HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sol Andino

Guesthouse | Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 591

85.4% Overall Rating

138 out of 146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Petr Rukavichnikov thinks…

"Уютно, чисто, спокойно. На верхних этажах- отличный вид из окна, но душ очень простой, на нижних этажах- ванная комната удобнее, но вид из окна никакой. Хороший завтрак, предупредительный персонал."

Read all Hostal Sol Andino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Estrella Andina
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 127 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 72 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.36 USD

Hostel 68.6% 13 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.51 USD

Hostel 76.3% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

138 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol Andino'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 143 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melanie McDermott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location. Hot showers (let the water run a few minutes). TV with BBC News in room. Clean. Quiet. Some helpful staff. Clean comfy beds (no bunks). Ok free breakfast (can by extra eggs etc) WIFI in room, a little slow at times but mainly good. Great cake and snack place called Bolivian Snacks & Coffee (I think) on Illampu opposite Aroma.

Disliked: Smell of drains sometimes from bathroom (room 204). Smell of petrol/polish sometimes in the hallway. Some staff not particularly helpful/knowledgeable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doris Pfandl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Doris would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good breakfast, nice staff.

Disliked: cold rooms, though they offer heaters for 3 USD (per night).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ioana Cutcutache

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Ioana would recommend this property

Liked: Like a hotel with big spacious rooms, nice views and nice wall murals. Staff let us check-in early after coming on a very early bus.

Disliked: The property indicates that heating is included in price. After we asked for heater they gave us one but didn't mention anything about paying for it. When we checked out they tried to charge us 3USD/night for the heater. After we insisted that nobody told us we need to pay for it they finally decided not to charge us, however that was not nice.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Nienke Hartog

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012

Liked: The shower was brilliant

Disliked: The noise, a lot of water leaked on my bathroom floor when the neighbours had a shower which is a bit dodgy. It was quite pricy for what you get.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast, free Wifi, happy to arrange airport transfer, links with travel agent next door

Disliked: The room was a bit cold

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Chris Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly. Beds comfy.

Disliked: The smell of paint that other people reported is still persistent. In my room most lights didn't work. The flush mechanism of the toilet was broken. Cleaning of the bathroom consisted of folding the end of the toilet paper roll -- not even the bin was emptied.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot showers, great location, clean, spacious rooms, nice staff who speak English, decent breakfast (there were bananas and papaya!).

Disliked: Wifi did not work on the 5th floor but worked well from 2nd floor and below.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oded Fossfeld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2012 Oded would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double room with private bath. Strong shower with hot water! Fast wifi. Spacious rooms.

Disliked: Cold rooms. Moldy shower.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Breakfeat, Wifi, and personal helpfull and kind

Disliked: Phonic insulation, cleaness, size of the sheets smaller than the mattress.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tal Berkovitz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Tal would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet!

Disliked: Tal left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were allowed to book in alot earlier than check in time which was great coming off an early morning bus. The breakfast was great with eggs for a little extra. Rooms were spotless clean and staff really helpfull.

Disliked: Room was a little cold but blankets were warm and shower was hot.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, comfy bed, great location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Bathrooms were smelly and had little ventalation - could have been bad drains but did leave a nasty smell in the bedroom.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean and staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. We arrived much earlier then check-in-time, but we could enter our room immediately. Nice breakfast. Gorgeous view over the city on the roofterras. Nice location.

Disliked: The room was not 100percent clean, but that was probably because the hurried to get it ready for us.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great big rooms, private bathrooms and free wifi. The location was really good too as you´re in the heart of the Sagarnaga area. It is the sister hotel to Estrella Andina and seems to offer the same services, except the wonderful roof terract at Estrella, but at a cheaper price.

Disliked: If you feel the cold, then hire a heater from reception (21 Bs) it was worth every penny.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the action in town Friendly staff

Disliked: No issues

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was pretty good. The rooms were big and clean. Sower was a little on the small size.

Disliked: We had some misinformation between the staff. We would get told something in the morning but when we would act on it later in the day the story would change. Not a huge deal but got pretty annoying after it happened twice. Also much of the hostel smelled like gasoline. I think it was because they were painting and waxing the floors so it may not be like that all the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, homely good breakfast, hot showers good location would def stay again!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. Cereals, fruit and the usual bread and jam.

Disliked: Not so much a dislike - however it has a hotel feel rather than hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are spacious Good breakfast

Disliked: The bed sheet isn't big enough for the bed

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good breakfast good location for markets restaurants

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast and location. Staff great although they recommended the death road using 'Gravity' which were the biggest joke. Do not go with them! Their safety equipment was just a coloured vest, yet others had knee pads, elbow pads, full motorcross helmet and jacket pants. A coloured vest with gloves and a crappy bike helmet does nothing for you when you fall off. Plus others were only 450 (gravity 750) with full gear and suspension bikes. Gravity even crashed the safety van on the way home!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large and clean room for this rate!!

Disliked: the staffs were a bit rude

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are lovely, rooms are very spacious and the location is excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARGARET RULLI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 MARGARET would recommend this property

Liked: This was the nicest hostel we have stayed at in South America for the money that we spent. We paid $10USD per person a night for a double room with private bathroom. It came with breakfast, towels, linens, the works... and HOT showers! It truly felt more like a hotel than a hostel. The breakfast was good in the morning with yogurt, cereal, bread, and fruit. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful (although spoke no English). It was in a great location near many restaurants, bars, and city attractions.

Disliked: My only complaint was that the rooms were very cold and damp so I might recommend renting an electric heater at the front desk if you are sensitive to the cold. But they had plenty of warm blankets on the beds at night so it turned out to be a great nights sleep for the 4 nights we were there.


See all La Paz hostels