HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sol Andino

Guesthouse | Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 591

85.4% Overall Rating

138 out of 146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Petr Rukavichnikov thinks…

"Уютно, чисто, спокойно. На верхних этажах- отличный вид из окна, но душ очень простой, на нижних этажах- ванная комната удобнее, но вид из окна никакой. Хороший завтрак, предупредительный персонал."

Read all Hostal Sol Andino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Estrella Andina
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 127 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 72 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.36 USD

Hostel 68.6% 13 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.51 USD

Hostel 76.3% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

138 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol Andino'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 143 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xiaoxiao feng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 xiaoxiao would recommend this property

Liked: lovely and clean. great strong shower. Just footstetps away from a small dairy for water etc. witches market is 2 min walk and travel agencies everywhere.

Disliked: xiaoxiao left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, hot showers, wifi, a surprisingly big breakfast buffet :) The staff was helpful and friendly. We'd definitely stay here again, or recommend it to people visiting La Paz!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big room comfortable bed cable tv hot shower great breakfast great location, this is the area to stay in in La Paz! very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: probably not the best place to meet other travellers but I only stayed one night

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast and nice big bedrooms, wifi was handy.

Disliked: Felt a bit more like an old 70's hotel than a hostel, no common area so no opportunity to meet other travellers. Staff weren't all that nice/helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What I needed was a quiet, good night's sleep and that's what I got.

Disliked: It's in a popular but very dirty neighborhood.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very nice, beds are super comfy, and the breakfast is pretty decent. Fruit, yogurt, cereal, bread with dulce de leche, coffee and tea. I would stay here again.

Disliked: I tried to take a shower in the evening and the water was like ice.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011

Liked: Private bathrooms

Disliked: Staff lied to us - we specifically asked for a room on a lower floor since we had a lot of luggage. But we were given a room on the 5th floor. When when we complained about no hot water in the bathroom, they offered to move us to the 1st floor. Wi-fi only in lobby and 1st floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent, Nice cotton bed sheets, Clean, Hot Shower, Didnt need a heater as room was warm enough.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hans-Juergen Zemke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Hans-Juergen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, clean and good beds. Nice terrace with an overview of La Paz.

Disliked: Breakfast very basic. Brakfast room cold.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dearna Brinnand

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011 Dearna would recommend this property

Liked: I believe the Hostel is good for Bolivia. It certainly was clean, the shower had hot water everytime I used it. The room was big, the beds comfy and warm. There was tea available 24 hrs, no kitchen facilities, though this was not a problem for me. It is close to all you need, yet quiet. The staff have been friendly and helpful. I had wifi in my room on the second floor. Breakfast is better than most hostels, though doesn't serve before 7am.

Disliked: Nothing, it was as described on Hostelbookers so I was aware there was no kitchen facilities.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My girlfriend and I had an excellent stay at this hostel. We didnt have much time to spare, so We hired all tours from the hostel front desk and it worked perfectly. We stayed in a private room, very confortable, clean and safe.

Disliked: Nothing. It is important to mention that this is not a party hostel, so there were no social areas, but we were aware of this. Our room was in the last floor so it was a hard climb up the stairs, but no problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think it was the best Hostel i have been in Bolivia. It's not that cheap but it's very clean, breakfast is a good buffet and during my stay in Rurre my big backpack stayed in the Hostel.

Disliked: If you have a room in an upper storey the wifi won't work.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gordon Pittendrigh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Gordon would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irina Lebedeva

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2011 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room, hot water any time, comfortable bed, very nice and helpful staff, location. Просторные комнаты, горячая вода в любое время, удобные кровати, любезный персонал, месторасположение.

Disliked: It's pretty cold in the rooms but I only spent nights there and the blankets were warm. There was also an opportunity to have a heater for an extra charge. В комнатах довольно холодно, но я проводила там только ночи и одеяла были достаточно теплые. При необходимости можно попросить обогреватель за отдельную плату.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot shower. Clean Room. Great Location. Good breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More a hotel than a hostel

Disliked: No many information on what to do in La Paz, need to go to the tavel agency next door Not a good place to meet other travellers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: met all requirments

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amandeep Samrai

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011 Amandeep would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good breakfast, really helpful staff, clean, comfortable beds, hot showers, tv in room and at a decent price. We were also able to leave our luggage for 5 days, and it was kept securely and we able to use the internet whilst waiting for our bus.

Disliked: Would have been nice if there was a guest kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was close to everything and great value for money. Shower was a bit unpredictable going from hot to cold intermittently, but luck that there's hot water all day!!!

Disliked: There are no card facilities.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cian Mac Neill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Cian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, quiet hostel - almost like a hotel, located right in toursit area so good for getting around

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanna Bogen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: The water was HOT, which was a huge relief after coming from hostels with cold water. We had a clean room with comfy beds, and there was even a tv in the room. The location of the hostel was great...withing easy walking distance of all the major attractions we were wanting to see in La Paz, but on a side street so it wasn´t too noisy.

Disliked: There was only one computer for internet and it didn´t always work. If this happened, you could walk around the block to the sister hotel that had 4 computers. Still, the internet was fast when it was working.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really nice. Breakfast was great and the rooms are brilliant. Beds and rooms get made and cleaned everyday. It's more of a hotel than a hostel really. Pretty fast free wi-fi in your room as well. Location is right near restaurants and the witches market.

Disliked: Probably not the best place to meet other travellers. There isn't a common area but we were travelling as a couple so it didn't bother us too much. Definitely not a party hostel but we weren't looking for this also.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is the best value for money we have found in S America after 3 months of travel. We stayed in a 3 star hotel nearby as arranged by a tour and was about half the room size of sol andino. Being off the main street makes it very quiet so we slept very well, especially with the very comfortable bed. The buffet breakfast was also a very welcome treat and one of the best! Highly recomended.

Disliked: Nothing it was great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the Witches Market Wi-fi availability Buffet breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, and great value for money. We managed to get a private room for less than dorms cost else where.

Disliked: nothing


See all La Paz hostels