We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Curichal Hostel

Hostel | Comercio st. 1490, Rurrenabaque, Bolivia N/A

73.2% Overall Rating

18 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

Christine Liu thinks…

"Nice hammock area, bar on site so you can get drinks without going out, pool table, tv with dvds, hot shower"

Read all El Curichal Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rurrenabaque?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rurrenabaque

Los Tucanes de Rurre
7.07 USD

Guesthouse 74.1% 38 reviews
La Isla de los Tucanes Hotel
28.28 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Ambaibo Backpackers Hotel
7.07 USD

Hostel 69.7% 5 reviews
Tuki Backpackers Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.2%

Overall Rating

18 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Curichal Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.8%
Location
72.5%
Facilities
67.5%
Cleanliness
74.2%
Staff
77.5%
Value
72.5%
Safety
72.5%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Leah Hosell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 August 2014

Liked: Nice hammock area

Disliked: Rooms not the cleanest. Cold shower even though I paid extra for a private room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loads of hammocks, pool, bar, relaxed vibe

Disliked: Tried to leave at 5.30am but no one was on reception and the gate was locked so we couldn't get out. Luckily after 5 mins of knocking on doors someone emerged to let us out! Cold shower too.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014

Liked: Room ok but expensive as rather basic.

Disliked: Out of town a bit. Very basic . Wi-fi wasn't working. Staff not interested. Basic kitchen. Flooded on morning I left.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar; Fan in room; Free wifi. Nice staff. Hammocks!

Disliked: No proper windows, wifi signal bit weak in our room

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful. The beds were also pretty comfortable.

Disliked: The locks on the bathrooms are not really good and the breakfast is very basic.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Christine Liu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: Nice hammock area, bar on site so you can get drinks without going out, pool table, tv with dvds, hot shower

Disliked: Ran out of breakfast before the service was meant to end meaning we had no breakfast. The guy on duty said 'we've run out of bread' and shrugged his shoulders instead of offering to remedy it. Not ok for an out of town hostel. This is the furthest hostel from the centre of town. Found cheaper in a better location and with wifi that works in the rooms. Our room also had dead mosquitos on the walls surrounded by shoe marks, where people had obviously used their shoes to kill them - why has this not been cleaned?!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place before/after departing on a jungle/pampas adventure. WiFi works reasonably well and be sure your ceiling fan can crank up to full blast - it can get a bit hot in Rurrenabaque.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

talia chirouf

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 talia would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel in a beautiful place! Good breakfast of pastries from local french bakery plus tea & coffee. The owner and staff are very friendly, willing to help with whatever you need and will store your bags while you go to the jungle. Best to book ahead as it seems to be the only really decent place to stay in Rurre.

Disliked: No toilet paper or soap in the bathrooms and no lockers in the 3 bed dorm (not sure about others). There also isn´t a kitchen for guests, although there is a menu available all day at the hostel which is reasonably priced.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, english speaking staff. good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is good located and offers small but clean rooms.

Disliked: The breakfast was poor.

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jason Sharman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013

Liked: Not much as couldn't sleep due to noise, location isn't even the best, but it is ok.

Disliked: Very noisy at night, communal area right outside the rooms where people are chatting and playing music all night (not ideal if you are getting up early the next morning for a tour like most); lots of mosquitoes inside the room even though mosquito net on window as they leave door open before you arrive; poor breakfast with nowhere to sit, no wifi and only 1 computer which is always being used; very unfriendly night staff, (i asked him what time they enforce people to be quiet at night and he said 10pm-11pm. However, it was midnight when I asked him and very noisy. He then said he couldn't possibly tell them to be quiet until 1am at the earliest because there was "70%" of the hostel making noise (in his words) and he has to let the majority do what they want as they are a new hostel with no rules yet..

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: No WIFI during our stay. Very loud in the night, only possible to sleep with earplugs! Hostel plays music half of the night, the other half partypeople are talking loudly in the courtyard in front of most of the rooms.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere

Disliked: Noisy people at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.nice outdoor area.

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Gallagher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were really friendly and the hammocks was a great place to hang out.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Nearly everything. They (The Hostel!) play loud music the half night, could not believe it. NO WIFI, realy bad.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

peter williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2013 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Owner / manager is improving the hostel from good to great. Good breakfast, WiFi being installed as we were leaving. Value for money menu.

Disliked: Dogs barking, every night, from next door. Music went on late some nights, when everyday people have to be up early to start tours.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great. Juan was really helpful and flexible about additional bookings and changes to bookings! It's cleaned every day and has a really lovely hammock area. Nice place to meet other people and has a film room with playstation and pool table

Disliked: Breakfast could be better but the best thing it to go to Paris early for their amazing bakery!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great for a night or 2 before you head off on a jungle/pampas tour. Very chilled with lots of hammocks & large rooms, internet/ computer, tv room and kitchen. Good value for money as well.

Disliked: No wifi.