We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mostar hostels

Reviews of Hostel Majdas

Hostel | Pere Lažetića 9, Mostar, Bosnia-Herzegovina 88 000

99.7% Overall Rating

70 out of 72 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/10/2014)

"Majda and Aldina and Bata were super friendly and helpful. They recommended places to visit and offered Bosnian coffee. Also breakfast was included. The athmosphere was great and they have a wonderful patio."

Read all Hostel Majdas reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Unfortunately we are not able to accept bookings that include people younger than 15 and older than 45 years of age, if nothing else has been agreed upon. We keep our selves right to cancel those bookings that end up outside of this criteria.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mostar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mostar

Hostel David
11.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rooms Drljevic
12.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Apartments Eli Mostar
12.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Villa Mostar
23.29 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 12 reviews
Hostel Dino
11.37 USD

Hostel 88.6% 143 reviews
Elite Guest House
13.92 USD

Guesthouse 98.5% 146 reviews
Hostel DADA
12.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Villa Mike
32.34 USD

Hostel 67.6% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
99.7%

Overall Rating

70 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Majdas'

Atmosphere
100.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
100.0%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
100.0%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 71 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Majda and Aldina and Bata were super friendly and helpful. They recommended places to visit and offered Bosnian coffee. Also breakfast was included. The athmosphere was great and they have a wonderful patio.

Disliked: It was a bit difficult to find at first because the small streets next to the hostel don't have street name signs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel atmosphere was so relaxed and happy. The common room was a nice place for meeting other travellers, and the old town was a short walk away. Everything is sparkling clean, and the breakfast is delicious. Bata 's day tour is a must-do!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Calum Macleod

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2014 Calum would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Majdas is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Majda is the friendliest host you'll ever meet, and goes above and beyond the call of duty to make sure you have an amazing stay. When I fell ill, Majda was there to look after me and even take me to the hospital at 3am. The other staff are equally helpful, and Majda's brother Bata runs an incredible tour which I highly recommend - you get a wonderful day out as well as an insight into the very recent war. Location of the hostel is fantastic, just a few minutes from the centre, great facilities and comfortable beds. Free breakfast, free Bosnian coffee every afternoon and welcoming iced tea & cake is another added bonus, as well as a great way to meet other travellers in this small, friendly, homely hostel. I will certainly be back to visit!

Disliked: Calum left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethany Atack

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014 Bethany would recommend this property

Liked: Majdas is the greatest hostel I've ever stayed in. We were made to feel so welcome by Majda and her family (including Batman, the most gorgeous kitten). You will feel at home straight away. The location is perfect, you get to try traditional Bosnian coffee, and a free delicious cooked breakfast. I have never stayed anywhere as good as this and I can't wait to go back. Also you MUST do the tour. Stay an extra few nights if it means you get on it - you will not regret it.

Disliked: Bethany left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible hospitality! Very cosy hostel with great atmosphere. Take Batas Tour!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely little hostel situated right in the middle of Mostar, and very close to the bus and train station. Hosts were excellent, very helpful and you get a bit of cake and tea on arrival. They genuinely go out of their way to help you when you arrive. Room was nice and clean, with a decent amount of power points. Plenty of showers and toilets that looked pretty clean to me. All in all, a lovely place to stay!

Disliked: There aren't full bag lockers, but there are safe boxes to put your valuables in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: BEST. HOSTEL. EVER.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Reeves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Maybe the best I've stayed at. Majdas is an angel who somehow manages to take care of 20 grown-up children at a time, the atmosphere is perfect for meeting travellers, and they have all the info and opportunities you need to full appreciate Mostar and the surrounding regions. My one night stay turned into 3, and I hardly left.

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Doddy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The showers alone make it worth the long trip to Mostar. Also Bata's tour is not an option, it has to be experienced.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn klein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot say enough good things about Hostel Majdas. After spending a year backpacking Europe this is my favorite hostel I have EVER stayed at. The atmosphere is out of this world. In the 5 days I was there I didn't meet a single person that I didn't absolutely adore, and I met new people everyday. This is a solo backpacker's PARADISE. Majda's breakfasts are amazing and make it easy for even the shyest backpacker to make friends. Bata's tour is the best tour I have ever been on and you really MUST do it, skip whatever you have to in order to make that happen. Majda is the ultimate hostel mom and greets you with homemade tea and cake instead of demanding your passport and payment. She gets to know each of her guests personally and has created the perfect home for travelers. I will be back here again, I promise!

Disliked: Nothing, literally nothing. Though I sent some friends over here and they complained that when they arrived it was fully booked.. even with people camping in the yard. Book ahead of time during high season!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena krassavine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: Great little place. Tidy. Pretty. Welcoming. Cake and iced tea when u arrive. Free delicious breakfast. Bosnian coffee. Close to bus station and short walk to the old bridge. Lots of great advice, and as pretty much everyone says..you MUST do the day tour! It is amazing. Dont wait to sign up, do it as soon as u get there! I booked 1 night and stayed 3, would have stayed even longer but had a flight to catch. Thank you Majda and Bata and eveyone for your wondeful hospitality! :)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Hadfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, set back just outside the centre, 5-10 min walk away so really peaceful, quite and very secure. Lovely garden area to sit with fellow travellers, as well as inside sofas to relax in

Disliked: nothing really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the best hostel, makes you feel like home, the staff is always helpful and encourage the union of the guests, there is no better feelling than arriving at the hostel after a long trip and having the staff caring about you and giving you cake and ice tea, by far the best hostel I have stayed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Tuccia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: I walked up & buzzed to enter Majdas hostel at around 4pm after a very active week of sailing & a long bus ride. I was immediately welcomed in, sat down with a cold drink, a piece of cake & a very friendly staff member who gave a personal map reading. The showers there are by far the best showers in any hostel with plenty of space & good water pressure. Breakfast is very nice & it's so great to have a variation on the run of the mill hostel breakfast. The team members are friendly & create a tall family experience ensuring everyone gets to know each other. The tour run every second day for around 30€ is well worth the money it will have you dancing, swimming, jumping for joy & also gives a solemn deep insight to the country's past & present. I booked only one night & stayed 4, let this be my warning to you all, you'll find it very hard to leave!

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shuyun Lai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Shuyun would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed in. I wish I stayed in Mostar and Hostel Majdas for more than a night. It's a small family owned hostel and they really make you feel welcome. Home cooked breakfast in the morning and Bosnian coffee with all the other guests in the afternoon. Great relaxing atmosphere for meeting people, since a lot of the other guests are independent travellers, and the hostel is set up for socializing. If you don't feel like joining in the activities and just want a quiet place to rest at night, you've got that too. The beds are comfy, with enough plugs for everyone in the room. Quite a lot of showers available and they're very clean as well.

Disliked: Shuyun left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Stubbs

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: The people working there were extremely friendly and helpful, the location was great (just next to the bus/train stations and within walking distance of the old town), the bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean, there were really nice communal areas, breakfast was provided. Genuinely nice atmosphere that left me feeling very good and wishing I could have stayed longer and gone on the tour that was offered. Very happy with everything, Thank You!!!

Disliked: Colin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elvis bilalovic

Alone

City break

23 June 2014 elvis would recommend this property

Liked: Very good energy right away once you walk in.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lachlan Boyd

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2014 Lachlan would recommend this property

Liked: Make sure you go on a tour with Bata, best day tour of any city ever. Great location, and awesome set up for a hostel. Forces all the guests to talk to each other and creates a really awesome atmosphere. The free group breakfast every morning was always really good and meant most of the hostel did activities together each day.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christie McGinlay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2014 Christie would recommend this property

Liked: The tour was amazing and definitely the best part of our trip so far. Do not miss it!! Breakfast included everyday and we were offered free laundry for staying a few nights and doing the tour- really nice surprises.

Disliked: Christie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carter Stevens

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2014 Carter would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of my favorite hostels ever. It was so clean, secure, and welcoming in every way. The connections we made with other travelers there, facilitated by the staff with the coffee hour, were some of the best I've ever had while traveling. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone!

Disliked: Carter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only planned on staying 1 night and ended up staying 3 so obviously there's something special about this place! Majda is very friendly, insightful, and thoughtful, and she even met myself and two other guests near the bus station despite our bus being delayed for over an hour. The hostel is clean, vibrant, and welcoming, and I felt at home the moment I walked in. This place must attract awesome people because everyone I met was wonderful. Also if you have the chance to go on Bata's tour, do it. He's incredible and you'll learn and see a lot. Thanks for a great stay and hope to be back one day!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Faulkner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was great! Majda is a great host and took great care of me..Mostar is a great place. Will definately be back

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like home. More strict than some hostels, but this gives an amazingly secure feel and very peaceful atmosphere. Majda is wonderful! So friendly and her breakfasts are great! You will love your stay here. :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff, great atmosphere and lounge to hang out in. Kittens. Bosnian coffee and cooked breakfast in the mornings

Disliked: I have no complaints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Majda is very hosbitable hostess. Livingroom and yard are really pleasant. The Mostar tour with Majda's brother was fun and interesting. Hostel's location is good and quiet. Breadfast was good.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Mostar hostels