HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sol Andino

Guesthouse | Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 591

85.4% Overall Rating

138 out of 146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Petr Rukavichnikov thinks…

"Уютно, чисто, спокойно. На верхних этажах- отличный вид из окна, но душ очень простой, на нижних этажах- ванная комната удобнее, но вид из окна никакой. Хороший завтрак, предупредительный персонал."

Read all Hostal Sol Andino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Estrella Andina
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 127 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 72 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.36 USD

Hostel 68.6% 13 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.51 USD

Hostel 76.3% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

138 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol Andino'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 143 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Rukavichnikov

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Чисто, удобно, отличный завтрак.

Disliked: Очень пахнет химикатами после уборки на нижних этажах, плохая вентиляция?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Rukavichnikov

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Уютно, чисто, спокойно. На верхних этажах- отличный вид из окна, но душ очень простой, на нижних этажах- ванная комната удобнее, но вид из окна никакой. Хороший завтрак, предупредительный персонал.

Disliked: На нижних этажах плоховата вентиляция, очень пахнет всякими дезинфектантами после уборки комнат.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, the place was very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Early check-in; big room

Disliked: The room was cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Martin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double private room with ensuite. We found it to be spacious and clean. The hostel had good wi-fi coverage and continental breakfast with a great selection of foods.

Disliked: Our room was located on the sixth floor with no lift facilities available. Normally this would not be a problem but with the high altitude we found it challenging.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bonnie Chu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2013

Liked: It's conveniently located near a shopping alley and close to sacamarca street, the main strip for tourists. breakfast included papya which is a nice break from bread.

Disliked: the electrical outlets didn't work well, the staff does not speak any english except for the agency that runs tours but they are not very knowledgeable about various options. they can only suggest tours they sell. the rooms are EXTREMELY cold as the hostel does not have heat. this is a problem when it's blow freezing out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very comfortable and had cable tv and hot water when showering.

Disliked: Very slow wifi

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The is one of the cleanest hostels we have ever stayed in, you can even smell the polish after they have cleaned your room. The rooms are a good size and the showers are by far the best in South America, proper pressure and very hot - heaven! The staff mostly speak English and are very friendly without being pushy. They booked a taxi for us for an early flight and were there to let us out at 4am and they ordered pizza for us when we wanted to stay in. It was so good we came back for another stay.

Disliked: If you're looking for a social hostel, this isn't for you.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was beautiful and well kept. It was close enough to the tourist points.

Disliked: There was absolutely no community. There was no common space. You can't get to know people. There weren't advertisements that weren't for the travel agency.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013

Liked: Warm showers, clean rooms.

Disliked: Cold rooms, but heaters cost extra. Many of the staff do not speak English at all, making it difficult to communicate. The lady manager had a bad attitude and did not smile or offer good customer service. We originally planned to stay one night, then extended to two. She said that we could only get a discount if we extended two more nights (i.e., three nights total). However, when we did extend one more night, they did not honor this. Instead, they insisted that they had already given us a 10% 'discount' the first night, which was in fact the booking fee through HostelBookers, which we obviously paid for. Also, the first day we inadvertently missed breakfast (our fault for waking up late), but asked the manager if we could get juice or something to drink. She flatly declined despite the fact that there was still hot water and coffee and tea laid out on the table. We do not recommend staying here and dealing with the inflexible staff at this hostal.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Irina Lebedeva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2013 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly stuff, enough space in the room for all my hiking luggage, they let me check in at 7 AM free of charge and let me have breakfast on the check-in day.

Disliked: Very cold, but was ok after having the heater on for half day. No hot water in the sink, only in the shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Chris Wright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff and great location - close to Sagarnaga street and Central La Paz. We were impressed with the breakfasts too. Cleanliness of rooms was another plus with towels changed daily.

Disliked: We found that it was expensive relative to similar places that we've stayed in Bolivia. Although accommodation in La Paz seems to be generally more expensive than the rest of Bolivia.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice hot showers, helpful staff.

Disliked: A touch noisy at times.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Lane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great showers, really hot and lots of water pressure. Warm, comfy beds too. Breakfast was awesome, one of the best we've had in Bolivia- fruit, cereal, yoghurt, bread, jam, dulce de leche, coffee and tea!

Disliked: We were told breakfast was at 7 and we were getting picked up at 7.30am to go to Copacabana but there was still no sign of it, a little disappointing when we had a long bus trip ahead of us and were hungry!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pierre Michaux

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: Très bien située, en haut de la rue commerçante dans le vieux centre. Nombreux restos et snacks dans les environs. Chambres hyper spacieuses et très propres. Douches chaudes et avec pression. Petit déjeuner royal, je mâche mes mots!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Rooms are big and comfortable. 24hours hot water and a nice breakfast. You can leave your luggage for a few days at their a luggage room if you want to do a longer tour (foe example to Rurrenabaque).

Disliked: The wifi doesn't work very well. Also it's more like a hotel and not a hostel (no common area, kitchen eg.)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Steve Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff and really nice travel desk team.

Disliked: Lacking in character so didn't meet many other travellers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean rooms, great breakfast, great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ric Wolfenden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Ric would recommend this property

Liked: Clean as a whistle, good service, relaxing atmosphere.

Disliked: The room was very bright at night and there was a lot of street and hotel noise which was disruptive at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sam Roberton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: This was the third time we stayed here -- we did look at other places, but each time we came back to La Paz we ended up here. The rooms are comfortable, showers nice and hot, staff friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is quite reasonable, and the option of paying a little extra for bacon and eggs was one we took great advantage of every morning!

Disliked: It seemed a little more expensive than we would ideally have liked, but we didn't see any cheaper options that looked nearly as good. The wifi is a little slow and unreliable, but that's true of every hotel, hostel and cafe we found in Bolivia: it was no worse here than anywhere else, and was better than a lot of places.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Glenn

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well-run; good beds; hot water; and good value

Disliked: Street noise

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: While it´s more of a hotel than a hostel, our stay at Sol Andino was very pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room on the 5th floor had a great view and was cleaned daily and the breakfast was better than the South American standard of boring bread, butter and jam, especially if you ordered the eggs on top of the buffet.

Disliked: No real common area, the tour agency seems more expensive than others in town and walking up to the 5th floor gets old rather fast.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cable tv in room, hot water in shower, ok breakfast, theres a tour company downstairs if you need it

Disliked: Very cold even for La Paz, our room was really dark, its really hard to meet anybody without common areas, the security was questionable with the front door always unlocked


See all La Paz hostels