HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Residencial Latino

Hostel | Calle Junin nº 857, Entre Catacora y Sucre, La Paz, Bolivia 591

79.5% Overall Rating

65 out of 79 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2013)

"Good breakfast, walking distance to the main square, TV in room, but the best was that it was always super clean. Big beautiful building. Really quiet. Good food within walking distance. Great book exchange."

Read all Residencial Latino reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Bash And Crash
5.53 USD

Hostel 76.7% 53 reviews
Loki Backpackers La Paz
6.23 USD

Hostel 80.6% 107 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews
Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
8.36 USD

Hostel 87.5% 286 reviews
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 72 reviews
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Estrella Andina
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 127 reviews
Hotel Sajama
17.92 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.5%

Overall Rating

65 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Residencial Latino'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
74.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 65 of 74 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nicole Di Benedetto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Nearby attractions, which are walkable.

Disliked: At the time we stayed there was loads of working going on. We been asked to change rooms. No heating in the room. The breakfast was ok, but you just get counted items like 1 serving of coffee/tea, juice + yoghurt, 2 bread rolls, tiny bit of margarine and jam + one fruit. Staff was friendly, but didn't helped us much to find things in La Paz.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Computer in the entrance hall, store room for luggage, nice patio

Disliked: We could not lock our door, we booked a triple room and got 2 seperate ones (One without an window), very little breakfast, cold shower, very cold bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mangirdas bausis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2014 mangirdas would recommend this property

Liked: so nice hostel , friendly staff

Disliked: mangirdas left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Loukas Manesis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014 Loukas would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel overall, with simple clean rooms and in a good location.

Disliked: They refused to give me a towel, even when i asked to pay for one. I understand that towels are not provided for rooms with shared bathroom, but why not giving them for a fee as everywhere?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice yard, pretty

Disliked: ---

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite and the bathroom was always cleaned

Disliked: Our private room didn't have a window only the door which meant that the room had a slightly unpleasent smell. The location is good but it involved walking up steep streets to get to the place but la paz is set in a steep valley.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, walking distance to the main square, TV in room, but the best was that it was always super clean. Big beautiful building. Really quiet. Good food within walking distance. Great book exchange.

Disliked: No kitchen, but that's made clear when you book. Internet dropped out a few times on the 1st floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

joanne coxage

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Large hotel, lots of people there (which normally we like quiet places but we met so many useful and interesting people here!) There was nothing wrong with this hotel at all, and on first impressions it seemed very posh...but for some reason we didnt really like it...

Disliked: The shared bathroom was quite far from our room. The breakfast was fine but you feel rude having it (even though its included!) because of the lady who serves it. Atmosphere was strange. The man at the desk seemed to not speak english sometimes when we needed something, then other times his english was perfect. no towels included with our room. No kitchen facilities or even a kettle

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ryan McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast (yoghurt, juice and bananas with bread). Nice rooms although floor could be very creaky.

Disliked: No kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadine Eder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: a good, quiet place for traveling in La Paz, staff was very friedly!!

Disliked: Nadine left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for private room close to centre.

Disliked: Very small breakfast and staff would not let us have more jam or indeed use jam which had been left unused on another table. No toilet paper on several occasions and poor showers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel for that price. Breakfast look awesome, good Wi-Fi (unfortunately not inside the room).

Disliked: Low temperature inside the hostel and the room smell moldy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dane Russell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013 Dane would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, safe and quiet.

Disliked: No kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stephen stone

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a quiet area but easy enough to get down the hill to Morello square or the Tourist Zone. Taxis back from Tourist zone were between 9 and 12 Boliviano

Disliked: stephen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esta Frosch

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 March 2013 Esta would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and location

Disliked: The electrical shower system seems unstable and not very safe, but it is the same all over the Bolivia :-)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Juha Nieminen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2013 Juha would recommend this property

Liked: It is quiet, so it is easy to get sleep. Guests have mostly passed their teens, so there is no parties going on at evenings. Breakfast is okay, similar to other places I've visited (if any breakfast served at all!).

Disliked: It's i bit of a climb from the main street.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Monica Narvaez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013

Liked: Clean and quite.

Disliked: Bathrooms were old. Bad location, far from the main attractions and kind of dangerous at night.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

gemma burnham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013

Liked: It felt very safe.

Disliked: A lot. When we checked in around breakfast time we asked if we could possible have breakfast, a prompt no was given, we asked for a coffee,and was told it would be 3 Bolivians. We then asked for just some hot water as we had our own tea, and was told 'everything has its price'. Not a great first impression. For a couple the hotel is good to escape the party scene, but the place lacks atmosphere and gets very cold with the high ceilings. The reviews of the breakfasts are true, very small amount of jam etc. The night staff are friendly but everyone else and the property felt very sterile. I wouldn't recommend the hotel, there are plenty more middle ground places in La Paz that have character.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012

Liked: Big room, hot shower.

Disliked: Breakfast was only served from 7.30 until 9.30. Did not give a lot of time to attend and was early for people on holidays. Not a good vibe, we were one of the few travellers there, the other guests appeared to be of the older age group and locals.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decor, the included breakfast, the clean bathroom, and the beautiful/clean/comfy beds!

Disliked: There was not much selection for breakfast: bread, banana, juice, coffee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vincent King

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: The staff went out of their way to overcome any problems I had, and these problems were not of their making. The hostel is well located with a short downhill walk to Plaza Murillo. I stayed in two different rooms in different parts of the hostel and found both quiet. A good no-nonsense value for money hostel.

Disliked: Vincent left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very quiet place - we chose it exactly for this purpose (getting used to the city's altitude). The staff is helpful and nice. The inner courtyards are nice and roofed, so that it's not cold in the night. Rooms are simple and have no windows, but they're clean. The bathroom/shower is ok. There's one computer with reasonably fast Internet in the place.

Disliked: Breakfast portions are small and the waitress gets annoyed if you dare to ask for more. Some days, the reception doesn't seem to be 24/7 unless they expect someone (for us, coming at 3am, it worked out well, though) - if you plan to arrive late, better let them know in advance. Check out the room before you move in, some rooms are better than others.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice warm bed

Disliked: Showers were more tepid than hot

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012

Liked: For the price this isn't a bad hostel. Comfy warm beds. The wifi works in most the rooms as well as common areas & they have a free computer in reception where people sit on the sofas- this isn't a party hostel. The reception staff are really nice and helpful. It's up the hill opposite the main tourist strip about 10 mins. I can recommend the laundry service. While in La Paz I went on a 3day trekk and they stored our luggage in a locked room next to Room 56 on the ground floor free of charge. Saying all that a few things made this place not ideal.....

Disliked: The building is nice but is two big indoor courtyards with high ceilings so it's really cold. The rooms are warm but shower rooms aren't and the hot water can be temperimental. Not cool if you need to go to the bathroom in the night. The breakfast is nice tea/yoghurt/fruit/bread/jam- Jam portions aren't enough for the bread though and the lady can get annoyed if you ask for more. There are windows on the room doors (plus extra ones in the wall if your room is next to reception) with thin decorative curtains over them so light can get in- so hang your towel over them.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jillian Alston

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Jillian would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff. location close to downtown

Disliked: location was not in very well lit area at night, so a little more dodgy than one in the main tourist area, but for the most part felt safe!


See all La Paz hostels