HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mostar hostels

Reviews of Hostel Majdas

Hostel | Pere Lažetića 9, Mostar, Bosnia-Herzegovina 88 000

97.6% Overall Rating

60 out of 62 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

Elena krassavine thinks…

"Great little place. Tidy. Pretty. Welcoming. Cake and iced tea when u arrive. Free delicious breakfast. Bosnian coffee. Close to bus station and short walk to the old bridge. Lots of great advice,…"

Read all Hostel Majdas reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Unfortunately we are not able to accept bookings that include people younger than 15 and older than 45 years of age, if nothing else has been agreed upon. We keep our selves right to cancel those bookings that end up outside of this criteria.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mostar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mostar

Hostel David
13.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rooms Drljevic
13.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Apartments Eli Mostar
13.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Villa Mostar
24.65 USD

Guesthouse 94.0% 11 reviews
Hostel Dino
12.04 USD

Hostel 92.0% 129 reviews
Elite Guest House
15.40 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 140 reviews
Hostel DADA
13.26 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Villa Mike
34.23 USD

Hostel 67.6% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.6%

Overall Rating

60 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Majdas'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 57 of 61 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena krassavine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: Great little place. Tidy. Pretty. Welcoming. Cake and iced tea when u arrive. Free delicious breakfast. Bosnian coffee. Close to bus station and short walk to the old bridge. Lots of great advice, and as pretty much everyone says..you MUST do the day tour! It is amazing. Dont wait to sign up, do it as soon as u get there! I booked 1 night and stayed 3, would have stayed even longer but had a flight to catch. Thank you Majda and Bata and eveyone for your wondeful hospitality! :)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Hadfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, set back just outside the centre, 5-10 min walk away so really peaceful, quite and very secure. Lovely garden area to sit with fellow travellers, as well as inside sofas to relax in

Disliked: nothing really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the best hostel, makes you feel like home, the staff is always helpful and encourage the union of the guests, there is no better feelling than arriving at the hostel after a long trip and having the staff caring about you and giving you cake and ice tea, by far the best hostel I have stayed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Tuccia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: I walked up & buzzed to enter Majdas hostel at around 4pm after a very active week of sailing & a long bus ride. I was immediately welcomed in, sat down with a cold drink, a piece of cake & a very friendly staff member who gave a personal map reading. The showers there are by far the best showers in any hostel with plenty of space & good water pressure. Breakfast is very nice & it's so great to have a variation on the run of the mill hostel breakfast. The team members are friendly & create a tall family experience ensuring everyone gets to know each other. The tour run every second day for around 30€ is well worth the money it will have you dancing, swimming, jumping for joy & also gives a solemn deep insight to the country's past & present. I booked only one night & stayed 4, let this be my warning to you all, you'll find it very hard to leave!

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shuyun Lai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Shuyun would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed in. I wish I stayed in Mostar and Hostel Majdas for more than a night. It's a small family owned hostel and they really make you feel welcome. Home cooked breakfast in the morning and Bosnian coffee with all the other guests in the afternoon. Great relaxing atmosphere for meeting people, since a lot of the other guests are independent travellers, and the hostel is set up for socializing. If you don't feel like joining in the activities and just want a quiet place to rest at night, you've got that too. The beds are comfy, with enough plugs for everyone in the room. Quite a lot of showers available and they're very clean as well.

Disliked: Shuyun left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Stubbs

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: The people working there were extremely friendly and helpful, the location was great (just next to the bus/train stations and within walking distance of the old town), the bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean, there were really nice communal areas, breakfast was provided. Genuinely nice atmosphere that left me feeling very good and wishing I could have stayed longer and gone on the tour that was offered. Very happy with everything, Thank You!!!

Disliked: Colin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elvis bilalovic

Alone

City break

23 June 2014 elvis would recommend this property

Liked: Very good energy right away once you walk in.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lachlan Boyd

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2014 Lachlan would recommend this property

Liked: Make sure you go on a tour with Bata, best day tour of any city ever. Great location, and awesome set up for a hostel. Forces all the guests to talk to each other and creates a really awesome atmosphere. The free group breakfast every morning was always really good and meant most of the hostel did activities together each day.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christie McGinlay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2014 Christie would recommend this property

Liked: The tour was amazing and definitely the best part of our trip so far. Do not miss it!! Breakfast included everyday and we were offered free laundry for staying a few nights and doing the tour- really nice surprises.

Disliked: Christie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carter Stevens

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2014 Carter would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of my favorite hostels ever. It was so clean, secure, and welcoming in every way. The connections we made with other travelers there, facilitated by the staff with the coffee hour, were some of the best I've ever had while traveling. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone!

Disliked: Carter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only planned on staying 1 night and ended up staying 3 so obviously there's something special about this place! Majda is very friendly, insightful, and thoughtful, and she even met myself and two other guests near the bus station despite our bus being delayed for over an hour. The hostel is clean, vibrant, and welcoming, and I felt at home the moment I walked in. This place must attract awesome people because everyone I met was wonderful. Also if you have the chance to go on Bata's tour, do it. He's incredible and you'll learn and see a lot. Thanks for a great stay and hope to be back one day!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Faulkner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was great! Majda is a great host and took great care of me..Mostar is a great place. Will definately be back

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like home. More strict than some hostels, but this gives an amazingly secure feel and very peaceful atmosphere. Majda is wonderful! So friendly and her breakfasts are great! You will love your stay here. :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff, great atmosphere and lounge to hang out in. Kittens. Bosnian coffee and cooked breakfast in the mornings

Disliked: I have no complaints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Majda is very hosbitable hostess. Livingroom and yard are really pleasant. The Mostar tour with Majda's brother was fun and interesting. Hostel's location is good and quiet. Breadfast was good.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tessa Keel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2014 Tessa would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff, the location, the general "homey" atmosphere...and Bata's tour!

Disliked: Tessa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Potter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: I was made to feel very at home here at this hostel. Majda does an excellent job, and deserves the reputation she has. Majda is generous, helpful and interesting, and likes to have chat, without being overbearing or too chatty at all. A great hostess. I have nothing at all to fault about the hostel, but a suggestion to Majda to make it even better is to provide some milk and cereal as a breakfast option, in addition to her delicious home cooked breakfast.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Majdas Hostel - home away from home Are you planing a trip to the balkans or are you already doing one and your looking for great hostels? Well, then we have something for ya! We recommend you to stay at "Majdas" in Mostar for at least three nights. Three nights?!? That’s quite a lot of time for backpackers travelling around, isn’t it? So let’s give you the reason for that: 1.) Mostar is a city worth to see. Getting in touch with far past and not so old history. Be amazed by the bridge and the people. Not a argument for you? Take that: 2.) Majda makes you feel home although your home is thousands of miles away. She is the best hostel-mum in the world. At Majda’s we have seen the cleanest bathrooms on the whole Balkan (no kidding). A community area with cosy atmosphere invites you to stay longer. And after eating delicious breakfast with 20 people from all over the world, sitting around a large table, you don’t want to go anymore. What?!? You haven’t booked yet? 3.) Well… here is the other options killing argument you need: Batas Tour. You will be blown away by the 3000W bass box if you join his tour around Mostar. We just tell you: “A cup of tea, a cup of tea!” 12 hours of fun, culture, history and even more fun. Did we name fun? :) Bata’s tour is fun, its the best! But it's also very personal – that’s what it makes so unique – unique in the whole world. Afterwards you may have a new view on what happens around the world. You may. But for sure you have the catchy tune of turbo folk in your ears when fell asleep with a happy smile. So don’t forget to book at least 3 nights, otherwise you may miss the incredible tour. Dear Majda, Bata and team, thanks for three day we’ll never forget. Looking forward to stay at your’s again. With the best wishes Max & Richard

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: The orner is too much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cherry lin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Cherry would recommend this property

Liked: Very enjoyable stay there and Majda is such a lovely lady who will generously offer you her self-made cake! That's sweet! I enjoyed chatting with her who always has her smile on the face and her whole family is really friendly and we just had a lot of fun! Feel so warm staying there like at home! Beautiful comfy living room and garden! Near the bus/train station and Majda would just give you very detailed and useful information/recommendations. Just feel so great being there and you can relax and make friends easily!!!!

Disliked: the only thing I would say is I wish I could stay there longer ;(

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SAMET YILMAZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

09 October 2013 SAMET would recommend this property

Liked: so nice athmospher, clean so helpfull staff.

Disliked: little difficult to find in fist bacause located inside to old town quite narrow steert.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

miikka kajanne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 miikka would recommend this property

Liked: homeliness, helpful staff, safe, good location. Very good varying breakfast.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I cant recommend this hostel enough. After getting lost in Mostar (mostly due to Lonely Planet having incorrect info on the hostel) we phoned the hostel from the other side of town. They drove over to find us so we could follow them to the correct address. We were able to park our hire car inside the gates, and leave it there for our whole stay. We had a lovely room, amazing hot showers, delicious breakfasts and incredible hospitality. Bata's tour is by far the best tour you will ever do, and I recommend staying for three nights at the hostel just so you dont miss out - the tour only runs every second day in the Summer (I now understand why!). Make sure you go with an open mind, and be prepared to have a lot of fun along the way! Thank you Majda and Bata and team for an unforgettable visit. I wouldnt recommend anywhere else to stay while in Mostar. I hope to come back to visit again some time soon. PS: Quite possibly the best bathrooms in a hostel I have ever seen!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing, friendly and social hostel. Home away from home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Perry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have every been to. Bata's tour is amazing, Aldina is a princess who can help you with anything and Majda will be the Mother figure you need when you've not had the comforts of home for a while.

Disliked: I dislike that I have to leave Majdas Hostel. It never get any easier.


See all Mostar hostels