HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Hostal Sol Andino

Guesthouse | Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia 591

85.4% Overall Rating

138 out of 146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Petr Rukavichnikov thinks…

"Уютно, чисто, спокойно. На верхних этажах- отличный вид из окна, но душ очень простой, на нижних этажах- ванная комната удобнее, но вид из окна никакой. Хороший завтрак, предупредительный персонал."

Read all Hostal Sol Andino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Estrella Andina
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 127 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 72 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.36 USD

Hostel 68.6% 13 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.51 USD

Hostel 76.3% 52 reviews
Hotel Fuentes
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 155 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

138 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol Andino'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 143 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kristina Naumoska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel - quiet and relaxed vibe. Very clean. Decent breakfast. Rooms were spacious for the two of us and bathrooms were good.

Disliked: Our first room was above the laundry, so it was very noisy and made it hard to sleep at night. The staff were sympathetic and changed our room the next day, but initially offered us a room that had just been repainted and still smelled strongly of paint. They were quick to change us to a different room when we mentioned the smell, but just thought it was silly to offer the newly painted room at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tamir Chernomorcky Assa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Tamir would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great staff-most speak English but not difficult to comunicate even if they don't. Rooms are beautiful with paintings on the walls, beds are warm and clean and so is the shower (probobly the best shower I had on my trip so far).

Disliked: Money for value, this hostel is a bit expensive in relation to other hostels in La Paz, but still pretty cheap. Wi-fi wen't down a few times for a few hours.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

tara lewis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 tara would recommend this property

Liked: It's central to the best parts of la Paz. A few tiny streets off the famous witches market. The breakfast is simple but good and they offer coca mate 24 hours. My room has the best view! It's so cute and there are some roof decks and amenities I didn't even get to use. Love it here!!! They are so nice and speak english well. And the hit water is instant!

Disliked: I think if it were colder out I would be cold but the blankets are a plenty.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable bed, quiet, which is what I was looking for

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a double room for four nights, which was large and very clean; there was maid service everyday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also very good. Paola on the Tour Desk was very knowledgable and was not pushy at all; we booked a Death Road tour with ´Madness´ on her recommendation, who were very good. We loved the murals throughout the hotel. Good internet / wi-fi. Location less than five minutes walk from the Witches Market.

Disliked: Our heater broke one night, but was replaced for the next night. The hotel had no cold (yes, I said cold) water for half a day. These are minor quibbles... would thoroughly recommend you staying here.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy, nice staff, hot water

Disliked: Lots of stairs,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

marc DESHAYES

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2013

Liked: - the staff was friendly - the brekfast is quite good - the location is perfect (15-20mn walk from the bus terminal) - our room was big

Disliked: The price of the hostel is too high for La Paz city... You can find nice room for so much cheaper.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

macarena campos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 macarena would recommend this property

Liked: Buenas acomodaciones, habitaciones muy comodas y limpias, agua caliente que funciona perfecto, buen desayuno y una ubicación inmejorable..

Disliked: se podría mejorar la disposición y hospitalidad del personal con el viajero. La recepción se muestra muy distante e indiferente, no muy avido a dar respuesta a cuestiones minimas y basicas (datos de casas de cambio en los alrededores por ej.).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ludmila Jana Babiakova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Ludmila Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Location just few steps from the main attractions, good service, they offer good breakfast, laundry service, heater during the night etc.

Disliked: What is casual in Bolivia is that the hotel, room, towels... are simple, overused...but clean what is fine with me.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic. Walking distance from a lot of the main tourist spots (Witches Markets, Calle Sarganaga, San Francisco Square, 4Corners area), especially delicious 'hole-in-the-wall' eateries that are so inexpensive. The staff are so friendly & helpful & we felt safe leaving our belongings here while we went to Uyuni for 5 days. Clean towels were provided everyday & they also cleaned the room everyday.

Disliked: Breakfast could be a little better but not a huge deal as there are bucket loads of cheap eateries & street food everywhere. The hostel's own tour agency was great however I wouldn't recommend booking a Salt Flats tour as they use a company called Esmeralda Tours based in Uyuni. We had some issues with them & after some attempts at trying to get some of our money back, we decided to just leave it & move on as we didn't want it ruining the rest of our Bolivian adventure.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt safe, good location v close to market streets. Small tourist office in house to book buses and some tours. Arrived at 2am and no problem checking in etc.

Disliked: no real atmosphere, didnt meet other travelers there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Double rooms with private bathroom, really clean, showers excellent, location excellent. Breakfast is good (an extra 5 or 10 Bolivianos for eggs but its worth it)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Waller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great! Always helpful & patient with our broken Spanish. They went out of the way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The place is really inviting & quiet, which is what we were looking for in La Paz.

Disliked: The rooms were REALLY drafty! All the space heaters were taken when we arrived.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alain Perrigouard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Alain would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, friendly, helpful and good breakfast

Disliked: Some rooms are opened on inside yard. Need to close tightly bedroom and bathroom window curtains to have a bit of intimacy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the centre of La Paz, Also near tor company outlets. Well worth the cost of a night.

Disliked: The shower curtains

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HYAEWHAN KIM

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 HYAEWHAN would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about this hostel! Spacious rooms, yummy breakfast, friendly staffs, perfect location and super fast WIFI in my room on the second floor. Free coca tea and coffee is a nice treat! Credit cards are accepted with 5% of commission fee which is normal is SA. I would definitely come back!:)

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sam Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Great showers and the room was big and comfortable. The breakfast was also really good.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Toni Waywell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2012 Toni would recommend this property

Liked: Decent size rooms with nice Hot Showers! Staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel has decent wifi

Disliked: Toni left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The clean rooms, hot showers and breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leanne Macdonald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: The murals everywhere made it feel very homey. The breakfast buffet is excellent!

Disliked: Leanne left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel with room cleaned daily and sheets changed. Nice hot shower! Good wifi.

Disliked: Breakfast was good but the coffee far too weak but that is not just in this place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot Hot showers after a day biking the death road

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012

Liked: Good location off busy street - not right in the heart of the "traditional" centre of La Paz but in a more lively and busy section of the city, ideal for travellers. Room was good and the breakfast excellent - best free one we had in South America and very generous - fruit, cereal and all the rest. The staff are very helpful and kindly stored our bags for us and let us come and go as we pleased as we waited for an overnight bus despite checking out that morning. Also make sure to check out the rooftop terrace with excellent views of La Paz!

Disliked: One minor grumble - the sheets didn't quite fit the bed which was slightly annoying.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2012

Liked: A localizaçao

Disliked: Algumas das acomodaçoes para serem alcançadas devemos passar por area descoberta (ainda bem que nao estava chovendo) o que dificultaria o transito em mal tempo.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Raphael Nagorsnik

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay was really nice, the stuff was friendly and the rooms are clean. Hot showers were really nice and the locaion is also really good. I can defently recomend this Hostal!

Disliked: Only thing which was not that good, is that the rooms were cold, but that's it.


See all La Paz hostels