HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sol Andino

Guesthouse | Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 591

85.4% Overall Rating

138 out of 146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Petr Rukavichnikov thinks…

"Уютно, чисто, спокойно. На верхних этажах- отличный вид из окна, но душ очень простой, на нижних этажах- ванная комната удобнее, но вид из окна никакой. Хороший завтрак, предупредительный персонал."

Read all Hostal Sol Andino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Estrella Andina
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 127 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 72 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.36 USD

Hostel 68.6% 13 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.51 USD

Hostel 76.3% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

138 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol Andino'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 143 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Good Breakfast, Cheap

Disliked: Very Cold

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location & really good free breakfast

Disliked: more like a hotel than a hostel (no community area to meet travellers etc), but not a problem

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marion Heining

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Marion would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, super clean and comfy room with awsom bed! Nice breakfast and quiet but handy location!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness, excellent location and delightful breakfast, among other good things.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graeme Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: Great spot. A little more of a hotel than a hostel, but still some common areas to hang out in. Street rooms are actually not too noisy, as long as there isn't a festival on. Hot water all the time. Yes, walking to the 5th floor can be a bummer at altitude, but come on, it isn't that bloody bad. Friendly, English speaking staff, really secure location. Close to pretty much anything you need, cheap taxi to anything else. Laundry was fast and really well done. Rooms are really clean. Very short walk to shopping areas, ATM's, restaurants (like Star of India, good curries), etc.

Disliked: Graeme left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price was very good, as was the location. Rooms are big and quiet. 24 hour hot water which is nice. Very good breakfast of cereals, fruits and breads. Reception speaks English!

Disliked: The rooms are quite cold but can hire heater from reception. Wi fi was patchy at times. But on the whole, no real complaints.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brooke pollack

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 brooke would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place with great location, good breakfast. More of a hotel style place rather than hostel.

Disliked: Not very social environment, we were on 5th floor, not great fun going up steps all the time in this altitude

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Helpful staff. Nice Hot Showers. Average breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty happy with our safe, i would definately put it up the top of places i've stayed at in SA.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and spacious. Hot water all day. Big continental buffet breakfast. Wifi slow everywhere but works in rooms. Very central, right beside witches markets and only 10 boliviano taxi from bus station. Staff helpful with my questions. Can get laundry done at reception which is handy. Feels more like a hotel than hostel!

Disliked: I personally didn't dislike it but, if you are looking for a party/social hostel this is not it. There is no real common area to meet people other than breakfast and it is all private rooms. I liked the time out for a few days after months of travel!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, helpful staff, free luggage deposit, clean room, hot water, good location and tranquil.

Disliked: The location is good, but it is in the middle of a very touristic area. If that's what you're looking for, this place is great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gutes Fruehstueck, freundliches Personal, zentrale Lage.

Disliked: Die Zimmer waren sehr kalt und Heizung gabs nur mit Aufpreis.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott lindsay

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 scott would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. It is close to most of the old town and a short cheap Colectivo ride to the Sopocachi end of town. I found it quiet at night, the place was clean and the showers had 24 hour hot water. The staff booked me a taxi for the airport on departure. It is more like a hotel than a hostel and for approx $15 a night for a single with ensuite I was impressed.

Disliked: scott left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philipp Wegelin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente ducha, desayuno rico y multiple, cama comoda, habitación limpia. Situado en el centro, pero todavía muy tranquilo.

Disliked: nada, un lugar muy recomendable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely breakfast, really great location, staff are lovely and try really hard, rooms are huge with a real double(!) bed and private en suite with hot water all day every day. There are three nice roof terraces with cool views of la Paz.

Disliked: The only very minor complaint/slightly odd thing is that even though the bed was a double, all sheets were single, so either I was covered or my boyfriend was! Still, just borrowed a sheet and made do, so not a big deal :) Just be aware also, la Paz is cold, and there is no central heating, so rooms are frosty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, ALL the staff are so friendly and polite, good location and clean rooms

Disliked: Only a minor thing...but rooms have no heating, sleeping is fine because you have many blankets but room in general was cold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast buffet with fruits and cereals. Great big rooms that were always cleaned perfectly. Heater available which is nice since it is always rather cold in LaPaz. Would definitely stay there again as it is very good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Very clean, fresh towles every day.

Disliked: Having to walk up to the sixth floor every day, especially at altitude! Other than that no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil Hodgson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre of town, excellent hot showers, WIFI, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast, friendly staff, cable TV in the room. One of the nicest places I have stayed and great value for money.

Disliked: Phil left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Goodall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and had a great breakfast. very central some nice resturants near by. had cable tv

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alicia Estela Gómez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012 Alicia Estela would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buena ambientacion con hermosos murales. Pertenece a un grupo de tres hoteles que se encuentran muy cerca uno de otro.

Disliked: Tener que subir por escalera dos pisos las maletas. No es facil porque la altura de la ciudad de La Paz hace que uno se agite y se quede sin aire muy facilmente.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms with ensuits and tvs. Lovely hot showers. We arrived from a bus trip at 6.30am, and we were able to be in our rooms by 8am! The breakfast is fabulous - fresh juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, mate, yogurt, fruit, cereal, toast...

Disliked: Wifi not so great on the higher levels

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Basheer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012

Liked: Large rooms, nice hot showers, free-wifi, great location in La Paz center, basic breakfast included - bread, jam, cereal & fruit. very good value.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, free mate, decent breakfast, nice big room, and hot water all day.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Pretty rooms. Very quiet.

Disliked: Sometimes the showers were cold. If you're looking to socialize, this is not the place.


See all La Paz hostels