houses. These are only minor flaws

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 December 2011 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has an amazing location and an amazing staff. i rebooked twice, and ended up staying 2 weeks longer than i originally planned. the rooms and bathrooms are clean, there are markets and restaurants near by, and parties almost every night, starting with a free caiparinha at the tower bar. the staff is super helpful and very knowledgeable about the property and about surfing! i came to barra de lagoa to learn how to surf and they were nice enough to let me surf with them. the boards that the hostel has to rent are also super convenient. the breakfast is plentiful and the dinner, made by laura, is delicious! the best hostel ive stayed at in south america and in europe. i would definitely recommend to any one considering staying in floripa. i was very sad to leave.

Disliked: Kelly left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Pugliese

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, great value for money. The view is breathtaking.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Rust

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view, 4-bed dorms, top value for money, helpful information, surf equipment, awesome stuff.

Disliked: That there's nothing to complain about ;)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the view and the accomodations are excellent.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Barra beach club is the best hostel we have stayed at during our south american trip. Great for a party & meeting people. The staff are so friendly & helpful which made our stay so much better. The view over the beach is amazing & the hostel is very clean with great facilities. The home cooked meals are delicious & great value. You would be foolish not to stay at this hostel.

Disliked: Having to leave!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with excellent staff. Good breakfast and rooms were clean and good size. Barra is a lovely location, much prefer this to the town of Logoa

Disliked: The hostel we quite quiet when we were there so the bar did not open - hostel lacked a bit of atmosphere in the evening as no outside alcohol was allowed. Otherwise, really nice hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its right on the beach and the bus to a busier town is very close by. The staff are really helpful and friendly and go out of their way to help you. The food is great and the bar is fun. Great place to stay!

Disliked: Things like banks are not within walking distance and the area has limited restaurants etc.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Amandeep Samrai

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Amandeep would recommend this property

Liked: Great views of the sea and beach! The staff were really helpful and it was a really sociable hostel- loads of events on and met lots of fellow travellers. We didn`t want to leave and really enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: The bin next to the toilet was not emptied regularly enough and it started to smell bad in the bathroom. Also, there was one bathroom between 10, so sometimes you had to wait a while.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this hostel is the best!! The location, the staff, the atmosphere, the breakfast, the FREE caipirinha.....The list goes on. We booked for two nights, and stayed a week! We still didn´t want to leave. The staff are more like your friends and always hang out. They´re also full of great advice about what to see and do around the island. You must stay here!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great, the breakfast is the best we have had in South America, and its on the beach!!

Disliked: An extra toilet in each house would be good, but not really a big deal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and laidback place. Good breakfasts. Beautiful setting with views across the sea. Beach/coastal trek/natural pools just a couple of minutes walk away. Surfboards/body boards/beach stuff available to borrow for free. Easy to find and a free caipirinha for each guest every night!

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything, but thought our double room could've been a little more secure. We had a key and nothing was ever taken but the patio doors didn't feel very secure. (Dorms differ in that each bed has a locker.)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Barra beach club was lovely,rooms and bathrooms are clean, it's peaceful, right next to the beach. The staff we so helpful in givig you ideas of things to do and telling us about the area. The breakfast was lovely and the dinners at night were amazing! We had such a relaxing time here it was a great way to end our travels.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Cooke

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff,great views of the small beach Prainha.Lagoas main beach wa also great to swim one end & many first time surfers the other probably the best beach to learn on the other.About 15 mins walk to natural rock pools for swimming/snorkelling.Great inexpensive dinners 15 reals from Laura Italian chef in the bar washed down with many cocktails from Paige 6 reals-much cheaper than eating out.

Disliked: Nothing really but they could have a few powerpoints outside for laptops etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barry Rimell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

28 March 2011 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel! It has a great chilled out and friendly atmosphere, but also lays on parties most evenings. You can spend hours just lying in the hammocks around the grounds - listening to the sound of the ocean crashing against the beach below. The perfect way to unwind. If youre feeling more energetic they have loads of free surfboards, body boards, snorkels, etc. to take to the beach (which is just 5 mins walk away), plus a pool table, table tennis, and free internet. Im not the only one who wants to come back and spend a good few weeks there!! Its well looked after too, very clean, but its probably the staff that really make it. The parties are loads of fun, and the included brekky is awesome. Dont miss the all you can eat dinners up at The Tower, especially the pizza!! Overall 10/10.

Disliked: Difficult to check out!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabian Guttke

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

23 March 2011 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel in all respects. Awesome location, organised transport to the best parties, staff are super friendly and helpful (let us check out late after a big night no stress). Met some great people there.

Disliked: Can't think of much...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sena Shellenberger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2011 Sena would recommend this property

Liked: Location is unbeatable. Ocean views from most dorms, semi private beach. Friendly helpful staff, good breakfast, organized fun outings and parties.

Disliked: Did not allow you to bring your own alcohol, yet hostel bar closed at 10 PM.