We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tucano House Backpackers

Hostel | Rua das Araras, 229, Lagoa da Conçeicao, Florianopolis, Brazil 88062-075

91.2% Overall Rating

278 out of 290 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2014)

Michael Shawe thinks…

"The staff there are all ridiculously attractive. It's absurd. The food was good when they cooked. The staff was generally friendly. Falling in love with them every day was an added bonus. :D"

Read all Tucano House Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.31
  • Towel USD 1.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Vintage Hostel Florianópolis
11.83 USD

Hostel 100.0% 4 reviews
Hibisco Hostel
18.35 USD

Hostel 93.0% 18 reviews
Sunhouse Backpackers
16.31 USD

Hostel 93.1% 19 reviews
Hostel Way2Go
14.27 USD

Hostel 96.3% 112 reviews
Panorama Hostel Eco Backpacker
20.39 USD

Hostel 93.1% 20 reviews
Submarino Hostel
12.23 USD

Hostel 95.1% 91 reviews
Lagoa Hostel
12.23 USD

Hostel 82.5% 68 reviews
Gold Coast Lagoa
20.39 USD

Hostel 90.3% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

278 out of 290 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tucano House Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 235 of 270 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good for a group stay in the dorm rooms.

Disliked: It was very cold and there was no heating for around the dinner tables, tv and pool(for the wc matches).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere & people

Disliked: Anything

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Demi Ben-Ari

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

11 April 2014

Liked: Really close to the bus station

Disliked: The beds were not so good, and the air conditioner in the room had a leak. The computer was very very slow.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

aurelio lozano

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2014 aurelio would recommend this property

Liked: facilities and the house itself

Disliked: breakfast. horrible juice....just water and poor fruit. if you dont get up early is nothing to eat but bread

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Shawe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff there are all ridiculously attractive. It's absurd. The food was good when they cooked. The staff was generally friendly. Falling in love with them every day was an added bonus. :D

Disliked: Farther from the beach, but it was closer to local bars

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014

Liked: Friendliest staff ever, along with other awesome guests plus best dinners ever and exciting activities day and night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, swim pool, snooker

Disliked: Sincerly the staff is not so professional, maybe they are not very experienced and sometimes finds some dificult to give a information or help. NOTE: not all employees is a overview

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeroen Westerbeek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

18 February 2014 Jeroen would recommend this property

Liked: Can't agree more with the review of Joshua Veltman! By far the best hostel I have stayed in for the last 3 months in South America. Especially the staff and the great atmosphere makes you feel part of the Tucano House family from day 1. The staff is extremely friendly and nice and wants to help you with everything! Don't forget to join the tours to the beautiful beaches and other places they take you to, absolutely fun! Mention this: could be that you spend a bit more money on drinks as you first had in mind. Not your fault, but the fantastic caipirinhas/caipiroskas that they serve are irresistible! Don't forget to go to P12 with the hostel tour, insane! Rooms are great but book in advance because it's a popular hostel and it's a shame if you miss this one. At Tucano House there isn't a day that you will get bored. Just experience yourself and be part of the Tucano House family! Thanks staff for the amazing time and I will definitely come back once. Jay

Disliked: Jeroen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever! Defo eat the meals in the evening there delicious and good value for money! Easy to meet people, excursions organised every day. Beach is a 10 minute bus ride away. Cute dog! Really friendly staff. I will definitely be back one day !!

Disliked: Swimming pool was small.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Cristobal Vera

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 February 2014 Cristobal would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: too much noise and the NO air conditioner

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Veltman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

19 January 2014 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Tucano is the most amazing hostel I've been to - ever. If you stay here, this place really will become like a home. Firstly, it's the amazingly warm, fun, kind, happy, helpful and not to mention beautiful staff who made my stay the most enjoyable ever. I've never met hostel staff quite as incredible as they, they really compliment the magical vibe of florianopolis. Above that, the hostel is a flawless means for socialisation. Every night before the partying, the chef puts on a 10/10 huge meal, that every1 in the hostel eats. So it couldn't be easier to meet and get to know the awesome people who stay here. Then the hostel will organise some fun if you choose. From big nights and days at the super clubs which regularly host the worlds best djs, to a more relaxed bar or samba club, the guys at the hostel will sort out a tops night for you. For the daytime, it couldn't be easier to explore the magic of the island, as day trips are organised for the hostel guests only, which means you'll get to know every1 even more. The rooms were perfect, and you will always be comfortable. One thing though, they are constantly at capacity here, so make sure you book in early, unless of course you are more than happy to spend your night out on one of their hammocks. If you're chilled, that can be arranged too. If you're looking for a hostel that is about comfort, connections and good vines, this is where you need to stay. The best hostel. No more need to be said except for Thanks. J

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Organize daily trips, staff, dinner offered every night is delicious, good vibe

Disliked: Is in a residential neighbourhood and therefore the bar and the outdoor area is closed at 11pm sharp

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are fantastic. The best hostel I've ever stayed in. So many great people stay there as well so you will make great friends at the bar, by the pool, or with the dog!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Almeida

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2013 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: I had heard before that this Hostel had an amazing staff. It is more than true, they have the most helpful and friendly staff. Me and my friend went to Floripa in a hurry and we could stay just two days. They did their best to change our tickets so we could enjoy the Hostels' boat trip and they booked our taxi and everything, this way we just had to enjoy that paradise. The service is really a differential there, they will solve any problems you have.

Disliked: Larissa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Marwick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fantastic hostel, one of the best we have been in on our whole 2 year trip around the world. Staff are amazing-so friendly and helpful all the time. Everything is really clean, the dinners are awesome! They organise trips every day and parties to go to every night. The bar is closed at a reasonable hour so its quiet if you want to sleep also. The beach is an easy bus or walk away, its super close to everything else. Very social and relaxed place. I don't agree with any of the negative comments below-seriously this place is brilliant, you won't be disappointed. We stayed for 5 nights and would definitely come back any time. Thanks guys!!!

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i've been in Brazil!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff! Really friendly and laid back. Great breakfast in the morning and a really good optional dinner. Location is close to groceries, restaurants, and shops. Quick bus or car ride to beaches. Clean rooms and clean bathrooms. Overall I highly recommend, it was a great experience!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gláucia Bruno Constantino Silva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2013 Gláucia would recommend this property

Liked: Gostei de tudo. Nada a reclamar. São super gentis, promovem a integração do grupo. Hostel perfeito.

Disliked: Nada a reclamar.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ana ferreira

Alone

City break

18 March 2013 ana would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, very good breakfast, staff and facilities! definitely recommend!

Disliked: ana left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Raúl Aravena

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

09 March 2013

Liked: Outside of the room was a totally different world. The staff was friendly and helpful. They offered a variety breakfast buffet with two differend kids of natural juice, cake, bread, fruits and a good cafe. The kitchen was clean and equipped with all cookware you'll need. Free WiFi and computers for everybody. A pool in the garden. A lot of dinner offerings for a small money and organized trips. We only can't comment on these because we didn't try anything. On point, outside you'll be able to enjoy your stay if you don't aspect to sleep in the night or feel clean. Außerhalb unserer muffig, feuchten Höhle war eine komplett andere Welt. Das Hostelpersonal war äußerst freundlich und hilfsbereit. Morgens konnten wir in einem vielseitigen Frühstücksbuffet zwischen zwei unterschiedlichen frischen Fruchtsäften, Kuchen, Brötchen, frische Früchte und einem guten Cafe wählen. Die Gemeinschaftsküche war sauber und sehr gut ausgestattet. Unteranderem gab es kostenloses WLAN und ebenfalls kostenlose Computerbenutzung, ein Fernsehraum und einen Pool im Garten. Abends wurde länderthematische Abendessen für wenig Geld, sowohl tagsüber organisierte Aktivitäten angeboten. Leider können wir hierzu nichts sagen, da eine Nacht nicht die Möglichkeit bat, diese auszuprobieren. In allem kann man den Aufenthalt genießen, soweit man nicht zu sehr an einem erholsamen Schlaf und einem sauberen Körpergefühl häng. Afuera de la habitación era todo lo contrario. El equipo que administra es amistoso y buenos ayudando. Ellos ofrecieron un desayuno no muy variado con 2 jugos distintos, queque, pan, frutas y café. La cocina estaba muy bien equipada para cocinar lo que tú quisieras. Wifi y computadores para navegar. Una piscina. Cenas y viajes organizados. Creo que estaban todas las condiciones para compartir afuera, pero no para pasar la noche en la habitación.

Disliked: I booked for two days a room for two persons with private toilet. We used only one, because the room was a disgusting, stinky and dirty hole in a building. The bathroom had a used soap, the opened soup packaged and hair in the shower. The mattress was wet and stinky, the towels were dirty, also the floor. After that night i booked in another hostal because we slept really unconfortable. We choosed because we red the reviews but we feel very disappointed. Ich buchte zwei Tage ein Doppelzimmer mit privatem Bad für zwei Personen. Jedoch blieben wir nur für eine Nacht, da das Zimmer ein miefendes, dreckifes Loch war. In der Dusche fanden wir eine gebrauchte Seife plus Verpackung und einige Haare unserer vorherigen Bewohner. Die Matratze war feucht und ebenfalls miefend. Auch die Duschhandtücher waren schmutzig und mit Flecken übersäht. Das Hostel wählten wir aufgrund der makellosen Kommentare auf Hostelworld. Für uns heute unbegreiflich! Noch bevor der schlaflosen und ungemütlichen Nacht buchten wir eine Pausade für quasi den identischen Preis, nur sauber und um einiges luxeriöser. Reservé una habitación por dos días para dos personas con baño privado. Sin embargo sólo usamos un día, porque el cuarto (o cueva, porque eso parecía) estaba asqueroso, olía mal y estaba cochino. Además el baño tenía jabón usado, con su envoltorio, y lo mas asqueroso era el olor y el pelo de los antiguos arrendatarios, en la ducha. El colchón de la cama estaba húmedo y olía realmente mal. Las.toallas y el suelo estaban cochinas. Después de una noche, reservamos en otro lugar porque dormimos muy incómodos. Escogimos Tucano porque leímos muchas cosas buenas de éste, nos sentimos muy arrepentidos. A veces es mejor pagar un poco mas ( pagamos 10 reales mas por algo 100 veces mejor)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eduardo Gerber

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2013 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere for the hostel, with a lot of interesting people

Disliked: is so far to the beachs

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rafael Fischer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 February 2013 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: + great atmosphere among travellers and staff + fantastic dinner + cool and affordable day trips

Disliked: Rafael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rosemary duncan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel i stayed at. Its great, especially if you are travelling alone as it is so sociable with fantastic dinners each night , day trips to beaches, and night trips to clubs, its so easy to meet people here. The staff are wonderful, theres a bar, small pool, hostel dog, what more do you want!

Disliked: Nithing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Nicolas Fiorito

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 January 2013 Pedro Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to be

Disliked: The only things is that they dont accept credit card. But all thew other things.. Greatttt

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how they organized trips every day to different beaches on the island, and every night to different bars and clubs. They also cooked dinner every night for about 20 reals. The staff was wonderful in helping me with anything I needed and really made me feel at home.

Disliked: This is definitely a party hostel so do not expect to sleep. I was in a 12 bed dorm and barely slept at all while I was there since everyone comes home staggered from 2-5am and the hostel is very open so noise travels. Our room had a window with no glass so as long as anyone is in the bar area it is very loud.