We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sucre hostels

Reviews of KulturBerlin Sucre

Hostel | Calle Avaroa 326, Sucre, Bolivia N/A

92.5% Overall Rating

41 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/01/2015)

Julius Schindler thinks…

"Great breakfast, comfy beds, quite clean, nice events and lots of people, good location"

Read all KulturBerlin Sucre reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sucre?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sucre

CADENA
7.07 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal de Su Merced
31.11 USD

Guesthouse 94.7% 7 reviews
Hostelling Señor de las 3 Caidas
6.36 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Traveler´s Guesthouse
5.52 USD

Guesthouse 90.6% 11 reviews
Wasi Masi
7.07 USD

Apartment 77.0% 72 reviews
Gringo's Rincón Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 92.2% 50 reviews
7 Patas
5.37 USD

Hostel 92.2% 22 reviews
Jamuy Hostal
4.95 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

41 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'KulturBerlin Sucre'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julius Schindler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2015 Julius would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, comfy beds, quite clean, nice events and lots of people, good location

Disliked: Slow WiFi because of the many users

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: ´´

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast is top, prices are good, showers are hot, they make beds every day

Disliked: bathroom could be tidier, distroibution of guests in dorm (it means some where quite packed, others nearly empty...)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: große und schöne Zimmer, sehr Innenstadtnah, klasse Frühstück! Nettes Personal, das mir immer geholfen hat, praktisch ist auch das angegliederte Restaurant, mit wirklich leckeren Speißen!

Disliked: Leider gibt es keine Küche zum selbst kochen, und mir ist großflächiger Schimmel an der Decke des Bades aufgefallen, verbesserungswürdig.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Collier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice building and has a pretty courtyard to sit in, a garden with hammocks at the back and a bar. The rooms are spacious, beds are made evryday for you, there are lockers in the rooms as well. There are DJs at the weekends and folk dancing if you like that!! It has wifi which works but is slllllooooowwwww! Breakfast is all laid out for you in the morning like a buffet, breads, jams, toaster, tomato, cucumber, fruits, hot drinks and you can buy more. Not bad!

Disliked: There are only 3 bathrooms for everyone in the hostel...one of them is within another dorm so a bit awkward to walk in to see if its free. Just a bit annoying when you keep having to walk around to find an empty bathroom!! The party on Friday night was really loud until 2am but was a good party if you wanted to go. Also on Saturday night, not so wild, but still loud music. A few groups of people study Spanish here so there was a bit of a weird group atmosphere we found. Just a bit hard to get in with the crowd!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, super friendly and helpful staff, perfect location.

Disliked: Not too many showers or bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Masshardt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, every Day cleaning the room

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Atmosphere - Friendliness - People - Services

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel we have been to. Very clean. The room was super big. Breakfast great. Location great. Go stay at KulturCafe Berlin!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela Rodrigues

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2014 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: The house is a clonial house, with very nice garden and patio. Breakfast was the best that I had in my trip. Although the checkin was hours after my arrival, I could get the room earlier. Helpful staff, nice place to stay and take some Spanish classes.

Disliked: Gabriela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great buffet breakfast! Beautiful garden areas and places to hang out. Reallt loved the feel of this place, definatly value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Walsh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: After more than 8 months travelling all around the world this is my favourite hostel I've stayed in. The staff are amazing, both dorms and privates are fantastic. The bar area is fun, fair prices and good food. They put on great shows, bbqs and activities. Location couldn't be better. Spanish classes are really helpful. Even if for some reason you don't stay here, you should stop by and have some food or a drink. We had our passports stolen while we were staying in Sucre and all the staff were a tremendous help. I have to mention Jamie from reception was incredible. He helped us out so much. Losing your passport is an awful experience, but it meant we had to stay here longer. Every cloud... Thanks guys. Loved your hostel. Miss it already.

Disliked: Nada

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Tim van Woensel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building. Excellent breakfast! Nice atmosphere / vibe.

Disliked: In 3 days room never got cleaned. So no new toilet paper, never new towels and the toilet paper dustbin never got cleaned. I mentioned this one time and they said it would get cleaned (which never happened). Lousy WiFi speed and reception.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Moritz Herrmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Moritz would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and helpful staff. A lot of activities offered in the evening (movies, free salsa lessions etc.) Perfect location: On ly two blocks from the main square (Plaza 25 de mayo) but in a very quiet area. The location as such is very great. Nice garden and a beautiful house.

Disliked: Moritz left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ambience, location, rooms. Double rooms are great!

Disliked: Wifi works irregularly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean McSpadden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

01 October 2013 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked the garden and main patio. A nice place to stay and relax. There is a well stocked bar and pretty good restaurant attached. They also offer Spanish classes and its a great way to meet people. The owner and employees are amazing! By they end of my stay they all knew my name! You may end up staying longer than you think you will!

Disliked: Nada

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful and spacious rooms in a good location. Lovely courtyard with wifi available. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Could be improved with a TV room and kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Full of character and charm!

Disliked: Maybe not enough bathroom facilities for people staying in a group dorm...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacob Wynberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at KulturCafe Berlin for a month and LOVED it! We decided to take a few weeks of Spanish lessons while we were there which was conveniently a 3 minute walk from the hostel. There is a great restaurant / bar attached to the hostal which was great to hang out with fellow travellers!! The vibe was great...we had so much fun. They had cool events as well including free salsa once a week and parties on the weekend! The owner Klaus and staff were exceptional and were always around to help and to have a good laugh with!! We will definitely be back again if ever in Sucre, which as a city itself is by far our favourite in Bolivia.

Disliked: Jacob left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and atmosphere

Disliked: No kitchen. Water costs 15bs but 5bs around the corner. Not allowed to bring in any drinks or food- must buy at their bar/ restaurant. Huge hole in mattress

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: our dorm out the back was nice and quiet. The food at the restaurant is quite nice, good location, the hostel has interesting events organised

Disliked: The "kitchen" is terrible, only a small electic hot plate, mini fridge and sink in someones dorm. You cant cook there, only boil water really. It also had no detergent and the sponge was filthy. I got sick and people around me were sick so it wasnt good for hygiene! There was a code to get into front gate but noone told me, I was locked out at 11pm on a Sunday night by myself for 20 minutes until one of the locals let me in

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our garden room had lots of character and opened onto the secluded garden area. There were spaces for hanging out, including the cafe space.

Disliked: We did not use the kitchen attached to the dorms, but it was not prominent or encouraged. We did not use it so it was not a problem for us, but hardcore backpackers might be frustrated.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alp Ayaydin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Alp would recommend this property

Liked: The manager Klaus was extremely friendly and even though he was in a tough position because of an error with the booking, he handled the situation really well and made sure we were happy on our stay. Facilities were really good, especially the colonial decor of the place is simpy stunning with many useful patios to chill. Also the shower was really good especially compared to the common standards in Bolivia.

Disliked: The intermittent wi-fi but it might be a temporary thing. It's not a dislike yet more information would be handy about the attractions around sucre, so don't really expect a reception that can organise things for you.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a beautiful place, lots of space, very good Wifi, amazing rooms, garden smelled so good, very close to the main square, close to bars and restaurants. I think this was the best hostel we have been in 3 months for that price. The double room was amazing, hammock, big terrace, super. Instead of 3 days we even stayed one week.

Disliked: The kitchen was IN the dorm and very small. If you are not staying in the dorm its kinda weird using it as you don't sleep in this room. Probably to take advantage for the restaurant they have. Also the pasta Alfredo was super the first night but after that, I tried it again twice, it was heated up in the microwave :(. Also I was disappointed when we asked a girl in the bar (as the reception was closed) if there were any rooms available for our friends and she went to ask, came back and told us that the person taking care of that was taking a nap and that there was no space anymore. After our friends left there were other people arriving and they asked for 2 rooms and now the nap was over there was space in hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david winch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: We would live here. The hostal is set in a large, beautiful colonial property with 3 or 4 courtyards for you to socialise or find some peace in. It really is a unique place amongst hostels. The cafe attached is also very good. Location is great, all staff are helpful and friendly. An absolute recommend.

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.


See all Sucre hostels