HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mostar hostels

Reviews of Hostel Majdas

Hostel | Pere Lažetića 9, Mostar, Bosnia-Herzegovina 88 000

93.7% Overall Rating

44 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Robert Potter thinks…

"I was made to feel very at home here at this hostel. Majda does an excellent job, and deserves the reputation she has. Majda is generous, helpful and interesting, and likes to have chat, without…"

Read all Hostel Majdas reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Unfortunately we are not able to accept bookings that include people younger than 15 and older than 45 years of age, if nothing else has been agreed upon. We keep our selves right to cancel those bookings that end up outside of this criteria.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mostar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mostar

Rooms Drljevic
14.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Apartments Eli Mostar
14.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Villa Mostar
25.43 USD

Guesthouse 94.0% 11 reviews
Hostel Dino
12.41 USD

Hostel 86.5% 114 reviews
Elite Guest House
15.20 USD

Guesthouse 99.9% 127 reviews
Hostel DADA
13.68 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Villa Mike
35.32 USD

Hostel 67.6% 3 reviews
Hostel H
17.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

44 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Majdas'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Potter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: I was made to feel very at home here at this hostel. Majda does an excellent job, and deserves the reputation she has. Majda is generous, helpful and interesting, and likes to have chat, without being overbearing or too chatty at all. A great hostess. I have nothing at all to fault about the hostel, but a suggestion to Majda to make it even better is to provide some milk and cereal as a breakfast option, in addition to her delicious home cooked breakfast.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Majdas Hostel - home away from home Are you planing a trip to the balkans or are you already doing one and your looking for great hostels? Well, then we have something for ya! We recommend you to stay at "Majdas" in Mostar for at least three nights. Three nights?!? That’s quite a lot of time for backpackers travelling around, isn’t it? So let’s give you the reason for that: 1.) Mostar is a city worth to see. Getting in touch with far past and not so old history. Be amazed by the bridge and the people. Not a argument for you? Take that: 2.) Majda makes you feel home although your home is thousands of miles away. She is the best hostel-mum in the world. At Majda’s we have seen the cleanest bathrooms on the whole Balkan (no kidding). A community area with cosy atmosphere invites you to stay longer. And after eating delicious breakfast with 20 people from all over the world, sitting around a large table, you don’t want to go anymore. What?!? You haven’t booked yet? 3.) Well… here is the other options killing argument you need: Batas Tour. You will be blown away by the 3000W bass box if you join his tour around Mostar. We just tell you: “A cup of tea, a cup of tea!” 12 hours of fun, culture, history and even more fun. Did we name fun? :) Bata’s tour is fun, its the best! But it's also very personal – that’s what it makes so unique – unique in the whole world. Afterwards you may have a new view on what happens around the world. You may. But for sure you have the catchy tune of turbo folk in your ears when fell asleep with a happy smile. So don’t forget to book at least 3 nights, otherwise you may miss the incredible tour. Dear Majda, Bata and team, thanks for three day we’ll never forget. Looking forward to stay at your’s again. With the best wishes Max & Richard

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: The orner is too much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cherry lin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Cherry would recommend this property

Liked: Very enjoyable stay there and Majda is such a lovely lady who will generously offer you her self-made cake! That's sweet! I enjoyed chatting with her who always has her smile on the face and her whole family is really friendly and we just had a lot of fun! Feel so warm staying there like at home! Beautiful comfy living room and garden! Near the bus/train station and Majda would just give you very detailed and useful information/recommendations. Just feel so great being there and you can relax and make friends easily!!!!

Disliked: the only thing I would say is I wish I could stay there longer ;(

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SAMET YILMAZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

09 October 2013 SAMET would recommend this property

Liked: so nice athmospher, clean so helpfull staff.

Disliked: little difficult to find in fist bacause located inside to old town quite narrow steert.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

miikka kajanne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 miikka would recommend this property

Liked: homeliness, helpful staff, safe, good location. Very good varying breakfast.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I cant recommend this hostel enough. After getting lost in Mostar (mostly due to Lonely Planet having incorrect info on the hostel) we phoned the hostel from the other side of town. They drove over to find us so we could follow them to the correct address. We were able to park our hire car inside the gates, and leave it there for our whole stay. We had a lovely room, amazing hot showers, delicious breakfasts and incredible hospitality. Bata's tour is by far the best tour you will ever do, and I recommend staying for three nights at the hostel just so you dont miss out - the tour only runs every second day in the Summer (I now understand why!). Make sure you go with an open mind, and be prepared to have a lot of fun along the way! Thank you Majda and Bata and team for an unforgettable visit. I wouldnt recommend anywhere else to stay while in Mostar. I hope to come back to visit again some time soon. PS: Quite possibly the best bathrooms in a hostel I have ever seen!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing, friendly and social hostel. Home away from home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Perry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have every been to. Bata's tour is amazing, Aldina is a princess who can help you with anything and Majda will be the Mother figure you need when you've not had the comforts of home for a while.

Disliked: I dislike that I have to leave Majdas Hostel. It never get any easier.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has any hostel host ever cooked the breakfast herself for you every morning? Has any hostel host baked a cake if it's your birthday while staying at their place? Has any host donated some money for your haircut because you don't have enough money in their currency in the last morning you stayed in their country? You'll probably experience all that at Majda's place. Need to say more? And also, the best shower i've ever seen in a hostel... And don't miss Bata's tour!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous Majda and Bata - wonderful place - like a second home. These people look after you very well. I wish more hostels were like this.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, making breakfast and often dinner for guests. The atmosphere was really lovely - the best hostel I've stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rich Grundy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2013 Rich would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in since starting travelling nearly 5 weeks ago. Majda and all the staff go out of their way to help you and are some of the nicest people you will meet. Make sure you do the Madjas Tour, again one of the highlights of my trip so far. Couldn't recommend this hostel anymore!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike at all, everything was fantastic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca degnian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2013 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Every backpacker wants to be taken care of now and then and majda is perfect for that; helping you make your own dinner, making soup and coffee for everyone and accommodating for you when you don't want to leave. It's one of those hostels where you can leave all your valuables around knowing they'll be okay. It's the cleanest hostel you'll stay in with actually the best shower I've ever been in. The tour they run every second day will be one of the best things you do in Europe. Definitely worth the visit, come join the 'one more night club!'

Disliked: rebecca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cem selim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013 cem would recommend this property

Liked: close to center,breakfast includes local food,and has a great athmosphere,stuff are really helpful

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zakaria Bouchaanana

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Zakaria would recommend this property

Liked: I heard about Majdas Hostel when I was at Sarajevo: I met some backpackers coming from there, and they insisted on me going to Majdas instead of the one already booked. And they were right, it's truly the best hostel I've ever been until now. The welcoming of Majda and Aldina is outstanding. You feel like in a family. Everyone take breakfast together (prepared by Majda's own hands, so yummy). Same thing for the coffee and supper in the late afternoon. The other major positive point is the guided tour of Mostar and multiple places around proposed by the hostel, organized and animated by Bata (Majda's brother), very energetic and a cool guy to be with. The tour is 12 hours long but that was the best 12 hours I spent in Bosnia and Herzegovina. The tour is fun to do and you learn so much things, things that I don't believe you can learn in any other tour. My stay at Majdas Hostel gave me a genuine taste of Bosnian warm hospitality. So I would say to you the same thing they've told me in Sarajevo: “Believe me, just go to Majdas”

Disliked: Nothing I disliked in the hostel! In overall, It is definitly one of the best!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Majda and Aleena were very friendly. On arrival we were offered toast with jam and lemonade and given a run thru of the hostel and a map of the area. The rooms were clean and they had great showers! Very close location to old town and the bus station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one of my favorite hostel experiences. home cooked food, nice garden, clean showers, friendly staff. just a few blocks from the bus station, and a short walk to the city center. highly reccomended.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cake and coffee on arrival, massive showers, home cooked breakfasts, and fantastic atmosphere. This place is like a home away from home and madja is everyone's substitute mother.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josephine de Costa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Josephine would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything about Majda's was fantastic. The people were lovely, the hostel itself was beautiful, everything and everyone was incredibly welcoming. I desperately didn't want to leave, now I desperately want to go back. If you have a chance...go on the tour!!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike! Everything to love.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nico Gioioso

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Nico would recommend this property

Liked: Majda's hostel is by far the best hostel I've stayed in so far through Croatia, Montenegro, Bosnia or Serbia. Majda is the most amazing and gracious owner along with her brother, Bata, whose tour of Mostar and the surrounding area has become absolutely legendary, and rightfully so. The common rooms have a great flow that brings people together, often to the outdoor tables. The beds were super comfortable, the bathrooms were modern and pristine with more than enough showers and WC's. Staff were excellent - polite, funny, extremely helpful. Majda cooks breakfast every morning and even cooked vegetable soup for the whole hostel free of charge because she thought we looked like we "weren't eating healthy enough." New air-conditioning was a blessing in the hottest city in the Balkans. Can't say enough good things about my stay!

Disliked: Just about everything was fantastic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Dockman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: My friends and I liked everything about this fantastic hostel! Mostar has been our favourite destination in Eastern Europe, with much of our experience due to Majdas and her hostel! They were so accommodating and friendly - they met us at the bus station, provided incredible advice on the city and cooked us delicious food! The breakfast was yummy (and vegetarian friendly) and one day Majdas even made us all soup for dinner! What a sweetheart. Oh, and this was a great place to meet travelers. Oh, AND Majdas helped make arrangements for us to hire a car and travel to the nearby waterfalls which are unbelievable... a site not to be missed.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ivor otley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 ivor would recommend this property

Liked: The best part about this near perfect property was majda and the staff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Carlsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: I'm reviewing this although due to extending for another 2 nights we are still staying here. This isn't a hostel but a home. There isn't a bad word to say about it so ignore anyone that puts in any silly negative comments like, 'the hosts were too friendly.' Majda, Bata and everyone else who works here do an amazing job to make you feel at home and part of a Bosnian family. The place is clean, you get fed, rooms are great, there's a lovely garden out the front. It's close to the Stari Grad. What else to say? You won't want to leave....

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: From the very first we felt welcome, and the atmosphere was great. Further, the rooms and bathrooms were very neat, modern, and well equiped. Also, breakfast was great!

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Mostar hostels