We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Bacoo Hostel

Hostel | Alto de la Alianza 693, La Paz, Bolivia 2591

81.7% Overall Rating

32 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2013)

emmanuelle davigne thinks…

"Just a few minute out of the main centre, nice panoramic view from the lounge and nice little garden Good atmosphere in the bar with music"

Read all Bacoo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.90
  • Towel USD 0.99

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Bash And Crash
5.52 USD

Hostel 74.6% 60 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.93 USD

Hostel 71.7% 19 reviews
Residencial Latino
10.04 USD

Hostel 85.0% 89 reviews
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.86 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 162 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Loki Backpackers La Paz
7.07 USD

Hostel 79.1% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

32 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bacoo Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

emmanuelle davigne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 emmanuelle would recommend this property

Liked: Just a few minute out of the main centre, nice panoramic view from the lounge and nice little garden Good atmosphere in the bar with music

Disliked: emmanuelle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente atencion y personal. El lugar es mucho mejor del que aparece en las fotos,

Disliked: Nada

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013

Liked: Nice and clean hostel.

Disliked: Be prepared to hear drum and bass coming from the bar till 6:30 in the morning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were brilliant and liked that the bar was communal to meet other travellers. beds were comfy and big

Disliked: I asked for a 6 bed dorm and the room was through a 8 bed dorm with shared bathroom for all 14 people so in fact was a 14 bed dorm! It did say on HB that had an oxygen bar whihc is no longer the case

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

allan lim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 allan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Staff, great atmosphere, awesome bar, cheep beers, excellent location

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Wrigley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

02 September 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and close to bus station. Nice bar with pingpong and pool. Not too loud and can get some sleep at night. Spa even though I didn't use it.

Disliked: Wish it could have had a seperate TV room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Louise Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012

Liked: There is decent food and nice fruit smoothies available to buy at the bar. There is a travel agent in reception.

Disliked: I booked a 6-bed dorm, they put me in a different room because they thought it was "better for me". The bathroom was dirty and the plug blocked so the room flooded when I used the shower. No heating in the bedroom so it was freezing. No plug sockets in the room either, and only two in the communal area. Smoking is allowed in the communal area, I could hardly manage to eat because I was gagging on the overwhelming stench of cigarette and marijuana smoke. I saw drug dealing openly being done in the communal area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Martinez

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 June 2012 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel!

Disliked: Nothing in particular

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012

Liked: Staff were very friendly & helpful! Good Location

Disliked: This property is extremly run down, and breakfast is terrible - there is no real point on going. We had a private room with private bathroom, and had to leave early due to the extremly gross smell of mould in the bathroom. It was so bad we were unable to use the bathroom, as we were almost vommiting at the smell when walking in. The staff tried to help as much as they could, and were very understanding with this. The front gate was often left open (which was a little concerning).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Melanie Grose

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012

Liked: Big clean beds, front desk staff were nice

Disliked: Location isnt great, 15 minute walk uphill to everything. bathrooms always stunk & dirty. there's nowhere to get dressed or even hang your towel in the showers. Breakfast was terrible. Common area is only the bar where everyone smokes inside. bar staff had no idea & you wouldn't even know they worked there. Nowhere to charge appliances.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were nice and comfortable and the showers were hot.

Disliked: The shower and toilet block was outside, so could be quite cold between the showers and the room or the toilets and the room. There were very few power points (aka outlets) in our dorm. In fact, we only had 1 powerpoint in the 8 bed dorm. They had power points in each of the lockers, but unfortunately they didn´t work. I´m sure it was a one off, but we also had a mouse in our dorm.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar area was good with a good variety of food. Good wifi and a pool table. The beds were comfortable and the dorms were clean.

Disliked: I booked a 6 bed dorm and was put into a 4 bed dorm and was charged for a 4 bed dorm without them asking if this was okay. You have to go outside to get to the toilets and showers and most of them were broken. I do not think that the toilet bins were emptied in the two days that I stayed there. They also lost my laundry and seemed convinced that I had picked it up. They luckily found it about 30 seconds before I left for the airport at 4am!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Prescott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff. Great communal room with pool table and ping pong, and even a hot tub. It's a quiet hostel, not a party hostel like Wild Rover up the road, but it's user-friendly and nice.

Disliked: nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi in common room is pretty reliable. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Not insane like Wild Rover but still able to meet good people. Shower was hot and strong. Good bedding.

Disliked: Top bunks are quite a difficult climb. Overall, a bit run down. Cleaning is not frequent enough. Common room is chilly.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: party hostel. big dorms. helpful staff.

Disliked: spa isnt free all the time. pretty loud.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

emma overton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 emma would recommend this property

Liked: excellent friendly and very helpful staff i recieved a warm welcome, good location walkable distance to the bus station. free wifi.

Disliked: just a bit cold at nigth.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012

Liked: The hostel has a nice vibe and the staff is nice.

Disliked: There is a continuous smell of strong cleaning detergent in all the bathrooms and bedrooms to mask to obvious mold issue they are having. If you order a mojito, you will get some alcohol with mint but no lime and with flat sparkling water instead of sprite. The travel agent lady on site is rude and prefers to chat on facebook or her cell. The computers are unreliable and rarely there are chairs to sit on. Overall, cleanliness is the biggest issue.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorna Brickman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff when wanting to change dates of stay

Disliked: Lorna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorna Brickman

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: This is the 2nd time i have stayed at Bacoo. It is a fantastic hostel, close to the city centre, great facilities (including a free jacuzzi on certain days), staff are really lovely and helpful.

Disliked: Lorna left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice food at the bar, great garden area, comfortable beds.

Disliked: Showers weren't hot most of the time. Some of the staff were very helpful, but there were a couple who didn't seem to know what was going on. On two occassions we talked to someone about extending our stay, or moving into a private room but he never put through our booking or passed this on to anyone else. Also they don't seem to respond to emails sent to either of the addresses listed on hostelbookers...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergii Kozak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Sergii would recommend this property

Liked: Very positive and friendly attitude, nice people, good location.

Disliked: None

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Helpful and Friendly Staff. Comfortable Beds.

Disliked: Lockers are located all the ways downstairs. 3 working toilets for 75 guests. Showers were only luke warm and the whole shower area stunk of terrible mildew.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wong Sow Moy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Wong would recommend this property

Liked: Good locations, its near the bus terminal and the shopping areas. There is a tour desk that we can buy bus tickets and book tours making lifes easier. There were kind enough not to penalise us for our delay in staying in the hotel, we were one day late as schedule.

Disliked: We booked a twin bed room but the twin bed is vertical not horizontal so one have to climb up to sleep. Toilet is a bit far and its so cold to go there at night and have to walk through the garden in the open air, through chiily winds and rain sometimes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sofia Hellblom Kardouni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: Such a lovely staff! Helpful, pacient and funny. There are safety lockers in the reception but I kept my valuble things visible in my room most of the time and I felt all safte and secure. The hostel is located close to the main street and main square and the staff were very helpful when it came to marking out good restaurants, shops and just giving me tips about the city.

Disliked: The smell in the rooms. It smelled like paint/cleaning products which made us sleep with the door open in order to get some fresh air. Some people complained about mould in the showers- which I didn't notice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chay Ying Kong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 December 2011 Chay Ying would recommend this property

Liked: The couple of female staff at reception were extremely friendly and lovely! I had a few phone calls while staying there and they would always run for me and never showed any displeasure despite being out of breath (at 3,800m or so!). They were always smiley, helpful and provide me with advice on everything in La Paz, help me practise my Spanish, etc. The toilets were also quite clean. I stayed few nights in the 4 bed dorms, and a night in the 8 bed female dorm ensuite. The female dorm's bathroom is awesome! You even get shelves to put your toiletries, and it's very clean. Oh, the best part about this hostel is the bed are so comfortable and huge! It's like a super single (1.5 times the usual width)! The daily morning serving of coca leaves is excellent for people who just arrived in the city! There are also a good mix of travellers, but this is definitely NOT a party hostel (which I like but may not fit many travellers' bill!) although sometimes there are groups of people looking for others to go party together after the bar closes.

Disliked: There are very very few power point in each dormitory, hence we are always fighting for them. There are only 3 power point in the huge common room. The kitchen serves pretty good food (I had the mama style soup with noodles, and Bacoo pizza another night) but takes VERY long to prepare. If you order dinner, be prepared to wait an hour for the food, even though there are hardly anyone around! Also, this hostel is slightly further from the main stretch of hostels and markets, but is still pretty near central (it is more between the touristic street and the main bus terminal). In the morning, breakfast is officially served at 7.30am but as with all things Bolivian, do not depend on this timing. I did not like that the common room is also locked until breakfast is ready as I was waking up really early (jetlag!) and needed a place to do my Spanish homework! One night, a drunk traveller also broke open my lock (which is at the reception area) and the male receptionist bang on our dorm door at 6am to ask me to go check if any of my stuff were taken. Very strange indeed!


See all La Paz hostels