We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sol Andino

Guesthouse | Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 591

84.7% Overall Rating

153 out of 162 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/10/2014)

Chelsea Frazier thinks…

"Very clean (rooms cleaned every day, new towels daily). Very friendly staff and super helpful travel agent that helped us book several activities/tours/flights."

Read all Hostal Sol Andino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.93 USD

Hostel 71.7% 19 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.52 USD

Hostel 74.6% 60 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

153 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol Andino'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 159 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely breakfast, really great location, staff are lovely and try really hard, rooms are huge with a real double(!) bed and private en suite with hot water all day every day. There are three nice roof terraces with cool views of la Paz.

Disliked: The only very minor complaint/slightly odd thing is that even though the bed was a double, all sheets were single, so either I was covered or my boyfriend was! Still, just borrowed a sheet and made do, so not a big deal :) Just be aware also, la Paz is cold, and there is no central heating, so rooms are frosty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, ALL the staff are so friendly and polite, good location and clean rooms

Disliked: Only a minor thing...but rooms have no heating, sleeping is fine because you have many blankets but room in general was cold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast buffet with fruits and cereals. Great big rooms that were always cleaned perfectly. Heater available which is nice since it is always rather cold in LaPaz. Would definitely stay there again as it is very good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Very clean, fresh towles every day.

Disliked: Having to walk up to the sixth floor every day, especially at altitude! Other than that no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil Hodgson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre of town, excellent hot showers, WIFI, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast, friendly staff, cable TV in the room. One of the nicest places I have stayed and great value for money.

Disliked: Phil left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Goodall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and had a great breakfast. very central some nice resturants near by. had cable tv

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alicia Estela Gómez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012 Alicia Estela would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buena ambientacion con hermosos murales. Pertenece a un grupo de tres hoteles que se encuentran muy cerca uno de otro.

Disliked: Tener que subir por escalera dos pisos las maletas. No es facil porque la altura de la ciudad de La Paz hace que uno se agite y se quede sin aire muy facilmente.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms with ensuits and tvs. Lovely hot showers. We arrived from a bus trip at 6.30am, and we were able to be in our rooms by 8am! The breakfast is fabulous - fresh juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, mate, yogurt, fruit, cereal, toast...

Disliked: Wifi not so great on the higher levels

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Basheer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012

Liked: Large rooms, nice hot showers, free-wifi, great location in La Paz center, basic breakfast included - bread, jam, cereal & fruit. very good value.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, free mate, decent breakfast, nice big room, and hot water all day.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Pretty rooms. Very quiet.

Disliked: Sometimes the showers were cold. If you're looking to socialize, this is not the place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xiaoxiao feng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 xiaoxiao would recommend this property

Liked: lovely and clean. great strong shower. Just footstetps away from a small dairy for water etc. witches market is 2 min walk and travel agencies everywhere.

Disliked: xiaoxiao left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, hot showers, wifi, a surprisingly big breakfast buffet :) The staff was helpful and friendly. We'd definitely stay here again, or recommend it to people visiting La Paz!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big room comfortable bed cable tv hot shower great breakfast great location, this is the area to stay in in La Paz! very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: probably not the best place to meet other travellers but I only stayed one night

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast and nice big bedrooms, wifi was handy.

Disliked: Felt a bit more like an old 70's hotel than a hostel, no common area so no opportunity to meet other travellers. Staff weren't all that nice/helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What I needed was a quiet, good night's sleep and that's what I got.

Disliked: It's in a popular but very dirty neighborhood.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very nice, beds are super comfy, and the breakfast is pretty decent. Fruit, yogurt, cereal, bread with dulce de leche, coffee and tea. I would stay here again.

Disliked: I tried to take a shower in the evening and the water was like ice.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011

Liked: Private bathrooms

Disliked: Staff lied to us - we specifically asked for a room on a lower floor since we had a lot of luggage. But we were given a room on the 5th floor. When when we complained about no hot water in the bathroom, they offered to move us to the 1st floor. Wi-fi only in lobby and 1st floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent, Nice cotton bed sheets, Clean, Hot Shower, Didnt need a heater as room was warm enough.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hans-Juergen Zemke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Hans-Juergen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, clean and good beds. Nice terrace with an overview of La Paz.

Disliked: Breakfast very basic. Brakfast room cold.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dearna Brinnand

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011 Dearna would recommend this property

Liked: I believe the Hostel is good for Bolivia. It certainly was clean, the shower had hot water everytime I used it. The room was big, the beds comfy and warm. There was tea available 24 hrs, no kitchen facilities, though this was not a problem for me. It is close to all you need, yet quiet. The staff have been friendly and helpful. I had wifi in my room on the second floor. Breakfast is better than most hostels, though doesn't serve before 7am.

Disliked: Nothing, it was as described on Hostelbookers so I was aware there was no kitchen facilities.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My girlfriend and I had an excellent stay at this hostel. We didnt have much time to spare, so We hired all tours from the hostel front desk and it worked perfectly. We stayed in a private room, very confortable, clean and safe.

Disliked: Nothing. It is important to mention that this is not a party hostel, so there were no social areas, but we were aware of this. Our room was in the last floor so it was a hard climb up the stairs, but no problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think it was the best Hostel i have been in Bolivia. It's not that cheap but it's very clean, breakfast is a good buffet and during my stay in Rurre my big backpack stayed in the Hostel.

Disliked: If you have a room in an upper storey the wifi won't work.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gordon Pittendrigh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Gordon would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irina Lebedeva

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2011 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room, hot water any time, comfortable bed, very nice and helpful staff, location. Просторные комнаты, горячая вода в любое время, удобные кровати, любезный персонал, месторасположение.

Disliked: It's pretty cold in the rooms but I only spent nights there and the blankets were warm. There was also an opportunity to have a heater for an extra charge. В комнатах довольно холодно, но я проводила там только ночи и одеяла были достаточно теплые. При необходимости можно попросить обогреватель за отдельную плату.


See all La Paz hostels