We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Residencial Latino

Hostel | Calle Junin nº 857, Entre Catacora y Sucre, La Paz, Bolivia 591

85.0% Overall Rating

74 out of 89 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/10/2014)

"The people manning the front desk are all extremely nice and helpful. The woman in charge of breakfast, however, is unnecessarily rude about rationing how much of each item you receive. (Only being allowed one cup of…"

Read all Residencial Latino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Bash And Crash
5.52 USD

Hostel 74.6% 60 reviews
Loki Backpackers La Paz
7.07 USD

Hostel 79.1% 111 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews
Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
8.34 USD

Hostel 87.2% 293 reviews
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 73 reviews
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 16 reviews
Estrella Andina
16.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 133 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

74 out of 89 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Residencial Latino'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 75 of 84 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people manning the front desk are all extremely nice and helpful. The woman in charge of breakfast, however, is unnecessarily rude about rationing how much of each item you receive. (Only being allowed one cup of tea, a cup of juice, some yogurt, one piece of fruit, 2 pieces of bread, is more than adequate, but the way she goes about conveying this information makes her a close relative to Seinfeld's Soup Nazi.) Be forwarned--booking through hostelbookers means you'll pay exactly 12% more than booking through the property directly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, big old property. Character. Stafff friendly, helpful. Stored bags when went to Amazon. Close to Plaza Murillo.

Disliked: No kitchen, breakfast basic. Have to pay extra for heater. Steep walk up hill.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Koo

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The front office responded to emails ahead of time. I arrived in La Paz at 1 am and wanted to make sure they would be open and someone could let me in around 2 am. The rooms are kept very clean.

Disliked: Not a great place to meet people. Also, the doors have glass and a curtain so light gets through. If you want to sleep in it can be difficult because you hear every small noise, closing of doors, eating breakfast etc.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Erratt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: This is a big echoey place with lots of rooms. The staff were great, the beds were comfortable and we were happy with the breakfast. I think it is popular with a more mature traveler type.

Disliked: Noise carries around the building. It's not a problem unless there happens to be some thoughtlessly loud persons around.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Phillips

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: One really great thing was the heater in our room. The staff were really friendly and helpful. When the laundry place across the road didn't give all our clothes back the guy on the desk who spoke excellent English offered to come over and help translate. Breakfast was simple but nice, although a little verity wouldn't go astray, but that's the same almost everywhere.

Disliked: One of the breakfast ladies was a bit strict with the hot water. We had to pay 4 bolivianos extra for some hot water and a little milk, but in their defence it does say on the table 1 cup of tea or coffee.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shailen Laxman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2014 Shailen would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very good location. No problems with anything. Staff were friendly, helped us book bus tickets. Very safe.

Disliked: Little bit more expensive than other places.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Tam

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Plaza Muillio, Central plaza but a bit of a walk to the rest of the tourist attractions. Not too far from everything.

Disliked: Peace and quiet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014

Liked: This accomodation was just ¨okay¨ but nothing special. It was quiet and a decent place to sleep. The cactus gardens were nice.

Disliked: It was impossible to have a hot shower, and I got and electric shock trying to do so.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's very quiet in a safe zone of the city, but still close to the center and walking distance to all the touristic things you can find in the center of La Paz. Staff is friendly and up 24h. Even I arrived at 6 in the morning and the check-in would be not before 14.00, I got my room right away. The breakfast is OK but you can get everything only once, and then you have to pay, but it's very cheap anyways. Warm showers.

Disliked: It's very calm so you won't find many partying backpackers there, which can in some circumstance also be a very positive point. The rooms have no windows. It can be quite cold in the night and the heaters are not working. But I had never TOO cold.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nicole Di Benedetto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Nearby attractions, which are walkable.

Disliked: At the time we stayed there was loads of working going on. We been asked to change rooms. No heating in the room. The breakfast was ok, but you just get counted items like 1 serving of coffee/tea, juice + yoghurt, 2 bread rolls, tiny bit of margarine and jam + one fruit. Staff was friendly, but didn't helped us much to find things in La Paz.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Computer in the entrance hall, store room for luggage, nice patio

Disliked: We could not lock our door, we booked a triple room and got 2 seperate ones (One without an window), very little breakfast, cold shower, very cold bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mangirdas bausis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2014 mangirdas would recommend this property

Liked: so nice hostel , friendly staff

Disliked: mangirdas left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Loukas Manesis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014 Loukas would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel overall, with simple clean rooms and in a good location.

Disliked: They refused to give me a towel, even when i asked to pay for one. I understand that towels are not provided for rooms with shared bathroom, but why not giving them for a fee as everywhere?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice yard, pretty

Disliked: ---

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite and the bathroom was always cleaned

Disliked: Our private room didn't have a window only the door which meant that the room had a slightly unpleasent smell. The location is good but it involved walking up steep streets to get to the place but la paz is set in a steep valley.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, walking distance to the main square, TV in room, but the best was that it was always super clean. Big beautiful building. Really quiet. Good food within walking distance. Great book exchange.

Disliked: No kitchen, but that's made clear when you book. Internet dropped out a few times on the 1st floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

joanne coxage

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Large hotel, lots of people there (which normally we like quiet places but we met so many useful and interesting people here!) There was nothing wrong with this hotel at all, and on first impressions it seemed very posh...but for some reason we didnt really like it...

Disliked: The shared bathroom was quite far from our room. The breakfast was fine but you feel rude having it (even though its included!) because of the lady who serves it. Atmosphere was strange. The man at the desk seemed to not speak english sometimes when we needed something, then other times his english was perfect. no towels included with our room. No kitchen facilities or even a kettle

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ryan McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast (yoghurt, juice and bananas with bread). Nice rooms although floor could be very creaky.

Disliked: No kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadine Eder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: a good, quiet place for traveling in La Paz, staff was very friedly!!

Disliked: Nadine left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for private room close to centre.

Disliked: Very small breakfast and staff would not let us have more jam or indeed use jam which had been left unused on another table. No toilet paper on several occasions and poor showers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel for that price. Breakfast look awesome, good Wi-Fi (unfortunately not inside the room).

Disliked: Low temperature inside the hostel and the room smell moldy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dane Russell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013 Dane would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, safe and quiet.

Disliked: No kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stephen stone

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a quiet area but easy enough to get down the hill to Morello square or the Tourist Zone. Taxis back from Tourist zone were between 9 and 12 Boliviano

Disliked: stephen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esta Frosch

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 March 2013 Esta would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and location

Disliked: The electrical shower system seems unstable and not very safe, but it is the same all over the Bolivia :-)


See all La Paz hostels