We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tucano House Backpackers

Hostel | Rua das Araras, 229, Lagoa da Conçeicao, Florianopolis, Brazil 88062-075

90.2% Overall Rating

285 out of 297 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2015)

Pontus Palmgren thinks…

"everything with tucano house is just great. for me one of the best hostels i've ever stayed at. really friendly staff. i can highly recommend this place."

Read all Tucano House Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.44
  • Towel USD 1.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Vintage Hostel Florianópolis
13.11 USD

Hostel 93.8% 6 reviews
Sunhouse Backpackers
11.76 USD

Hostel 90.5% 25 reviews
Hostel Way2Go
11.76 USD

Hostel 96.1% 113 reviews
Panorama Hostel Eco Backpacker
13.44 USD

Hostel 93.2% 22 reviews
Submarino Hostel
10.08 USD

Hostel 93.5% 95 reviews
Lagoa Hostel
10.08 USD

Hostel 81.3% 74 reviews
Lagoa Boutique Guest House
19.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Energia da Lagoa
11.76 USD

Hostel 89.0% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

285 out of 297 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tucano House Backpackers'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 237 of 277 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good evening meals, great staff

Disliked: NA

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Lyons

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 January 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing - run by a brother and sister (I think) who know the area and all things Floripa well, nothing was too much trouble. Don't be put off by the map if you think it's a bit too far from beach life - the Lagoon is a five minute walk away and you can get one of the regular buses to some great beaches. Because it's in a residential area the bar closes (on time) at 11pm BUT they always organise big nights out with transfers for those who want to party... but it also means if you want an early night (I got a bit sick one evening and needed sleep) then you don't have to worry about moaning about noise etc: it's a great balance. Also the food here is great and very reasonably priced so we took advantage of that on quite a few occasions. Thanks Tucano, we had a brilliant stay!

Disliked: It promotes 'free surfboards' but there are only 2 with covers which is compulsory for getting on a bus, (which you have to do to get to the surf beaches). They need more as most people seem to go to Floripa for the surf!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lowri Goldsmith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Lowri would recommend this property

Liked: We had an absolutely fantastic time here. Definitely the best hostel we´ve stayed in so far. Rooms are really clean, staff are great and the pool area is ideal. Food was AMAZING!!! We want to go back!!!

Disliked: NOTHING AT ALL

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, food, atmosphere are very good

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georges Langlois

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2011 Georges would recommend this property

Liked: People and services provided like every night different dinner.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the friendliness and helpulness of the staff. They are great!

Disliked: I dislike because i couldnt get borrow some bike to ride

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lise Moller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2011 Lise would recommend this property

Liked: They had a fantastic dinner option that was really great and cheap. lovely breakfast, nice areas to relax at. nice bathrooms, nice that you could go kayaking!

Disliked: it was a bit away from the beach, but anyway, you had the lagoa close buy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The food at this place is awesome. Honestly the best food Ive had in Brazil actually. The breakfast is really good and I ate the dinner here every night. Nice staff and the pool is refreshing. Hammocks also great to lounge around in.

Disliked: The toilet in the mens bathroom did not seem to be cleaned particularly well. My room had only a fan for cooling and became very very hot one night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Moser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

28 December 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Owned by young and dynamic Brazilians with a lot of good ideas. All over all the stuff is very helpful and nice. The hostel has everthing you need... Especially the food - the best food I have ever eaten in an hostel...Thanks for the great christmas dinner.... Keep on walking, you did and still do a great job!!

Disliked: my trip was too short..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julia Richberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: the people and the cheap dinners were great

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ANTONIO DOMINGOS ARAUJO CUNHA

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2010 ANTONIO DOMINGOS would recommend this property

Liked: easy way to stay in while arriving in a different town

Disliked: each head each sentence. We have to accept the others, but it should be nice to feel the kind of person before assebling them in the same room. I could have my choice finally, and that was good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: +

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Zinman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2010 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: It was honestly superb! Great hostel with amazing staff and brilliant activities. We absolutely loved our stay here and would recommend it to everyone!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of it

Disliked: a little to far to walk for from the beech

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

massimo moruzzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 November 2010 massimo would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really nice

Disliked: You tend to settle in only with people from the hoste, especially at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel i have ever stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronny Kurt

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2010 Ronny would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Staff, dinner, drinks, the place.

Disliked: The closes at 10.30pm and you have to leave for more drinking at 11pm ...so staying in and get more drunk is not really possible

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simon Post

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2010 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel run by a young and dynamic team. Staff unfailingly helpful. Hostel spacious, well designed and clean. Facilities on offer (bar, dinner, excursions, etc) all excellent. Safe and secure environment. Provides a sense of community and a great place to meet people. Not for the quieter traveler looking to catch up on sleep...Particularly worth a mention are Caio and Lila (brother & sister who run the show), Marcio, for his patience teaching me Portuguese, Christian, for his help in general and Manao, who makes a mean Caipirinha...

Disliked: If you want somewhere you can fall onto the beach every day, you should be aware Mole and Barra da Lagoa are short bus rides away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Bowring

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

20 November 2010 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: After 6 months travelling this is by far the best hostel we have stayed in. The owners and staff are absolutely AMAZING. The food is better than restaurant quality and the rooms / bathrooms are extremely clean. We were staying 3 nights and extended for a week we loved it so much! Great atmosphere, awesome people - it's like you are staying at your own house! Doona the dog is gorgeous! We didn't want to leave!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably the best hostel I have ever stayed in (and I have stayed in 80 to date maybe). The staff is genuine and friendly. The rooms and bathrooms are great. There is easy access to beaches via cheap buses. The atmosphere is brilliant and great for meeting people with a pool, pool table, surf boards and kayaks for free! Great dinners were provided for under R15 but the kitchen was also great for cooking.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Carvalho Laborne Valle

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2010 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel ever!The staffs are great, It`s a good place to meet people and relax.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mauricio figueroa

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

12 November 2010 mauricio would recommend this property

Liked: mucho mejor de lo que habia presupuestado, el ambiente generado por el staff es genial, siempre preocupados por tu bienestar y preocupados para que pases un excelente momento. Tanto en el Hostel como guiandote en lugares turisticos de Floripa.

Disliked: NO Comments

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i've seen about 25 hostels in my life. This was the best one

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gisela Sales

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2010 Gisela would recommend this property

Liked: O pessoal do staff é super simpático e prestativo.

Disliked: Gisela left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, quiet place

Disliked: no towels in the privat room included