HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sucre hostels

Reviews of HI Sucre

Hostel | Calle Guillermo Loayza 119, Sucre, Bolivia .

62.6% Overall Rating

26 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2011)

toby sands thinks…

"Its really close to the bus station so really handy for late night early morning bus arrivals. The building is also amazing!"

Read all HI Sucre reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.00
  • Breakfast USD 1.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sucre?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sucre

Jamuy Hostal
4.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Wasi Masi
7.07 USD

Apartment 77.0% 72 reviews
CADENA
7.07 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Traveler´s Guesthouse
5.52 USD

Guesthouse 90.6% 11 reviews
Gringo's Rincón Hostel
4.95 USD

Hostel 92.2% 50 reviews
KulturCafe Berlin
7.78 USD

Hostel 91.2% 38 reviews
7 Patas
5.37 USD

Hostel 92.2% 22 reviews
Hostal de Su Merced
31.11 USD

Guesthouse 94.7% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.6%

Overall Rating

26 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI Sucre'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
51.2%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
54.4%
Value
63.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 28 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Stine Elkær

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014

Liked: El Jefe was really nice and friendly, and did a really good job to help us.

Disliked: The staff was really not helpful and lost our laundry. The could not speak a word of english, which we expected from a HI hostel.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012

Liked: ...

Disliked: Hostel was not clean, regretted having breakfast there as even the dishes it came out on were not clean. Bedrooms had dead insects on the floor as did bathroom / shower (this despite the receptionist telling us we had the best room in the hostel!!) staff were not helpful, there only seemed to be one bilingual staff member and he was not particularly bothered about guest queries. Location is awful, too far from anything central in Sucre and did not feel safe returning at night, even in taxis.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012

Liked: If you need the bus station it is a good location. Hot showers

Disliked: Doorman was very unfriendly and unhelpful. Too far out of centre we had to catch cabs everytime

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location!

Disliked: No english!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011

Liked: Internet is fast and cheap.

Disliked: No breakfast, kitchen was really filthy with food left out for more than 2 days and ants and insects crawling everywhere. Did not want to cook in the kitchen.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011

Liked: Clean and good facilities

Disliked: I left after one night as I did not feel happy here, it was a long walk back from the centre on my own - Its fine if youre in a group.. but not on your own. The guy at reception was not too helpful either. Also they had no record of my booking through hostel bookers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

toby sands

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2011 toby would recommend this property

Liked: Its really close to the bus station so really handy for late night early morning bus arrivals. The building is also amazing!

Disliked: The staff vary from very friendly to miserable. And they didn´t tell us when breakfast was when we arrived so when we turned up in the morning we were fifteen minutes late. They refused it to us which was a little unfriendly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great building, cosy rooms and beds

Disliked: it needed a little time until the water in the showers became hot

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 August 2010

Liked: We had a VIP-room, so the room was okay.Close to the busstation.

Disliked: The hostel was not really good organized. They know nothing about our reservation. We had to wait an hour to get a room. The staff changed the all the time and they diden't gave good information. It was 25 minutes walk to the city center.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2010

Liked: Really close to bus station and the nonna was lovely. Really comfy bed and doonas.

Disliked: The young guy was incredibly unhelpful and downright rude. We ended up leaving sucre a day early because we got such an unpleasent welcome. Not close to town as stated- is at least a 25minute walk rather than the 12 minutes described.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Penelope Simpson

03 March 2010

Liked: The staff were borderline rude, the whole 36 hours I was there the bathroom across from me lacked toilet paper and was dirty, the kitchen is very basic (maybe bring your own utensils). The room I booked through hostel bookers was full (in their defence they gave us another dorm at the same price). Overall I did not have a good experience, however, if I had to say something positive it is cheap.

Disliked: Penelope left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jeroen Egbertzen

01 February 2010

Liked: The volunteers form a own big group in the hostel, which makes it a bit less fun for the rest as they are a bit ignored.

Disliked: Jeroen left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Baker

12 December 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: There was a really friendly atmosphere at the hostel and the owners mother (Nelly) was brilliant entertainment- such a lovely lady! Was a good place to chill out for a day or two

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Peter de Bruijn

05 August 2009 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very near the busstation so we could throw off our bags quickly after the horrible busride from Samaipata. The hostel is therefore located far from the city centre but local busses are great and taxi´s cheap. The only downside to the hostel was the kitchen.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Clayton

04 June 2009 James would recommend this property

Liked: Ok hostel. Breakfast was extra. Clean and good spacious bedrooms. Not a great deal of character though.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: needs wifi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Brooke McGuire

24 February 2009 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: the patio was great

Disliked: Brooke left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

daniel cavanagh

04 August 2008 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: i had a shower for the first time in 8 days here, and that made my stay amazing

Disliked: daniel left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 June 2008

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 April 2008

Liked: The Decor

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, afternoon staff were a bit sour

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hannah Cox

17 March 2008 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: it was really lovely hostel, old beautiful buildingthe lady that ran it was really lovely and the old man (But the young men were rude and unhelpful)

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

26 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well presented

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Service of Christian and the owner

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

STEPHEN MAC INTYRE

26 July 2007 STEPHEN would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD SHOWERS

Disliked: STEPHEN left no negative feedback.


See all Sucre hostels