HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sol Andino

Guesthouse | Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 591

84.7% Overall Rating

153 out of 162 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/10/2014)

Chelsea Frazier thinks…

"Very clean (rooms cleaned every day, new towels daily). Very friendly staff and super helpful travel agent that helped us book several activities/tours/flights."

Read all Hostal Sol Andino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.93 USD

Hostel 71.7% 19 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.52 USD

Hostel 74.6% 60 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

153 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol Andino'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 159 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great big rooms, private bathrooms and free wifi. The location was really good too as you´re in the heart of the Sagarnaga area. It is the sister hotel to Estrella Andina and seems to offer the same services, except the wonderful roof terract at Estrella, but at a cheaper price.

Disliked: If you feel the cold, then hire a heater from reception (21 Bs) it was worth every penny.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the action in town Friendly staff

Disliked: No issues

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was pretty good. The rooms were big and clean. Sower was a little on the small size.

Disliked: We had some misinformation between the staff. We would get told something in the morning but when we would act on it later in the day the story would change. Not a huge deal but got pretty annoying after it happened twice. Also much of the hostel smelled like gasoline. I think it was because they were painting and waxing the floors so it may not be like that all the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, homely good breakfast, hot showers good location would def stay again!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. Cereals, fruit and the usual bread and jam.

Disliked: Not so much a dislike - however it has a hotel feel rather than hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are spacious Good breakfast

Disliked: The bed sheet isn't big enough for the bed

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good breakfast good location for markets restaurants

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast and location. Staff great although they recommended the death road using 'Gravity' which were the biggest joke. Do not go with them! Their safety equipment was just a coloured vest, yet others had knee pads, elbow pads, full motorcross helmet and jacket pants. A coloured vest with gloves and a crappy bike helmet does nothing for you when you fall off. Plus others were only 450 (gravity 750) with full gear and suspension bikes. Gravity even crashed the safety van on the way home!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large and clean room for this rate!!

Disliked: the staffs were a bit rude

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are lovely, rooms are very spacious and the location is excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARGARET RULLI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 MARGARET would recommend this property

Liked: This was the nicest hostel we have stayed at in South America for the money that we spent. We paid $10USD per person a night for a double room with private bathroom. It came with breakfast, towels, linens, the works... and HOT showers! It truly felt more like a hotel than a hostel. The breakfast was good in the morning with yogurt, cereal, bread, and fruit. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful (although spoke no English). It was in a great location near many restaurants, bars, and city attractions.

Disliked: My only complaint was that the rooms were very cold and damp so I might recommend renting an electric heater at the front desk if you are sensitive to the cold. But they had plenty of warm blankets on the beds at night so it turned out to be a great nights sleep for the 4 nights we were there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Good Breakfast, Cheap

Disliked: Very Cold

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location & really good free breakfast

Disliked: more like a hotel than a hostel (no community area to meet travellers etc), but not a problem

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marion Heining

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Marion would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, super clean and comfy room with awsom bed! Nice breakfast and quiet but handy location!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness, excellent location and delightful breakfast, among other good things.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graeme Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: Great spot. A little more of a hotel than a hostel, but still some common areas to hang out in. Street rooms are actually not too noisy, as long as there isn't a festival on. Hot water all the time. Yes, walking to the 5th floor can be a bummer at altitude, but come on, it isn't that bloody bad. Friendly, English speaking staff, really secure location. Close to pretty much anything you need, cheap taxi to anything else. Laundry was fast and really well done. Rooms are really clean. Very short walk to shopping areas, ATM's, restaurants (like Star of India, good curries), etc.

Disliked: Graeme left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price was very good, as was the location. Rooms are big and quiet. 24 hour hot water which is nice. Very good breakfast of cereals, fruits and breads. Reception speaks English!

Disliked: The rooms are quite cold but can hire heater from reception. Wi fi was patchy at times. But on the whole, no real complaints.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brooke pollack

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 brooke would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place with great location, good breakfast. More of a hotel style place rather than hostel.

Disliked: Not very social environment, we were on 5th floor, not great fun going up steps all the time in this altitude

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Helpful staff. Nice Hot Showers. Average breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty happy with our safe, i would definately put it up the top of places i've stayed at in SA.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and spacious. Hot water all day. Big continental buffet breakfast. Wifi slow everywhere but works in rooms. Very central, right beside witches markets and only 10 boliviano taxi from bus station. Staff helpful with my questions. Can get laundry done at reception which is handy. Feels more like a hotel than hostel!

Disliked: I personally didn't dislike it but, if you are looking for a party/social hostel this is not it. There is no real common area to meet people other than breakfast and it is all private rooms. I liked the time out for a few days after months of travel!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, helpful staff, free luggage deposit, clean room, hot water, good location and tranquil.

Disliked: The location is good, but it is in the middle of a very touristic area. If that's what you're looking for, this place is great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gutes Fruehstueck, freundliches Personal, zentrale Lage.

Disliked: Die Zimmer waren sehr kalt und Heizung gabs nur mit Aufpreis.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott lindsay

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 scott would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. It is close to most of the old town and a short cheap Colectivo ride to the Sopocachi end of town. I found it quiet at night, the place was clean and the showers had 24 hour hot water. The staff booked me a taxi for the airport on departure. It is more like a hotel than a hostel and for approx $15 a night for a single with ensuite I was impressed.

Disliked: scott left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philipp Wegelin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente ducha, desayuno rico y multiple, cama comoda, habitación limpia. Situado en el centro, pero todavía muy tranquilo.

Disliked: nada, un lugar muy recomendable.


See all La Paz hostels