We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jodanga Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle El Fuerte no 1380, Barrio Los Choferes, Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Bolivia .

85.5% Overall Rating

192 out of 206 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/02/2015)

"Nice breakfast; bread, eggs, fruit and freshly made juice. Cheap private spanish lessons. They were cleaning all the time. 25 mins. walk to town, but easy to get there (few turns) and staff will call a taxi for you if…"

Read all Jodanga Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.89
  • Luggage Room USD 1.41
  • Towel USD 1.41

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:



If you plan to arrive LATE IN THE NIGHT (after midnight and before 6.30am) remember to BOOK FOR THE NIGHT BEFORE, our check in time is at 2.00pm.

Ex. Arrival 17/6 at 3am, you must book for the 16/6.



Please inform us about CHANGES in your BOOKING or about CANCELLATIONS at least 48 HOURS BEFORE ARRIVAL via email (free of charges). After this date, charges to your Credit Card will be applied up to the FULL COST OF THE RESERVATION. Cancellations or changes made by phone can not be accepted.



We will verify and preauthorize the full amount to your CREDIT CARD, but we do not charge it! If the card DOESN`T WORK, the BOOKING is NOT VALID.



NO CHECK-IN BEFORE 2PM (we need to clean the rooms first!) You may leave your stuff in the storage room though and use our communal areas or come back later.



PAYMENT IS DUE AT ARRIVAL. We accept cash, Visa and MasterCard.Valid PASSPORT ID REQUIRED ON CHECK-IN.



CHECK OUT is at 11AM



For GROUPS (more than 4 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on your credit card. Only if you CANCEL OR CHANGE YOUR RESERVATION UP TO 4 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL (local time) the balance will be refunded



FAMILIES TRAVELLING with children under the age of 16 are required to BOOK PRIVATE ROOMS.



CHILDREN under the age of 16 are UNABLE to be accommodated IN SHARED DORMITORIES.



If you need to CHECK OUT LATE IN THE NIGHT (after midnight and before 6.30am) you need to INFORM RECEPTION IN ADVANCE (before 10:30PM) so we can arrange check out.



Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behavior towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.



Jodanga Backpackers Hostel belongs to Hostelling International but please notice that the HI cards discounts don’t apply to bookings placed on HostelBookers, you can use the HI website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santa Cruz de la Sierra?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santa Cruz de la Sierra

Hotel LP Santa Cruz
28.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 21 reviews
Residencial Ikandire
11.33 USD

Guesthouse 81.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Italia
8.44 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.1% 111 reviews
Loro Loco Hostel
10.55 USD

Hostel 89.4% 20 reviews
Hotel California
18.29 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Bolivia
21.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.7% 5 reviews
Los Trotamundos
9.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

192 out of 206 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jodanga Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 165 of 181 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011

Liked: The pool. the comunal area´s, (in- and outside).

Disliked: Staff was very unfriendly, unflexible and uninterested. We arrived at 23:00 in the night and had to make our own bed (in an private double, it´s policy). Sheats were dirty. The room was very expensive, very small and we had to share one bathroom with almost 10 people, and it was not clean at all. They charged us 15 bolivianos for a bottle of water (normally 5!) and their dollar exchange rate was ridiculous.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool and party atmosphere

Disliked: No lockable lockers or rooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Pool, Clean rooms , seriously good breakfast best in bolivia

Disliked: Internet here is the worst i have come across in S.A. and some of the staff are really not interested

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel if you are looking for somewhere short term and close to the bus station. I think its a little far from town (around 30mins walk). It has an awesome pool and best breakfast Ive had in SA!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool, breakfast, atmosphere in general was good

Disliked: They didn´t offer refund when something fail, some rules are a little inflexible

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean new hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, big, relaxed house. Decent sized pool, great free breakfast, great kitchen facilities. Free internet and wifi which works in the dorms, nice TV lounge, good pool and fuzzball tables.

Disliked: No free towels, and I had to ask for loo rolls a few times, but no major issues really

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Giorgia Lamberti

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2010 Giorgia would recommend this property

Liked: Good Place where to stay some days

Disliked: Giorgia left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good breakfast, good showers when hot, very safe, has a pool

Disliked: has the potential to be excellent, but people tended to stay in their own groups :( not much mingling...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, dvd room

Disliked: quiet, limited breakfast, lack of atmosphere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms and lots of activities

Disliked: location and city

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and tidy. Good activities to meet people - the bbq was especially good.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Salsbury

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2010 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: An AMAZING hostel! The staff were always very friendly & helpful, the rooms were clean and spacious, and the TV room and pool are superb! It is a bit far away from the centre of town but there is not too much to do in Santa Cruz so this does not really matter. We were in Santa Cruz for 3 days and spent most of this time at the hostel as it was such a great place to chill! I would definately recommend this hostel!

Disliked: My only criticism about this hostel was that the water in the bathrooms was a bit tempremental in that sometimes there would be no running water but I think this is an issue in general in Bolivia. However on the plus side when there was water, the showers would be hot and quite powerful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maximilian List

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2010 Maximilian would recommend this property

Liked: It was realy fantastic.

Disliked: every thing was good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

POLLYANA ROCHA DA ROSA

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2010 POLLYANA would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel, hot showers, good breakfast, internet and computers, good tv and dvds, they have a book with everything you need to know about tours that are closer to Sta cruz, a walking tour thru the city and nice nights of dinner to get to know everybody!!

Disliked: no towels

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicole Aigner

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cosy and relaxed atmosphere at the pool, in the living room, playing pool or just hanging out with other travellers. They offer a good breakfast and fair prices for beverages. Staff is extremly friendly :-)

Disliked: the beds make wired noises when you turn :-/

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Moch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2010 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendy staff and guests, has a swimming pool to chill out around.Good TV lounge, comfy beds.Great BBQ night with most of the guests joining in.

Disliked: There was some building work going on at the time of my stay so everyone was using the bathroom in our dorm !!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were very good: lots of places to sit and talk to people, 2 computers with headsets for Skype, strong wifi signal everywhere (better than most hotels), swimming pool, pool table, tv room, kitchen. The breakfast was great and cooked to order right in front of you. Lots of travel information. Very nice place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was super!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fun hostel and the staff are helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, lots of facilities, great breakfasts!! Helpful English speaking staff however more expensive than other hostels in Bolivia.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leandro Arana

24 May 2010 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities, with swimming pool included. The only not so good thing about it is the location. During the night it was also a little bit noisy.

Disliked: Leandro left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool, movies, relaxing atmosphere, very easy place to spend a few days. Nice pillows!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Describing this hostel as 800m from the bus/train station is a bit of a stretch. Staff were friendly enough - but whenever I asked for any information they didnt seem to know anything about the area - but they did call the bus company for me.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good to have hot showers and cable tv!!! also the brekky is fresh and good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.