HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Curitiba Backpakers Hostel

Hostel | Rua Nilo Peçanha, 243, Curitiba, Brazil 80520000

82.3% Overall Rating

26 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/01/2013)

ANA CAROLINA FRANCO thinks…

"Very friendly staff, they are very nice people who are always willing to help. We were happy with them. The hostel is large, beautiful, clean and there are nice common areas. We liked the property…"

Read all Curitiba Backpakers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.32

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Special Event Booking for: World Cup 2014 **Conditions: the period of World Cup is from June 13rd to July 13rd (we don't require minimum stay) **Payment Method: Credit Card ** Payment policy for : 50% of the total of the reservation is required in advance (non refundable). After your booking is confirmed by hostelworld.com or hostelbookers.com, You will be contacted to proceed and arrange the payment method, the property can require the CVV code of your credit card. Failure to complete the payment in 5 working days will result in cancellation of your booking **Cancellation Policy for World Cup: A minimum of 15 days prior to check in date is required.Non Refundable).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Curitiba?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Curitiba

Curitiba Hostel
20.38 USD

Hostel 97.1% 3 reviews
Knock Knock Hostel Curitiba
19.93 USD

Hostel 94.3% 45 reviews
Motter Home Curitiba Hostel
18.16 USD

Hostel 97.9% 22 reviews
Curitiba Casa Hostel
17.72 USD

Hostel 93.6% 24 reviews
Curitiba Eco Hostel
17.72 USD

Hostel 86.1% 73 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

26 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Curitiba Backpakers Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 29 reviews
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Its a taxi ride from the centre, the kitchens were dirty and untidy and no heating.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ANA CAROLINA FRANCO

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013

Liked: Very friendly staff, they are very nice people who are always willing to help. We were happy with them. The hostel is large, beautiful, clean and there are nice common areas. We liked the property very much!

Disliked: We were left in a room without keys. Anybody could have entered our room while we were not there. When we were there, the door could be locked from inside. One guy accidently locked us out the room when he was trying to find the right key, and in order to open the door, another guy jumped the window which I had closed before. Because of that, I could barely sleep feeling afraid that someone else would jump the window while I was sleeping, because the window had no lock. I did not feel safe, Unacceptably poorly rationed breakfast. The person in charge of the reception is the one who prepares a Ham sandwich for you to eat. I tried to ignore that the person does that among other duties, touching your bread without previously washing the hands. Hope this review can help to improve.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff of the hostel, very nice and helpful !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Ward

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This is an ok hostel, very basic but fine for our short visit. The hostel had numerous facilities and common areas although I didn't use them. Breakfast was fine.

Disliked: The downstairs mens bathroom was tiny and pretty pathetic.. The location is far from the bus station but only a short walk from the historic centre.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hostel were friendly and the location was safe and close to locations of interest (museums, civic center and Largo da Ordem) .

Disliked: I didn't like that the area kitchen was very dirty. It was not clean at all. I do understand the time I was there, there were only two guest with me. However, they should be able to clean the kitchen, the utensils and don't leave any spoil food all over the place, no matter how many persons are at the hostel. Also when they showed me the room, nothing was ready. I did have to made my own bed and everything. It looks like they were not expecting me despite I had a reservation through hostelbookers.com. and was the only one there.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012

Liked: The staff are lovely. Nice big lockers.

Disliked: It´s just abit generally ramshackled. Shower was warm but facillities abit cobbled together and water goes everywhere in the bathrooms- all around the toilets. Loo paper ran out often. Both mornings at breakfast they provided tea bags but no hot water. The toaster doesn´t work. The laundry service has no dryer- I had to pack my clothes damp.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie davidson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: the staff went out of there way to help us. Even gave my boyfriend clothes to wear as his suitcase never arrived when we landed in Brazil. the hostel is also very big and spacious

Disliked: breakfast could be a bit better compared to other hostels in Brazil

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Townsend

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff who spoke very good english and who gave helpful advice about things to do in the area.

Disliked: Not very clearly signposted out the front of the hostel,could be a house

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was wonderful.

Disliked: They have a theatre play that stopped all the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andre Siqueira

Alone

City break

08 April 2012 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: The most I like at Curitiba Backpakers Hostel was the staff specially about Sebastian, who is always ready to help the guests given all information we need as well as touristics sightseeings advices. The street where the hostel is located is quite calm and we can go to Oscar Niemeyer Museum walking. I arrive just in the Curitiba week festival and we had some actors showing their performance around the hostel. It means that they care about Culture. In short, that is really advised and you will certainly enjoy being there. Great cost-benefit!!

Disliked: Andre left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bettina Kellerer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Bettina would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff

Disliked: Bettina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert hissey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, i think what made it was the receptionist Sebastion. he is great, really helpful and a great guy to talk with. knows where the best places for nightlife is and speaks great english and german. cheers mate. and the place across the road had a buffet for 8.50 hiace! unreal! recommended!

Disliked: breakfast needs to be better! there was hardly anything there. bread and flavourless cake.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast sets you up for a day.

Disliked: - On duty staff sleeping in comunial areas. - Breakfast NOT on time. I'm only talking 5-10 minutes, but when your leaving just after the start of breakfast for a 20hr bus ride.........I'll say no more.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great environment and really friendly staff. Very spacious.

Disliked: Bathrooms a bit dodgy, no mirrors in some bathrooms and nowhere to hang up clothes in shower room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dmitry Markevich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Dmitry would recommend this property

Liked: Large, spacious, clean hostel in a good location. Friendly staff and good internet connection. Recommend.

Disliked: Dmitry left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull owner

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Pedro Avelino

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012

Liked: Not much. Only the friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: - Bathrooms -- Poorly cleaned -- Spider webs all over it, wet floor all over the bathroom, even with a mop to try and help the water to broke loose. -- no mirrors on the bathroooms, -- no towels to get dry your hands, no even paper towels -- the worse toilet paper that i ever saw in my life, it was almost as made of newspaper - Dorm -- I stayed with my wife in a double room with one bed for a couple, and my god. -- Totally dirty, web spiders, bugs and a carpet, -- My door was not closing from the inside, only from the outside, if by a some chance i was changing clothes someone could enter the room and get me or my wife naked. So i had to barricade the room with a couch that was inside it; -- The room didn't have courtains, i woke up being baked from the sun and bugs kept coming in the room directly in my bed, since there was not even a courtain, -- The bed was on top of wood boxes, not like a frame, bud really, 3 wood boxes and that made 2 holes in the matrice, making me and my wife to wake up with our backs hurting as hell. - Kitchen -- When i woke up, the coffee was cold, there was no more milk, and no more bread; -- There was no one available to replace the items that was over -- Everything was kind of poorly cleaned and not too good for the eyes for your appetite; -- In the end I got notice that the owner of the Hostel did put his room for rent and that he used to sleep there End of story, I made the checkout on the next day in the morning and i had to wait for the owner to give me my money back since i had payed for 3 days and he even charged me for the first day the whole price... For me, not recommended since it's poorly administrated trying to use the models from Hostels in Europe but without any prior administration knowledge!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful and breakfast was nice with relaxed timings which is always good! Lots of indoor space with sofas for relaxing. Transfer to the bus station in the old campervan was really handy and location is really central. Would definitely recommend for a visit to Curitiba.

Disliked: Not so much dislikes but suggestions for improvements, I know it's only a new place! There weren't enough chairs at breakfast and nowhere to sit outside in the yard/garden. It's a big space with nothing in it which seems a shame to waste it. Our room was really hot and stuffy. we needed a fan perhaps? Our door didn't lock and the locker was broken so felt a little unsecure. The only other comment is that the mattress in our double room was just a foam one which is really uncomfortable for more than a night or so? I hope. That's helpful to keep improving the place!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Grant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was fantastic. Great information and very freindly. We arrived late and he got some dinner warmed up for us with a free caiprahna (meals every night for 8 realis and drink) not only was the food really good but cheap. Good kitchen, very clean hostel, plently of space in the room, comfy big tv room and a lovely building. They also has a VW combi which they give transfers/ taxi rides for cheaper than taxis. Would like to give it 110%

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gesiel Araujo

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break

12 January 2012 Gesiel would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and atmosphere...

Disliked: Gesiel left no negative feedback.