HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sol Andino

Guesthouse | Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 591

84.3% Overall Rating

145 out of 154 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/08/2014)

"Good buffet breakfast, the room is clean and big (matrimonial room) and the location is excellent (in the middle of town, 10 minute walk from the bus station)"

Read all Hostal Sol Andino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 87.7% 132 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.90 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.93 USD

Hostel 71.7% 19 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.52 USD

Hostel 73.6% 59 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

145 out of 154 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol Andino'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 132 of 151 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good buffet breakfast, the room is clean and big (matrimonial room) and the location is excellent (in the middle of town, 10 minute walk from the bus station)

Disliked: There wasn't hot water in our shower (on the third floor) because of a broken pump, we had to use the common bathroom on the first floor which had excellent hot water.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tyler Lucas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2014 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Close to markets.

Disliked: Some toilets don't flush well. Y'know, like the rest of Bolivia.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, we asked for a quiet room down the back. Helpful staff, looked after our bags whilst we went to Amazon and even served us breakfast at 4.45am before we got our flight.

Disliked: Cold at night, but we were here in the middle of winter, I think few hostels have heating.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014

Liked: Helpful booking tour

Disliked: No atmosphere. Lacked a decent common room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice double room. Clean and pleasant. Good breakfast too.

Disliked: Slight lack of atmosphere. Lock on our door also broke which was not ideal but able to keep valuables in their safe.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: roof terrace, breakfast, large rooms

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tracey Bacic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good breakfast, safe in room, friendly staff.

Disliked: The fact that we had to choose between a room facing onto the street, which was noisy, or a room at the back where the TV's didn't work. (General problem with reception at the back of the building). Why offer cable TV as a service if it's not available?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Rukavichnikov

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Чисто, удобно, отличный завтрак.

Disliked: Очень пахнет химикатами после уборки на нижних этажах, плохая вентиляция?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Rukavichnikov

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Уютно, чисто, спокойно. На верхних этажах- отличный вид из окна, но душ очень простой, на нижних этажах- ванная комната удобнее, но вид из окна никакой. Хороший завтрак, предупредительный персонал.

Disliked: На нижних этажах плоховата вентиляция, очень пахнет всякими дезинфектантами после уборки комнат.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, the place was very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Early check-in; big room

Disliked: The room was cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Martin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double private room with ensuite. We found it to be spacious and clean. The hostel had good wi-fi coverage and continental breakfast with a great selection of foods.

Disliked: Our room was located on the sixth floor with no lift facilities available. Normally this would not be a problem but with the high altitude we found it challenging.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bonnie Chu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2013

Liked: It's conveniently located near a shopping alley and close to sacamarca street, the main strip for tourists. breakfast included papya which is a nice break from bread.

Disliked: the electrical outlets didn't work well, the staff does not speak any english except for the agency that runs tours but they are not very knowledgeable about various options. they can only suggest tours they sell. the rooms are EXTREMELY cold as the hostel does not have heat. this is a problem when it's blow freezing out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very comfortable and had cable tv and hot water when showering.

Disliked: Very slow wifi

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The is one of the cleanest hostels we have ever stayed in, you can even smell the polish after they have cleaned your room. The rooms are a good size and the showers are by far the best in South America, proper pressure and very hot - heaven! The staff mostly speak English and are very friendly without being pushy. They booked a taxi for us for an early flight and were there to let us out at 4am and they ordered pizza for us when we wanted to stay in. It was so good we came back for another stay.

Disliked: If you're looking for a social hostel, this isn't for you.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was beautiful and well kept. It was close enough to the tourist points.

Disliked: There was absolutely no community. There was no common space. You can't get to know people. There weren't advertisements that weren't for the travel agency.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013

Liked: Warm showers, clean rooms.

Disliked: Cold rooms, but heaters cost extra. Many of the staff do not speak English at all, making it difficult to communicate. The lady manager had a bad attitude and did not smile or offer good customer service. We originally planned to stay one night, then extended to two. She said that we could only get a discount if we extended two more nights (i.e., three nights total). However, when we did extend one more night, they did not honor this. Instead, they insisted that they had already given us a 10% 'discount' the first night, which was in fact the booking fee through HostelBookers, which we obviously paid for. Also, the first day we inadvertently missed breakfast (our fault for waking up late), but asked the manager if we could get juice or something to drink. She flatly declined despite the fact that there was still hot water and coffee and tea laid out on the table. We do not recommend staying here and dealing with the inflexible staff at this hostal.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Irina Lebedeva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2013 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly stuff, enough space in the room for all my hiking luggage, they let me check in at 7 AM free of charge and let me have breakfast on the check-in day.

Disliked: Very cold, but was ok after having the heater on for half day. No hot water in the sink, only in the shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Chris Wright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff and great location - close to Sagarnaga street and Central La Paz. We were impressed with the breakfasts too. Cleanliness of rooms was another plus with towels changed daily.

Disliked: We found that it was expensive relative to similar places that we've stayed in Bolivia. Although accommodation in La Paz seems to be generally more expensive than the rest of Bolivia.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice hot showers, helpful staff.

Disliked: A touch noisy at times.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Lane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great showers, really hot and lots of water pressure. Warm, comfy beds too. Breakfast was awesome, one of the best we've had in Bolivia- fruit, cereal, yoghurt, bread, jam, dulce de leche, coffee and tea!

Disliked: We were told breakfast was at 7 and we were getting picked up at 7.30am to go to Copacabana but there was still no sign of it, a little disappointing when we had a long bus trip ahead of us and were hungry!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pierre Michaux

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: Très bien située, en haut de la rue commerçante dans le vieux centre. Nombreux restos et snacks dans les environs. Chambres hyper spacieuses et très propres. Douches chaudes et avec pression. Petit déjeuner royal, je mâche mes mots!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Rooms are big and comfortable. 24hours hot water and a nice breakfast. You can leave your luggage for a few days at their a luggage room if you want to do a longer tour (foe example to Rurrenabaque).

Disliked: The wifi doesn't work very well. Also it's more like a hotel and not a hostel (no common area, kitchen eg.)


See all La Paz hostels