We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Campo Grande

Hostel | Rua Joaquim Nabuco 185, (City centre), Campo Grande, Brazil 79008-340

66.9% Overall Rating

67 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/02/2014)

"Nice common area with pool. Two computers. Doble rooms for the price of a dorm. The breakfast is quite good."

Read all Hostel Campo Grande reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Campo Grande?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Campo Grande

Hostel Inn Pantanal Ecological Expedition
84.35 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HOSTEL VITORIA REGIA
16.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Santa Clara campo grande
14.76 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.9%

Overall Rating

67 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Campo Grande'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
68.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 59 of 77 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Ankit bellani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2014

Liked: Not one thing.

Disliked: Rude unhelpful staff. Charged me for the taxi ride, even as they say they offer free pick ups.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Not clean

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common area with pool. Two computers. Doble rooms for the price of a dorm. The breakfast is quite good.

Disliked: There is no atmosphere and the staff is not friendly. One guy hard try to send us the tours to Pantanal the hostel offers... There is a kitchen but nothing to cook (no forks, no plates...).

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Katie Holdsworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013

Liked: Free airport pick up

Disliked: The tour that they sell you at this hostel is a waste of money - do NOT use Ecological Tours in the Pantanal. They overcharge you, the guides do not care about your experience (one guide actually said to another customer "if you don't like it here you can waste your money and go back to Campo Grande", the activities are all the same (boat trip or walking) and you waste so much time around the lodge - probably only a total of 2 or 3 hours on activities each day. I got into Campo Grande late and I panic bought this tour - never again!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is cheap and even free when you book the dire "ecological expeditions" tour. The facilities are very basic and run down but most travellers only stay for a single night on their way to or from the Pantanal. The staff are fairly knowledgable about the area and will do what they can for you. Beer is 4 reals a can which is fairly cheap.

Disliked: Hostel is in desperate need of renovation, the place is run down from top to bottom. It is more like a cheap hotel than a hostel and when we stayed there was no atmosphere, just a couple of grumpy old men watching football. The owner, Rodriguez runs the "Ecological Expeditions" tour of the pantanal and promises you a fantastic adventure and guarentees sights of all kinds of wildlife. He painted a very pretty picture but the tour its self was painfully poor. Read the reviews and STAY AWAY.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bridget Coles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2013 Bridget would recommend this property

Liked: ---

Disliked: ---

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Hiten Raval

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013

Liked: It offers a free pickup from the airport.

Disliked: Their tour of the Pantanal is the worst tour I have ever been on. On the 3 day tour, the 1st day you will spend 6 hours on a bus and a further 3 hours on a jeep to reach the lodge. On day 2 we were driven approx 3 miles on the same road as the day before and then guided back to the lodge on the same road! This was their idea of a trek. After 2 hours of waiting we were taken piranha fishing which lasted 15 minutes and taken back to the lodge saying that there are no piranhas because the water must be dirty. After waiting 4 hours it was dinner then we were taken on a 10 minute tour where a light was shone at caymen's eyes! This was their night tour! On day 3 we were taken on a 2 hour walk through the rainforest and though the birdlife was pointed out that is it - no knowledge of plants. After waiting for 3 hours at a sister lodge we were taken back to the bus stand for the transfer to Campo Grande (transfer is not included in the tour price of 500 Real) - the transfer is a further 60 Real. This outfit is cheap and offers incentives to go with them - please don't waste your money. Pay the extra bit more and go with another company that some recommends. I met 2 couples later in Campo Grande who had booked with a company called Discovery tours. They described day 1 as the same as ours of doing nothing, but after day 2 they went on boat tours, jeep / night safari, jungle treks and horse riding. Ecological tours is a con - with tourist pressure hopefully they will either get their act together or go bust!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Steve Haley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Free airport pick up and Pantanal arrangements. Lovely pool.

Disliked: Small rooms

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Anne Gascoigne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013

Liked: It´s cheap. The man on the front desk on the day we left was friendly.

Disliked: Dingy, toilet didn´t flush, nobody around, most staff were unfriendly and unhelpful.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 March 2013

Liked: The shared area around the pool is nice to enjoy the sun.

Disliked: The room was slightly shabby and not really clean (stain on the linen). The mattress was really uncomfortable.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2013

Liked: the location

Disliked: the pantanal tour

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jaime Silk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013

Liked: It was under renovations, however, very quiet and not a lot going on.

Disliked: Lack of tours or entertainment.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, good shower.

Disliked: old mattress, sinks easily

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pickup from airport

Disliked: Located close to old Campo Grande bus station, area run down

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012

Liked: Near the airport

Disliked: Really needs doing up - very shabby, rooms are pretty depressing and hot. For a very similar price I stayed in another hostel in Campo Grande in a much nicer location, less dingy and with air conditioning. Impossible to get hold of the hostel by email as well, not very helpful. I was glad I only stayed one night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maurice Prado

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

03 October 2012 Maurice would recommend this property

Liked: Bom para passagem. Honesto. Aluguei quarto coletivo e fiquei em quarto privativo!

Disliked: Maurice left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eli Aboukrat

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2012 Eli would recommend this property

Liked: The owner! Rodrigo was one of the friendliest people we met in Brazil, and did an excellent job helping us to plan our stay in Pantanal and Bonito. We were on a very tight schedule, but thanks to Rodrigo we managed to do everything we've planned, and much more.

Disliked: Eli left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lise Marmillod

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012 Lise would recommend this property

Liked: The public spaces of the hostel are really nice and cosy: great pool, internet area, nice decor. However, do not expect to cook properly in the kitchen. The owner was really nice and picked us up from the airport, which is not often for this price. He was not pouchy with us for selling his tour as we told us we book with another company. We had a global nice experience and for the price, no doubt, it is worth it!

Disliked: The rooms are quite small and the bathroom is not properly thought but it is absolutely fine!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, open common area with pool. Offer trips to pantanal and hostel is right beside bus and plane tockrt kiosk.

Disliked: Limited kitchen; lacked proper cooking utensils. The recommended supermarket was little more than a kiosk. No air con

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 February 2012

Liked: I liked that I was too tired to think about how it wasn't that good.

Disliked: I disliked the lack of care of the staff to give the basic informations about breakfast and check-out times. I arrived at night, the guy gave me the key for my room, a towel and didn't tell me anything about the breakfast that finishes at 9am!! Also the bathroom doesn't have a curtain for the shower are, which makes the whole bathroom wet and even leaking outside of the bedrooms in the corridor. The mattresses are terrible and gives you a backache in the morning. Overall, for one night, if you're tired enough, it's ok.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Adam Denton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012

Liked: The staff where very friendly and offered a good , if some what early breakfast. Good internet connection and very reasonably priced.

Disliked: We had to move room at 1am after finding the bed sheet covered in bed bugs. They changed our room and gave us the night for free. DO NOT BOOK YOUR TOUR WITH THEM. We booked a 3N/4D tour to the Pantanal for 450 Reals each. The tour was a waste of money. We spent 6 hours in the middle of each day sitting around doing nothing in the Pantanal hostel. The Jeep tour was nothing but the ride to the hostel in the pantanal. We didnt do everything we where told we would, the horse riding offered no helmets or protection. The guides where very poor and tormented the wildlife. When asked to stop, they became very aggressive towards the people on the tour. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. and dont expect your money back

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BRUNO ISMAIL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2012 BRUNO would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located, great staff and amazing value for money.

Disliked: BRUNO left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Close to everything one should need in the city.

Disliked: Swimming pool that shows in the pictures was not proper for use, dirty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2011

Liked: The owner, Rodrigo was very helpful

Disliked: Despite being very helpful, the owner was pretty shady and just wanted to sell you his tour of the Pantanal for which I have read some dodgy reviews for. We only booked this hostel for the free pick up which did not happen as he was obviously in bed. The same thing happened when we came to leave and almost missed our train to Bolivia. Kitchen was awful,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms are basic but clean, there is a swimming pool and free breakfast

Disliked: x