We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagoa Hostel

Hostel | Rua Jose Henrique Veras 469, Florianopolis, Brazil 88062 030

82.5% Overall Rating

60 out of 68 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/01/2013)

"Great location in Lagoa, walking distance to bus, shops, supermarket. The staff stood out most- so friendly and helpful, really laid back. One staff member showed me such generosity taking me to the doctor clinic,…"

Read all Lagoa Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • BBQ area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.04

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Hibisco Hostel
18.35 USD

Hostel 93.0% 18 reviews
Vintage Hostel Florianópolis
11.83 USD

Hostel 100.0% 4 reviews
Tucano House Backpackers
14.27 USD

Hostel 91.2% 290 reviews
Sunhouse Backpackers
12.23 USD

Hostel 93.1% 19 reviews
Panorama Hostel Eco Backpacker
15.09 USD

Hostel 93.1% 20 reviews
Hostel Way2Go
12.23 USD

Hostel 96.3% 112 reviews
Submarino Hostel
12.23 USD

Hostel 95.1% 91 reviews
Gold Coast Lagoa
20.39 USD

Hostel 90.3% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

60 out of 68 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagoa Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 65 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

06 May 2014

Liked: Good location - but that's about it.

Disliked: Dirty, smelly, very limited breakfast, no good value for money.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JON UNZUETA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 JON would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with nice staff and good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

viviane lapa

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

02 April 2013 viviane would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff and great atmosphere

Disliked: Not so clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Lagoa, walking distance to bus, shops, supermarket. The staff stood out most- so friendly and helpful, really laid back. One staff member showed me such generosity taking me to the doctor clinic, waiting and translating for me. So lovely. Clean rooms and bathroom, great communal area.

Disliked: The extremely small kitchen, cooking was very difficult.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Each room has aircon and good wifi connection. The location is just 3 minutes walk from the bus station so it's easy to go around. The number of beds in the dorm is max 6, mostly 4, so it's not very crowded.

Disliked: There is no kitchen since they just put up a Thai restaurant! The Thai food is excellent but we can't eat Thai food everyday. It's even hard to just eat instant noodle because no electric kettle or stove to boil water.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcus Augustus Burghardt

Alone

Business / conference

17 September 2012 Marcus Augustus would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly. The location is perfect. There is a lot of pubs, banks (cash machines), supermarket, bus station, etc. Great.

Disliked: I was there during a low season, so the place was very calm. But this was not a problem.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Denis-Jacob

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic. One of the best hostels I stayed at in my 10 years of backpacking! Very clean and comfortable private rooms with private bathrooms. Great breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, perfect location.

Disliked: nothing.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the centre. Rooms were clean. Good breakfast. Near to bus station

Disliked: Staff were a little pushy and quite annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location as it´s right by the bus terminal. they have loads of things to do, great range of trips but good facilities to keep you entertained at the hostel too - pool table and jacuzzi! staff were the best we have met so far, very helpful and socialble. great breakfast too!

Disliked: on the hostelbookers site it mentioned that there were free transfers daily to different beaches but did not say that this would end the day we arrived.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Soung Min Chung

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 January 2012 Soung Min would recommend this property

Liked: Like all places and hostels in general its the staff that keep the clients happy. And this place is of no exception. Amazing staff, great people, fun, genuine, always willing to help out with so many things. Lots of activities happening both during the day and night, but they never get to pushy about advertising it either. My man Sergio! Rafael! Thibeault (if i even spelled it right), Pablo, Dani, and others whom I´ve forgotten to mention. I had a great time and will definitely look forward to going back one day.

Disliked: Losing to Sergio at pool. Dani´s Capirinha´s gave me one too many hangovers... XD

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ema hellström

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 ema would recommend this property

Liked: The staff in particular!! The atmosphere!!. We booked a ten dorm room but got a six dorm room instead for the same price. The staff is very helpful and they drive you everyday to a different beach. We were sunburned when we arrived so the first five days we needed to stay inside and we had a lot of things to do like playing pool, fuzball, and games like monopol, tv with almost every chanel. If we are coming back to Floripa this would be our first choice! You will not get disappointed!!

Disliked: none!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roanne Logtenberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Roanne would recommend this property

Liked: the bar and hulpfull staff and they make every night a good party

Disliked: the showers were cold when we where there but the boy's where hot and the will fixed it

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011

Liked: Close to Concecau bus station. Staff gave us a free upgrade to a smaller, empty dorm, and a lift to Barro do Lagoa.

Disliked: Bar, courtyard and hot tub were all out of use due to refurbishment. We were not told this until after we had checked in and paid. A bus ride from the beaches.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonatas Jacob

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 October 2011 Jonatas would recommend this property

Liked: Very good Hostel, close to main street of Lagoa da Conceição with a lot of Bars and Supermarkets. The people in the Hostel are very friendly and experienced.

Disliked: The restroom for biggest room is too small and in the information about the Hostel says that they have parking but only the owner can use.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andy Mckay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Staff (especially the guy on the front desk) are really friendly. The shower was the cleanest I've seen in Brazil so far. Good location - close to bus station, lake, bars and sand dunes. Good value for your Reals. I'd recommend!

Disliked: Nothing bad to say about the hostel. Santa Caterina is quite quiet off season. All this means is that the beautiful beaches are more deserted. Good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool hostel in a good location, Sergio and the crew made me feel very welcome and very comfortable. I I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone! One word of advice... Be aware of Sergio on the pool table ;-).

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, really helpful and organised loads of nights out and activities for us. really clean, breakfast was amazing. great location.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brandon Hennon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 August 2011 brandon would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the nightlife, and the hostel staff got us discounts at just about every place we went. They were also really helpful in orienting us to the island and the Lagoa so it wasn't bad to get to the beaches in the area. As for the hostel, it had great public areas areas including a pool table, foosball, TV room, and a big kitchen. Oh and loved the Wii they had. My room was simple and clean with a newly installed bathroom and the breakfast was pretty good too.

Disliked: They just did a renovation to put in a bunch of new bathrooms in the rooms, but they haven't finished re-installing the jacuzzi yet. Would have liked to use it while I was here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Alberto Podesta

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011 Jorge Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: Location above everything else. The Hostel was full, which made it very colorful and animated yet the silence times were respected, which provided a great balance. Funny and helpful staff, perfect english spoken (a rarity in Brazil).

Disliked: They have few surfing boards to share for free, wish they could provide neoprene suits as well

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheri Marie Zuzul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

13 August 2011 Sheri Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent Hostel. Best so far in all Brasil.

Disliked: Not the Hostel, just the rain on the last day was a bit annoying. Every other day was full of sunshine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosario Guadalupe Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Rosario Guadalupe would recommend this property

Liked: Every night was such a delight. The staff would hook us to discounts and free entries at nearby local bars and clubs, or make us have a blast indoors if the weather was a mess (one night only on my account, contrary to what i was told, it was pretty sunny the past few days). In a nutshell, i extended, and i am still here. You have to come here, its HUGE, clean and nice. The rooms are awesome with lockers and plenty of space.

Disliked: Well.. there are a couple of walls that need to be painted

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dave Padilla Rangel

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2011 Dave Padilla would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the Atmosphere, both chill and party wise. The location cannot be beaten, every other hostel is at least two kilometers away from the bus station while this one is only a couple of blocks away. That, and the fact that the Pubs Street is a block away only made my stay from minute one. Then came the Guys: Xsergio, Rafael, Lena Gana and everybody else, just made me family right away and felt i was visiting friends rather than paying for a stay in a hostel. This place is just perfect to come alone (you will meet lots of people here) and in a group (the activities and facilities make it so much fun). I totally recommend Lagoa Hostel.

Disliked: Nothing really... more a suggestion: Make the dinners more often.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terry Bennet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2011 Terry would recommend this property

Liked: Just extended with some friends for a week more. Im learning how to samba here, who would tell. The Hostel is just awesome. Massive, clean and fun. The best part is that everything is within a walking distance. If you come to floripa, this is the place to stay. Ps: take the daytrips. You might think you can get to know the island on our own but their daytrips are cheaper and way more complete in the end. You guys rock!!!!!

Disliked: That the bartender didnt want to marry me

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Last year stay was amazing, now after all the remodelling and pimping (All rooms have A/C , and they built 8 new bathrooms) it was even better. The staff is the same easy going crew of always, they even take you out sightseeing and partying as unofficial guides. They even walk with you all the way to a nearby bar to get a deal for a group of guests and not only they got us 2 x 1 Caipirinhas all night long, but they made sure we got the best table in the house. I love this place man. Dont play pool with the Staff, they know their game. The nintendo Wii is off the hook and so is the kitchen, with a REAL oven. I extended for 5 nights more.

Disliked: No thing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hands down the best Hostel i've been to in Brazil. The staff makes it fun and easy. They even tailor-make your day with suggestions so you can squeeze your Floripa experience. I am so coming back in Summer. Clean, fun, secure, helpful, reliable and cosy, Lagoa Hostel takes you partying , sightseeing and even have a speedboat of their own you can get a daytrip on. Oh, and the hostel is vegetarian friendly.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.