HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tupiza hostels

Reviews of HOSTAL LOS SALARES

Guesthouse | zona sur chajrahuasi, calle ecuador y paraguay, Tupiza, Bolivia 237

85.1% Overall Rating

26 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2014)

Duncan Allardyce thinks…

"very good standards for bolivia and reasonable value. relaxed and simple, yet everything you need. staff were nice and gave good information. good terrace."

Read all HOSTAL LOS SALARES reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tupiza?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

26 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HOSTAL LOS SALARES'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 29 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Duncan Allardyce

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: very good standards for bolivia and reasonable value. relaxed and simple, yet everything you need. staff were nice and gave good information. good terrace.

Disliked: a fair bit out of town. no fridge.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff. Magaly explained everything of the hotel and offered tours to the Salar de Uyuni. Our room was good-sized and we got towels from the Hostel. The bathroom was also nice and clean. Breakfast was good and freshly made every morning. We did the 4-day-tour to the Salar with Los Salares and it was really great!!

Disliked: Laundry service is a bit expensive (15B/ kilo), but really good!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayne Rogerson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 Jayne would recommend this property

Liked: Place was so lovely and clean. Showers were lovely and hot,breakfast was good for Bolivia. Owner waited up for us for 3 hours in the early hours of the morning on a freezing day to meet us and take us to the hostel from the bus station Booked a fantastic 4 day 3 night salt flat tour with them, and got a discount by staying with them. Everyone was so helpful. Booked onward bus journey to la Paz for us.... Nothing was too much trouble.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Peardon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: This place is sooo clean, and they clean it constantly. The breakfast was nice and varied each day with either the typical bread and jam, or eggs one day and pancakes another. This place is definitely of hotel standards.

Disliked: Was a bit quiet when we stayed, but it was relaxing. There is no fridge to store food in, although there is a kitchen.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean rooms.

Disliked: Breakfast starts too late. No free internet.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012

Liked: The Hostel was clean and Tidy

Disliked: As soon as we decided to book a tour through another company, the owner and staff turned horrible. They were nice to us at the start but when they found out we'd booked a salt flats tour with another company, they: - kicked out our friends claiming they were fully booked when they definitely were not as we stayed on further and clearly there were vacant rooms - couldn't speak English anymore when Santos the owner spoke very good English at the start (even explaining the tour in full English). - provided stale bread for breakfast as opposed to pancakes etc on the first day prior to them finding out we'd booked tour elsewhere - Totally ignored us and were blatantly rude as we'd come and go from the hostel

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012

Liked: It's clean, hot showers and it's quiet.

Disliked: Only stay here if you are 100% positive you are going to do a tour with them. We were a group of 4 and decided to do a tour with Valle Hermoso, and once we told Santos, he basically kicked us out. The staff's mood completely changed, when we asked to stay another night they lied to us and told us they were full. We then checked hostelbookers and sure enough, there were rooms available. We stayed at Valle Hermoso and it was so much better, staff were engaging, rooms were fine and there were more travellers to converse with. On the morning we were leaving for the tour, the Valle Hermoso Tour driver went to pick up 2 other people coming on the tour, and they were turned away by Santos, claiming they had issues with the 2 guests. He threatened to call the police, again lying to everyone about the hostel being full, and generally being a weirdo. There are many other tour operators in Tupiza to go with, don't trust this weirdo.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Suzanne Wright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 November 2012 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap private rooms. Great tours available. Wonderful staff on the tour.

Disliked: A little far out of town. Have to pay for wifi and only available at certain times.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and we took the salt flats tour with them, it was brilliant. Do the tour with these guys!

Disliked: Bit far out of the town but not really a problem for us.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Nice owners who make you feel welcome, and the comfiest beds in the world! Hard to get out of in the morning. Handy for the bus station.

Disliked: Quite cold OUT of the bed! Bit further to restaurants etc. but ok to walk it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners, great breakfast and a FANTASTIC 4 day jeep tour to the salt flats - forget Tupiza Tours and book with these guys instead, this trip was the highlight of our six months in South America.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good beds, nice owner.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay! I left my ipod and they mailed it to me. Extremely helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rene Louter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Rene would recommend this property

Liked: The owner gave good and reliable information about tours you can make around Tupiza and Uyuni.

Disliked: The hostal is at the other side of the river, about 10 min walk from the center

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed in Hostel Los Salares for one night as we intended to stop off for a night's sleep before heading to Uyuni to do the salt flats tour. How lucky we were! Hostel Los Salares organised the 4 day tour for us to leave from Turpiza and finish in Uyuni, which was far more convenient! We couldn't recommend the tour enough! The hostel is beautiful and has a fantastic view of the town. The staff were very helpful, even going so far as to lend us money to get dinner when the ATM in town ran out of money. The rooms are spotless and the beds very comfortable. Don't want to imagine how much worse those couple of days would have been without Hostel Los Salares!

Disliked: No WiFi.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great spot, more like a guesthouse. clean modern rooms. breakfast. no wifi. great smiley friendly staff. did jeep tour with them and it was awesome. i think tupiza tours has equal quality - my impression was they're more for lively big groups while thru los salares we were a smaller chiller group; just depends what vibe you want. hostel & tour definitely recommended.

Disliked: hostel is across the bridge from town so 10-15 minute walk which is no problem at all, but the town is so small you feel like you're "out there". walking home is dark with dogs and trucks on the highway. absolutely no problem but be aware.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really comfy beds, hot showers with nice bath towels clean and great staff!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lyndsey peddie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2012 lyndsey would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at hostel salars, it was really clean we had our own bathroom in a double room for half the price of the other hostels around. It´s a ten minute walk from the centre but it´s really not a problem and we actually quite enjoyed the walk under the stars in the evening. We did our tour with the hostel and i´m really glad we did, first rom Tupiza there are only 4 people per jeep, i have heard from Uyuni at least 6 people are crammed in the cars,even if they promise only 4 people, i don´t know how they fit 6 in, it must be really uncomfortable!! Our food was lovely and the tour itself is great. What made our trip so good was definitley the guides, we had the sweetest couple, Francisco the driver had a great knowledge of Bolivia and loved sharing the information with us,he stopped for photo opportunities all the time andwas really enthusiatic. Philomena our cook made lovely meals and really looked after us well. I would definitley recommend the tour and would do it again with Hostel Salars.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owners are very friendly and helpful. they let use the computer eventhough we didnt have one. the hostel environment is very quiet and calm. very clean place! the owner cook wonderful meals!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Turley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing and the rooms were lovely

Disliked: Only internet access for plug in computers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice rooms, clean and modern with comfy beds and good showers. Not in the centre of town like other hostals but only a short walk away. Staff very kind and helpful...to the point of including us in their Christmas lunch celebrations!

Disliked: NA

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carla Tapson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2012 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: Big, clean room with our own bathroom and very comfortable beds. Pancakes for breakfast!

Disliked: No wifi, although there is an internet cable if you have your own computer. It's a bit far from town but because Tupiza is so small anyway it's not really an issue and walking is easy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly family run place. nice breakfast. comfy beds. good views

Disliked: the first room we stayed in was brilliant, after our horseriding trip we changed rooms and it smelled a bit damp when you{d been out for the day, but was still clean and comfortable so not a big prob. not to do with the rooms, but we did a 2 day horseriding tour with the hostel which was brilliant and definitely worth doing. Unfortunately my boyfriend was thrown off his horse and banged his head on a rock. He was fine and no harm done, but we would definitely recommend asking for helmets if you are going riding.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Woodhouse

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I have only been in Bolivia for 6 days but I am pretty sure accommodation in this country cannot get better than Salares for the budget traveller. The room was super clean and huge with amazing quality duvets rather than blankets. The breakfast was great and included fruit. We booked a tour with another company in advance and the owners did not make us feel bad about it. I wish I could put this place in my rucksack!

Disliked: Location is a little outside the centre but we like walking so no problem - 10/15 mins walk to the plaza.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff & hostel, great view. If you're staying more than a couple of nights in tupiza then you might want somewhere a little more central. No Internet or wifi (but most places don't have wifi). Great value for money

Disliked: Location. No Internet


See all Tupiza hostels