We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sol Andino

Guesthouse | Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 591

84.8% Overall Rating

163 out of 172 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2015)

Ashlea Wheeler thinks…

"Good location near the witches market, only a 10 minute walk to the main tourist areas of town. Rooms are a little cold, but you can grab a heater from reception. Bed was comfortable and room fairly…"

Read all Hostal Sol Andino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Las Brisas
19.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.5% 135 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.72 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Naira
29.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.86 USD

Hostel 72.6% 26 reviews
Bash And Crash
4.20 USD

Hostel 71.3% 63 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.60 USD

Hostel 81.0% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

163 out of 172 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol Andino'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 142 of 169 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ludmila Jana Babiakova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Ludmila Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Location just few steps from the main attractions, good service, they offer good breakfast, laundry service, heater during the night etc.

Disliked: What is casual in Bolivia is that the hotel, room, towels... are simple, overused...but clean what is fine with me.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic. Walking distance from a lot of the main tourist spots (Witches Markets, Calle Sarganaga, San Francisco Square, 4Corners area), especially delicious 'hole-in-the-wall' eateries that are so inexpensive. The staff are so friendly & helpful & we felt safe leaving our belongings here while we went to Uyuni for 5 days. Clean towels were provided everyday & they also cleaned the room everyday.

Disliked: Breakfast could be a little better but not a huge deal as there are bucket loads of cheap eateries & street food everywhere. The hostel's own tour agency was great however I wouldn't recommend booking a Salt Flats tour as they use a company called Esmeralda Tours based in Uyuni. We had some issues with them & after some attempts at trying to get some of our money back, we decided to just leave it & move on as we didn't want it ruining the rest of our Bolivian adventure.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt safe, good location v close to market streets. Small tourist office in house to book buses and some tours. Arrived at 2am and no problem checking in etc.

Disliked: no real atmosphere, didnt meet other travelers there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Double rooms with private bathroom, really clean, showers excellent, location excellent. Breakfast is good (an extra 5 or 10 Bolivianos for eggs but its worth it)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Waller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great! Always helpful & patient with our broken Spanish. They went out of the way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The place is really inviting & quiet, which is what we were looking for in La Paz.

Disliked: The rooms were REALLY drafty! All the space heaters were taken when we arrived.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alain Perrigouard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Alain would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, friendly, helpful and good breakfast

Disliked: Some rooms are opened on inside yard. Need to close tightly bedroom and bathroom window curtains to have a bit of intimacy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the centre of La Paz, Also near tor company outlets. Well worth the cost of a night.

Disliked: The shower curtains

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HYAEWHAN KIM

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 HYAEWHAN would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about this hostel! Spacious rooms, yummy breakfast, friendly staffs, perfect location and super fast WIFI in my room on the second floor. Free coca tea and coffee is a nice treat! Credit cards are accepted with 5% of commission fee which is normal is SA. I would definitely come back!:)

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sam Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Great showers and the room was big and comfortable. The breakfast was also really good.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Toni Waywell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2012 Toni would recommend this property

Liked: Decent size rooms with nice Hot Showers! Staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel has decent wifi

Disliked: Toni left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The clean rooms, hot showers and breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leanne Macdonald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: The murals everywhere made it feel very homey. The breakfast buffet is excellent!

Disliked: Leanne left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel with room cleaned daily and sheets changed. Nice hot shower! Good wifi.

Disliked: Breakfast was good but the coffee far too weak but that is not just in this place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot Hot showers after a day biking the death road

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012

Liked: Good location off busy street - not right in the heart of the "traditional" centre of La Paz but in a more lively and busy section of the city, ideal for travellers. Room was good and the breakfast excellent - best free one we had in South America and very generous - fruit, cereal and all the rest. The staff are very helpful and kindly stored our bags for us and let us come and go as we pleased as we waited for an overnight bus despite checking out that morning. Also make sure to check out the rooftop terrace with excellent views of La Paz!

Disliked: One minor grumble - the sheets didn't quite fit the bed which was slightly annoying.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2012

Liked: A localizaçao

Disliked: Algumas das acomodaçoes para serem alcançadas devemos passar por area descoberta (ainda bem que nao estava chovendo) o que dificultaria o transito em mal tempo.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Raphael Nagorsnik

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay was really nice, the stuff was friendly and the rooms are clean. Hot showers were really nice and the locaion is also really good. I can defently recomend this Hostal!

Disliked: Only thing which was not that good, is that the rooms were cold, but that's it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melanie McDermott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location. Hot showers (let the water run a few minutes). TV with BBC News in room. Clean. Quiet. Some helpful staff. Clean comfy beds (no bunks). Ok free breakfast (can by extra eggs etc) WIFI in room, a little slow at times but mainly good. Great cake and snack place called Bolivian Snacks & Coffee (I think) on Illampu opposite Aroma.

Disliked: Smell of drains sometimes from bathroom (room 204). Smell of petrol/polish sometimes in the hallway. Some staff not particularly helpful/knowledgeable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doris Pfandl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Doris would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good breakfast, nice staff.

Disliked: cold rooms, though they offer heaters for 3 USD (per night).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ioana Cutcutache

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Ioana would recommend this property

Liked: Like a hotel with big spacious rooms, nice views and nice wall murals. Staff let us check-in early after coming on a very early bus.

Disliked: The property indicates that heating is included in price. After we asked for heater they gave us one but didn't mention anything about paying for it. When we checked out they tried to charge us 3USD/night for the heater. After we insisted that nobody told us we need to pay for it they finally decided not to charge us, however that was not nice.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Nienke Hartog

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012

Liked: The shower was brilliant

Disliked: The noise, a lot of water leaked on my bathroom floor when the neighbours had a shower which is a bit dodgy. It was quite pricy for what you get.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast, free Wifi, happy to arrange airport transfer, links with travel agent next door

Disliked: The room was a bit cold

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Chris Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly. Beds comfy.

Disliked: The smell of paint that other people reported is still persistent. In my room most lights didn't work. The flush mechanism of the toilet was broken. Cleaning of the bathroom consisted of folding the end of the toilet paper roll -- not even the bin was emptied.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot showers, great location, clean, spacious rooms, nice staff who speak English, decent breakfast (there were bananas and papaya!).

Disliked: Wifi did not work on the 5th floor but worked well from 2nd floor and below.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oded Fossfeld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2012 Oded would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double room with private bath. Strong shower with hot water! Fast wifi. Spacious rooms.

Disliked: Cold rooms. Moldy shower.


See all La Paz hostels