We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sol Andino

Guesthouse | Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 591

86.9% Overall Rating

166 out of 175 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2015)

"This hostel was fantastic! lovely warm and decent/clean showers. one of the best breakfasts with fruit, cereal, yoghurt, egg, bread, good coffee. The staff were friendly."

Read all Hostal Sol Andino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Las Brisas
19.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.5% 135 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.96 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Naira
29.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.96 USD

Hostel 72.6% 26 reviews
Bash And Crash
4.26 USD

Hostel 71.0% 64 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.68 USD

Hostel 80.3% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

166 out of 175 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol Andino'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 172 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic! lovely warm and decent/clean showers. one of the best breakfasts with fruit, cereal, yoghurt, egg, bread, good coffee. The staff were friendly.

Disliked: Is really nice place, would be nice to have a common area to relax in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Earl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2015 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and arranged laundry for us. We arrived early from a night bus and they were quick to get the room ready for us and even let us have breakfast whilst we waited. The location was good and central to everywhere we wanted to go. The rooms were clean with plenty of space and an ensuite bathroom with hot shower! Very nice after 3 days on the salt flats.

Disliked: They charge $3 for a heater, per night. Wasn't really an issue though as the room was warm enough and there were plenty of blankets on the bed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Constanza Medina

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2015 Constanza would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and warm rooms. Breakfast was good (fresh fruit: pineapple, papaya and banana, quinua, bread, butter and mermelade, scramble or sunny side up eggs, tea and coffee). Walkable distance to the main attractions of La Paz.

Disliked: The travel agency at front desk is not very useful. They seem to be associated to certain opperators and might not recommend you the best option.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ashlea Wheeler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015 Ashlea would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the witches market, only a 10 minute walk to the main tourist areas of town. Rooms are a little cold, but you can grab a heater from reception. Bed was comfortable and room fairly spacious. Nearby tour agency has a permanent travel agent in the reception which was super handy for booking our tours to Uyuni and Death Road.

Disliked: The drain in our bathroom smelled quite bad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Anna King

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2015 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, lovely roof terraces, good breakfast, helpful staff, lovely hot showers.

Disliked: It is a bit expensive.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, nice staff, clean

Disliked: No cons for this price

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near witches market and San Francisco Church, internet decent for Bolivia

Disliked: I booked an airport transfer with Julius tours (travel agency in lobby) for 2am, my transport never showed up and after 25 minutes the night staff had to call another taxi... they paid for cost and was going to recover it from Julius, but beware if you are short on time. Breakfast staff seemed overwhelmed, constantly out of items... like bread and utinsels and when I asked for 2 eggs she gave me one... yet gave other people multiple.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Surprisingly good and hot shower and very nice staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BERNADETTE TEO

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2014 BERNADETTE would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like a hotel! Nice breakfast. Fast wifi

Disliked: Thin curtains.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chelsea Frazier

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2014 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean (rooms cleaned every day, new towels daily). Very friendly staff and super helpful travel agent that helped us book several activities/tours/flights.

Disliked: Chelsea left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms were comfortable and clean and a decent size. The night staff were very accommodating - I was ill during my stay due to picking up something in Peru and they helped organise room service and even got the chef to cook special food.

Disliked: Feels more like a hotel than a hostel. There were no heaters available whilst we stayed there but there were a lot of blankets on the beds. Lack of accessible power points in rooms. The day staff were less friendly.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Lucas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2014 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Great private rooms with prices par with the country.

Disliked: Stairs can be a challenge after a day of exploring near 4000m elevation. Suck it up! ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful friendly staff, good location, hot showers, really clean, characterful rooms, awesome roof terrace

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good buffet breakfast, the room is clean and big (matrimonial room) and the location is excellent (in the middle of town, 10 minute walk from the bus station)

Disliked: There wasn't hot water in our shower (on the third floor) because of a broken pump, we had to use the common bathroom on the first floor which had excellent hot water.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tyler Lucas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2014 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Close to markets.

Disliked: Some toilets don't flush well. Y'know, like the rest of Bolivia.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, we asked for a quiet room down the back. Helpful staff, looked after our bags whilst we went to Amazon and even served us breakfast at 4.45am before we got our flight.

Disliked: Cold at night, but we were here in the middle of winter, I think few hostels have heating.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014

Liked: Helpful booking tour

Disliked: No atmosphere. Lacked a decent common room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice double room. Clean and pleasant. Good breakfast too.

Disliked: Slight lack of atmosphere. Lock on our door also broke which was not ideal but able to keep valuables in their safe.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: roof terrace, breakfast, large rooms

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tracey Bacic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good breakfast, safe in room, friendly staff.

Disliked: The fact that we had to choose between a room facing onto the street, which was noisy, or a room at the back where the TV's didn't work. (General problem with reception at the back of the building). Why offer cable TV as a service if it's not available?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Rukavichnikov

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Чисто, удобно, отличный завтрак.

Disliked: Очень пахнет химикатами после уборки на нижних этажах, плохая вентиляция?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Rukavichnikov

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Уютно, чисто, спокойно. На верхних этажах- отличный вид из окна, но душ очень простой, на нижних этажах- ванная комната удобнее, но вид из окна никакой. Хороший завтрак, предупредительный персонал.

Disliked: На нижних этажах плоховата вентиляция, очень пахнет всякими дезинфектантами после уборки комнат.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, the place was very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Early check-in; big room

Disliked: The room was cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Martin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double private room with ensuite. We found it to be spacious and clean. The hostel had good wi-fi coverage and continental breakfast with a great selection of foods.

Disliked: Our room was located on the sixth floor with no lift facilities available. Normally this would not be a problem but with the high altitude we found it challenging.


See all La Paz hostels