HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Tucano House Backpackers B&B Florianopolis

Hostel

Rua das Araras,229, Lagoa da Conceicao, Florianopolis, Brazil

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 83%

Safety 96%

Staff 93%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 11.00USD
  • Towel 0.96USD

Important Information

Special Event Booking for: New Years 2015/16
*Conditions: ( A minimum of 6 nights is required (between 28th of December – 5th of January ).
50% deposit in advance is required. After your booking is confirmed You will be contacted to proceed and arrange the payment method. Failure to complete the payment in 7 working days might result in cancellation of your booking.
**Cancellation Policy (A minimum of 10 days prior to check in date is required. Refundable )

Special Event Booking for: Carnival 2016
*Conditions: ( A minimum of 5 nights is required (between 4th– 10th of February).
* Payment policy for Carnival: 50% deposit in advance is required. After your booking is confirmed.You will be contacted to proceed and arrange the payment method. Failure to complete the payment in 7 working days might result in cancellation of your booking.
**Cancellation Policy for Carnival: (A minimum of 10 days prior to check in date is required. Refundable )

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 83%

Safety 96%

Staff 93%

Value 89%

Showing 11-20 of 23 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: too much noise and the NO air conditioner

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Can't agree more with the review of Joshua Veltman! By far the best hostel I have stayed in for the last 3 months in South America. Especially the staff and the great atmosphere makes you feel part of the Tucano House family from day 1. The staff is extremely friendly and nice and wants to help you with everything! Don't forget to join the tours to the beautiful beaches and other places they take you to, absolutely fun! Mention this: could be that you spend a bit more money on drinks as you first had in mind. Not your fault, but the fantastic caipirinhas/caipiroskas that they serve are irresistible! Don't forget to go to P12 with the hostel tour, insane! Rooms are great but book in advance because it's a popular hostel and it's a shame if you miss this one. At Tucano House there isn't a day that you will get bored. Just experience yourself and be part of the Tucano House family! Thanks staff for the amazing time and I will definitely come back once. Jay

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Organize daily trips, staff, dinner offered every night is delicious, good vibe

Disliked: Is in a residential neighbourhood and therefore the bar and the outdoor area is closed at 11pm sharp

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Tucano is the most amazing hostel I've been to - ever. If you stay here, this place really will become like a home. Firstly, it's the amazingly warm, fun, kind, happy, helpful and not to mention beautiful staff who made my stay the most enjoyable ever. I've never met hostel staff quite as incredible as they, they really compliment the magical vibe of florianopolis. Above that, the hostel is a flawless means for socialisation. Every night before the partying, the chef puts on a 10/10 huge meal, that every1 in the hostel eats. So it couldn't be easier to meet and get to know the awesome people who stay here. Then the hostel will organise some fun if you choose. From big nights and days at the super clubs which regularly host the worlds best djs, to a more relaxed bar or samba club, the guys at the hostel will sort out a tops night for you. For the daytime, it couldn't be easier to explore the magic of the island, as day trips are organised for the hostel guests only, which means you'll get to know every1 even more. The rooms were perfect, and you will always be comfortable. One thing though, they are constantly at capacity here, so make sure you book in early, unless of course you are more than happy to spend your night out on one of their hammocks. If you're chilled, that can be arranged too.If you're looking for a hostel that is about comfort, connections and good vines, this is where you need to stay.The best hostel. No more need to be said except for Thanks.J

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff there are all ridiculously attractive. It's absurd. The food was good when they cooked. The staff was generally friendly. Falling in love with them every day was an added bonus. :D

Disliked: Farther from the beach, but it was closer to local bars

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I had heard before that this Hostel had an amazing staff. It is more than true, they have the most helpful and friendly staff. Me and my friend went to Floripa in a hurry and we could stay just two days. They did their best to change our tickets so we could enjoy the Hostels' boat trip and they booked our taxi and everything, this way we just had to enjoy that paradise. The service is really a differential there, they will solve any problems you have.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is a fantastic hostel, one of the best we have been in on our whole 2 year trip around the world. Staff are amazing-so friendly and helpful all the time. Everything is really clean, the dinners are awesome! They organise trips every day and parties to go to every night. The bar is closed at a reasonable hour so its quiet if you want to sleep also. The beach is an easy bus or walk away, its super close to everything else. Very social and relaxed place. I don't agree with any of the negative comments below-seriously this place is brilliant, you won't be disappointed. We stayed for 5 nights and would definitely come back any time. Thanks guys!!!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Best hostel i've been in Brazil!

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great staff! Really friendly and laid back. Great breakfast in the morning and a really good optional dinner. Location is close to groceries, restaurants, and shops. Quick bus or car ride to beaches. Clean rooms and clean bathrooms. Overall I highly recommend, it was a great experience!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Gostei de tudo. Nada a reclamar. São super gentis, promovem a integração do grupo.Hostel perfeito.

Disliked: Nada a reclamar.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability