We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jodanga Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle El Fuerte no 1380, Barrio Los Choferes, Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Bolivia .

86.6% Overall Rating

187 out of 201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2014)

Brooke Jones thinks…

"Clean, nicely decorated and laid out. Helpful and nice staff. Excellent breakfasts. Decent sized swimming pool."

Read all Jodanga Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.97
  • Luggage Room USD 1.41
  • Towel USD 1.41

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:



If you plan to arrive LATE IN THE NIGHT (after midnight and before 6.30am) remember to BOOK FOR THE NIGHT BEFORE, our check in time is at 2.00pm.

Ex. Arrival 17/6 at 3am, you must book for the 16/6.



Please inform us about CHANGES in your BOOKING or about CANCELLATIONS at least 48 HOURS BEFORE ARRIVAL via email (free of charges). After this date, charges to your Credit Card will be applied up to the FULL COST OF THE RESERVATION. Cancellations or changes made by phone can not be accepted.



We will verify and preauthorize the full amount to your CREDIT CARD, but we do not charge it! If the card DOESN`T WORK, the BOOKING is NOT VALID.



NO CHECK-IN BEFORE 2PM (we need to clean the rooms first!) You may leave your stuff in the storage room though and use our communal areas or come back later.



PAYMENT IS DUE AT ARRIVAL. We accept cash, Visa and MasterCard.Valid PASSPORT ID REQUIRED ON CHECK-IN.



CHECK OUT is at 11AM



For GROUPS (more than 4 pax) the property will charge the outstanding balance on your credit card. Only if you CANCEL OR CHANGE YOUR RESERVATION UP TO 4 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL (local time) the balance will be refunded



FAMILIES TRAVELLING with children under the age of 16 are required to BOOK PRIVATE ROOMS.



CHILDREN under the age of 16 are UNABLE to be accommodated IN SHARED DORMITORIES.



If you need to CHECK OUT LATE IN THE NIGHT (after midnight and before 6.30am) you need to INFORM RECEPTION IN ADVANCE (before 10:30PM) so we can arrange check out.



Hostel Management reserves the right to cancel or amend a booking for anti-social behavior towards hostel staff and/or guests, or non-adherence to our terms and conditions.



Jodanga Backpackers Hostel belongs to Hostelling International but please notice that the HI cards discounts don’t apply to bookings placed on HostelBookers, you can use the HI website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santa Cruz de la Sierra?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santa Cruz de la Sierra

Hotel LP Santa Cruz
23.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 21 reviews
Residencial Ikandire
11.38 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 14 reviews
Hotel Italia
8.49 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.7% 110 reviews
Hostal Ambar Backpackers
6.36 USD

Guesthouse 59.8% 54 reviews
Loro Loco Hostel
9.90 USD

Hostel 89.3% 19 reviews
Hotel California
17.32 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Bolivia
21.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.7% 5 reviews
Los Trotamundos
9.90 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

187 out of 201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jodanga Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 160 of 176 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alicia Painter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities, especially the pool. Staff were incredibly helpful. I hadn't planned on staying in Santa Cruz long at all but we had a great group and had so much fun, it turned out to be hard to leave!

Disliked: Nothing, its maybe a bit pricey for some of the extras though such as the BBQ's and laundry.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

louis dodds

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2011 louis would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing from the word go,the reception staff are super helpfull and really friendly,speak perfect english and come out for drinks.they also put on an awsome bbq with free alcohol from 8-11 which is great.allthough it is not in the centre of town it is not difficult to get to and from when the staff will call cabs for you anytime.would defo reccomend for anybody and hopefully i'll be back at some point. Thanks again to all the staff

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean beds and bathroom, good breakfast, pool

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Harrison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: very nice quiet spot, great place for learning spanish

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

TARIK OKTAY

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 TARIK would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms and cleanlines

Disliked: Showers not good

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean & pretty much had everything in terms of facilities The pool was nice and the breakfast was good.

Disliked: Physically, everything was pretty much perfect ( except there could have been an extra loo as there was quite a wait in the morning while everyone had to make do with the one bathroom). The place did lack atmosphere though and the relatively sarcastic rule list didn´t really promote a friendly vibe. Some staff were pleasant , others pretty unhelpful and seemed disinterested. Would recommend for shorter stays only.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cian Mac Neill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Cian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice helpful Staff

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011

Liked: Clean rooms, bathrooms clean. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful. Good showers with hot water.

Disliked: Rules, rules, rules. If you like rules stay here. You have to sign a long list of rules which are also on the wall in the room. We arrived 1/2 hour before check in and could not take our bed. We always had to wait ages at reception. Pool did not appear to be clean. Drinks etc at reception the most expensive I've seen anywhere in Bolivia. Rooms/dorm most expensive seen in Bolivia, poor value for money. Poor location, always had to get public transport

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Vaibhav Wankhede

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Vaibhav would recommend this property

Liked: Quite a fun place to meet people, very helpful staff and great breakfast!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ashley twamley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 ashley would recommend this property

Liked: nice pool

Disliked: bit expensive for bolivia

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011

Liked: The dorms are quite big and clean. One light and plug for each bed wich is really handy. Breakfast is good.

Disliked: The staff was not friendly when I was there. they didn't really want to help you. Only one bathroom for 4 dorms so in the morning to get a shower is a real challenge. The woman preparing breakfast was really unfriendly when I was there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

magdalena chadkiewicz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011

Liked: very spacious and many different areas to hang out, nice rodizio buffet 10 minutes away

Disliked: the mountain of rules is a bit condescending eg. book swap 2 for 1, or 1 plus 30bolivianos for 1, computers out of date, no headsets for skype, beds pretty uncomfortable,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

andrea bena

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2011 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, just a little bit far from center but walking is possible to enjoy the city. Good breakfast and really nice pool. A lot of space in the rooms. Recomanded

Disliked: nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2011

Liked: None

Disliked: Guests are not allowed to bring even a bottle of water to the hostel. This hostel charged 3 times as much of the price at the local store. Clogged up toilet and very noisy even after 1 pm. Although there is a little swimming pool, it is very dirty.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast served by a lovely lady! Nice to have the pool to cool down in when it gets really hot. Good kitchen facilities. Good value for money.

Disliked: Laundry a little expensive.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: drinks are expensive

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast.

Disliked: Too few shared bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PETER GOODELL

Alone

City break

07 February 2011 PETER would recommend this property

Liked: ELEGANT NEIGHBORHOOD. RECONVERTED MANSION OF WEALTHY RESIDENT. WALK OUT OF YOUR ROOM INTO THE POOL. AFTER SWIM YOUR MADE TO ORDER BREAKFAST ISWILL BE COOKED. FREE INTERNET. MEDIA ROOM, SMOKING SECTION.

Disliked: NOTHING

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Linda Sparrow

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 January 2011 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Having just spent in two months in Cusco and La Paz, the heat is a bit overwhelming so swimming pool is great added benefit. The included breakfast of fresh fruit, coffee, juice, toast and eggs is also very good. The place seems very clean, bright and cheery and the staff are friendly. It has been fun meeting other travelers. They offer lockers for your valuables. Overall, a good landing spot.

Disliked: The dorm rooms are co-ed which I didn't expect. That was bothersome at first but everyone has been very respectful and I am told that is the way it is other places as well, so... It is also a bit far from the city center. It is not quiet, do mostly to the fact that most of the guests are young and there is music going all the time as well as TV at night if someone wants to watch a movie. They do have private rooms but I have not seen those and cannot speak about that.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Peter Wirth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable rooms, good breakfast

Disliked: Location, it is a fair distance from the centre and the price is greater than similar properties in Bolivia

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011

Liked: The pool. the comunal area´s, (in- and outside).

Disliked: Staff was very unfriendly, unflexible and uninterested. We arrived at 23:00 in the night and had to make our own bed (in an private double, it´s policy). Sheats were dirty. The room was very expensive, very small and we had to share one bathroom with almost 10 people, and it was not clean at all. They charged us 15 bolivianos for a bottle of water (normally 5!) and their dollar exchange rate was ridiculous.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool and party atmosphere

Disliked: No lockable lockers or rooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Pool, Clean rooms , seriously good breakfast best in bolivia

Disliked: Internet here is the worst i have come across in S.A. and some of the staff are really not interested

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel if you are looking for somewhere short term and close to the bus station. I think its a little far from town (around 30mins walk). It has an awesome pool and best breakfast Ive had in SA!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool, breakfast, atmosphere in general was good

Disliked: They didn´t offer refund when something fail, some rules are a little inflexible