HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Pousada do Atoba

Guesthouse | Servidão do Ipê 146, Praia do Santinho, Florianopolis, Brazil 88058-822

96.1% Overall Rating

78 out of 79 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2013)

"The hospitality was fantastic (very helpfull en giving you the feeling of being at home) breakfast was every day delicious,it really looked so nice, the pool was pleasant,we even got help to come to an excellent…"

Read all Pousada do Atoba reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

NEW YEARS EVE and CARNIVAL conditions: Please check the description for details about our packages. Bookings will have to respect those conditions to be valid

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florianopolis?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florianopolis

Barra Beach Club - Oceanfront Hostel
20.16 USD

Hostel 98.2% 103 reviews
Banana Beach Hostel
38.08 USD

Hostel 77.7% 93 reviews
Hostel Portunhol
11.20 USD

Hostel 85.1% 14 reviews
Pousada dos Corais
20.16 USD

Guesthouse 98.9% 5 reviews
The Backpackers Share House Floripa
11.20 USD

Hostel 85.5% 113 reviews
Pousada e Hostel Ancora
31.36 USD

Hostel 79.6% 7 reviews
Floripa Home Hostel Beach
11.20 USD

Hostel 90.7% 23 reviews
Backpackers Sunset
11.20 USD

Hostel 93.0% 103 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.1%

Overall Rating

78 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pousada do Atoba'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 74 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hospitality was fantastic (very helpfull en giving you the feeling of being at home) breakfast was every day delicious,it really looked so nice, the pool was pleasant,we even got help to come to an excellent hairdresser, nice for the communication with the perfect english speaking daughter Alin. There are not many restaurants around. So a rent-a-car is not a bad idea!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Ruben

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: EXCELLENT in all aspects! By far the best place we´ve stayed in for the last 7 months travelling. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Leaving

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtney Fraser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2012 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast. The pool area was so beautiful & relaxing. The staff were very friendly & helpful.

Disliked: The air conditioning was a bit too loud & wifi was not accessible in all areas.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Eleni was extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast was extensive and very fresh. The rooms were clean,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clarice Johanson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2012 Clarice would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hosts, rooms were very comfy and clean, delicious breakfast. to me it was the best place I´ve stay at while travelling trhough South America. Ideal for couples or travellers that want to get away from busy life. Only a few blocks away from a gorgeus non crowded beach. Will deffo come back!!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

15 March 2011

Liked: Beautiful and relaxing!

Disliked: Na

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The homely feel and location to the beach and transport into town was good. Aline was an excellent help for us non-portuguese speaker, if she didn't have an answer she would go away and find it. She was also great to chat to. This was a great play to relax.

Disliked: Nothing. I would say, do not come to this Pousada if you want to party, it's not that sort of place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they should really say that this is a hotel with the hostel price. this place is amazing, i travel a lot but i have never been in such a nice hostel and as many said before me Aline the owners daughter is the nicest person i have ever met. i am highly recommended to go to this place because for my girlfriend an i it was perfect there.

Disliked: honestly, nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hamish Macaulay

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2011 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. As every other traveller has attested, Aline - the daughter of the owners was a real gem. She was so helpful it was astounding. All the staff were friendly and the breakfasts were legendary. We were there at high season, and ended up staying a few extra nights as we were having such a pleasant stay. Everything about this pousada was top notch and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Great bonus was the immaculate pool and great beaches just down the road. very handy to stores, money machines and restaurants. Thank you so much for a great week.

Disliked: It was a long journey back from our new years eve all night beach party, but it was like returning to the oasis that is Pousada do Atoba.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Phillips

12 May 2010 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Simply the best hostel/b&b we´ve ever stayed at !! Great and helpfull staff (Aline you are a star), nothing was too much trouble for her, fluent English and Spanish, rooms are cozy and equipped with good mattress, hair drier, hot shower 24/7, safe, cable Tv, more than desearved after 5 months travelling in S/A. Excellent breakfast, big pool and lush beach just 5 min walk from the posada. Will definitely miss this place!!

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derek Carr

14 March 2010 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice guest house with super friendly and helpful staff. It is most definitely not a party place to stay but if you are looking for somewhere relaxing to chill and enjoy the beaches of Isla Santa Catarina, then you will not get better than here. The owner´s daughter speaks fluent English and is so helpful and will gladly plan trips for you and give you endless advice, nothing was too much for her. In short, a really, really nice guest house (definitely not to be described as a hostel!) within easy access of the beautiful Praia Santinho but not somewhere to stay if you want to go mental in Florianopolis!

Disliked: Derek left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a nice and relaxing stay, The family run pousada was lovely, with a decent breakfast and the staff where more then helpful. We where far from the centrinho where all the action was happening so if your looking for a quiet place to recover from the hectic brazilian party scene, than this is it. The nearby beach was beautiful and the accomodation also had a nice pool. Would definatley stay there again. OBRIGADO to all who worked there!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Very quiet and near from the beach, and quiet near from Praia dos Ingleses.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Nulty

22 February 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The service was excellent. Aline and her family were extremley helpful, checking buses for us and also giving us a lift to the next town. The cleanliness of the rooms was excellent, a cleaner came in evveryday to clean and make the beds. The breakfast is really good, and the fact that you get canle tv in your room is a massive bouns. We would reccomend staying here. It isout of the way if you are looking for a lively destination, but if you are looking to chill and sunbathe for a few days it is ideal.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Cocks

21 February 2010 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: We couldn't have asked for more! Pousda do Atoba is a gorgeous guest house, offering much more than the hostel experience we've had elsewhere on our travels. We booked 3 nights and ended up staying a week - relaxing in the hammock, wandering down to the beach for cocktails, dinners out, dinners in - a perfect place to chill out away from the crowds. Daughter Aline is a brilliant multilingual host. She always goes out of her way to help with any request. She even offered to organise for her Dad to drive us in to Ingleses to catch the bus further south on the Island. This pousada should definitely be in Lonely Planet! We will be recommending them. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best Guesthouse we stayed at after 5 months traveling trhough South AMerica. Amazing staff, delicious home made breakfast, rooms are immaculate, spacious, with cable TV!! Santinho is a very beautiful and peaceful beach in a walking distance (5min). Pool is fantastic as well as all other services. It is a shame that this place is still not listed on Lonely Planet. Highly recommended!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Phillips

24 January 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The pousada was very nice we felt very welcome by aline and her family. the breakfast was very good and so was the pousada it self we enjoyed our stay here and would def return.

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice, calm place, helpful staff, near the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very sweet family run pousada, cozy set up with a nice pool, great breakfast, parking, clean room, wireless available! The only thing is the location, it is at the end of Santinho area so to connect with the rest of the island, you have to drive back through Ingleses. Anyway, the Santinho beach is walking distance from the pousada. True surfing paradise.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very lovely family run hostel who went out of their way to help us with our travels. Highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annabel Jefferson

19 December 2009 Annabel would recommend this property

Liked: This is a wonderful place to stay if you want to chill out and relax. They gave us a chalet room where we have a kitchen and living room area, it was brilliant. The place is so lovely and welcoming, and the family are so kind and will go out of their way to help you with anything you need. The beach is barely a 5 minute walk, its really close, and there is a pool at the pousada too! Its a bus ride to the main city area, but this is the place to come to get away from the city and chill out. We loved staying here and would highly recommend it!

Disliked: Annabel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lachlan Hay-Hendry

10 December 2009 Lachlan would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is amazing with fresh fruits and bread, eggs and great coffee. Nice pool, close to a beach with surf but still good for swimming. Close to little supermarket but quite a long way from the centre of Florianopolis but very easy to get to by bus. Staff and owners are really helpful and can organise a cheap rental car which is good for exploring the island. We had bad weather but still ended up staying 2 extra nights. Free wifi and cable tv was good too.

Disliked: Lachlan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael sexton

08 December 2009 michael would recommend this property

Liked: 6 Wonderful Days - A must if you visit - Florianopolis.We stayed at the Posada do Atoba, Praia do Santinho for almost a week in Novermber 2009, It was a real pleasure to meet Aline and the rest of her lovely Family they make you feel very, very welcome and the accommodation itself is first rate, the best we have stayed in during our trip to South America.With the beach just across the street and the bus stop right outside you can have a great base, great also for checking out other areas of the beautiful Island of Florianopolis.Summary Great Breakfast Everyday, Excellent value, Beautiful Pousada, Great Family.if you dont visit Pousada do Atoba it would be a real shame.10/10

Disliked: michael left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elias Sundelin

30 November 2009 Elias would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful time at Pousada da Atoba. Aline is a really a wonderful and nice hostess that many hostes/hostesses can learn from. Helps you with everything you want, even drove us to the bus in Ingelsses. Small things that really mean something when you are out travelling. We stayed in i supernice double room with fridge with its own cookingfacilites. Can`t really complain about anything. Excellent for couples that want a relaxing time in nice atmosphere. Warmly recommended!

Disliked: Elias left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After 3 months of travelling in South America this place was probably the best value for money place we have stayed at yet! The rooms are big and modern, the beach is close and it also has a pool. The breakfast is first class and there was even a free BBQ one night consisting of chicken, meat, sausage and salad. This is a great place to stay (at least for a few nights) if you come to Florianopolis especially if you are looking to relax and chill out. The place is well run by a friendly and accommodating family. Thanks for the hospitality guys.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.