HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Buzios hostels

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Buzios

Guesthouse | Rua Da Paz 7, Buzios, Brazil 28950000

85.3% Overall Rating

27 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2012)

"Very nice hostel, CLEAN and comfortable. The girls of the staff are very helpful and kind... i really enjoyed my stay there.... They have excellent beds, a big kitchen and big rooms... I RECOMMEND this hostel to all the…"

Read all Che Lagarto Hostel Buzios reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Not allowed under 18

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buzios?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buzios

Miami Guesthouse
28.98 USD

Guesthouse 77.1% 5 reviews
Nomad Búzios Seashore Hostel
24.52 USD

Hostel 96.1% 105 reviews
El Misti Buzios Hostel & Pousada
8.87 USD

Hostel 75.1% 30 reviews
El Misti Yellow Buzios
8.87 USD

Hostel 73.0% 16 reviews
Buzios Adventure Hostel
27.66 USD

Hostel 84.8% 15 reviews
Hostel Lobo Inn Búzios
13.37 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lagoon Backpackers
11.14 USD

Hostel 91.4% 25 reviews
Phoenix Hostel Búzios
20.06 USD

Hotel 97.6% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

27 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Che Lagarto Hostel Buzios'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, CLEAN and comfortable. The girls of the staff are very helpful and kind... i really enjoyed my stay there.... They have excellent beds, a big kitchen and big rooms... I RECOMMEND this hostel to all the travellers who want to have a cheap, fun and a perfect vacation... thank you Flor, Colo, Estefi and Cecilia for making my stay being so cool!

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was perfect

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

27 February 2012

Liked: --

Disliked: Lack of proper information - just update the prices on the webpages used by most backpackers.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Birchenhall

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff were friendly . They did try and charge me in dollars as opposed to Brazilian Real , but I stuck to my guns and they let me pay in Real . They did say they had over- booked and I was put into a room with another traveller for one night . It worked out ok , although we were right by the steros . The Staff were friendly and helpful .

Disliked: Its veery noisey until about 12am , but then is geared to the younger crowd .

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and lots of space. Great place for meeting people, party usually goes elsewhere at midnight. I def recommend it.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing place to stay!!! You get off the bus and it's right there! So close to evrything and the staff are really helpful friendly and fun. The rooms are so clean and you get fresh sheets daily! Beautiful place and beautiful people :-)

Disliked: The toilet stunk a little! And watch ou for mozies!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Niklas Arhusiander

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2011 Niklas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, breakfast, beds. Generally good.

Disliked: Nothing really about the property. But there were mosquitos and Buzios was pretty dead (nightlife) in the weekdays.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Cléo Pires

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

07 April 2011 Cléo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice enviromenmt.

Disliked: A bit dirt.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Konstantinos Kyriakopoulos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Konstantinos would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect!!!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Dolenz-Extale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, great value for money, extremely clean. Overall, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They may sometimes initially come accross as a little curt, but this is a very busy hostel and they really try, and succeed, to fix problems if they arise.

Disliked: 10-12 people dorms, the 12 people dorms are really 2 dorms with 6 people each, one has AC the other not. They all have working fans and it was not too hot but just manage your expectations. Also, it is more of a party hostel, although it has a chill vibe, too. Still the best value for money in Buzios from what I've seen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: PERFECT

Disliked: 10 NPOINT

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property, very clean and in a good location - close to the bus stop and the centre of Buzios. You need to get a bus to the nicer beaches but its very easy to do. Felt very safe. The staff were really helpful. Some nights its all you can eat for 12 reals and the food is amazing.

Disliked: The shower in our dorm was rubbish!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

09 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful and the location is close to everything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just a short walk to the main part of town. Really nice rooms, and great home-cooked dinners available

Disliked: Music being played so loud it was distorted every day from around 4pm onwards. Also being charged a ridiculously high exchange rate for a price that was quoted in US dollars.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a wonderful atmosphere - a comfortable, sophisticated and cozy place at the same time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

10 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and nice hostel, room was excellant.

Disliked: Be warned, if paying in brazillian reais they use there own exchange rate which means you end up paying way more than the euro/dollar equivalent so maybe not the bargain it may seem, still, place was worth it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

james murray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

09 September 2010 james would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel all round, great location, great facilities, very comfy and really friendly staff, that would always help whenever it was needed.

Disliked: james left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was beautiful, secure, and comfortable...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location (very close to the bus station), friendly staff (speaks Portuguese, English and Spanish).. Clean rooms and lockers (bring your own padlock) hot running water, internet for R$5,00 during your entire stay, TV lounge with movies and pool table. A great place to meet people and have fun!

Disliked: The bathrooms have yellow water, both sink and toilet. But the shower is fine, just be careful as it is electric. The breakfast consists of plain bread, cereals and fruit drinks.. I felt they could have offered more as it is common in other parts of Brazil. I also noticed that the music is turned off after midnight which is not always good for those who sleep earlier.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The double private room was comfortable and clean and the remaining rooms seemed good too. The receptionist Natália gave us excellent service, with great sympathy and great tips on places to go (I recommend a chat and ask her information you need !!!), also the photos of the site are faithful to reality, which is difficult to happen! The entire staff seemed very kind, reliable and pretty honest. It also has an excellent location very close to the bus stop (local and from other States/Cities buses) that will take you everywhere in Buzios (it is located on the street right behind the hostel), very close to the Rua das Pedras (4 blocks) and Praia do Canto and it is 15 minutes walking from Brava beach (we did the route).PortuguêsO quarto privativo de casal era confortável e limpo e os demais quartos me pareceram bons também. A recepcionista Natália nos deu um atendimento excelente, com muita simpatia e ótimas dicas de locais para visitar (eu recomendo bater um papo e pedir informações a ela!!!), além disso as fotos do local são fiéis à realidade, o que é difícil de acontecer!!! Toda a equipe me pareceu gentil, confiável e bastante honesta.Também possui uma excelente localização, muito próximo da Rodoviária e do ponto de vans que te leva a todos os lugares de Búzios (logo na rua de trás do Hostel), muito próximo da rua das Pedras (4 quadras) e da Praia do Canto e 15 minutos à pé da praia Brava (nós fizemos o percurso)

Disliked: We had problems with the booking as the Hostel claimed to not have received confirmation of our reservation from Hostelbookers so we had to make contact by telephone to guarantee the reservation was done, which was quickly done by the receptionist Natalia. (On check-out they charged me again the value of 10% reservation already paid, but the misunderstanding was resolved without problems). The shower gave little shock while being turned on (nothing serious, but needs repair) and the wireless did not work in the room that we stayed (on top), but it worked in other places and for this reason the value we have not been charged. These are very small problems considering the qualities of the hostel, and I recommend it for those going to Buzios, since the cost-benefit analysis is very good!! Ahhhh ... the breakfast was good but had no type of cheese that has been missing. Português Tivemos problemas com a reserva, pois o Hostel alegava não ter recebido a confirmação de reserva do Hostelbookers e tive que fazer o contato por telefone para garantir a reserva, o que foi rapidamente feito pela recepcionista Natália. (e no check-out se atrapalharam e me cobraram novamente o valor dos 10% da reserva já pago, mas o equívoco foi resolvido, sem problemas). Na hora de ligar o chuveiro ele dava pequenos choques (nada sério, mas precisa de reparo) e o wireless não funcionava no quarto que ficamos na parte de cima, mas funcionava em outros lugares e por este motivo o valor não nos foi cobrado. Esses pequenos problemas não se sobrepõem às qualidades do local e eu o recomendo para quem vai à Búzios, pois o custo-benefício é muito bom!!!! Ahhhh... o café da manhã era bom, mas não tinha nenhum tipo de queijo o que fez falta.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jared Neuhausen

08 June 2010 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, very nice and clean. Great, helpful staff as well.

Disliked: Jared left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Endrigo Claic

01 June 2010 Endrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel!!!Nathy,Marcia and Paula are amazing!!!

Disliked: Endrigo left no negative feedback.


See all Buzios hostels