HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Isidoro's

Hostel | Cobija Street No. 120, La Paz, Bolivia -

83.7% Overall Rating

24 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2014)

"All the staff in this property is very polite and helpfull. Nice breakfast yogurt with fruits and a cup of coffee with bread. There are hot showers."

Read all Hostal Isidoro's reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 21.21

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

The Adventure Brew B&B
7.53 USD

Guesthouse 81.5% 321 reviews
hotel savoy
18.38 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.36 USD

Hostel 68.6% 13 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.86 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 146 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Estrella Andina
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 127 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

24 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Isidoro's'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 28 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff in this property is very polite and helpfull. Nice breakfast yogurt with fruits and a cup of coffee with bread. There are hot showers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I stayed so far in Bolivia , the beds are very comfortable and the facilities seem very clean. Nice Breakfast and the staff very reliable. Highly recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013

Liked: The owner of the hostel helped me talk with police and investigators after I was mugged in La Paz

Disliked: It´s difficult for me to recommend this place, I hope you can understand why. I couldn´t understand the English written instructions on how to get to the hostel so I decided to take a taxi... big mistake: I got mugged in the taxi, resulting in the loss of valuable possessions... I eventually found the place, but the staff showed sympathy. The location of the hostel is obviously not safe. Take care travelers!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Gilbert

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

25 November 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: i had a big and very clean room, Nice breakfast , warm shower and the staff always with a smile and trying to help. highly recommended

Disliked: location is not the best but is not a big problem

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is near to the bus station and 10 minutes walking distance to the tourist center, good breakfast and warm showers for Bolivia

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

lindsay upson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013

Liked: Location is close to the bus station.

Disliked: We stayed at the hostel for several days. Like most hostels, they have a "safety deposit box" where you can leave your bags when you go on other side trips for a couple days. We went to the front desk to ask about leaving our bags in the "safety deposit box" for 2 nights when we go to the Amazon for a trek. They said "OK" and took our things. We asked where they were going, and they told us not to worry about it and that they would lock it up for us. When we returned, they gave us our bags and everything seemed to be in place. We then went on another trip one day later for 2 nights to the Salt Flats. When we returned, they let us go to the "safety deposit box" to retrieve our things, and it turned out to be a KITCHEN!! They left our things in the kitchen and told us it was safe because there are only 3 workers who have access to that room...When I got my things back, my very valuable and expensive necklace was GONE! They left the box but took the necklace. When I went to complain, they acted very surprised, kept contact with me for several weeks, asked for me to send the box so they could get it fingerprinted, told me they "fired" an employee, but in the end were just telling me a bunch of things they wanted me to hear, but did not actually do anything about it. If you stay here, NEVER leave your things in the "safety deposit box" if you care about them! In addition, showers are only warm for 3 minutes at a time, then the heater turns off!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great property, Nice breakfast, the staff excelent they gave me all the information i needed. good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast, coffee, bread and eggs. Very nice and helpful staff, hot showers, wifi worked almost all the time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

brid mcshane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2013 brid would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful and friendly in all encounters and assisted with bookings through Spanish language when our skills were not up to challenge. Breakfast egg,bread,tea,fruit ad yoghurt was lovely. Lovely warm bedding. Warm showers. Very close to bus station, as website says no more than 70 steps

Disliked: No wifi. Could have been cleaner

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

evan tyrrell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013 evan would recommend this property

Liked: Decent hot shower especially for Bolivia standards, very close to bus terminal, wifi in rooms was good when working well.

Disliked: No kitchen, below average breakfast( couple bits of bread w jam and coffee), staff speak very little English so can be difficult for directions etc

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast (you can ask for a egg, too). Many, many blankets and soft mattresses.

Disliked: The location is close to the bus station, but the street is a bit scary

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for 6 weeks at Hostel Isidoro's, when I was doing my dissertation. The staff is extremely friendly, always asking how things were going. If you need anything (busses, directions or help with your dissertation ;) , just ask and they try to help you as quick and good as possible! It is very close to the terminal and walking distance from the city center. Internet functions well, breakfast is included and they have a good and cheap laundry service. It is a really good value for your money!

Disliked: The use of the showers is somewhat complicated (as everywhere in Bolivia), but hot water does come out!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to bus station, helpful staff

Disliked: very cold rooms, shower did not have consistente hot water

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaela Gibbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2013 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent value-for-money hostel! It's located less than 5 minutes walk from the bus terminal and is only 10-15 minutes walk away from the main square. The owners and all staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful (and even helped us out with a heater when one of us got ill!). The rooms have a TV with cable in and are very spacious and clean. The beds are comfortable and are plenty warm enough despite La Paz being freezing! Hot water is available all day aswell. We felt very safe at all times here too. Would highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Michaela left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is near to the back door of the bus terminal which is good if you have a early bus to catch. The staff is very friendly and the facilities are clean

Disliked: it is a bit cold but i have been informed that the wheather in la paz is cold

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks for a great stay isidoros

Disliked: just a few members of the staff speak english

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked this place,clean rooms comfy bed and hot showers

Disliked: a bit cold

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right at the back door of the bus terminal. So great as you can walk there. Shower is hot. Beds are clean and warm.

Disliked: Our key opened another room. The hostel is so cold - it needs to ofer heaters to rent.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's ok for the money, next to the bus station and you can walk to la paz centre easily, the breakfast was like every breakfast in bolivia.

Disliked: no wifi on bedroom, they only have one computer for everybody

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

peter williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to main bus terminal. They went out and got some black tea, so I could have some with my breakfast :0)

Disliked: No hot water

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Left my luggage while travelling to Uyuni for a few days. It was kept away really safely. Rooms are nice and big. Staff helps and you meet great people!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cristian howard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 cristian would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms and bathrooms kept clean, staff super friendly and willing to help in every way, good wifi signal in the room, comfortable beds and clean linen, plus the location is close to the center about five six blocks of San Francisco, which is the center of the city and the good thing is that is close to the bus terminal.

Disliked: around the hostel are a little dirty, plus not all the staff speak English.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, superfriendly staff

Disliked: Showers are cold!! en breakfast minimal

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and it is near the bus station. Good Wi-Fi and hot showers. Great value for the money you pay

Disliked: Not all the staff speak english

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ernest lewandowsky

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 December 2012 ernest would recommend this property

Liked: Hot Shower and comfy bed. The staff is reliable and very friendly.

Disliked: A bit cold but it is La Paz


See all La Paz hostels