We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Abaquar hostel

Hostel | Rua do Areal, Boipeba Island, Brazil -

96.7% Overall Rating

13 out of 13 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/01/2014)

Hilary Young thinks…

"Lovely staff who are very helpful and knowledgable. Also they have a nice communal area which makes it easy to meet people. Very good value for money."

Read all Abaquar hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Boipeba Island?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

13 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abaquar hostel'

Atmosphere
96.9%
Location
89.2%
Facilities
93.9%
Cleanliness
98.5%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.5%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 13 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary Young

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff who are very helpful and knowledgable. Also they have a nice communal area which makes it easy to meet people. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonardo Quelhas Martins

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2013 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: This is a magic place, if you are heading to Boipeba, look no more this is the perfect place to stay. The place is beautiful and so are the owner´s, Fernanda and Peter, they are really welcoming and will try to do their best to make you feel at home. I loved this Hostel and it must be said that it has the best breakfast i have ever had in an Hostel. I hope to be back soon, i guess that is the best i can say!

Disliked: There are a lot of mosquitos in the island of Boipeba so be prepared with repellent.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Trent Blomfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: A cozy, homely hostel. Its got some nice furnishings in the yard for chill out afternoons. The breakfast, oh the breakfast was just fantastic. They serve it up and its different each day. The owners are what make this place so good, they really do make you feel like part of their family (including the dogs).

Disliked: Not much really, no hot water, but its tropical, so no need for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have been in Brazil. Fernanda and Peter take really care of the hostel with their heart!

Disliked: Just a very small minor point: It is not allowed to bring your own alcohol to the hostel. This is a minus point in a otherwise so free and open hostel. I know a lot of hostel handle this like this, to make money with the bar, but this does not mean that this is a good thing in general.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Noella Abramovic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Noella would recommend this property

Liked: This is a GREAT hostel. Very pleasant hosts and a good old-fashioned hostel atmosphere which is hard to come about these days. Location is right in the thick of the forest, so you're literally surrounded by nature. Absolutely beautiful, and the hostel itself is very tastefully decorated. Breakfast is great too. Its a ten min walk to the sea, so if you want to be smack on the coast, this shouldnt be your choice. But it definitely gets a thumbs up from me.

Disliked: Noella left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Delicious breakfast, friendly and helpfull staff, claen bright rooms, very nice garden to relax and good location in the middle of the village. We totally recommend this hostel.

Disliked: We had nothing to complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Cusworth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

07 March 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Such a friendly, welcoming, fun and happy place to stay - we had a great time and changed our plans so we could stay longer - Abaquar hostel is a perfect place from which to explore the wonderful deserted beaches of Boipeba - thankyou to hosts Peter & Fernanda for a great time.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best breakfast ever!

Disliked: it is not on the beach, but still very near...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place. Fernanda and Peter are extremely friendly, the place was very peaceful and the breakfasts superb. Would highly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philippe Meyer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 January 2012 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: From the beginning we felt welcome and comfortable in this beautiful hostel. Fernanda and Peter are very nice people and always there to help. After 7 months traveling we felt at home, relaxing in the wonderful, big garden, playing with their cute dog and enjoying the time with other travelers. Often everybody cooked together and ate in the big common areas. The rooms are spacious and clean and the best thing is the awesome breakfast! Everyday Fernanda is making something different and special - chocolate cake, banana pancakes, savoury treats and a lot more! We originally planned to spend five days with them and ended up staying for two weeks! Thank you Peter and Fernanda for the good time and hopefully see you again!

Disliked: Philippe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hidde Wagenbuur

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 March 2011 Hidde would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was one of the jams we visited so far (traveling for half a year now). Peter and Fernanda are doing a great job in running their newly opened hostel (they started in December 2010). The breakfast is BRILJANT!! Personally prepared by Fernanda with fresh fruit from their amazing garden and more then you could eat (we sometimes didn't even have lunch because we were still full). They go to extreme lengths to make you feel right at home and that you have nothing to worry about, except getting sunburned. The hostel also has a great garden to relax, WIFI in all the rooms, laundry service and a bar where Peter makes the cocktails you want. Boipeba is also a great remote place to stay with beautiful beaches and enough excursions to do.

Disliked: There is nothing we could think of that we didn't like!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jarett Vermette

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Jarett would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in a beautiful setting about a fifteen minute walk from the beach. The rooms are very clean and the wonderful couple who run the property are attentive, helpful and make you feel right at home. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in Boipeba. A five star breakfast spread is prepared for you daily with your choice of sitting on the veranda or underneath the lime tree. We had an amazing experience and will definitely be staying here again!

Disliked: All of our expectations were surpassed by this lovely hostel. Make sure to bring mosquito repellant as the lush surroundings provide an excellent environment for small insects.