HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sol Andino

Guesthouse | Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 591

83.9% Overall Rating

143 out of 152 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2014)

"Great location, we asked for a quiet room down the back. Helpful staff, looked after our bags whilst we went to Amazon and even served us breakfast at 4.45am before we got our flight."

Read all Hostal Sol Andino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 87.7% 131 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 72 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.94 USD

Hostel 69.7% 17 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.53 USD

Hostel 73.6% 57 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

143 out of 152 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol Andino'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 131 of 149 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Goodall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and had a great breakfast. very central some nice resturants near by. had cable tv

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alicia Estela Gómez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012 Alicia Estela would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buena ambientacion con hermosos murales. Pertenece a un grupo de tres hoteles que se encuentran muy cerca uno de otro.

Disliked: Tener que subir por escalera dos pisos las maletas. No es facil porque la altura de la ciudad de La Paz hace que uno se agite y se quede sin aire muy facilmente.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms with ensuits and tvs. Lovely hot showers. We arrived from a bus trip at 6.30am, and we were able to be in our rooms by 8am! The breakfast is fabulous - fresh juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, mate, yogurt, fruit, cereal, toast...

Disliked: Wifi not so great on the higher levels

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Basheer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012

Liked: Large rooms, nice hot showers, free-wifi, great location in La Paz center, basic breakfast included - bread, jam, cereal & fruit. very good value.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, free mate, decent breakfast, nice big room, and hot water all day.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Pretty rooms. Very quiet.

Disliked: Sometimes the showers were cold. If you're looking to socialize, this is not the place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xiaoxiao feng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 xiaoxiao would recommend this property

Liked: lovely and clean. great strong shower. Just footstetps away from a small dairy for water etc. witches market is 2 min walk and travel agencies everywhere.

Disliked: xiaoxiao left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, hot showers, wifi, a surprisingly big breakfast buffet :) The staff was helpful and friendly. We'd definitely stay here again, or recommend it to people visiting La Paz!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big room comfortable bed cable tv hot shower great breakfast great location, this is the area to stay in in La Paz! very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: probably not the best place to meet other travellers but I only stayed one night

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast and nice big bedrooms, wifi was handy.

Disliked: Felt a bit more like an old 70's hotel than a hostel, no common area so no opportunity to meet other travellers. Staff weren't all that nice/helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What I needed was a quiet, good night's sleep and that's what I got.

Disliked: It's in a popular but very dirty neighborhood.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very nice, beds are super comfy, and the breakfast is pretty decent. Fruit, yogurt, cereal, bread with dulce de leche, coffee and tea. I would stay here again.

Disliked: I tried to take a shower in the evening and the water was like ice.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011

Liked: Private bathrooms

Disliked: Staff lied to us - we specifically asked for a room on a lower floor since we had a lot of luggage. But we were given a room on the 5th floor. When when we complained about no hot water in the bathroom, they offered to move us to the 1st floor. Wi-fi only in lobby and 1st floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent, Nice cotton bed sheets, Clean, Hot Shower, Didnt need a heater as room was warm enough.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hans-Juergen Zemke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Hans-Juergen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, clean and good beds. Nice terrace with an overview of La Paz.

Disliked: Breakfast very basic. Brakfast room cold.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dearna Brinnand

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011 Dearna would recommend this property

Liked: I believe the Hostel is good for Bolivia. It certainly was clean, the shower had hot water everytime I used it. The room was big, the beds comfy and warm. There was tea available 24 hrs, no kitchen facilities, though this was not a problem for me. It is close to all you need, yet quiet. The staff have been friendly and helpful. I had wifi in my room on the second floor. Breakfast is better than most hostels, though doesn't serve before 7am.

Disliked: Nothing, it was as described on Hostelbookers so I was aware there was no kitchen facilities.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My girlfriend and I had an excellent stay at this hostel. We didnt have much time to spare, so We hired all tours from the hostel front desk and it worked perfectly. We stayed in a private room, very confortable, clean and safe.

Disliked: Nothing. It is important to mention that this is not a party hostel, so there were no social areas, but we were aware of this. Our room was in the last floor so it was a hard climb up the stairs, but no problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think it was the best Hostel i have been in Bolivia. It's not that cheap but it's very clean, breakfast is a good buffet and during my stay in Rurre my big backpack stayed in the Hostel.

Disliked: If you have a room in an upper storey the wifi won't work.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gordon Pittendrigh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Gordon would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irina Lebedeva

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2011 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room, hot water any time, comfortable bed, very nice and helpful staff, location. Просторные комнаты, горячая вода в любое время, удобные кровати, любезный персонал, месторасположение.

Disliked: It's pretty cold in the rooms but I only spent nights there and the blankets were warm. There was also an opportunity to have a heater for an extra charge. В комнатах довольно холодно, но я проводила там только ночи и одеяла были достаточно теплые. При необходимости можно попросить обогреватель за отдельную плату.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot shower. Clean Room. Great Location. Good breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More a hotel than a hostel

Disliked: No many information on what to do in La Paz, need to go to the tavel agency next door Not a good place to meet other travellers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: met all requirments

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amandeep Samrai

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011 Amandeep would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good breakfast, really helpful staff, clean, comfortable beds, hot showers, tv in room and at a decent price. We were also able to leave our luggage for 5 days, and it was kept securely and we able to use the internet whilst waiting for our bus.

Disliked: Would have been nice if there was a guest kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was close to everything and great value for money. Shower was a bit unpredictable going from hot to cold intermittently, but luck that there's hot water all day!!!

Disliked: There are no card facilities.


See all La Paz hostels