HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Buzios hostels

Reviews of El Misti Buzios Hostel & Pousada

Hostel | Rua JV no. 7 Ferradura, Buzios, Brazil 28950-000

75.1% Overall Rating

25 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2012)

Blair Bunning thinks…

"Food was OK, location to centro area 15min walk & close to catching public transport was good, atittude of staff was generally alright."

Read all El Misti Buzios Hostel & Pousada reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 29.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Age Restrictions: No persons under 18 years old can book shared rooms Cancellation Policy We require a 50% deposit to confirm and guarantee any reservation. The remaining balance must be paid at the check-in time. Any cancellations with less than 72-hours notice prior to the check-in time will not receive deposit refunds. Any request for a cancellation or modification must be submitted in writing. The same rules apply for both cancellations and modifications. Any no-shows will be charged 100% of the reservation total after 24-hours from the check-in time if no notification is received by El Misti Hostels. We recommend that all guests purchase traveler’s insurance to protect themselves from any unforeseen circumstances. In the case that you need to make an insurance claim, El Misti Hostels will help you in any way possible including providing documentation, etc. *Cancellations for groups of 6 or more people must be made with at least a full 2 (two) week’s notice. In this case, the group may collect 100% of their deposit paid to El Misti (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made with insufficient notice will not have any portion of the deposit refunded. *Cancellations for the Holy Week Package can only be made up until March. 15, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. *Cancellations for the Soccer World Cup 2014 (from June 10th until July 15th) can only be made before February 1 and are 100% refundable (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. *Cancellations for the New Years Package can only be made before Nov. 30 and are 100% refundable (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. * Cancellations for the Summer Season 2015 can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% refundable. Cancellations made after that date will not be refunded deposits. *Cancellations for the Carnaval 2015 Package can only be made up until Dec. 12, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buzios?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buzios

El Misti Yellow Buzios
8.88 USD

Hostel 73.0% 16 reviews
Buzios Adventure Hostel
27.57 USD

Hostel 84.8% 15 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Buzios
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 85.3% 29 reviews
Miami Guesthouse
29.00 USD

Guesthouse 77.1% 5 reviews
Nomad Búzios Seashore Hostel
24.54 USD

Hostel 96.1% 105 reviews
Hostel Lobo Inn Búzios
13.39 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lagoon Backpackers
11.15 USD

Hostel 91.4% 25 reviews
Phoenix Hostel Búzios
20.08 USD

Hotel 97.6% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.1%

Overall Rating

25 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Misti Buzios Hostel & Pousada'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 28 reviews
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The outside space is great, lovely pool

Disliked: The 16 bed shared room is badly maintained. Needs paint and better toilet facilities. Lockers could be bigger. Needs regular cleaning.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Blair Bunning

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2012 Blair would recommend this property

Liked: Food was OK, location to centro area 15min walk & close to catching public transport was good, atittude of staff was generally alright.

Disliked: The bathroom needed cleaning!...Badly

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing house, huge yard.

Disliked: Not enough bathroom. The staff are kind but didnt offer nothing. (sorry about my english)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gaston Alejandro Grossi

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2012 Gaston Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Very good place to stay.

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012

Liked: Nice pool, quiet area

Disliked: Its in the middle of nowhere up a hill, not great when youre arriving off the bus. There are a nice few mozzies around at night time. You have to pay to use the computer in the lobby

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ignacio Aguero

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

03 February 2012 Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: It's very quiet and nice

Disliked: garage it's not closed ... it's just a parking area

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011

Liked: the living area was lovely with a hammock, nice garden and tv area but the kitchen and one bathroom between 24 people were disgusting.

Disliked: only one bathroom between 24 people that was only cleaned once during the day. there was so much mud and gross hair on the floor in the bathroom i felt sick having to use it. the hostel is quite nice if there were about 4 more bathrooms. or if they left a mop or more towels so we could clean it as we go?!!! also it is really noisy with people going up and down the wooden stairs with flipflops on. we got basically no sleep in 2 days. especially my husband who is 6''4 and couldnt fit into any of the beds. the breakfast is nice out on the veranda but we had to beg for more food as they often forgot to refill the food. if you get a private room i think the service would be quite good and the rooms looked a lot nicer but being in the dorms we felt ignored. wait until you get to buzios, there are so many pousadas in town up and down the street. just pick one that isnt next to a bar and you'll be fine. there are a few people waiting at the bus station when you arrive by 1001 coach but we just walked into town (only 5 min walk...the taxis are a rip off) we paid 80 reales for a double at the pousada mandala with aircon and fan and ensuite with fridge and tv!! el misti was 65 for two dorm beds! also, el misti is quite far away and hard to find. we got lost so many times, especially at night as there are no street lights. stay in town!! or closer to one of the other beaches. just dont stay at the el misti. by the way, we arent fussy, we have been travelling for a while around south america.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming Pool, Breakfast, Location equidistant between beach and town

Disliked: Not a good location for a lone female traveller, mattresses and pillows were dirty looking, only 2 bathrooms for potentially 25 people, talk of putting more in, but no evidence of this, bathrooms could have been cleaned more often

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, nice staff. The only dislike about it is that our room (2people) was not so airy and a little dark but there were other rooms i believe were more lighter... Even though its a very nice place to stay. You can easily walk to the city center, or to Tartaruga beach. You can also tke a 30min walk to Praia da Azeda or Azedinha.

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, close to nice beaches and city center

Disliked: all of the guests were from argentina.......

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very nice, good swimming pool, well decorated, clean common areas and kitchen. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is tasty and with fresh fruits. I recommend!

Disliked: location is good but not very much close to the downtown where things happen at night and day (around 15-20 min walk from the hostel)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very ralaxing and tranquil setting, only 10 minutes walk to centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcello Marzullo

02 May 2010 Marcello would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really a paradise, with beautiful garden and swimming pool, nice rooms, very clean, really good staff, very helpfull -people who speak different languages- Ferradura beach is very closer, and center of town too. It's a fun place to meet people, at night there is a really good bar-man, and the music is excellent. I recommend this incredible hostel.

Disliked: Marcello left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great holidays!!!!!!!. have fun

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed for a night as we had already booked elsewhere for the rest of our trip, but the place was nice. Significantly better than I had expected, with a lovely garden, hammocks and pool area. The staff are really nice, welcoming and helpful. We did stay in the 10 person dorm, which was pretty loud with people slamming the door all night...creaky wood isn't quiet, but what do you expect for a 10 person dorm. It was also really hot if you weren't in line with the fan. All I would recommend is paying the extra few bucks to stay in a smaller dorm or private room. Otherwise, great place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karl Morris

09 March 2010 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel

Disliked: Karl left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roberto Cortez

08 March 2010 Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean place, surrounded by trees and with a swimming pool. Good location, just a few minutes away (by foot) from Ferradura Beach and downtown. We had a little problem though, this one day I went to take a shower and had a mild electric shock, nothing serious and they immediately offered to give us another room. Totally recommended.

Disliked: Roberto left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed and chilled out. The lady who owned the property was particularly helpful and enthusiatic....i followed some of her recommendations for things to do when in buzios and she was spot on!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Rikke Simonsen

21 February 2010 Rikke would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly owners there speaks english, danish and spanish.The room was nice but not clean when we where there. The atmosphere was really nice and calm. We will recommend the place

Disliked: Rikke left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Oakes

20 February 2010 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really fun, friendly and cozy place to stay. It is a good social atmosphere, my friend and I enjoyed staying here. It is also located very well for Buzios and is very good value for money.

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Para el valor tiene una buena ubicacion, la piscina también es un puntote a favor, buena onda el personal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good, you are close to everything; city, beach, shopping, bus etc. Atmospher at the hostel is very relaxed and nice! Wonderful hammocks to chill in!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Buzios hostels