HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Heart of Sarajevo

Hostel | S.H.Muvekita 2, Sarajevo, Bosnia-Herzegovina 71000

91.4% Overall Rating

62 out of 64 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/12/2013)

"It is the perfect location for the Old City. A grocery store is literally around a corner, close to bars & restaurants. It has Cable Tv, Computer with internet, kitchen and was very clean."

Read all Hostel Heart of Sarajevo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sarajevo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sarajevo

Hostel City Center Sarajevo ( HCC Sarajevo )
17.12 USD

Hostel 89.1% 244 reviews
Astra Garni Hotel
88.38 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostel INN
15.13 USD

Hostel 95.1% 7 reviews
Art Hotel
76.46 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostel "AE"
12.32 USD

Hostel 82.9% 16 reviews
Residence Rooms
16.74 USD

Hostel 92.8% 106 reviews
Hostel Vagabond
20.88 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Cult
17.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

62 out of 64 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Heart of Sarajevo'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 63 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniele Besana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 Daniele would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place, great location and fantastic staff. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Daniele left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the perfect location for the Old City. A grocery store is literally around a corner, close to bars & restaurants. It has Cable Tv, Computer with internet, kitchen and was very clean.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niclas Harwart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 November 2013 Niclas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very hospitable! I had a drink and meal with one of the staff and we had some good talk. You feel very welcome here. Your goods are safe here.

Disliked: The Lockers could be bigger.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

sezin hekimoglu

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013

Liked: the location was good

Disliked: I started my 9 days trip from Sarajevo and I spend first night there,actually I couldn't! because I couldn't sleep because of the itches during the night.First I tought that it was "slient" mosquitos but in the morning I saw the painful truth; all of my body was ruin,full of (more than 200) bite marks. Except the bad mood, I had to go to the doctor and pay extra money, I couldn't sunbath during my summer holiday,I had itchy marks all over my body! The hostel has bedbugs,and not warm/careful owners..I do not suggest this hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing, but the staff made the stay the best;) the owner took care of us as if we where home, and the place was very cleen.. Highly recomended from a norwegian traveler!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, good value for money. Not a lot of people staying there when we were hence the average atmosphere, but clean and tidy with great kitchen facilities and location was great, seconds from the cathedral, the market and the river which were all great places to visit

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OLGA LACKOVIC

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 May 2013 OLGA would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is really in the heart of Sarajevo. Place is very spacious, clean and functional. Has a good internet and neat kitchen. Staff is outstanding. Helpfull, friendly and they make you feel like at home. Also, they helped me plan and realize my trip recomending attractions and restourants that no other agency mentioned. I stayed there before and there is no other place in Sarajevo I would rather stay at. I travel alot but this is one I would highly recomend to anyone who plan on going to Sarajevo. Thank you Sejo, Narcisa and Hana. I wish there is more places like yours in US and other parts of the world.

Disliked: I liked every bit of it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Vrbanac

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very friendly, helpful staff. The beds are also some of the most comfortable hostel beds I've ever stayed in. Would recommend!

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Cordelia Loots-Gollin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013

Liked: The owner was very helpful in recommending affordable dinner options in the old part of Sarajevo. The wifi worked. Good mattresses.

Disliked: The number of hairs on the sheets and pillows in our room suggested that the staff do not always wash the bedding in between guests. After checking out, we returned briefly to collect our bags and saw that the beds were remade, but clearly with the same blankets and pillow cases that we had used. Additionally, the staff smokes on the ground floor. If you are used to smoking, this is probably fine, but it was extremely unpleasant for non-smokers as the building lacks adequate ventilation. The living room upstairs smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. We were provided with small lockers and keys, but no key to the door of our room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Vukmirovic

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: Great place in the heart of center of Sarajevo, friendly atmosphere, great and helpful stuff, clean and neat room and bathroom, would recommend to everybody, great value for the money!

Disliked: Marina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far, the biggest asset of this hostel is the staff! They are incredibly helpful and really do go out of their way to help. Other than that, the place is very central, it has a homely feel and is exactly as they describe on their website!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron McKeigan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: The owners and staff of the place are very friendly, generous, and helpful.

Disliked: Cameron left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Weyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: waren meine ersten zwei Nächte bei meinen Balkan Trip. Einfach super, herzlich und sehr angenehm. ein guter Einstieg.

Disliked: Oliver left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Catharina Caesar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Catharina would recommend this property

Liked: our room even had its own terrace the owner was absolutely amazing, he drank a lot of liquor with us and we had good conversations eating cheese and crisps :) he organized a taxi to the airport for us which cost us only 6 euro :) thank you so much!

Disliked: only one bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything. I have never felt so at home at a hostel nor so well treated by the staff, nor have i ever seen a hostel kept so clean. The beds were among the most comfortable I've had in months of travel.

Disliked: If I can be picky the kitchen could use a little more, the stoves are hard to use and there are fewer cooking utensils than would be preferable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - close to TI office and right in the middle of Old Town. Secure door - needed security code to get in Washer - (although in 2 days clothes did not dry b/c shaded balcony)

Disliked: Kitchen was not clear Bunks squeak and shake - you hear everyone's movement at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome time at the hostel!!! Thanks guys for your help !!!

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Srce hostel is fabulous, located in the heart of Sarajevo you are within walking distances to all pubs, clubs, restaurants, sightseeing monuments and tourist agencies. Hostel is on the first floor of an apartment building has a well equipped kitchen, we stayed in a 8 bed dorm (room2), beds are comfy and all linen/towels are provided, lovely big windows to let the cool breeze in at night, comfy and cosy common room with couches and tv, awesome bathrooms with the best hot showers I've had in the past 5 months of travelling. All staff in the hostel are friendly, helpful and will answer any questions you have.

Disliked: Was advertised with air con but they are broken we were lucky the nights were cool and we weren't in the peak of the summer as it would be so hot in the hostel, especially the dorms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea McEntee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed two extra days at this hostel. It was very nice. Great atmosphere, amazing location, superb staff they go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Pichler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, awesome location in the center of Sarajevo, very nice owner, great athmosphere.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service, friendly people and I highly recomend this stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Impeccably clean- most comfortable hostel bed I've ever experienced! Shower spotless.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darijo Stojkic

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 May 2012 Darijo would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and tidy facilities...

Disliked: Darijo left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi, kitchen, price

Disliked: Noisy at night as closed to the clubs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel ever!!!! Amazing place to be! Excellent location. The hostel is situated right in the heart of town. it is a walking distance wherever you want to go. Very good rooms. Very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.