HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sol Andino

Guesthouse | Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 591

84.7% Overall Rating

153 out of 162 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

"The rooms and bathrooms were comfortable and clean and a decent size. The night staff were very accommodating - I was ill during my stay due to picking up something in Peru and they helped organise room service and even…"

Read all Hostal Sol Andino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.93 USD

Hostel 71.7% 19 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.52 USD

Hostel 74.6% 60 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

153 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol Andino'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 135 of 158 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Lane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great showers, really hot and lots of water pressure. Warm, comfy beds too. Breakfast was awesome, one of the best we've had in Bolivia- fruit, cereal, yoghurt, bread, jam, dulce de leche, coffee and tea!

Disliked: We were told breakfast was at 7 and we were getting picked up at 7.30am to go to Copacabana but there was still no sign of it, a little disappointing when we had a long bus trip ahead of us and were hungry!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pierre Michaux

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: Très bien située, en haut de la rue commerçante dans le vieux centre. Nombreux restos et snacks dans les environs. Chambres hyper spacieuses et très propres. Douches chaudes et avec pression. Petit déjeuner royal, je mâche mes mots!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Rooms are big and comfortable. 24hours hot water and a nice breakfast. You can leave your luggage for a few days at their a luggage room if you want to do a longer tour (foe example to Rurrenabaque).

Disliked: The wifi doesn't work very well. Also it's more like a hotel and not a hostel (no common area, kitchen eg.)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Steve Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff and really nice travel desk team.

Disliked: Lacking in character so didn't meet many other travellers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean rooms, great breakfast, great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ric Wolfenden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Ric would recommend this property

Liked: Clean as a whistle, good service, relaxing atmosphere.

Disliked: The room was very bright at night and there was a lot of street and hotel noise which was disruptive at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sam Roberton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: This was the third time we stayed here -- we did look at other places, but each time we came back to La Paz we ended up here. The rooms are comfortable, showers nice and hot, staff friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is quite reasonable, and the option of paying a little extra for bacon and eggs was one we took great advantage of every morning!

Disliked: It seemed a little more expensive than we would ideally have liked, but we didn't see any cheaper options that looked nearly as good. The wifi is a little slow and unreliable, but that's true of every hotel, hostel and cafe we found in Bolivia: it was no worse here than anywhere else, and was better than a lot of places.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Glenn

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well-run; good beds; hot water; and good value

Disliked: Street noise

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: While it´s more of a hotel than a hostel, our stay at Sol Andino was very pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room on the 5th floor had a great view and was cleaned daily and the breakfast was better than the South American standard of boring bread, butter and jam, especially if you ordered the eggs on top of the buffet.

Disliked: No real common area, the tour agency seems more expensive than others in town and walking up to the 5th floor gets old rather fast.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cable tv in room, hot water in shower, ok breakfast, theres a tour company downstairs if you need it

Disliked: Very cold even for La Paz, our room was really dark, its really hard to meet anybody without common areas, the security was questionable with the front door always unlocked

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kristina Naumoska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel - quiet and relaxed vibe. Very clean. Decent breakfast. Rooms were spacious for the two of us and bathrooms were good.

Disliked: Our first room was above the laundry, so it was very noisy and made it hard to sleep at night. The staff were sympathetic and changed our room the next day, but initially offered us a room that had just been repainted and still smelled strongly of paint. They were quick to change us to a different room when we mentioned the smell, but just thought it was silly to offer the newly painted room at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tamir Chernomorcky Assa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Tamir would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great staff-most speak English but not difficult to comunicate even if they don't. Rooms are beautiful with paintings on the walls, beds are warm and clean and so is the shower (probobly the best shower I had on my trip so far).

Disliked: Money for value, this hostel is a bit expensive in relation to other hostels in La Paz, but still pretty cheap. Wi-fi wen't down a few times for a few hours.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

tara lewis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 tara would recommend this property

Liked: It's central to the best parts of la Paz. A few tiny streets off the famous witches market. The breakfast is simple but good and they offer coca mate 24 hours. My room has the best view! It's so cute and there are some roof decks and amenities I didn't even get to use. Love it here!!! They are so nice and speak english well. And the hit water is instant!

Disliked: I think if it were colder out I would be cold but the blankets are a plenty.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable bed, quiet, which is what I was looking for

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a double room for four nights, which was large and very clean; there was maid service everyday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also very good. Paola on the Tour Desk was very knowledgable and was not pushy at all; we booked a Death Road tour with ´Madness´ on her recommendation, who were very good. We loved the murals throughout the hotel. Good internet / wi-fi. Location less than five minutes walk from the Witches Market.

Disliked: Our heater broke one night, but was replaced for the next night. The hotel had no cold (yes, I said cold) water for half a day. These are minor quibbles... would thoroughly recommend you staying here.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy, nice staff, hot water

Disliked: Lots of stairs,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

marc DESHAYES

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2013

Liked: - the staff was friendly - the brekfast is quite good - the location is perfect (15-20mn walk from the bus terminal) - our room was big

Disliked: The price of the hostel is too high for La Paz city... You can find nice room for so much cheaper.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

macarena campos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 macarena would recommend this property

Liked: Buenas acomodaciones, habitaciones muy comodas y limpias, agua caliente que funciona perfecto, buen desayuno y una ubicación inmejorable..

Disliked: se podría mejorar la disposición y hospitalidad del personal con el viajero. La recepción se muestra muy distante e indiferente, no muy avido a dar respuesta a cuestiones minimas y basicas (datos de casas de cambio en los alrededores por ej.).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ludmila Jana Babiakova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Ludmila Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Location just few steps from the main attractions, good service, they offer good breakfast, laundry service, heater during the night etc.

Disliked: What is casual in Bolivia is that the hotel, room, towels... are simple, overused...but clean what is fine with me.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic. Walking distance from a lot of the main tourist spots (Witches Markets, Calle Sarganaga, San Francisco Square, 4Corners area), especially delicious 'hole-in-the-wall' eateries that are so inexpensive. The staff are so friendly & helpful & we felt safe leaving our belongings here while we went to Uyuni for 5 days. Clean towels were provided everyday & they also cleaned the room everyday.

Disliked: Breakfast could be a little better but not a huge deal as there are bucket loads of cheap eateries & street food everywhere. The hostel's own tour agency was great however I wouldn't recommend booking a Salt Flats tour as they use a company called Esmeralda Tours based in Uyuni. We had some issues with them & after some attempts at trying to get some of our money back, we decided to just leave it & move on as we didn't want it ruining the rest of our Bolivian adventure.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt safe, good location v close to market streets. Small tourist office in house to book buses and some tours. Arrived at 2am and no problem checking in etc.

Disliked: no real atmosphere, didnt meet other travelers there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Double rooms with private bathroom, really clean, showers excellent, location excellent. Breakfast is good (an extra 5 or 10 Bolivianos for eggs but its worth it)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Waller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great! Always helpful & patient with our broken Spanish. They went out of the way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The place is really inviting & quiet, which is what we were looking for in La Paz.

Disliked: The rooms were REALLY drafty! All the space heaters were taken when we arrived.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alain Perrigouard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Alain would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, friendly, helpful and good breakfast

Disliked: Some rooms are opened on inside yard. Need to close tightly bedroom and bathroom window curtains to have a bit of intimacy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the centre of La Paz, Also near tor company outlets. Well worth the cost of a night.

Disliked: The shower curtains


See all La Paz hostels