HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Estrella Andina

Hostel | Illampu #716, La Paz, Bolivia 4321

87.7% Overall Rating

127 out of 131 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/01/2014)

"Location and mosaics in the rooms! Having Wi-Fi in the room was helpful and liked the variety at breakfast!"

Read all Estrella Andina reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Sajama
17.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.89 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 152 reviews
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 72 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.53 USD

Hostel 73.6% 57 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.94 USD

Hostel 69.7% 17 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews
Cruz de los Andes
15.50 USD

Hostel 87.9% 360 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

127 out of 131 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Estrella Andina'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 111 of 128 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Diana Gerbase

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2014

Liked: The breakfast area is very nice with a good view of the city.

Disliked: There were fleas in the bed I slept and I woke up full of bites.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would highly recomend this Hotel. Good value for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and mosaics in the rooms! Having Wi-Fi in the room was helpful and liked the variety at breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kate Miles

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Great bright decor with amazing murals all over the walls. Airport pickup, travel agent downstairs,great breakfast, reliable wifi in the room, excellent water pressure in shower.

Disliked: Safe box did not have lock in it. Even though we were on the 4th floor, the street noise was very disturbing in the morning. Construction noise also started at about 9am.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Denis McMahon

Alone

City break

13 December 2013 Denis would recommend this property

Liked: The location was quite good close to all the stores and the historic centre of La Paz.

Disliked: The shower was only Luke warm at best.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and views. Coca tea always on hand in the Reception area. Staff speak good English (which is helpful when you are stupid like me and can't speak very much Spanish).

Disliked: I wish I had known not to put toilet roll down the toilet - we blocked the bog on the first night, which they fixed promptly, but then the flush broke and we were too ashamed to report it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the view from the breakfastroom

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Ringleff

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel located about 5 minutes walking distance from the main tourist area of La Paz (there were enough people around at night to walk from from the Sarganaga restaurants). The staff were so helpful to us - calling taxis, giving directions and calling a Doctor to visit the hostel when my husband was sick. They arranged us a transfer from the bus station to the hostel for $5 and this was just perfect to have a reputable driver waiting for us at 6:30am after arriving off an overnight bus. The breakfast was great and was served from the terrace overlooking La Paz. There was consistent hot water showers.

Disliked: The wifi isn't the strongest from inside the rooms (not strong enough to skype).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable clean room with excellent hot shower. Good buffet breakfast included & lift to rooms - a bonus with luggage at high altitude. The views from the breakfast area and roof terrace were amazing and it was just a few minutes from the Witches market.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ross Neal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Nice if you are looking for a break from hostels and dorm rooms. Rooms cleaned daily. Breakfast was nice and included fresh fruit and eggs.

Disliked: Not really any atmosphere as this is a hotel. Quite pricey for La Paz

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YOUNGJAE LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 YOUNGJAE would recommend this property

Liked: Hot shower available. The room designs are nice. and a travel agency is located next side of the hostel. and staffs are kind.

Disliked: The room is a little bit cold. I think the travelers would better to prepare some blakets more.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Allan Haverman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2013 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: We were really lucky with our room which was on the third floor and had windows overlooking the city...

Disliked: A lot of rooms don't have windows to the outside and are probably quite dark.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Charlotte Verbeek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, breakfast is really nice! We did a tour to Death Road and couldn't have breakfast that early, but that wasn't a problem, they made something especially for us.

Disliked: It's a bit old fashioned and, compared to other hotels, quite expensive for what you get. For the same price you can stay in really modern hotels also in the centre.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Javier Lainez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean

Disliked: Javier left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mary brabenec

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 mary would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast good and dining room lovely. beds comfortable and nice crisp white sheets. tea/hot water available all day in foyer area.

Disliked: hot water a bit variable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No hot shower

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good location, excellent breakfasts and helpful staff. Hot showers and cable tv plus wifi is great. Nice atmosphere. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and atmosphere

Disliked: The person at the desk on our last night there forgot to wake us up, then, when asked to find us a cab for the airport, he tried to lock us (together with other tourists) inside the hotel, then he disappeared on the streets, We had to get ourselves a cab to get to the airport. I still believe this was a singular incident, as the other staff proved themselves professional. One other thing, the amount to pay was slightly different (higher) than the one we expected.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay where you can have the comforts at home you can't get at a hostel. Privacy, security, dependable wi-fi, tea, breakfast, great communal areas, airport pick up service, tv in your room - it's great for solo travellers or couples/friends wanting a little privacy.

Disliked: todo bien!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Pepper

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of staff. Customer service was very good.

Disliked: Internet connection was intermittent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Warburton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff at reception. Very helpful and friendly and spoke excellent english.

Disliked: little noisy as busy street.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ralph Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Ralph would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to relax after the grueling journey from Uyuni to La Paz. The room was really nice and loved the quirky paintings everywhere. The breakfast was also well above the standard for these parts.

Disliked: Nada

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop terrace with great views of La Paz

Disliked: Nothing!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SEUNG EUI KO

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 SEUNG EUI would recommend this property

Liked: location, breakfast, kind staff

Disliked: nothng

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

seamus o sullivan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013 seamus would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, internal decor definitely different but got used to it.

Disliked: A little dated.


See all La Paz hostels