We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sol Andino

Guesthouse | Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 591

84.7% Overall Rating

153 out of 162 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/10/2014)

Chelsea Frazier thinks…

"Very clean (rooms cleaned every day, new towels daily). Very friendly staff and super helpful travel agent that helped us book several activities/tours/flights."

Read all Hostal Sol Andino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.93 USD

Hostel 71.7% 19 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.52 USD

Hostel 74.6% 60 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

153 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol Andino'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 159 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the centre of La Paz, Also near tor company outlets. Well worth the cost of a night.

Disliked: The shower curtains

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HYAEWHAN KIM

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 HYAEWHAN would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about this hostel! Spacious rooms, yummy breakfast, friendly staffs, perfect location and super fast WIFI in my room on the second floor. Free coca tea and coffee is a nice treat! Credit cards are accepted with 5% of commission fee which is normal is SA. I would definitely come back!:)

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sam Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Great showers and the room was big and comfortable. The breakfast was also really good.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Toni Waywell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2012 Toni would recommend this property

Liked: Decent size rooms with nice Hot Showers! Staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel has decent wifi

Disliked: Toni left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The clean rooms, hot showers and breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leanne Macdonald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: The murals everywhere made it feel very homey. The breakfast buffet is excellent!

Disliked: Leanne left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel with room cleaned daily and sheets changed. Nice hot shower! Good wifi.

Disliked: Breakfast was good but the coffee far too weak but that is not just in this place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot Hot showers after a day biking the death road

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012

Liked: Good location off busy street - not right in the heart of the "traditional" centre of La Paz but in a more lively and busy section of the city, ideal for travellers. Room was good and the breakfast excellent - best free one we had in South America and very generous - fruit, cereal and all the rest. The staff are very helpful and kindly stored our bags for us and let us come and go as we pleased as we waited for an overnight bus despite checking out that morning. Also make sure to check out the rooftop terrace with excellent views of La Paz!

Disliked: One minor grumble - the sheets didn't quite fit the bed which was slightly annoying.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2012

Liked: A localizaçao

Disliked: Algumas das acomodaçoes para serem alcançadas devemos passar por area descoberta (ainda bem que nao estava chovendo) o que dificultaria o transito em mal tempo.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Raphael Nagorsnik

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay was really nice, the stuff was friendly and the rooms are clean. Hot showers were really nice and the locaion is also really good. I can defently recomend this Hostal!

Disliked: Only thing which was not that good, is that the rooms were cold, but that's it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melanie McDermott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location. Hot showers (let the water run a few minutes). TV with BBC News in room. Clean. Quiet. Some helpful staff. Clean comfy beds (no bunks). Ok free breakfast (can by extra eggs etc) WIFI in room, a little slow at times but mainly good. Great cake and snack place called Bolivian Snacks & Coffee (I think) on Illampu opposite Aroma.

Disliked: Smell of drains sometimes from bathroom (room 204). Smell of petrol/polish sometimes in the hallway. Some staff not particularly helpful/knowledgeable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doris Pfandl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Doris would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good breakfast, nice staff.

Disliked: cold rooms, though they offer heaters for 3 USD (per night).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ioana Cutcutache

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Ioana would recommend this property

Liked: Like a hotel with big spacious rooms, nice views and nice wall murals. Staff let us check-in early after coming on a very early bus.

Disliked: The property indicates that heating is included in price. After we asked for heater they gave us one but didn't mention anything about paying for it. When we checked out they tried to charge us 3USD/night for the heater. After we insisted that nobody told us we need to pay for it they finally decided not to charge us, however that was not nice.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Nienke Hartog

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012

Liked: The shower was brilliant

Disliked: The noise, a lot of water leaked on my bathroom floor when the neighbours had a shower which is a bit dodgy. It was quite pricy for what you get.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast, free Wifi, happy to arrange airport transfer, links with travel agent next door

Disliked: The room was a bit cold

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Chris Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly. Beds comfy.

Disliked: The smell of paint that other people reported is still persistent. In my room most lights didn't work. The flush mechanism of the toilet was broken. Cleaning of the bathroom consisted of folding the end of the toilet paper roll -- not even the bin was emptied.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot showers, great location, clean, spacious rooms, nice staff who speak English, decent breakfast (there were bananas and papaya!).

Disliked: Wifi did not work on the 5th floor but worked well from 2nd floor and below.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oded Fossfeld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2012 Oded would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double room with private bath. Strong shower with hot water! Fast wifi. Spacious rooms.

Disliked: Cold rooms. Moldy shower.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Breakfeat, Wifi, and personal helpfull and kind

Disliked: Phonic insulation, cleaness, size of the sheets smaller than the mattress.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tal Berkovitz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Tal would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet!

Disliked: Tal left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were allowed to book in alot earlier than check in time which was great coming off an early morning bus. The breakfast was great with eggs for a little extra. Rooms were spotless clean and staff really helpfull.

Disliked: Room was a little cold but blankets were warm and shower was hot.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, comfy bed, great location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Bathrooms were smelly and had little ventalation - could have been bad drains but did leave a nasty smell in the bedroom.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean and staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. We arrived much earlier then check-in-time, but we could enter our room immediately. Nice breakfast. Gorgeous view over the city on the roofterras. Nice location.

Disliked: The room was not 100percent clean, but that was probably because the hurried to get it ready for us.


See all La Paz hostels