HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Ambar Backpackers

Guesthouse | Mercado N 554, entre av. Cañot, Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Bolivia 03

59.8% Overall Rating

33 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/04/2014)

"Good place to stay if you're arriving into Bolivia. Good info posted about buses, good maps."

Read all Hostal Ambar Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.50
  • Towel USD 0.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santa Cruz de la Sierra?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santa Cruz de la Sierra

Hotel California
17.29 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Italia
8.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.0% 108 reviews
Hotel LP Santa Cruz
23.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.7% 20 reviews
Hotel Bolivia
21.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.7% 5 reviews
Residencial Ikandire
9.92 USD

Guesthouse 78.3% 12 reviews
Jodanga Backpackers Hostel
11.34 USD

Hostel 88.7% 198 reviews
Loro Loco Hostel
9.92 USD

Hostel 90.3% 17 reviews
Los Trotamundos
9.92 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.8%

Overall Rating

33 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Ambar Backpackers'

Atmosphere
45.6%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
53.6%
Value
71.2%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 35 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay if you're arriving into Bolivia. Good info posted about buses, good maps.

Disliked: Everything costs extra. The manager is not the most helpful and a bit cold.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Susanna Tong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Susanna would recommend this property

Liked: Since not many people stayed at that time, the staff gave me the double room instead of a single room

Disliked: the lobby is always dark with dim lights on, seems so mysterious and made you want to go back to your own room

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013

Liked: Room was fine

Disliked: Filty! Bathrooms and toilets were disgusting

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron Drew

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Carlos the owner provided great service & great value for money. Other reviews I'd read before booking were a bit negative & thought I'd try it for one night. I stayed my whole trip here in Santa Cruz, 4 nights. I thought the private room was good value, having wifi in the front rooms. Yes it's dark, but I found that refreshing from such a hot city. Ambar Hostel is good, safe, clean value for money & with the terminal bus that stops right outside the front door it's convenient.

Disliked: "If" I was in the rooms out the back I would suggest to Carlos to have another wifi box put in to accommodate the rear rooms, as I think Santa Cruz is a place travellers need wifi as its a first or last stop in Bolivia & if your like me & had a lot of research & booking to do.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Benoit Horth

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012

Liked: From the airport you take the micro-bus right at the exit for 6 bs until the terminal 3 blocks from the hostel. This hostel looks crappy but you get what you pay for it.

Disliked: Smell

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012

Liked: Cheap, TV in Room.

Disliked: Unhelpful staff, extra charges for everything, pool was had no water in it, dark and stuffy.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 November 2011

Liked: It was cheap for a one night stay so you couldn't expect much but definitely not somewhere to stay if your planning to stick around, its depressing!

Disliked: Makes you pay for everything as an extra - toilet paper, hot water. I even got charged 2 bolivianos for them to make a phone call to the taxi. I left at 3am and it was raining very heavily, water was just about to come pouring into my room as i left so it would have been saturated come morning.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Fernanda Cardoso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: It's very cheap, and for that price the place was really good. The staff was helpful on touristics informations. It was good for me cause I only needed to sleep for the night.

Disliked: We had to ring the bell a thousand times before they opened the door in a very bad mood. The place is really really hot, I could only sleep because I was very close to the fan.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The good quality beds and the helpful stuff.

Disliked: They could make something out of the pool - like a chill array with good chairs and pillows to relaxe from santa cruz.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2011

Liked: Cheap and we got a private room which had nice decor etc.

Disliked: The unhelpful staff- the woman doesn't know Santa crux and the man is rude. You have to pay for everything and the toilets were gross. But two nights is doable and it's so cheap.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

zia sherrell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 zia would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing en suite room with huge tv for 10 dollars, total bargain and clean too

Disliked: the swimming pool filled with litter, mouldy water and rubbish, having to pay dfor the non free kitchen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s cheap, the staff is friendly and helpful but they don´t speak english.

Disliked: It is what it is, cheap and basic

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2011

Liked: didn´t like much about this property. you get what you pay for basically.

Disliked: was pretty dirty

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: The man working at the desk refused to call a taxi for us. We had to leave at 2:30am, and he refused to use his phone to call. Then I asked if he would walk us out and watch us to a cab because of the late hour, and he started yelling at us and saying nasty things....

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011

Liked: Good price...

Disliked: The gentleman working at the front desk was not very friendly or helpful. He said it was impossible for him to call a taxi to take us to the airport in the middle of the night, so we had to walk around outside with our luggage to flag a taxi down at 3 am.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kieran Harris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: The price! So cheap, it was perfect for what we needed. We had a twin room, with comfortable, clean beds. no frills but for the price we could´t of asked for more. The guy that worked there was very helpful anytime we asked him for directions or help with booked things.

Disliked: They charge you extra for facilities like kitchen, loo roll etc. but it´s just as cheap to eat out anyway so it wasn´t an issue for us.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, helpfulo stuff, pretty close to the centrum, very cheap!

Disliked: a bit dark and all people are on their own rooms without meeting each other

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010

Liked: Accommodation was very cheap. However, the hostel was at quite a distance from the main part of the city. There was very little provided in the form of services to guests. There was a kitchen available but guests had to pay to use it, even to boil water, and there was no kitchen equipment available.

Disliked: The location. The lack of kitchen equipment. No maps or other material available. Poor lighting.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexander Otto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2010 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: asd

Disliked: asd

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2010

Liked: good location

Disliked: staff very unfriendly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unbelievably cheap. 25 bolivianos for a single if you just turn up. Rooms are clean and beds are surprisingly comfy. Friendly staff and secure - I left my bag here for a week whilst visiting the Pantanal and had no problems. Only minor drawback is you have to pay 3 bolivianos if you want a hot shower.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed just for a night so it is hard to rate it.... prices were amazing though!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Andrew Tucknott

16 May 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Basically you get what you pay for at this hostel.The rooms and bathrooms are clean but the rest of the hostel was very run down and dirty in places.There is a kitchen but it wasnt the kind of kitchen youd want to cook in. You had to also pay 5Bs to use it. You also have to pay if you want hot water but again its not very much.The location is very good as its close to the centre. We would stay again purely because its so cheap.Id also recommend you walk in as it was much cheaper than advertised on here. They said they always have beds available

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Donal Rynne

09 May 2010 Donal would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful accom in Santa Cruz...not fancy, but does everything it should. Can be a bit noisy at night, I was wrecked after my flight so made no difference to me! Staff very helpful and room/bathroom was clean.

Disliked: Donal left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: informations

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.