HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tucano House Backpackers

Hostel | Rua das Araras, 229, Lagoa da Conçeicao, Florianopolis, Brazil 88062-075

91.2% Overall Rating

278 out of 290 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2014)

Michael Shawe thinks…

"The staff there are all ridiculously attractive. It's absurd. The food was good when they cooked. The staff was generally friendly. Falling in love with them every day was an added bonus. :D"

Read all Tucano House Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.57
  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Vintage Hostel Florianópolis
12.74 USD

Hostel 100.0% 3 reviews
Hibisco Hostel
19.77 USD

Hostel 93.0% 18 reviews
Sunhouse Backpackers
13.18 USD

Hostel 93.1% 19 reviews
Hostel Way2Go
15.38 USD

Hostel 96.3% 112 reviews
Panorama Hostel Eco Backpacker
16.26 USD

Hostel 93.1% 20 reviews
Submarino Hostel
8.79 USD

Hostel 95.1% 91 reviews
Lagoa Hostel
15.38 USD

Hostel 82.2% 67 reviews
Gold Coast Lagoa
21.97 USD

Hostel 90.3% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

278 out of 290 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tucano House Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 235 of 270 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lowri Goldsmith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Lowri would recommend this property

Liked: We had an absolutely fantastic time here. Definitely the best hostel we´ve stayed in so far. Rooms are really clean, staff are great and the pool area is ideal. Food was AMAZING!!! We want to go back!!!

Disliked: NOTHING AT ALL

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, food, atmosphere are very good

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georges Langlois

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2011 Georges would recommend this property

Liked: People and services provided like every night different dinner.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the friendliness and helpulness of the staff. They are great!

Disliked: I dislike because i couldnt get borrow some bike to ride

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lise Moller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2011 Lise would recommend this property

Liked: They had a fantastic dinner option that was really great and cheap. lovely breakfast, nice areas to relax at. nice bathrooms, nice that you could go kayaking!

Disliked: it was a bit away from the beach, but anyway, you had the lagoa close buy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The food at this place is awesome. Honestly the best food Ive had in Brazil actually. The breakfast is really good and I ate the dinner here every night. Nice staff and the pool is refreshing. Hammocks also great to lounge around in.

Disliked: The toilet in the mens bathroom did not seem to be cleaned particularly well. My room had only a fan for cooling and became very very hot one night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Moser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

28 December 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Owned by young and dynamic Brazilians with a lot of good ideas. All over all the stuff is very helpful and nice. The hostel has everthing you need... Especially the food - the best food I have ever eaten in an hostel...Thanks for the great christmas dinner.... Keep on walking, you did and still do a great job!!

Disliked: my trip was too short..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julia Richberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: the people and the cheap dinners were great

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ANTONIO DOMINGOS ARAUJO CUNHA

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2010 ANTONIO DOMINGOS would recommend this property

Liked: easy way to stay in while arriving in a different town

Disliked: each head each sentence. We have to accept the others, but it should be nice to feel the kind of person before assebling them in the same room. I could have my choice finally, and that was good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: +

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Zinman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2010 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: It was honestly superb! Great hostel with amazing staff and brilliant activities. We absolutely loved our stay here and would recommend it to everyone!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of it

Disliked: a little to far to walk for from the beech

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

massimo moruzzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 November 2010 massimo would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really nice

Disliked: You tend to settle in only with people from the hoste, especially at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel i have ever stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronny Kurt

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2010 Ronny would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Staff, dinner, drinks, the place.

Disliked: The closes at 10.30pm and you have to leave for more drinking at 11pm ...so staying in and get more drunk is not really possible

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simon Post

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2010 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel run by a young and dynamic team. Staff unfailingly helpful. Hostel spacious, well designed and clean. Facilities on offer (bar, dinner, excursions, etc) all excellent. Safe and secure environment. Provides a sense of community and a great place to meet people. Not for the quieter traveler looking to catch up on sleep...Particularly worth a mention are Caio and Lila (brother & sister who run the show), Marcio, for his patience teaching me Portuguese, Christian, for his help in general and Manao, who makes a mean Caipirinha...

Disliked: If you want somewhere you can fall onto the beach every day, you should be aware Mole and Barra da Lagoa are short bus rides away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Bowring

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

20 November 2010 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: After 6 months travelling this is by far the best hostel we have stayed in. The owners and staff are absolutely AMAZING. The food is better than restaurant quality and the rooms / bathrooms are extremely clean. We were staying 3 nights and extended for a week we loved it so much! Great atmosphere, awesome people - it's like you are staying at your own house! Doona the dog is gorgeous! We didn't want to leave!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably the best hostel I have ever stayed in (and I have stayed in 80 to date maybe). The staff is genuine and friendly. The rooms and bathrooms are great. There is easy access to beaches via cheap buses. The atmosphere is brilliant and great for meeting people with a pool, pool table, surf boards and kayaks for free! Great dinners were provided for under R15 but the kitchen was also great for cooking.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Carvalho Laborne Valle

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2010 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel ever!The staffs are great, It`s a good place to meet people and relax.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mauricio figueroa

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

12 November 2010 mauricio would recommend this property

Liked: mucho mejor de lo que habia presupuestado, el ambiente generado por el staff es genial, siempre preocupados por tu bienestar y preocupados para que pases un excelente momento. Tanto en el Hostel como guiandote en lugares turisticos de Floripa.

Disliked: NO Comments

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i've seen about 25 hostels in my life. This was the best one

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gisela Sales

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2010 Gisela would recommend this property

Liked: O pessoal do staff é super simpático e prestativo.

Disliked: Gisela left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, quiet place

Disliked: no towels in the privat room included

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels be stayed so far. It's very clean and all in all a very very nice place to stay. The staff is always helpful and has a smile all day long. The offer different kind of dinner every day for a reasonable price and it is very good! They have wifi everywhere. The bathrooms are really nice and very clean! Absolutly good value for money!!! We would recommend it to everybody!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna JR-Saunders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing hostel - really friendly and helpful staff, really clean rooms and bathrooms, great breakfast, free internet optional trips and dinners - great!! Also a bit green minded - solar panel water heating, rain water to flush toilets and recycling - best in brasil so far - well done!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.