HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Naira

Guesthouse | Plaza San Francisco -, Calle Sagarnaga 161, La Paz, Bolivia .

87.3% Overall Rating

69 out of 72 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/10/2013)

"Buffet breakfast with eggs, pancakes, fresh juices, strong coffee is included; Location is perfect (right beside the church and on the main tourist street). Hot showers, large rooms on a courtyard, super clean and safe.…"

Read all Hostal Naira reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 87.7% 131 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.87 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 152 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.52 USD

Hostel 73.6% 57 reviews
Residencial Latino
9.77 USD

Hostel 84.2% 88 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews
Loki Backpackers La Paz
7.08 USD

Hostel 79.1% 110 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

69 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Naira'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 54 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Buffet breakfast with eggs, pancakes, fresh juices, strong coffee is included; Location is perfect (right beside the church and on the main tourist street). Hot showers, large rooms on a courtyard, super clean and safe. Internet was fast. I wouldn't describe this place as a hostel... it's more like a nice hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central, excellent restaurant attached.

Disliked: As has been said, the rooms overlooking the courtyard are noisy if you want to sleep in late.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was just wonderful - like a 3/4 star hotel.

Disliked: The renovation noise to 11pm

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

serena humphries

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 serena would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great shower with lots of hot water, excellent breakfasts and the cafe attached does really good food. We had a heater in the room which made it nice and warm and it was cleaned everyday. TV with good cable channels. The wifi worked well in the room.

Disliked: We didn't hear much noise over the weekend in our room (bottom floor at the back) but on the Monday there was building work going on in the hotel and we heard lots of noise from bout 9am, they were knocking down a wall. The bus we booked to Puno (pick up between 7.15- 7.30am) with the hotel was cheap but the boy who came to pick us up was a bit dopey as we were told we could wait in the restaurant after having breakfast ,so we waited right by the door with all our luggage, someone came, looked straight at my boyfriend, went upstairs to reception and then left again. By this time it was 7.35 so we asked the doorman if that was our pick up, he said yes, and my boyfriend had to go and chase him down the street! I assume he didn't have the common sense to check in the restaurant and we would have missed our bus. Also the pick us just goes around picking up other people before reaching the bus station at 8.30am so if you want a bit of a lie in I would just meet the bus at the bus station.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Rowe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: very good feel about the place. In a great location.

Disliked: woken at 6,30am by some sort of construction work.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

lisa doyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a great location on Sagarnaga. Felt more like a hotel than a hostel. The breakfast downstairs in the cafe is excellent.

Disliked: Pretty overpriced for Bolivia. We arrived very late n our first night and were placed in a room that absolutely reeked of smoke and the staff couldn't move us - this was very disappointing. Lobby area was a bit cold and unwelcoming.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eddie Dolan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2011 Eddie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, cable Tv in the rooms, clean bathrooms with good hot showers, excellent breakfast

Disliked: We were given a twin room when we booked a double. Probably best to send them an email just to confirm you want a matrimonial bed if that´s what you want as they call a twin a double. Other than that though it´s a great value 3 star hotel (not hostel!)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

kong ping chan

11 June 2010 kong ping would recommend this property

Liked: Safe & clean place!!

Disliked: kong ping left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

James Rowlandson

16 March 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean and comfortable rooms with large double bed and hot showers. Good wi-fi in room and cable TV. Heaters on request for no extra charge. Fairly good breakfast. More of a hotel than hostel and would especially recommend for couples. Some staff were a bit grumpy, however, we went back for a second stay after a trip to Uyuni and arrived off a night bus - they let us check in at 6am on a Sunday which was a godsend!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iain Henderson

27 February 2010 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely clean hotel right in the centre of La Paz with friendly helpfull staff. Due to the fact that the main part of the hotel is accessed from a main street but is actually protected from the street (most of the rooms face an internal courtyard) it is very quiet. The cafe and restaurant beneath are also very good.

Disliked: Iain left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel in a very convenient location. We found it was quiet but everything was good, clean and working. Breakfast at the cafe downstairs was good and there was free wifi in the lobby area at least. Would recommend, much better than the hotel we staying in afterwards!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Marquart

24 November 2009 David would recommend this property

Liked: The location was right in the middle of the most interesting part of the older part of town and also next to the Witches Market, a great place to shop for bargains. We stayed there twice in a 10-day period. We asked for a double or queen bed and didn't get it either stay though so don't expect that if you've requested it. The rooms are oriented toward an interior courtyard that can be a bit noisy but it was worth the price and location. Breakfast (included) was good in the downstairs cafe and there's also internet access on the lower level.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely hostal, with internet in the basement and a cafe with delicious breakfast. Very clean and close to everything. The staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was clean and well lit and the shower hot. The staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel style, but very friendly and helpful and in one of the nicest streets, I would recommend it for this alone in La Paz!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Allison Lau

14 September 2009 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good. The staff wasn't very out-going.

Disliked: Allison left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Sexton

22 August 2009 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location two minutes from the Plaza San Fran. We had a double room en suite which was huge with comfortable beds and a roasting hot shower. We had the best sleep of our trip here as despite being right in the city centre it was practiaclly silent all night! The staff were helpful and we stored our luggage there for 4 nights while we went to Rurrenabaque. Nice place, would recommend esp for couples or people looking for some sleep time!

Disliked: Grace left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joseph oved

30 June 2009 joseph would recommend this property

Liked: THE STAFF ARE VERY KIND AND VERY HELPFUL.

Disliked: joseph left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonja Meier

20 November 2008 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: great room, clean, friendly staff

Disliked: Sonja left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maarten Beekhof

10 September 2008 Maarten would recommend this property

Liked: Great room, good bed, nice tv, perfect bathroom with actual hot water, constantly.

Disliked: Maarten left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

01 May 2008

Liked: 24 hours hot water which is great!!!Bad Point - We asked to stay an extra night which was confirmed by reception desk staff then the following morning we were told we had to leave because someone elses flight got cancelled and they needed to also stay an extra night! No apology given - dissappointed !!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christelle Lanz

29 April 2008 Christelle would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Walking distance to many of La Paz sites.

Disliked: Christelle left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is second to none. The breakfasts (included) at the cafe downstairs were great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all La Paz hostels