HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hostal Wasi Masi Guesthouse

Urcullo 233, Sucre, Bolivia

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 75%

Location 88%

Safety 86%

Staff 73%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sucre?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 75%

Location 88%

Safety 86%

Staff 73%

Value 83%

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, amazing book exchange compared to what we've seen elsewhere.

Disliked: Not the cleanest room and the room would get a bit mildew-smelling since the shower would get water everywhere (although this seems standard in Bolivia)

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They spoke some English and were ready to help

Disliked: A yapping dog- if you sleep lightly- it will keep you awake!!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: hot shower

Disliked: the sheets were not clean

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: A good hostel for a couple of nights stay in Sucre. Rooms are very secure with big lockers which fit all of our valuables in. We had originally booked a 10 bed dorm but they couldn't find the key for one of the lockers so we were moved to a 2 bed private dorm free of charge!

Disliked: Breakfast was practically non-existent and an hour after the specified time.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It`s in a good, quiet location. Nice backyard and rooftop!

Disliked: the staff is DISHONEST !!! Do NOT book with hostelbookers.com because the hostel does not have the room available you book online !!! In my time it happend more than 5 times that people arrived and couldn`t stay in the room they booked !!! They put me in another room (double instaed of single) and wanted to charge me more AT Check-out !!!! When I said "no" they started weaving a story about a girl that slept in my room last night....which was NOT true !!! it`s just ridiculous and unfair what is happening there ! hostelbookers should kick them out from the website !!!

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I particularly enjoyed the vast amount of swan plant pots. Swans are possibly one of my favourite birds, so you can imagine my excitement when arriving and seeing 10, yes 10, swan plant pots.

Disliked: Upon seeing the swan plant pots you would assume this is a happy place. However, you would be wrong, The owner is so money orientated that despite reservations, bookings etc, she will happily just throw you out for the opportunity that someone may pay $2 more, The 10pm curfew is ridiculous, especially considering the cleaners will happily scream (like banshees) to one another at 7.30am on wards right outside your bedroom window. You cant even raise this, or other issues, with the owner as she is quite unreasonable and erratic. Unlike swans which are placid and kind creatures, which sometimes on a good day you can hand feed at the park.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The cleaning was fine.

Disliked: The way they treated us. We booked an apartment for two nights for the two of us with five days anticipation. When we arrived the "yoga instructor" (nobody else was at reception) told us that an error in reception had been made, we wouldn't be able to stay in the apartment we booked, because they had already given it to another group. They offered us to take a two bed room with no bathroom (it was ok but very different from what we wanted), and they told us that the next day we would be able to move to the apartment. We were not totally satisfied with that option (if we had booked in advance, they should had told the other group to change the apartment for another room and leave it to us since it was booked for that night) but as we were looking forward to stay in the apartment, we agreed to stay. They told us that the check out was at 11, when we got up at 9.30 we saw that some lady was cleaning the apartment so we went to the reception to ask for it. A very unhelpful woman told us (again!) that we couldn't have the apartment because they were given it to a four people group because it was, and I quote: "convenient for the "company" to gain as much money as they could" not regarding our hostelbookers reservation. This made us feel so frustrated that we started complaining about their lack of respect and responsibility to the guests, how could they have the nerve to admit us that they care more for money than respect the reservation we had made? she told us that the policy of the reservation allow her to find us another apartment in another hostel since she didn't want us to stay there any more because of the bad atmosphere "we" were creating . at this point we couldn't believe the situation this woman had brought to us, we told her that we didn't want her to arrange anything for us that we would find another place for ourselves. We think that they should have saved us time, telling us the first day that they didn't care about our reservation so we could have looked for another hostel to stay the three days in the kind of room we were looking for...

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, decent rooms.

Disliked: Small kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel is in a great location, about a 5-10min walk from the center. The beds in the dorms are well-made (not shaky!), warm and comfy and each comes with a huge locker to store your stuff. There is a great rooftop deck to relax on. The common areas are nice to meet fellow travelers.

Disliked: If your are looking for hospitality, you won't find it here. The owner isn't the nicest lady and doesn't go out of her way to help out. Also, the dog tends to bark at night and the kitchen is rather small, but usable.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was great. Very clean.Outside area was lovely in dry weather although there didn't seem to be any promotion of the promise of BBQ or movie night and the terrace is full of unused furniture. You can still sit there on the floor or move furniture up the steps if you want table and chairs.Tv/ common room is dark so not great for reading but they have a large selection of DVD's.Breakfast sometimes included a banana and the coffee is great!

Disliked: It's a place better suited to couples wanting early nights. One night we were playing cards with another couple and we were asked to move from the outside courtyard into our bedrooms so that staff could sleep. The common space for guests had been closed so we had no choice but to retire into one of our rooms.Noisy yappy dog at all hours inside the property gates which nobody did anything about until they saw me get out of bed and tell the dog to be quiet.Regular smell of poor drains swamped the courtyard and the rooms around it.Staff shouting across the courtyard very early in the morning waking all rooms around the courtyard.Tiny, poorly equipped kitchen.Bad access to book exchange.Nobody was ever around in reception to give us information about a) the hostel itself and b) the city, tours, recommendations and advice. When we checked in at 11pm we were simply shown our room, I had to ask a cleaning lady when and where breakfast was served, when I checked out I had to shout out and wait around in order for someone to come to allow me to pay my bill and get my baggage from the store room.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability