HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Isidoro's

Hostel | Cobija Street No. 120, La Paz, Bolivia -

76.8% Overall Rating

35 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

"Me quede en el hostal por una semana, muy buen trato por parte de los funcionarios, en especial del manager que nos dio muy buenos datos sobre la ciudad y nos ayudaba en lo que podia. Los cuartos limpios y las camas…"

Read all Hostal Isidoro's reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 21.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

The Adventure Brew B&B
7.53 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 327 reviews
hotel savoy
18.45 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.96 USD

Hostel 71.7% 19 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.91 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 159 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 15/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 15/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.8%

Overall Rating

35 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Isidoro's'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me quede en el hostal por una semana, muy buen trato por parte de los funcionarios, en especial del manager que nos dio muy buenos datos sobre la ciudad y nos ayudaba en lo que podia. Los cuartos limpios y las camas comodas. La ubicación es buena para tomar buses y tb esta cerca del centro turistico. El lugar es centrico y encuentras todos los productos basicos necesarios, es muy conveniente.

Disliked: Las calles de los alrededores son sucias pero en realidad percibi que toda la ciudad tiene una limpieza deficiente en sus calles

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2014

Liked: It is ideally located for those wanting to be close to the main bus terminal.

Disliked: A little too far from the centre of town, and the bathrooms were dirty and the showers not great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot Showers, Good Location, Comfortable Beds, Quite and Safe

Disliked: Just the owner speaks english

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a big room all for myself with hot shower and a big bed. The breakfast was ok and the staff makes you feel at home. Good value for money

Disliked: The streets are dirty but this is the case in almost all La Paz

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi signal, friendly and helpfull staff, nothing fancy but very clean with comfortable bed and hot shower

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina LaFontaine

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2014 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: The price is fair, it has a pretty good location because it is near to the bus station and near to the new highlight of the city the teleferico which has a spectacular view. The breakfast is normal and the staff is lovely

Disliked: Not all the staff speak english

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dino Norrman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Dino would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice. The bus station was close. The price was fair.

Disliked: Uphill from city center. Since walking uphill in La Paz is tough, you will have to take a taxi or mini bus every time. No elevator. Staff spoke only Spanish.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014

Liked: The only thing I liked was how close it was to the bus terminal. But there are other MUCH better choices near the by terminal like Pirwa or Adventure Brew!!

Disliked: My whole experience was bad with them. First off the staff didn't speak English (not so uncommon in South America and normally no a problem), and so I stammered away in Spanish and somehow we understood each other. The total to stay three nights was 250Bs but he tried charging me 1000Bs and when I refused he said that I would have to talk to the person working in the morning. I paid 200Bs and said I'd pay the other 50Bs later and he agreed finally. The hostel is very poorly lit and in terrible condition, and they stuffed me in the farthest darkest corner alone. The bathroom was horrendous. In fact the whole experience was like something out of a horror movie (think old hospital theme). I tried taking a shower and first it was freezing, then it electrocuted me. I literally spent that evening looking for a new hostel. I switched to adventure brew for 1 night and then to Pirwa for the other two nights. Glad I got my money back from isidoros, NEVER staying there again and I could not warn people strongly enough against staying there!!!!!!!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i went to this property because it was near to the bus station. It is very clean, and they make your bed every day . Toilet is also nice and clean. Breakfast is really good. There is a computer available for free and wi-fi in all the property. Also there are hot showers which is a good thing in South America. Great value for money

Disliked: I did not like the way the shower works but it seems to be the case in this country

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is just a block away from the bus station and 10 minute walk distance to the tourist center. The staff is great ,the rooms are big and with very comfy beds.

Disliked: Not all the staff speak english and that can be a little trouble.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014

Liked: Only good words to leave for this hostel are about the staff. There were friendly at all.

Disliked: The reason why this hostel has no pictures is simply, it is ugly at all. The hostel is very cold, the rooms are medium clean and very cold as well. The bathroom is not really welcoming. It is a huge hostel with more than 20 rooms. However, there is no real common area, only a small couch area at the reception desk for approx. 4 to 5 people. The breakfast is crap.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014

Liked: The staff were doing their best, I had to catch a flight very early the day I left and they prepared everything so that I could have my breakfast before leaving. They also gave me a double room instead of a single one so that I could feel good.

Disliked: The location is not very good, by night this area can be a bit dangerous if you are a girl and you are alone (as I was). I did not feel totally safe in the hostel either because it was impossible to close entirely the window (my window leaded on a corridor, inside the hostel) and anyone could open it from outside the room.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location close to main bus terminal

Disliked: spanish speaking less english capability to communicate

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and very helpful. They spoke english which is great since our spanish is poor. Conveniently located near the bus terminal, only 15 min walk from the downtown. It was very clean and the locked front door made it feel safe.

Disliked: They didn't clean the garbages in our room during our stay, but it is a hostel and not a hotel. Also, I'm sure they would have if we'd asked. The shower was tricky to operate in order to get hot water, but that seems to be the case throughout Bolivia

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff in this property is very polite and helpfull. Nice breakfast yogurt with fruits and a cup of coffee with bread. There are hot showers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I stayed so far in Bolivia , the beds are very comfortable and the facilities seem very clean. Nice Breakfast and the staff very reliable. Highly recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013

Liked: The owner of the hostel helped me talk with police and investigators after I was mugged in La Paz

Disliked: It´s difficult for me to recommend this place, I hope you can understand why. I couldn´t understand the English written instructions on how to get to the hostel so I decided to take a taxi... big mistake: I got mugged in the taxi, resulting in the loss of valuable possessions... I eventually found the place, but the staff showed sympathy. The location of the hostel is obviously not safe. Take care travelers!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Gilbert

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

25 November 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: i had a big and very clean room, Nice breakfast , warm shower and the staff always with a smile and trying to help. highly recommended

Disliked: location is not the best but is not a big problem

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is near to the bus station and 10 minutes walking distance to the tourist center, good breakfast and warm showers for Bolivia

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

lindsay upson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013

Liked: Location is close to the bus station.

Disliked: We stayed at the hostel for several days. Like most hostels, they have a "safety deposit box" where you can leave your bags when you go on other side trips for a couple days. We went to the front desk to ask about leaving our bags in the "safety deposit box" for 2 nights when we go to the Amazon for a trek. They said "OK" and took our things. We asked where they were going, and they told us not to worry about it and that they would lock it up for us. When we returned, they gave us our bags and everything seemed to be in place. We then went on another trip one day later for 2 nights to the Salt Flats. When we returned, they let us go to the "safety deposit box" to retrieve our things, and it turned out to be a KITCHEN!! They left our things in the kitchen and told us it was safe because there are only 3 workers who have access to that room...When I got my things back, my very valuable and expensive necklace was GONE! They left the box but took the necklace. When I went to complain, they acted very surprised, kept contact with me for several weeks, asked for me to send the box so they could get it fingerprinted, told me they "fired" an employee, but in the end were just telling me a bunch of things they wanted me to hear, but did not actually do anything about it. If you stay here, NEVER leave your things in the "safety deposit box" if you care about them! In addition, showers are only warm for 3 minutes at a time, then the heater turns off!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great property, Nice breakfast, the staff excelent they gave me all the information i needed. good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast, coffee, bread and eggs. Very nice and helpful staff, hot showers, wifi worked almost all the time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

brid mcshane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2013 brid would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful and friendly in all encounters and assisted with bookings through Spanish language when our skills were not up to challenge. Breakfast egg,bread,tea,fruit ad yoghurt was lovely. Lovely warm bedding. Warm showers. Very close to bus station, as website says no more than 70 steps

Disliked: No wifi. Could have been cleaner

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

evan tyrrell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013 evan would recommend this property

Liked: Decent hot shower especially for Bolivia standards, very close to bus terminal, wifi in rooms was good when working well.

Disliked: No kitchen, below average breakfast( couple bits of bread w jam and coffee), staff speak very little English so can be difficult for directions etc

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast (you can ask for a egg, too). Many, many blankets and soft mattresses.

Disliked: The location is close to the bus station, but the street is a bit scary


See all La Paz hostels