HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Casona Potosi Hostal Potosi Hostel

Chuquisaca # 460 entre Padilla y Tarija, Potosi, Bolivia

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 58%

Location 87%

Safety 70%

Staff 52%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 0.48USD

Important Information

Important:
If you are coming from Uyuni and your arrival time is between 1:00 a.m.- 2:00 a.m. and you want to check-in at this time, you must book the previous night and select that you will arrive at 24:00 in the estimated arrival time field. Otherwise you will end up waiting until 11:30 a.m. outside the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Potosi?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 58%

Location 87%

Safety 70%

Staff 52%

Value 66%

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: he leido todo de los commentarios y yo no sé lo qué sobre se quejaban. all the girls working at reception were great. kind and helpful. las chic as fueron buy amiable y útil. breakfast is included and my dorm was warm at night. there are tonnes of other travellers here so its a great place to meet people and hang out. THIS IS BOLIVIA don't forget. i think a lot of reviews made here are from people with standards from the west.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I decided to stay here in a dorm because all the accommodation in Potosi is overpriced, but the stay in the dorm turned out to be quite good. I met many other decent travelers, and everyone was respectful of each other. I had no problems with hot water, or heating in the room. the hostel is well located, easy to find and easy to walk to the main sites in potosi, and convenient to organise trips and bus tickets.

Disliked: i know this place has had bad comments about the staff, but generally everywhere in bolivia has bad service and lack of hospitality, not just in hostels, but in restaurants and shops too. the tour organised through this hostel gave an interesting insight into how the miners worked, but you may consider it exploitative, as they made us do the miner´s work for them, AND buy them gifts!! I think they should have paid us to do their work!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a beautiful old house.

Disliked: Just cold in all the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: la ubicación, el dormitorio no estaba mal

Disliked: el personal no fue amable, no tienen un lugar donde guardar tus mochilas por un día, en una ciudad donde la mayoría de los turistas van a uyuni y vuelven, nos dijeron que podíamos dejarlas en un locker de mal modo, en todos los hostels tienen un depósito dónde dejar mochilas. el desayuno era malo comparado con otros hostels de igual precio y al ducharnos se innundaba el baño.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to main square

Disliked: Pricing was high for Bolivia.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place has certainly seen better days it needs a good renovation. Good for one or two nights to crash. I saw the mixed reviews and only booked it because it was pretty much the only place available to book online Also we booked a twin room and got two separate beds.Guy in the morning spoke English and was friendly and very helpful and books buses, tours for you. The guy in afternoon and at night was pretty useless and looked stoned and spoke absolutely no English

Disliked: see above

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I had a tv in my room and the location.

Disliked: They gave me a twin instead of a double, the bathrooms were dirty and they only had toilets in with the showers so often had to wait. No toilet roll and i was electricuted in the luggage room by a loose wire. I told the owner and he laughed.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: nothing

Disliked: - the bathroom were dirty and breakdown, the breakfast was really bad and the staff was incompetent

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Price and location perfect when on a budget

Disliked: Wifi was pathetic and staff not very helpful regarding soap, towels, toilet paper

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is superb, they offer a lot of facilities for the guests

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability