HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sucre hostels

Reviews of Wasi Masi

Apartment | Calle Urcullo 233, Sucre, Bolivia 0

77.3% Overall Rating

60 out of 71 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

"The owner was not very friendly at the beginning, but after a while we could get on with her and we really liked the familiar feeling in this hostel."

Read all Wasi Masi reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sucre?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sucre

CADENA
7.08 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Jamuy Hostal
7.08 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
HI Sucre
6.40 USD

Hostel 62.6% 43 reviews
Traveler´s Guesthouse
5.52 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 8 reviews
Gringo's Rincón Hostel
4.95 USD

Hostel 92.2% 50 reviews
Hostal de Su Merced
31.13 USD

Guesthouse 94.7% 7 reviews
7 Patas
5.38 USD

Hostel 92.1% 18 reviews
Forastero Guest House
5.66 USD

Apartment 88.3% 108 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.3%

Overall Rating

60 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wasi Masi'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
64.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 69 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was not very friendly at the beginning, but after a while we could get on with her and we really liked the familiar feeling in this hostel.

Disliked: i think our room was the only who had problem with the shower. The water was not hot. Maybe they fixed the problem already.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Morgan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

29 April 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: A good hostel for a couple of nights stay in Sucre. Rooms are very secure with big lockers which fit all of our valuables in. We had originally booked a 10 bed dorm but they couldn't find the key for one of the lockers so we were moved to a 2 bed private dorm free of charge!

Disliked: Breakfast was practically non-existent and an hour after the specified time.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013

Liked: I particularly enjoyed the vast amount of swan plant pots. Swans are possibly one of my favourite birds, so you can imagine my excitement when arriving and seeing 10, yes 10, swan plant pots.

Disliked: Upon seeing the swan plant pots you would assume this is a happy place. However, you would be wrong, The owner is so money orientated that despite reservations, bookings etc, she will happily just throw you out for the opportunity that someone may pay $2 more, The 10pm curfew is ridiculous, especially considering the cleaners will happily scream (like banshees) to one another at 7.30am on wards right outside your bedroom window. You cant even raise this, or other issues, with the owner as she is quite unreasonable and erratic. Unlike swans which are placid and kind creatures, which sometimes on a good day you can hand feed at the park.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, decent rooms.

Disliked: Small kitchen

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013

Liked: It`s in a good, quiet location. Nice backyard and rooftop!

Disliked: the staff is DISHONEST !!! Do NOT book with hostelbookers.com because the hostel does not have the room available you book online !!! In my time it happend more than 5 times that people arrived and couldn`t stay in the room they booked !!! They put me in another room (double instaed of single) and wanted to charge me more AT Check-out !!!! When I said "no" they started weaving a story about a girl that slept in my room last night....which was NOT true !!! it`s just ridiculous and unfair what is happening there ! hostelbookers should kick them out from the website !!!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

mercedes oberti callorda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013

Liked: The cleaning was fine.

Disliked: The way they treated us. We booked an apartment for two nights for the two of us with five days anticipation. When we arrived the "yoga instructor" (nobody else was at reception) told us that an error in reception had been made, we wouldn't be able to stay in the apartment we booked, because they had already given it to another group. They offered us to take a two bed room with no bathroom (it was ok but very different from what we wanted), and they told us that the next day we would be able to move to the apartment. We were not totally satisfied with that option (if we had booked in advance, they should had told the other group to change the apartment for another room and leave it to us since it was booked for that night) but as we were looking forward to stay in the apartment, we agreed to stay. They told us that the check out was at 11, when we got up at 9.30 we saw that some lady was cleaning the apartment so we went to the reception to ask for it. A very unhelpful woman told us (again!) that we couldn't have the apartment because they were given it to a four people group because it was, and I quote: "convenient for the "company" to gain as much money as they could" not regarding our hostelbookers reservation. This made us feel so frustrated that we started complaining about their lack of respect and responsibility to the guests, how could they have the nerve to admit us that they care more for money than respect the reservation we had made? she told us that the policy of the reservation allow her to find us another apartment in another hostel since she didn't want us to stay there any more because of the bad atmosphere "we" were creating . at this point we couldn't believe the situation this woman had brought to us, we told her that we didn't want her to arrange anything for us that we would find another place for ourselves. We think that they should have saved us time, telling us the first day that they didn't care about our reservation so we could have looked for another hostel to stay the three days in the kind of room we were looking for...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location, about a 5-10min walk from the center. The beds in the dorms are well-made (not shaky!), warm and comfy and each comes with a huge locker to store your stuff. There is a great rooftop deck to relax on. The common areas are nice to meet fellow travelers.

Disliked: If your are looking for hospitality, you won't find it here. The owner isn't the nicest lady and doesn't go out of her way to help out. Also, the dog tends to bark at night and the kitchen is rather small, but usable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Very clean. Outside area was lovely in dry weather although there didn't seem to be any promotion of the promise of BBQ or movie night and the terrace is full of unused furniture. You can still sit there on the floor or move furniture up the steps if you want table and chairs. Tv/ common room is dark so not great for reading but they have a large selection of DVD's. Breakfast sometimes included a banana and the coffee is great!

Disliked: It's a place better suited to couples wanting early nights. One night we were playing cards with another couple and we were asked to move from the outside courtyard into our bedrooms so that staff could sleep. The common space for guests had been closed so we had no choice but to retire into one of our rooms. Noisy yappy dog at all hours inside the property gates which nobody did anything about until they saw me get out of bed and tell the dog to be quiet. Regular smell of poor drains swamped the courtyard and the rooms around it. Staff shouting across the courtyard very early in the morning waking all rooms around the courtyard. Tiny, poorly equipped kitchen. Bad access to book exchange. Nobody was ever around in reception to give us information about a) the hostel itself and b) the city, tours, recommendations and advice. When we checked in at 11pm we were simply shown our room, I had to ask a cleaning lady when and where breakfast was served, when I checked out I had to shout out and wait around in order for someone to come to allow me to pay my bill and get my baggage from the store room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: decent sized clean rooms, nice common area, good lunch deals, kitchen, book exchange, nice courtyard

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really easy going. We arrived at 4am and the owner let us come in and use the tv room to wait till check in.

Disliked: n/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anton Karatoun

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very humid due to no ventilation in the shower.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sian Burton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and ensuite. Very accommodating with our arrival at 3am

Disliked: U had to leave 2for1 on the book exchange and you couldn't buy them which was annoying as I only had one book.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and courtyard.

Disliked: The courtyard and the tv room can generate a lot of noise at night.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013

Liked: This hostel had lots of potential but unfortunately, the bad attitude, rudeness and unhelpfulness of the manageress made us feel uncomfortable and enjoy our stay less.

Disliked: We were prepared for basic rooms so the bad decor and peeling walls did not put us off. It was, however, the rudeness and lack of information from the female owner which put us off this place and made us feel uncomfortable. She didn´t tell us that we needed to leave keys with them for them to clean our room, we weren´t told that we needed to register at the front desk and instead the next morning, when we queried her about the wifi password we were rudely questioned about registration at the front desk. The check- out time is also incorrectly advertised as a lot later than on any sites we´ve seen and she pounced on us about checking out/payment as we left our room the last morning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very nice room and good breakfast. Excellent for meeting people. The owner may seem a bit moody but always friendly and helpful with us.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jacqueline Cook

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012

Liked: Good location and map provided. Full size lockers are great :)

Disliked: Bathrooms are not very clean, wifi often doesn't work. We were checked in by a very confused young boy and only hours later were assisted by a woman who checked us in properly and then asked us to pay extra for only staying one night.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful courtyard, great breakfast, cheap lunch available. Large lockers, and free luggage storage available.

Disliked: Wifi really unstable, and mostly not working. Not large enough water tanks for the amount of rooms/people. If you din´t get in and shower before everyone else, there would be no water left. Hot water also dropped out regularly. Heard rumours about bedbugs in dorm beds, but used sleepingbag liners so didn´t get bitten ourselves.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, near the markets and supermarket and not far from the main plaza. Hot shower with good water pressure when it worked, we liked our room with the futon bed.

Disliked: Often there was no water or the shower was cold, kitchen was tiny and most of the gas elements didn't work. The staff were mostly absent and not particularly friendly when they were around. Our room had very little lighting so was very dark, and my husband got bitten lots probably by fleas.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere at Wasi Masi, dorm is very cosy with good lockers and personal lights. Owner, Roxanne, is very kind and helpful. Excellent value for money for the facilities and location. Great base for 6 nights in Sucre. Lovely roof terrace to relax in the sun.

Disliked: Difficult to regulate shower away from scorching (although not complaining about hot water). Kitchen a little small but adequate.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jared Holmes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: Good value

Disliked: Jared left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franziska Hollender

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and it only cost us 4Bs per Person to take a taxi from the bus station. Our room (1), a double ensuite, was small but cozy with a Japanese-style layout (futon mattress). The courtyard is nice, but too small for the amount of guests, and was mostly occupied by a group anyway. The almuerzo they serve is very cheap (14Bs) and above average in quality - not your usual rice and meat almuerzo! When we arrived at 8am we were able to store our bags and have breakfast until our room was ready at 1pm. It is very cheap for a double ensuite and I understand some rooms are better than others, but they are cleaned daily (unless you don't want them to) and you get fresh toilet paper and there is soap in the bathroom.

Disliked: They don't understand the concept of a tap, meaning while you don't have to pay for your room upfront, anything else like laundry or lunch will have to be paid right away. The laundry service took forever and when we finally got our clothes, they were still damp. We mentioned it and the lady just said well, it had to be done very quickly. No kidding..... The owner is never in the reception and the whole staff seems very uncoordinated.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sean Wrigley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

04 September 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and small. Little kitchen and TV room.

Disliked: TV room a bit old but still good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, i liked the rooms surrounding a courtyard. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location. Clean and good for value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karen Ives

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really inviting - great courtyard to sit and enjoy the sun in the day time and some drinks in the evening with other travellers. Really great location to the town centre and central markets. Our room was clean and quite large.

Disliked: No hot water. Occasionally I would score some hot water for about 20-30 seconds but then it would be ice cold.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tess Montgomery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 Tess would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: The beds we like sleeping on rocks and the breakfast was a few pieces of cold toast


See all Sucre hostels