We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jodanga Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle El Fuerte no 1380, Barrio Los Choferes, Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Bolivia .

86.6% Overall Rating

187 out of 201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2014)

Brooke Jones thinks…

"Clean, nicely decorated and laid out. Helpful and nice staff. Excellent breakfasts. Decent sized swimming pool."

Read all Jodanga Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.97
  • Luggage Room USD 1.41
  • Towel USD 1.41

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:



If you plan to arrive LATE IN THE NIGHT (after midnight and before 6.30am) remember to BOOK FOR THE NIGHT BEFORE, our check in time is at 2.00pm.

Ex. Arrival 17/6 at 3am, you must book for the 16/6.



Please inform us about CHANGES in your BOOKING or about CANCELLATIONS at least 48 HOURS BEFORE ARRIVAL via email (free of charges). After this date, charges to your Credit Card will be applied up to the FULL COST OF THE RESERVATION. Cancellations or changes made by phone can not be accepted.



We will verify and preauthorize the full amount to your CREDIT CARD, but we do not charge it! If the card DOESN`T WORK, the BOOKING is NOT VALID.



NO CHECK-IN BEFORE 2PM (we need to clean the rooms first!) You may leave your stuff in the storage room though and use our communal areas or come back later.



PAYMENT IS DUE AT ARRIVAL. We accept cash, Visa and MasterCard.Valid PASSPORT ID REQUIRED ON CHECK-IN.



CHECK OUT is at 11AM



For GROUPS (more than 4 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on your credit card. Only if you CANCEL OR CHANGE YOUR RESERVATION UP TO 4 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL (local time) the balance will be refunded



FAMILIES TRAVELLING with children under the age of 16 are required to BOOK PRIVATE ROOMS.



CHILDREN under the age of 16 are UNABLE to be accommodated IN SHARED DORMITORIES.



If you need to CHECK OUT LATE IN THE NIGHT (after midnight and before 6.30am) you need to INFORM RECEPTION IN ADVANCE (before 10:30PM) so we can arrange check out.



Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behavior towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.



Jodanga Backpackers Hostel belongs to Hostelling International but please notice that the HI cards discounts don’t apply to bookings placed on HostelBookers, you can use the HI website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santa Cruz de la Sierra?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santa Cruz de la Sierra

Hotel LP Santa Cruz
23.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 21 reviews
Residencial Ikandire
11.38 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 14 reviews
Hotel Italia
8.49 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.7% 110 reviews
Hostal Ambar Backpackers
6.36 USD

Guesthouse 59.8% 54 reviews
Loro Loco Hostel
9.90 USD

Hostel 90.6% 18 reviews
Hotel California
18.38 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Bolivia
21.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.7% 5 reviews
Los Trotamundos
9.90 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

187 out of 201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jodanga Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 160 of 176 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stuart Murless

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in very cool en suite rooms made out of old shipping containers.

Disliked: Quite a long walk from the centre but taxis are cheap.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool and bar

Disliked: Location

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brooke Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nicely decorated and laid out. Helpful and nice staff. Excellent breakfasts. Decent sized swimming pool.

Disliked: The bed was very creaky and the powerpoints face downwards so most international adapters will fall out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast with fruit, eggs and juice as well as toast, butter and jam. Met some nice people there and had bar with happy hour. A hot and powerful shower, good wifi connection. Well equipped kitchen. Clean and pool and table football on offer. Plus lockers for security.

Disliked: Had to make your own bed and my sheets were clean but had funny marks on. Also had to pay for storing your bag (not on day you check in/out) but days in between.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Kennaway

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: unreliable internet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Torino

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness, the swimming pool. Everything

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Breakfast, nice pool and bar area, chilled and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spotless. The pool was nice. Well equiped kitchen. The staff was very helpful. We had a problem where a staff member accidentally threw out some of our labled food, and they replaced it right away.

Disliked: one concern was that there was no way to contact the front desk from the private rooms across the road. We had someone banging on the door to get into the private rooms area for 20 minutes. We didn't know who he was, and he wouldn't respond to me when I asked who he was. We were essentally trapped in this area until he went away. It turned out to be a taxi driver for another guest, but he was really early. It would have been nice to be able to call for assistance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiri Paboucek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and modern hostel with perfect facilities and complimentary breakfast. Dorms are spacious and clean.

Disliked: Little bit outside the center. Close to bus terminal though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Malte Buecken

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Malte would recommend this property

Liked: Nice kitchen, good pool. Breakfast was okay

Disliked: They charge for storage

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013

Liked: It was clean and tidy and there was a fan in the room which was awesome in the heat. It was in a quiet location and was super quiet at night to sleep. The breakfast was OK.

Disliked: We found the staff to be pretty unfriendly and unhelpful. We were also not in the main building - we were over the road which was quiet but not as clean as the rest of the hostel and there was no wi-fi which meant you had to go back over the road which is a complete pain in the ass. It felt very excluded over there and the book exchange system is terrible. Two books for one or you can exchange one book, as well as 30Bs for another one.....!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and spacious with decent wifi for Bolivian standards. Bathrooms clean and newish. Breakfast is good. Staff and information available are/is very helpful. Great facilities.

Disliked: Location!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the BBQ!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in the ensuite private twin/double bed room- room was amazing- it was spotless, spacious, had a double bunk bed AND a double bed, the receptionist explained it is sometimes used to accomodate 4 people and so for us 2 it was like luxury compared to other rooms we had stayed in in Brazil and Peru. The receptionist was always available and very kind, speak English too. The breakfast is very good, there is a person who cooks up eggs in front of you and makes them the way you want, you can also squeeze your own fresh orange juice. It is good value for money, we paid £12 per person per night to stay in our room however those staying in dormitories said theirs was only £7 or £8 which is pretty decent for what you are getting. Had a great stay, mainly because of the people we met at the hostel and all the partying we did with them! Loved it!

Disliked: The hostel is situated about 25 minutes walk from the city centre, however taxis are very cheap and the hostel receptionist is always available to call a taxi for you. The breakfast has some silly rules such as only 2 eggs per person, only 5 pieces of fruit, only 5 slices of bread.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice common spaces with a wonderful swimming pool.

Disliked: The breakfast was very simple and not very tasty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a good sized pool, and everything was well-organized (the kitchen was VERY organized and clean).

Disliked: Location, but Santa Cruz is laid out strangely. Staying here requires a bit more walking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Haley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: What a wonderful hostel in Santa cruz!!! Lovely pool, spotlessly clean twin room and dorms and the best showers in South America!! Awesome breakfast, Good tv room and plenty of movies watch! The bilingual staff were the best we have encountered in many months on the road! A real joy of a hostel and an unexpected find in Bolivia!

Disliked: Just the location? Its a long walk to town but if you want a couple of days chilling in the sun by the pool this is the perfect hostel for you!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Lamb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bright hostel with great pool and bar.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

RENEE CUSWORTH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 RENEE would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good facilities

Disliked: Their strict rules seem silly at times. It's a party hostel so music is played loud all afternoon and evening. No quiet chill out area. Santa Cruz is not safe at night and people at our hostel were robbed (and worse) by dodgy taxi/ fake police scam and the hostel owner didnt care at all and said "that's what happens". More awareness on safety needs to be made here!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was brilliant beds were brilliant staff were brilliant

Disliked: The bar shut early at about 9.30pm one night and the following night was shut completely and we were still not allowed to bring our own alcohol in which was pretty bad as didn't want to go back out to carnaval as it got pretty violent out on the streets but still wanted to keep on drinking

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yoann blot

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013 yoann would recommend this property

Liked: The atmospher

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Stachura

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: Piotr left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heike Gerlach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Heike would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Hostel, very clean, location outside the center but still in walking distance and next to the park. Lots of information for travelling. Good breakfast. Two computers with internet. Lockers. A little to much of a party place for me, always a lot of people around.

Disliked: Heike left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I did enjoy to stay, for me it was on the best accomodation that I ve had on my trip!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for those who are just starting their trip. Because you can easily meet potential travel buddies, get some advices and tips what to see. Good nternet access and free wifii. Perfect if you have things to do and relatives to be ifmormed that you're still alive. Relaxing atmosphere. Makes you want to stay for longer. Exceptionally clean.

Disliked: Have nothing negative to say.