HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all La Paz hostels

Reviews of Estrella Andina

Hostel | Illampu #716, La Paz, Bolivia 4321

90.1% Overall Rating

124 out of 127 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/01/2014)

"Location and mosaics in the rooms! Having Wi-Fi in the room was helpful and liked the variety at breakfast!"

Read all Estrella Andina reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Paz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in La Paz

Hotel Sajama
17.92 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Las Brisas
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Hostal Sol Andino
13.89 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 146 reviews
Hostal Naira
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 72 reviews
Bash And Crash
5.53 USD

Hostel 76.3% 52 reviews
Pirwa Hostel La Paz
6.38 USD

Hostel 68.6% 13 reviews
Bacoo Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 81.7% 37 reviews
Cruz de los Andes
15.50 USD

Hostel 88.0% 354 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

124 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Estrella Andina'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 124 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Receptionist very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Difficult to access in altitude walking

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice room and friendly staff. The included breakfast buffet was wonderful! We decided to stay on an extra night because we liked it so much.

Disliked: Wifi didn´t really work in the room (but there was a free internet room downstairs), and water in shower was only warm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice stay. They gave us free mate de coca and provided us with a heater as the room was a bit cold. Staff are really friendly. Wifi was good most if the time. Great breafast and roof terrace with terrific night views if La Paz and a sun trap by day. Buy water across the road as it's cheaper!

Disliked: No kitchen access but mate de coca made up for it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Antonia-María Plazas López

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

26 June 2011 Antonia-María would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and helpful staff. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: There was not really hot water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is lovely, if you're not into the party scene and want to get on it at the Loki or Wild Rover this place is great. It's comfortable, the breakfast is great, the rooms are spacious and the staff are really friendly and willing to help with just about everything and anything.

Disliked: There is a slight paint smell on the first floor, and the showers aren't STEAMING hot but maybe i just like my showers steaming hot! Other than that this place is pretty flawless.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allison Southgate

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: Can't rate this hostel highly enough. Its more like a hotel, very clean with maid service every day incl clean towels. Great location. Staff are very helpful as is the travel agency which is attached to the hotel. Lovely breakfast of bread, fruit, yoghurt, eggs & bacon. If you treat the shower gently by just turning it on very slightly then you will have a hot shower every day. We extended our stay here by 2 nights and also arranged another night when we return to La Paz.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the middle of Llampu, we ended up going back to La Paz a few times after our first stay and returned to Estrella Andina every time. Clean rooms, hot showers, amazing views from our room and the breakfast room over La Paz. Helpful staff who remembered us each time and arranged safe airport transfers in the early hours of the morning. Fantastic breakfast, with fruit, yoghurt, cereal, bread and eggs, which is always a bonus! Really enjoyed staying here.

Disliked: Nothing to do with the property itself, but we took a taxi to the airport twice, once to pick up a friend who was joining us and once for her to go back again. The first one was fine and we paid the price quoted by the hostel, but the second one added extra to the price she was given. Just thought the hostel should be aware of this and would advise others travelling alone to the airport to confirm the price with the driver infront of the hostel staff before departure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building and pleasant, good sized, clean rooms.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vicky simpson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 vicky would recommend this property

Liked: This is a hotel rather than a hostel so not realy for anyone wanting to meet others or party. but it's our favourite place so far in Bolivia. It is near the bus station (10 mins walk), near lot's of shops and restaurants. The rooms themselves are big and very comfortable with lovely warm showers. The staff are friendly and helpful - always remebering us when we keep returning. The breakfast is the best part of staying here, lots of choice plus BACON and eggs.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robin Shook

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2011 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: The travel agent by the front booking desk was excellent, he was able to book us exactly what we wanted and we even bargained for a bit better rates. A definate plus.

Disliked: Nothing that stands out in mind.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly helpful staff

Disliked: none

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The mural on the bedroom wall is fairly whacky but the place is pretty good, for the money it's worth it.

Disliked: Little dark in hall ways.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast with cereal, eggs on the top floor with great views of the city, helpful staff, original decor in rooms, relaxing place in a not so relaxing city.

Disliked: Showers were warmish only, not hot. These Bolivian bulbous shower head water-heaters tingies are crap. A lot of places have them and they´re all iffy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms with interesting paintings in a good location for a reasonable price. also the breakfast was great, and the free internet was a good speed.

Disliked: the lobby feels a little shabby, but otherwise it was great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms, style, reception, location

Disliked: no kitchen, no water cooking facilities.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and Tidy - good base for exploring Lake Titicaca

Disliked: Hard to find on Google maps

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Branch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Breafast, staff, location, great views over city and location.

Disliked: Nothing really except WiFi only in lobby.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, character/decor, staff

Disliked: slightly dated but overall good stay

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and great views over city, good breakfast

Disliked: no kitchen, (Hotel not Hostel)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was actually more of a hotel than a hostel. Our room was huge with two beds, en suite and 100 channel tv. Breakfast was great too. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful.

Disliked: Nothing really, I would definitely come back and recommend the place to others.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Location, Nice breakfast and breakfast room, Fantastic travel agency attached which was extremely convenient and professionally run

Disliked: Very poor WiFi connections which was super annoying, musty smell at reception

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, nice wall-pictues

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are wonderful, the location is central and breakfast is delicious (scrambled eggs with bacon!). We stayed here on our way in and out of La Paz. Clean and quiet with fast internet available on four desktops and wireless.

Disliked: n/a

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Chris thomann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2011

Liked: nice rooms, paintings on the walls, terrasse on roof top

Disliked: noise from the road

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is fantastic and the staff are very nice and helpful. Safe in your room and heaters on request. Excellent showers. Great place for couples.

Disliked: nothing


See all La Paz hostels